فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / الاقتصاد / موجة من الاحتجاجات العمالية تشلّ الجزائر

موجة من الاحتجاجات العمالية تشلّ الجزائر

Algeria- Protests in Algeria
شرطة مكافحة الشغب الجزائرية تحيط بالأطباء وأطباء الأسنان الذين أكملوا فترة الإقامة من دراستهم أثناء اعتصامٍ أقيم خارج متحف البريد المركزي في العاصمة الجزائر، في 12 فبراير 2018، في إطار إضرابٍ يستمر ثلاثة أشهر احتجاجاً على الخدمة المدنية الإلزامية. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

يواصل انخفاض عائدات النفط والغاز، وتخفيض الدعم الحكومي عن المنتجات الغذائية والوقود، وارتفاع التضخم، بإلقاء ظلاله على الجزائريين بينما يكافحون لمواجهة أزمةٍ اقتصادية تدخل اليوم عامها الرابع. ومع تزايد التوترات الاجتماعية، ازدادت المظاهرات العمالية والإضرابات والاعتصامات بشكلٍ كبير في الأشهر الأخيرة، وبلغت ذروتها في 14 فبراير 2018 في إضرابٍ عام في قطاعيّ المدارس والمستشفيات الحكومية.

وفي حين لم تتعالى أصوات الاحتجاجات في القطاع الخاص، تتحدى الاتحادات والنقابات المستقلة في القطاع العام السياسات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية للحكومة وتصرّ على حتمية إصلاح قوانين العمل وأنظمة التقاعد في البلاد. فقد تعهد التكتل النقابي للنقابات المستقلة، المؤلف من 14 اتحاداً ونقابة مستقلة تمثل العاملين في مجالات الصحة والتعليم والكهرباء والخدمات البريدية، بمواصلة أنشطتها في بيانٍ نُشر قبل الإضراب العام، إلى أن تتم تلبية مطالبها.

ويقود الإضرابات في كلٍ من المدارس والمستشفيات التنسيقية المستقلة للأطباء المقيمين الجزائرييين والنقابة المستقلة لمستخدمي التدريس ثلاثي الأطوار، والعشرات من الاتحادات التجارية المستقلة، والنقابات، والنشطاء، فضلاً عن جماعاتٍ حقوقية مثل الرابطة الجزائرية للدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان.

وفي 24 يناير 2018، قضت محكمة في الجزائر العاصمة بأن إضراب التنسيقية المستقلة للأطباء المقيمين الجزائرييين السابق “غير قانوني” ودعت التنسيقية للعودة إلى طاولة المفاوضات، في حين تصر التنسيقية المستقلة للأطباء المقيمين الجزائرييين على أن أفعالها تتوافق مع الأحكام والإجراءات القانونية. ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من حكم المحكمة نفسها الصادر بحق النقابة الوطنية لممارسي الصحة العمومية، التي دعت أيضاً إلى إضرابٍ عام، قام آلاف من المعلمين والعاملين في المجال الطبي بتنظيم مسيراتٍ واعتصاماتٍ في عدة ولايات في 14 فبراير. وعليه، اتخذت الحكومة احتياطاتها، ونشرت قواتها الأمنية وشرطة مكافحة الشغب في شوارع وساحات عدة مدن، لا سيما في العاصمة الجزائرية.

وفي الوقت نفسه، أدانت النقابات التي تدعم الإضراب العام والاعتصامات أمام المباني الحكومية الهجمات الأخيرة على حرية تكوين الجمعيات وتدهور القدرة الشرائية للعمال. وفي بيانٍ نشر في نفس اليوم الذي نظمت فيه المسيرات والاعتصامات، وصف التنسيقية المستقلة للأطباء المقيمين الجزائرييين قمع أعضائها بأنه “ظالم وغير قانوني وغير أخلاقي” وتعهدت بمواصلة القتال من أجل “حقوقهم المشروعة.”

وقبل الإضراب العام، أفاد العديد من المواطنين والعاملين في المجال الطبي بأنهم تعرضوا للاعتقال المؤقت أو تم تفتيشهم بشكلٍ تعسفي من قبل قوات الأمن وضباط شرطة من الشرطة المدنية في عدة ولاياتٍ ومدن. وأدان المحتجون من العاملين في المجال الطبي السلطات على “مطاردتهم،” كما أشادوا بنجاح المسيرات.

وقبل ذلك بيومين، قام الأطباء المتدربون بتنظيم احتجاجٍ آخر في العاصمة الجزائر، حيث تم حظر الاحتجاجات فعلياً منذ عام 2001. وعلى الرغم من الاستجابة السريعة والقمعية المعتادة لقوات الأمن، تجمع نحو ألف شخص أمام متحف البريد المركزي في محاولةٍ لتأكيد طموحاتهم بتحقيق إصلاحاتٍ شاملة ورفع الأجور. وفي مطلع يناير، تم تفريق احتجاجات الأطباء في وسط الجزائر بعنف. وبعد الحملة، انتشرت صور وأشرطة فيديو لمتظاهرين ينزفون الدماء وغيرهم من المصابين بجروح خطيرة، كالنار في الهشيم على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، مما أثار غضب الشعب على رد فعل الحكومة القاسي على مطالبهم.

فالعاملون في القطاع الطبي يتظاهرون بشكلٍ أسبوعي منذ شهر نوفمبر 2017، إلا أنهم كثفوا من أنشطتهم في أعقاب أحداث يناير. وأعلنت التنسيقية المستقلة للأطباء المقيمين الجزائرييين وغيرها من النقابات الطبية بأنهم لن يضمنوا سوى الحد الأدنى من الخدمات وبأن الإضراب مستمر إلى أن تتم تلبية مطالبهم. وإلى جانب الحق في توفير سكن للموظفين ولم شمل الأسر عند توزيعهم في المناطق النائية، يصر الأطباء أيضاً على إلغاء الخدمة العامة الإلزامية المثيرة للجدل، وهو تنسيب إلزامي لمدة تتراوح بين سنة وأربع سنوات، فضلاً عن الخدمة العسكرية الإلزامية للأطباء الذكور. وحتى الآن، رفضت الحكومة هذه المطالب، مما يسلط الضوء على مشكلةٍ رئيسية في قطاع الصحة في البلاد: عدم كفاية المعدات والإمدادات، فضلاً عن الحاجة إلى المساكن ووسائل النقل. وتكتسب قضية الإسكان أهميةً خاصة بالنسبة إلى النقابات حيث أن غالبية العاملين في المجال الطبي في البلاد هنّ من النساء اللواتي يواجهن صعوبات شديدة في العثور على شقق ذلك أن الملاك غالباً ما يرفضون تأجير العازبات.

كما تأثرت المدارس أيضاً، إلى حدٍ كبير، بموجة الإضرابات والاحتجاجات التي عمت البلاد، حيث تصر أيضاً النقابة المستقلة لمستخدمي التدريس ثلاثي الأطوار وغيرها من الاتحادات المستقلة في قطاع التعليم على ضرورة تلبية مطالبهم، إلا أن أنشطتهم الجارية قوبلت بمظاهراتٍ مضادة في العديد من المدن من قِبل الأهالي الذين يخشون أن يضطر أولادهم إلى إعادة السنة الدراسة كاملةً، فضلاً عن اتهامهم النقابات بمعاقبة الطلاب من أجل قضيتهم.

كما أكدت وزيرة التعليم، نورية بن غبريت، ايقاف 581 معلماً من المتورطين بالإضراب، في حين تعمل وزارتها في الوقت الراهن على تقديم النصح للمعلمين الذين “تخلوا عن مواقعهم،” وذلك وفقاً لوكالة الأنباء الجزائرية. وأشارت بن غبريت إلى أن الاضربات حقٌ دستوري إلا أنها شددت على أن الاضرابات “غير المحدودة” ينبغي أن تكون الملاذ الأخير، وبالتالي يجب الكف عنها فوراً.

وفي الوقت نفسه، كان الإقبال على الإضراب العام منخفضاً في غرب الجزائر. وأشارت صحيفة الوطن، الناطقة بالفرنسية، إلى أن العديد من الاتحادات والنقابات تتنافس في هذا القطاع، ولا يزال الاتحاد العام للعمال الجزائريين، الذي تسيطر عليه الدولة، قوياً بشكلٍ خاص في المدارس الابتدائية. وعليه، تشير الأرقام التي قدمتها النقابة المستقلة لمستخدمي التدريس ثلاثي الأطوار إلى ارتفاع نسبة المشاركة في المدارس الثانوية مقابل انخفاض نسبة الإقبال في المدارس الابتدائية خلال الإضراب.

وبالاضافة الى الاضطرابات في قطاعيّ الصحة والتعليم، قام مضيفو الخطوط الجوية الجزائرية المملوكة للدولة، بإضرابٍ مفاجىء في أواخر يناير مما أدى إلى توقف الرحلات المحلية والدولية لعدة ايام. وقد قوبلت مطالبهم برفع المعاشات بالإدانة من قِبل المسؤولين في الشركة والمسؤولين الحكوميين على حد سواء.

وبعد يومين من الاضراب العام قال رئيس الوزراء أحمد أويحيى أنه لن يتسامح مع "استمرار هذه الفوضى" ووعد بوضع حدٍ لها. Algérie1 الإخباري. وعلى الرغم من تهديداته وقمع الدولة المستمر ضد المتظاهرين، أعلنت النقابة المستقلة لمستخدمي التدريس ثلاثي الأطوار في 16 فبراير عزمها على مواصلة أنشطتها.

كما فرضت الخطوط الجوية الجزائرية إجراءاتٍ تأديبية ضد سبعة موظفين على الأقل. ومجدداً، وبعد أن أعلنت محكمةٌ عدم قانونية الإضراب، علقت النقابة الوطنية لمضيفي الطائرات الإضراب، إلا أنها نظموا إضراباً آخر تضامناً مع زملائهم الذين خضعوا للإجراءات التأديبية بعد 4 أيام فقط.

وفي الوقت نفسه، حثت الأحزاب السياسية مثل جبهة التحرير الوطني، والتجمع الوطني الديمقراطي، وحزب تجمع أمل الجزائر، والحركة الشعبية الجزائرية، إلى جانب العديد من النواب المستقلين، الحكومة على الوقوف بثبات وعدم الإذعان لمطالب النقابات. ودعت الأحزاب الأربعة، النقابات والعمال التابعين لها لإنهاء إضرابهم في الحال والعودة إلى العمل من أجل الطلاب والمرضى، وذلك بحسب وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية.

وبعد يومين من الاضراب العام قال رئيس الوزراء أحمد أويحيى أنه لن يتسامح مع “استمرار هذه الفوضى” ووعد بوضع حدٍ لها. ووصف مطالب الاطباء المتدربين بـ”غير المنطقية” وأدان بشدة الإضراب، وذلك وفقاً لما ذكره موقع Algérie1 الإخباري. وعلى الرغم من تهديداته وقمع الدولة المستمر ضد المتظاهرين، أعلنت النقابة المستقلة لمستخدمي التدريس ثلاثي الأطوار في 16 فبراير عزمها على مواصلة أنشطتها.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI | ©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Economy / Wave of Labour Protests Paralyzes Algeria

Wave of Labour Protests Paralyzes Algeria

Algeria- Protests in Algeria
Algerian anti-riot police surround doctors and dentists who are completing their residency stage of their studies during a sit-in outside La Grande Poste in the capital Algiers, on February 12, 2018, as part of a three-month-long strike protesting against compulsory civil service. Photo AFP

Declining oil and gas revenues, cuts in food and fuel subsidies, and soaring inflation continue to challenge Algerians as they struggle to cope with an economic crisis now entering its fourth year. With social tensions on the rise, labour demonstrations, strikes and sit-ins have massively increased in recent months, culminating on 14 February 2018 in a nationwide general strike in public schools and hospitals.

While protests remain muted in the private sector, independent unions and syndicates in the public sector are challenging the government’s economic and social policies and insisting on reform to the country’s labour laws and retirement regulations. Intersyndicale, which is composed of 14 independent unions and syndicates representing workers in the health, education, electricity and postal services, vowed to continue its actions in a statement published ahead of the general strike until their demands are met.

Leading the strikes in schools and hospitals are the Autonomous Medical Residents Collective (CAMRA), the National Autonomous Council of Teachers of the Ternary Education Sector (Cnapeste) and dozens of other independent trade unions, syndicates and activists as well as rights groups such as the Algerian League for Defending Human Rights.

On 24 January 2018, a court in Algiers ruled that an earlier strike by CAMRA’s was ‘illegal’ and called on the syndicate to return to the negotiating table. CAMRA insists that its actions comply with legal provisions and procedures. Yet despite the same court ruling against the National Union of Public Health Practitioners (SNPSP), which also called for a general strike, thousands of teachers and medical staff staged marches and sit-ins in several provinces on 14 February 2018. The government had taken precautions, deploying its security forces and riot police in the streets and squares of several cities, particularly the capital Algiers.

Meanwhile, those unions backing the general strike and sit-ins in front of governmental buildings denounced recent attacks on the freedom of association and the deteriorating spending power of workers. In a communiqué published on the same day as the marches and sit-ins, CAMRA described the repression of its members as ‘unjust, illegal and immoral’ and vowed to continue fighting for its ‘legitimate rights’.

Ahead of the general strike, numerous citizens and medical staff reported that they had been temporarily arrested or arbitrarily checked by security forces and plainclothes police officers in several provinces and cities. Protesting medical staff condemned the authorities for their ‘witch hunt’ against them and praised the success of the marches.

Two days earlier, trainee doctors had staged yet another protest in Algiers, where protests have effectively been banned since 2001. Despite the usual quick and repressive response by security forces, about a thousand people gathered in front of the main post office in an attempt to underline their ambitions for comprehensive reforms and wage increases. In early January, a protest by doctors in central Algiers was violently dispersed. After the crackdown, pictures and videos of bleeding and severely injured protesters went viral on social media, fuelling public anger over the government’s harsh response to their demands.

Medical staff having been protesting weekly since November 2017 but intensified their actions after the events in January 2018. CAMRA and other medical syndicates declared they would only guarantee minimal services and said that the strike would continue until their demands were met. Besides the right to staff housing and family reunions when deployed in remote areas, doctors are insisting on the repeal of the controversial public service, a one- to four-year, low-paid and obligatory placement, as well as military service which is compulsory for male doctors.

The government has so far rejected these demands, highlighting a key problem in the country’s health sector: inadequate equipment and supplies as well as a lack of housing and transportation. The issue of housing is particularly important for the unions as the majority of medical staff in the country is women, who face severe difficulties in finding flats as landlords often refuse to rent to single women.

Also widely affected by the wave of strikes and protests are schools, as Cnapeste and other independent unions in the education sector are likewise insisting on their demands being met. However, their ongoing actions have been met with counter protests in several cities by parents who are concerned that their children will be forced to repeat the whole school year and accuse the unions of penalizing pupils for the sake of their cause.

Education Minister Nouria Benghabrit affirmed that 581 teachers involved in the strike have been sacked while her ministry is currently preparing further admonishments for teachers who “abandoned their posts”, according to the Algerian news agency APS. Benghabrit noted that strikes are a constitutional right but stressed that ‘unlimited’ strikes should be a last resort and therefore ceased immediately.

Source: World Bank Data, IMF, UNSD, Demographic Yearbook 2016, OPEC, dataportal.opendataforafrica.org. @Fanack

Meanwhile, the turnout for the general strike was low in western Algeria. The francophone newspaper el-Watan pointed out that numerous unions and syndicates compete in this sector and the state-controlled General Union of Algerian Workers (UGTA) remains particularly strong in primary schools. Therefore, figures provided by Cnapeste suggest a high participation in secondary schools against a low turnout in primary schools during the strike.

In addition to the unrest in the health and education sectors, flight attendants of the state-owned national airline Air Algérie staged a surprising strike in late January 2018, which left local and international flights paralyzed for days. Their demands for reform to the wage scale were met with condemnation by company and government officials. Air Algérie imposed disciplinary measures against at least seven workers. After a court once again declared the strike illegal, the National Syndicate of Algerian Flight Attendants suspended the strike but staged another in solidarity with their disciplined colleagues only four days later.

Meanwhile, the political parties FLN, RND, TAJ and MPA as well as numerous independent MPs urged the government to stand firm and not give in to the syndicate’s demands. The four parties called on the unions and workers affiliated with them to end their strikes immediately and return to work for the sake of students and the sick, TSA Algérie reported.

Two days after the general strike, Prime Minister Ahmed Ouyahia said that he will not tolerate “the persistence of this anarchy” and promised to put an end to it. He described demands by trainee doctors as “illogical” and strongly condemned the strike, according to the Algérie1 news website. Despite his threats and ongoing state repression against protesters, Cnapeste announced on 16 February 2018 its intention to continue its actions.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.