فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / الاقتصاد / الجزائر يتطلع إلى الطاقة الشمسية لتلبية الطلب المتزايد على الكهرباء

الجزائر يتطلع إلى الطاقة الشمسية لتلبية الطلب المتزايد على الكهرباء

Algeria- Solar energy algeria
الطاقة الشمسية هي الطاقة المتجددة الأكثر أهمية في الجزائر. المصدر: alaraby.co.uk / Getty ©Pinterest

تبلغ مساحة الجزائر ما يقارب الـ2,38 مليون كيلومتر مكعب، وهو ما يجعلها أكبر دولة إفريقية والعاشرة عالميا من حيث المساحة. تمثل الصحراء منها ما يقارب 80% من المساحة الإجمالية. علاوةً على ذلك، تمتلك البلاد إمكانات ضخمة في مجال الطاقة الشمسية، إذ أن إشراق الشمس في الأراضي الجزائرية يتجاوز2000 ساعة سنوياً ليصل إلى 3000 ساعة سنوياً، مما يجعلها خزاناً هائلاً للطاقة الشمسية، فهي تمثل أكبر حقل للطاقة الشمسية في حوض البحر الأبيض المتوسط. وإذا ما تم استغلالها، سيمكنها من إنتاج ما يفوق 169400 تيراواط/ساعة، أي ما يعادل 5000 مرة من الاستهلاك السنوي الوطني للكهرباء.

في السنوات الأخيرة، أظهرت الحكومة الجزائرية طموحاً في استخدام هذا المورد الطبيعي كبديلٍ حقيقي للوقود الأحفوري، ويمكن القول أن تفكير الجزائر في استغلال الطاقة الشمسية ليس وليد اليوم وإنما يرجع إلى الأزمة التي عاشتها الجزائر سنة 1980 نتيجة تهاوي أسعار النفط، إذ قامت بإنشاء المحافظة السامية للطاقات المتجددة سنة 1982. كانت هذه المحافظة مسؤولةً عن إدارة خمسة مراكز بحثية ومحطة تجريبية للأجهزة الشمسية، إلا أن عدم امتلاك الجزائر للتكنولوجيا اللازمة التي تمكنها من استغلال هذا النوع من الطاقات حال دون تقدمها في في هذا المجال.

وفي حديث للدكتورة بوقراص رقية، المختصة في العلاقات الاقتصادية الدولية، نشر لها على موقع سي إن إن بالعربية في شهر مايو 2016، أرجعت تأخر الجزائر في استغلال الطاقة الشمسية مقارنة بدولٍ مجاورة إلى امتلاكها لبدائل الطاقة التقليدية (البترول والغاز) وغياب الإرادة السياسية.

وذهب الدكتور شكيب خليل، وزير الطاقة الجزائري الأسبق والخبير الدولي في الشؤون العامة، في حديثٍ له ليومية الحوار تداوله موقعها الالكتروني بتاريخ 12 مايو 2017 ، إلى أن فشل الجزائر في استغلال الطاقة الشمسية راجع إلى التكلفة الباهظة لاقتناء وتركيب الألواح الشمسية المستعملة في استقبال أشعة الشمس، بالإضافة إلى التكلفة المرتفعة مقارنة باستعمال الغاز الطبيعي في توليد الكهرباء.

إن هذا التأخر في استغلال الطاقة الشمسية يرجع كذلك إلى سوء استغلال الفرص التي أتيحت للسلطات الجزائرية في هذا المجال، ولعل أبرز مثال على ذلك هو مشروع ديزيرتيك لاستغلال الطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح. المشروع الذي تشرف عليه المؤسسة الألمانية ديزيرتيك، أطلق سنة 2009 من طرف مجموعة من البنوك والمؤسسات الألمانية لإنتاج ما يقارب 20 % من احتياجات الطاقة للسوق الأوروبية لترتفع مع حلول 2025 إلى حوالي 50 % لكل من المنطقة الأوربية والشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا حسب تقديرات المركز الفضائي الألماني.

كان المشروع مبرمجاً في البداية ليتم تنفيذه في صحاري عدة دول بالمنطقة، لكن في الأخير تم توجيه الأنظار نحو الجزائر لإقامة هذا المشروع الضخم. إلا أن المفاوضات التي جمعت الجزائر بألمانيا لم تكلل بالنجاح، والسبب في ذلك هو العقبات الكثيرة التي فرضها الطرف الجزائري ومرد ذلك حسب عديد الخبراء والمحللين الاقتصاديين هو البحبوحة المالية التي عرفتها الجزائر في تلك الفترة نتيجة ارتفاع أسعار النفط، الأمر الذي جعل المشروع لا يدخل ضمن أولى اهتماماتها في ذلك الوقت مما ساهم بقسط كبير في ضياعه منها

الأمر لم يتوقف عند مشروع ديزيرتيك، حيث حاولت الجزائر تدارك ما فاتها من خلال وضع برنامج وطني لاستغلال الطاقات المتجددة، يمتد هذا البرنامج من سنة 2011 وإلى غاية سنة 2030، وهو ما يعني وجود إستراتيجية طويلة المدى وواضحة المعالم لترقية إنتاج واستغلال الطاقات المتجددة بما فيها الطاقة الشمسية. يهدف هذا البرنامج إلى تلبية احتياجات السوق الوطنية من الطاقة الكهربائية بما يعادل 22000 ميغاواط، وهو ما يمثل نسبة 27 % من الاستهلاك السنوي الوطني للكهرباء، منها 13575 ميغاواط سيتم إنتاجها باستغلال الطاقة الشمسية، أما البقية فيتم الاعتماد في إنتاجها على طاقة الرياح، والطاقة الحرارية، والطاقة الحيوية، والطاقة الحرارية الأرضية والتوليد المشترك للطاقة. تبلغ تكلفة هذا البرنامج الطموح ما قيمته 120 مليار دولار، يتم تمويله اعتماداً على مصادر تمويلية خارجية ومن ممولين محليين خواص، حيث شرعت سوناطراك، المؤسسة الجزائرية المختصة في مجال الطاقة، في البحث عن شركاء أجانب لبدء تنفيذ الجزء الأول من هذا البرنامج، والمتمثل في بناء محطة لإنتاج 4000 ميغاوات من الطاقات المتجددة.

قامت شركة سوناطراك الجزائرية وشركة إيني ENI الايطالية بالتوقيع على اتفاق استراتيجي في نوفمبر من سنة 2016، ويتعلق الأمر بتطوير مشاريع الطاقات المتجددة، وخاصة الشمسية منها، وهذا من أجل الوصول إلى تغطية الطلب المحلي بنسبة 40% من الطاقات البديلة. وبعد الإعلان عن المشاريع المقترحة في إطار الشراكة بين الشركتين، قدمت 34 شركة، منها مؤسسات فرنسية وايطالية متخصصة في مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية، رغبتها للترشح لانجاز المشاريع. من جهتها، أعلنت مؤسسة كوندور الرائدة في مجال الإلكترونيك في الجزائر عن إنتاجها للصفائح المستعملة في محطات الطاقة الشمسية، وقد تم تصميمها بأحجام مختلفة لتلائم محطات الطاقة الشمسية، والمنازل، والكهرباء الريفية، وإنارة الشوارع والري الزراعي.

وبغية تحقيق الهدف المنشود من البرنامج الوطني للطاقات المتجددة، قامت الجزائر بتشييد العديد من محطات الطاقة الشمسية عبر كامل ربوع الوطن، وتعد محطة الجلفة، التي تبعد عن الجزائر العاصمة بحوالي 350 كلم، وتعتبر بوابة للصحراء الجزائرية، بمنطقة عين الابل الأكبر وطنياً من حيث قدرة إنتاجها، إذ تضم 190000 لوحة شمسية، بلغت تكلفة انجازها ما يزيد 11 مليار دينار جزائري (93 مليون دولار).

وخلال ملتقى حول الموضوع نظم تحت الرعاية السامية للوزير الأول السابق السيد عبد المالك سلال سنة 2016 بعنوان “التحول الطاقوي بين التحديات الاقتصادية والرهانات البيئية،” تم من خلاله عرض واقع الطاقات المتجددة في الجزائر ومن بينها الطاقة الشمسية، والتي تعرف تنافساً دولياً. فقد صرح الخبير الفرنسي جيل بونافي أن الجزائر لا تستغل سوى 0.003 % من طاقتها الشمسية لإنتاج الكهرباء، وهذا رغم المؤهلات الكبيرة التي تتمتع بها الصحراء الجزائرية الشاسعة والمترامية الأطرف. ووفقاً لإحدى التقديرات، إن ما مساحته 254 كيلو متر مربع في الصحراء قد يكون كافياً لتوفير مجمل الاستهلاك العالمي للطاقة، أي ما يعادل نحو 37 ألف مليار متر مكعب من الغاز الطبيعي في العام.

وبحسب صحيفة الحوار، فقد كانت الجزائر سباقة لإنشاء أول محطة طاقة هجينة، تجمع ما بين الطاقة الشمسية والغاز الطبيعي، تقع بمنطقة حاسي رمل وبطاقة إنتاج قدرها 150 ميغاواط. وفي تقريرٍ لشبكة سكاي نيوز عربية صادر على موقعها الالكتروني بتاريخ 29 يناير 2019، عنونت هذه الأخيرة أن الجزائر تتوجه نحو استعمال الطاقة النظيفة لتوليد الكهرباء، إذ تخطط في هذا الإطار لإطلاق عدد من المشاريع الخاصة بالطاقات المتجددة هذا العام، في ظل سعيها لتلبية الطلب المتزايد على الكهرباء ومن أجل توفير الغاز للتصدير تدعيماً لخزينة الدولة من العملة الصعبة. ووفقاً لذات التقرير، فإن الجزائر ستطلق قريباً مشروعاً أمام المؤسسات المحلية والأجنبية من أجل بناء محطة لتوليد الكهرباء من الطاقة الشمسية بقدرة 150 ميغاوات.

وذكر التقرير كذلك أن متوسط نمو الطلب على الكهرباء محلياً بلغ نسبة 6.91 سنوياً، وهو ما يبرز التحديات التي تواجه الجزائر مستقبلاً من ناحية إنتاج الكهرباء لتلبية الطلب المتنامي.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن الجزائر تنتج 98% من الكهرباء حالياً باستعمال الغاز الطبيعي. ويؤكد الخبراء أن الطاقة الشمسية التي تزخر بها الصحراء الجزائرية ستشكل مستقبل التنمية فيها ومن المنتظر أن تلقى إقبالاً استثمارياً كبيراً، بالنظر لزيادة الطلب عليها، كما أن السلطات الجزائرية تتوجه لدعم الطاقات المتجددة بمختلف أشكالها. يرجع ذلك لما للمشاريع المتعلقة بالطاقة الشمسية من أهمية بالغة على مستوى المناطق التي تنجز فيها، إذ أنها تسهم في توفير الطاقة الكهربائية محلياً، إضافة لخلق الثروة واستحداث مناصب الشغل.

وتحاول الجزائر في الآونة الأخير استدراك ما فاتها من وقتٍ من خلال تكثيف الجهود في مجال فتح المجال للاستثمار في الطاقات المتجددة ومنها الطاقة الشمسية حيث كان مؤخرا لقاء جمع وزيرة البيئة والطاقات المتجددة السيدة فاطمة الزهراء زرواطي مع سفير الاتحاد الأوروبي بالجزائر، جون أورورك ، في 27 يماير 2019، إذ تطرق الطرفان إلى المشاريع المستقبلية المتعلقة بالطاقات المتجددة، وكذا سبل دعمها وترقيتها خاصة في المناطق الجنوبية المعزولة عن شبكة التوصيل بالكهرباء.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Pinterest

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Economy / Algeria Looks to Solar Energy to Meet Growing Electricity Demand

Algeria Looks to Solar Energy to Meet Growing Electricity Demand

Algeria- Solar energy algeria
Solar energy is the most important renewable energy in Algeria. Photo: alaraby.co.uk / Getty

Algeria covers an area of approximately 2.38 million km2, making it the largest country in Africa and the tenth largest globally. The desert accounts for approximately 80 per cent of this area. Moreover, the country boasts between 2,000 and 3,000 hours of sunshine per year, giving it the largest solar field in the world and the largest capacity in the Mediterranean basin. If exploited, this would enable Algeria to produce more than 169,400 terawatts per hour, equivalent to 5,000 times the annual national electricity consumption.

In recent years, the Algerian government has shown an ambition to consider solar energy as a real and powerful alternative to fossil fuels. This ambition is not new, however. It dates back to the crisis in 1980, when oil prices dropped, prompting the government to establish the High Commission for Renewable Energies in 1982. The commission was responsible for running five research centres and one pilot solar plant. However, Algeria did not have the necessary technology to leverage this type of energy, which prevented it from making progress in this field.

In a May 2016 interview with CNN, Bouqras Rokaya, an Algerian specialist in international economic relations, attributed Algeria’s delay in capitalizing on solar energy compared to its neighbours to its conventional energy resources (oil and gas) and a lack of political will.

Chakib Khelil, former energy minister and public affairs expert, speaking to the el-Hiwar daily on 12 May 2017, said that Algeria’s failure to exploit solar energy was due to the high cost of procuring and installing solar panels as well as the high cost of generating solar energy compared to natural gas.

This failure is also due to the misuse of opportunities by the Algerian authorities, a notable example being the Desertec solar energy and wind power project. Overseen by the German Desertec Foundation, the project was launched in 2009 by a consortium of German banks and institutions with the aim of producing nearly 20 per cent of the European market’s energy needs and consequently raising energy production levels to about 50 per cent by 2025 in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa, according to estimates by the German Aerospace Center.

The project was initially due to be implemented in the deserts of several countries in the region, but attention eventually settled on Algeria. However, negotiations between Algeria and Germany stalled because of the many obstacles placed in the way by the Algerian side. According to many experts and economic analysts, Algeria was riding the financial wave of high oil prices at the time, and as a result considered alternative energy generation to be a low priority. It ultimately lost the project as a result.

The situation did not stop at Desertec. Algeria tried to make up for the earlier loss by introducing the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Development Plan 2011–2030. This indicated that there was a long-term and well-defined strategy to upgrade the production and exploitation of renewable energy, including solar energy. The plan aims to generate 22,000 megawatts of electricity from renewable sources, amounting to 27 per cent of the annual national electricity consumption. A total of 13,575 megawatts will be produced using solar energy, while the rest will be produced using wind power, thermal energy, bioenergy, geothermal energy and cogeneration. The cost of this ambitious plan is $120 billion, funded by external sources and local private funders. Sonatrach, an Algerian energy company, began looking for foreign partners to begin implementation of the first phase, namely to build a plant to produce 4,000 megawatts of renewable energy.

Sonatrach and Italian company Eni signed a strategic agreement in November 2016 to develop renewable energy projects, especially solar energy, in order to achieve the target of meeting 40 per cent of local demand from alternative energy. Following the announcement of projects proposed under the agreement, 34 companies, including French and Italian companies specializing in solar energy projects, expressed their intention to submit bids to complete the projects. For its part, Condor Electronics, an electronics pioneer in Algeria, announced its production of plates used in solar energy panels and designed in different sizes to fit solar power plants, homes, rural electricity, street lighting and agricultural irrigation.

In order to meet the national targets, Algeria built several solar power plants across the country. The plant in Djelfa, about 350km from the capital Algiers and a gateway to the Sahara, is the largest in terms of production capacity, with 190,000 solar panels. The cost of building the plant exceeded 11 billion Algerian dinars (US$93 million).

A meeting organized under the patronage of former Prime Minister Abdelmalek Sellal in 2016, titled Energy Shifting Between Economic Challenges and Environmental Risks, presented the reality of renewable energy in Algeria, including solar energy, which is the subject of international competition. French expert Gil Bonavi said Algeria uses only 0.003 per cent of its solar energy to produce electricity, despite the great potential of the vast Sahara. According to one estimate, 254km2 in the Sahara would be enough to meet the total electricity demand of the world, equivalent to about 37,000 billion cubic metres of natural gas per year.

According to el-Hiwar newspaper, Algeria took the lead in establishing a hybrid power plant combining solar and natural gas, located in Hassi al-Raml, with a production capacity of 150 megawatts. A report published by Sky News Arabia on 29 January 2019 stated that Algeria is moving toward using clean energy for power generation, launching a number of renewable energy projects this year, as part of efforts to meet the increasing demand for electricity, whereas gas will be exported to generate income to feed the state treasury with hard currency. According to the same report, Algeria will soon invite bids from local and foreign companies to build a 150-megawatt solar power plant.

The report also stated that the average annual growth rate of demand for power domestically is 6.91 per cent, which indicates the production challenges that Algeria will face in the future to meet this growing demand.

Algeria currently produces 98 per cent of its electricity using natural gas. Experts affirm that the solar energy available in the Sahara will shape the future development of Algeria’s energy sector. The Algerian authorities are also moving toward supporting projects to produce different types of renewable energy. This is because such projects contribute to local electricity supply as well as to generating wealth and creating job opportunities.

Algeria has recently been trying to make up for lost time by intensifying its efforts to attract investment in renewable energy. A meeting between Fatma Zohra Zerouati, Minister of Environment and Renewable Energy, and [John O’Rourke], the European Union ambassador to Algeria, on [27 January 2019] covered future projects related to renewable energy sources as well as ways to support and promote them, especially in southern regions that are far removed from the electricity network.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.