فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / الاقتصاد / أزمة الاقتصاد الجزائري من منظور آخر

أزمة الاقتصاد الجزائري من منظور آخر

Algeria economy gas shale protests ain saleh
سكان عين صالح يتظاهرون ضد استخراج الغاز في المنطقة , عين صالح , الجزائر, 8 مارس 2015 Photo Corbis ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Corbis

في منطقة تعاني تنامي عدم الاستقرار السياسي، غالباً ما يُنظر إلى الجزائر باعتبارها واحة الهدوء النسبي. ومع ذلك، هناك مجموعة من التحديات الداخلية والخارجية، بما في ذلك التهديدات الأمنية وانخفاض أسعار النفط وارتفاع الطلب المحلي على المحروقات، مما يجبر الحكومة الجزائرية على إعادة النظر في سياستها الاقتصادية.

وبما أن الجزائر منتج رئيسي للنفط والغاز الطبيعي في افريقيا، تعتبر دولة بترولية بامتياز. ومنذ عام 2014، شكلّت عائدات النفط والغاز 30% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، و95% من الصادرات، و60% من إيرادات الميزانية. هذا الاعتماد على الإيرادات الفردية يجعل البلاد عرضة لخطر الصدمات في سوق النفط. في الواقع، أدى انهيار أسعار النفط العالمي عام 1986 إلى جانب الخيارات السياسية الرديئة فيما يتعلق بقطاعي النفط والغاز في البلاد، إلى أزمة اقتصادية وطنية فضلاً عن إندلاع النسخة الجزائرية من الربيع العربي في أكتوبر 1988. وبعد مضي ثلاثة عقود تقريباً، لا يزال واضعي السياسات الجزائرية مترددين في تنويع اقتصاد البلاد بعيداً عن النفط والغاز، والحد من الإنفاق العام وبخاصة فيما يتعلق بالإعانات، وحماية البلاد من الصدمات المستقبلية.

ويعود هذا الإحجام إلى حدٍ كبير إلى أن الاستقرار السياسي الجزائري، وبالتالي اقتصاد البلاد، يعتمد بشكلٍ كبير على الدعم. وعلى الرغم من صعوبة العثور على أرقام رسمية، إلا أنّ المختصون يقدرون أنّ الحكومة تنفق ما معدله 30% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي على الدعم. لذا فإنه من غير المستغرب أنّ مؤشر أسعار المستهلك لعام 2015 صنّف الجزائر في المرتبة الخامسة ضمن قائمة أرخص مدن العالم لمستوى تكاليف الحياة. كما أن السعر المحلي للغاز أقل بعشر مرات من سعر التصدير، مما يجعل سعر الوقود في الجزائر أحد أرخص الأسعار في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا. وعلاوة على ذلك، يستفيد سكان الجزائر، بغض النظر عن جنسيتهم أو دخلهم، من معظم أشكال الدعم بما في ذلك الرعاية الصحية والتعليم والسلع الاستهلاكية والطاقة.

وفي أبريل 2015، نشر صندوق النقد الدولي (IMF) تقريراً مفصلاً عن توقعاته للاقتصاد العالمي، حيث توقع التقرير أن يتراجع النمو في الجزائر من 4,1% عام 2014 إلى 2,6% عام 2015، في حين أن البطالة سترتفع مما نسبته 10,6% عام 2014 إلى 11,8% عام 2015. وتنستند هذه التوقعات على نقاط الضعف المالية والخارجية في البلاد، والتي يذكر التقرير أنها تفاقمت بسبب الركود في أسعار النفط.

ولسوء حظ الجزائر، أجبر عدم الاستقرار الإقليمي والمخاوف الأمنية المتزايدة البلاد على إنفاق المزيد من الأموال على برامج الأمن الوطنية. هذا الإنفاق المتزايد بسبب عدم الاستقرار، مع التدفق المحتمل للاجئين، والهجرة غير الشرعية، والاتجار بالأسلحة يشكّل أيضاً تهديداً كبيراً. فقد كلف تأمين الحدود التي يبلغ طولها 4,000 كيلومتر الحكومة الجزائرية جزءاً كبيراً من ميزانية عام 2015 والبالغة 20 مليار دولار المخصصة لوزارتي الدفاع والداخلية.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فقد خسرت شركة النفط الجزائرية المملوكة للدولة سوناطراك، مئات الملايين من الدولارات على الاستثمارات التي كانت قائمة في بلدان مثل ليبيا وموريتانيا والنيجر ومالي وتونس حيث تم تجميد المشاريع لأسباب أمنية. كما أنّ الدعم المالي أو العسكري لعدد من هذه البلدان ضاعف من الضغوطات على ميزانية الجزائر.

ومحلياً، شهد الطلب المتزايد على الطاقة قيام الحكومة بتحديث سياسة النفط والغاز عام 2012، مما مهد الطريق أمام عمليات استخراج الغاز الصخري عام 2013. استقبلت هذه الخطوة بموجة عارمة من الاحتجاجات التي اندلعت بعد أيامٍ فقط من إعلان إحدى المحطات المحلية نجاح عمليات الحفر التجريبية في بلدة عين صالح جنوب البلاد. هذا وتمتلك الجزائر ثالث أكبر احتياطيات من الغاز الصخري في العالم، ومع ذلك، عارض سكان عين صالح الحفر بسبب المخاوف من الأضرار البيئية وبخاصة تلوث مصادر المياه الجوفية. وسرعان ما أصبحت الاحتجاجات في الجنوب حركة وطنية، مدعومة من قِبل ائتلاف زعماء المعارضة الرئيسيين الذين يسعون إلى زعزعة النظام الحاكم. وتحت مظلة لجنة التنسيق الوطني للحريات والتحول الديمقراطي، دعا الائتلاف إلى إجراء تغيير سياسي وإنهاء حكم الرئيس عبد العزيز بوتفليقة، الذي أعيد انتخابه في ابريل لفترته الرابعة على التوالي.

وفي محاولة أخرى لدعم مواردها المالية، شارك العديد من الساسة وكبار رجال الأعمال الجزائريين في العديد من المناسبات التي تُعنى بالاستثمار داخل البلاد وخارجها، فضلاً عن توقيع صفقات استثمارية بمليارات الدولارات. وفي الأشهر القليلة الماضية، التقى الرئيس بوتفليقة مع مختلف كبار القادة ورؤساء الدول لمناقشة فرص التعاون الثنائي المشترك وبخاصة في المجال الاقتصادي. وفي تعديل وزاري مفاجيء في 14 مايو، قام بوتفليقة أيضاً باستبدال وزيري الداخلية والطاقة، وعلى ما يبدو يعود السبب في ذلك إلى القصور في إدارة القضايا المذكورة آنفاً.

وعلى الرغم من التحديات، فضلت وزارة المالية سياسة الإنفاق الرشيد عوضاً عن التقشف عندما تعلق الأمر بخفض الإنفاق، ومع ذلك، عنى قانون المالية التكميلي أن مسؤولي السياسة عرضة للنقاش. والآن،
بات على جميع الوزارت الجزائرية إبلاغ وزارة المالية بنفقاتها وتبريرها. كما تم استرجاع التمويل من عدد من المشاريع الوزارية الصغيرة وغير الاستراتيجية، كما أن فرض قانون جديد للحد من الواردات بسط قائمة السلع المسموح استيرادها في حين تم ترشيد استيراد سلع أخرى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أعلن رئيس الوزراء عن حملة للتصدي للفساد والاحتيال وبالتحديد في معاملات الاستيراد والتحويلات المالية، والتي تكلف البلاد مبالغ هائلة من الأموال سنوياً.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Corbis

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Economy / Algeria’s Struggling Economy in Perspective

Algeria’s Struggling Economy in Perspective

Algeria economy gas shale protests ain saleh
Residents of Ain Saleh protest against shale gas fracking operations, Ain Saleh, Algeria, 8 March 2015 Photo Corbis

In a region plagued by increasing political instability, Algeria is often seen as an oasis of relative calm. However, a number of internal and external challenges, including security threats, plunging oil prices and surging domestic energy demand, is forcing the Algerian government to reconsider its economic policy.

A leading African producer of oil and natural gas, Algeria is a petrostate par excellence. As of 2014, hydrocarbon revenues made up 30% of GDP, 95% of exports and 60% of budget revenues. This dependence on a single revenue stream makes the country extremely susceptible to shocks in the oil market. Indeed, the 1986 global oil price collapse combined with poor hydrocarbon policy choices at home, led to a national economic crisis and the Algerian version of the Arab Spring ”in October 1988. Almost three decades later, Algerian policymakers are still reluctant to diversify away from hydrocarbons, curb public spending, particularly on subsidies, and protect the economy from future shocks.

This reluctance is due in large part to the fact that Algeria’s political, and hence economic, stability relies heavily on subsidies. Although official figures are hard to find, specialists estimate that the government spends an average of 30% of GDP on subsidies. It is hardly surprising then that the Consumer Price Index 2015 ranked Algeria the fifth cheapest country  in the world to live in. The domestic price of gas is ten times less than its export price, making the fuel one of the cheapest in the MENA region. Moreover, residents of Algeria, regardless of their nationality or income, benefit from most of the subsidies, including on health care, education, consumer goods and energy.

In April 2015, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) published a report detailing its projections for the world economy. The report predicted that growth in Algeria would fall from 4.1% in 2014 to 2.6% in 2015, while unemployment would rise from 10.6% in 2014 to 11.8% in 2015. The projections are based on the country’s fiscal and external vulnerabilities, which the report says have been exacerbated by the slump in oil prices.

Unluckily for Algeria, regional instability and growing security concerns is forcing the country to spend more on national security programmes. The spill over of instability, with the possible associated influx of refugees, illegal immigration and arms trafficking, also pose a threat. Securing its 4,000km-long border has cost the government a considerable portion of the $20 billion budget allocated in 2015 to the ministries of defence and interior.

Moreover, Algeria’s state-owned oil company, Sonatrach, has lost hundreds of millions of dollars on investments made in countries such as Libya, Mauritania, Niger, Mali and Tunisia where projects have been frozen for security reasons. Financial or military support for a number of these countries has further strained Algeria’s budget.

Domestically, soaring energy demand saw the government update its hydrocarbon policy in 2012, paving the way for shale gas fracking operations to start in 2013. The move was met with a wave of protests, which began just days after a national broadcast announced a successful test drill near the small southern town of Ain Saleh. Algeria holds the world’s third-largest shale gas reserves. However, residents of Ain Saleh opposed the drilling over fears of environmental damage, particularly contamination of groundwater sources. The protests in the south soon became a national movement, backed by a coalition of major opposition leaders eager to shake up the ruling regime. Under the umbrella of the National Coordination for Liberties and Democratic Transition, the coalition is calling for political change and an end to the rule of President Abdelaziz Bouteflika, who was re-elected in April to his fourth consecutive term.

In another attempt to shore up its finances, senior Algerian politicians and business leaders participated in several investment events inside and outside the country, signing multi-billion-dollar investment deals. In the past few months, President Bouteflika has met with various senior leaders and heads of states to discuss bilateral, mainly economic, cooperation. In a surprise cabinet reshuffle on 14 May, he also replaced the interior and energy ministers, apparently for their shortcomings in managing the aforementioned issues.

Despite the challenges, the Ministry of Finance favoured a policy of rational spending instead of austerity when it came to spending cuts. The complementary finance law meant to make such a policy official is yet to be discussed, however. All Algerian ministries are now required to inform the Ministry of Finance of their spending and justify it. Funding has also been recalled from a number of small and non-strategic ministerial projects, and a new law to reduce imports has streamlined the list of permissible import goods and rationalized the import of others. In addition, the prime minister announced campaigns to tackle corruption and fraud, namely in import transactions and money transfers, which cost the country colossal amounts of money each year.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.