فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / وُجوه / عبد العزيز بوتفليقة

عبد العزيز بوتفليقة

عبد العزيز بوتفليقة
عبد العزيز بوتفليقة. Photo Polaris ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Polaris

عبد العزيز بوتفليقة، الرئيس الحالي للجزائر وأطولهم حكماً، بلاغته ومكره أوصلتاه إلى السُلطة في وقتٍ كانت فيه البلاد تنجرف نحو التطرف العنيف. بالنسبة للبعض، بوتفليقة ليبرالي يتمتع بالكاريزما من أتباع الراحل بومدين؛ وبالنسبة للبعض الآخر، ديكتاتور فاسد. ويصادف هذا العام عقده السادس منذ أن ترك المدرسة ليشارك في حرب الاستقلال والشروع في رحلة طويلة من الدبلوماسية والسياسة، التي امتازت بكلٍ من الإنتصارات والفشل. وبعد تعرضه لسكتتين دماغيتين في السنوات الأخيرة، اختفى تدريجياً من الحياة العامة.

ولد بوتفليقة في 2 مارس 1937 في وجدة في المغرب لأبوين من تلمسان- الجزائر. نشأ وترعرع في كنف عائلة متواضعة مع خمسة أشقاء وثلاث شقيقات من زوج والدته. وكونه نجل شيخ زاوية، حفظ القرآن الكريم في سن مبكرة جداً. واصل تعليمه في وجدة إلى أن أنهى المدرسة الثانوية، وكحال الكثير من الشباب آنذاك، التحق بجيش التحرير الوطني الجزائري وسرعان ما تمت ترقيته. في عام 1960، عهدت إليه مسؤولية قيادة جبهة مالي في الجنوب الجزائري. أصبح يُعرف بـ”عبد القادر المالي،” اسمه الثوري المستخدم حتى يومنا هذا. برع بوتفلقية أثناء وجوده في جيش التحرير الوطني، كما يُقال، بالتواصل والتفاوض وأصبح يُعرف بمهاراته القيادية. وفي ذلك الوقت أيضاً، التقى بهواري بومدين، صديقه المقرب الذي أصبح فيما بعد رئيساً للجزائر من عام 1965 حتى عام 1978.

بعد استقلال الجزائر عن فرنسا في عام 1962، عيّن بوتفليقة وزيراً للشباب والرياضة والسياحة، وأصبح وزيراً للشؤون الخارجية عام 1963. وفي عام 1964، انتخب عضواً في المكتب السياسي واللجنة المركزية لجبهة التحرير الوطني، الذي كان آنذاك الحزب السياسي الوحيد في البلاد. وبين عامي 1964-1965 حاول الرئيس بن بلة عزل حلفاء بومدين المعروفين باسم “عشيرة وجدة.” وعندما أراد فقط عزل بوتفليقة، اطاح به بومدين بانقلابٍ سلمي واستبدله بالمجلس الثوري. ساهم بوتفليقة بالانقلاب وعيّن في المجلس الثوري.

أصبح بومدين رئيس البلاد وأبقى بوتفليقة رئيساً للدبلوماسية في العصر الذي حافظت فيه الجزائر على سياسة عدم الانحياز ودعت إلى تنمية الدول ما بعد الاستعمار. برز اسم بوتفليقة في دول العالم النامي وخارجه باعتباره مفاوضاً ماهراً وخطيباً فصيح اللسان. وفي عام 1974، انتخبت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة بالإجماع بوتفليقة، الذي كان آنذاك يشغل منصب وزير الخارجية، رئيساً لها.

الخصومة

عندما توفي بومدين في ديسمبر 1978، تصدر بوتفليقة وزعيم جبهة التحرير الوطني، صلاح يحياوي، قائمة الخلفاء. ومع ذلك، خسر بوتفليقة أمام وزير الدفاع في عهد بومدين، الشاذلي بن جديد، الذي كان مرشحاً توافقياً مدعوماً من قبل الجيش، حيث اعتبر بوتفليقة ليبرالياً جداً؛ في حين كان يحياوي اشتراكياً للغاية. وزعم أن الجيش، الذي كان يُسيطر آنذاك على الحياة السياسية في البلاد، أراد وضع حدٍ لحقبة بومدين، إذ كان يُنظر إلى بوتفليقة باعتباره امتداداً له. وفي عام 1981، اتهم بوتفليقه بالفساد، ومن ثم وجد مذنباً بالتهم الموجهة إليه وتم عزله من صفوف حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني. ولتجنب مصير معاونيه في السجن، سنوسي وبوجقجي، غادر بوتفليقة البلاد إلى منفى اختياري، حيث قضى الفترة ما بين 1981 إلى 1986 في الإمارات العربية المتحدة وسويسرا وفرنسا. وفي عام 1983، وفقاً لما ذكرته صحيفة حكومية، المجاهد، وجد ديوان المحاسبة أن بوتفليقة ما بين 1965-1978 أساء إدارة أكثر من 6 مليارات سنتيم جزائري (59 مليون دينار جزائري أو 469,169 فرنك سويسري) المتعلقة بأنشطة ممولة من الميزانية والموارد الخارجة عن نفقات الميزانية للبعثات الدبلوماسية والقنصلية.

العودة إلى الساحة

في عام 1986، منح الرئيس بن جديد بوتفليقة عفواً وبرأه من تهم الفساد، وذلك بعد عدة مناشدات من بوتفليقة نفسه ووساطات شخصيات مؤثرة مثل ياسر عرفات والشيخ زايد في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. عاد بوتفليقة إلى الجزائر في وقت الأزمات الاجتماعية الناجمة عن سوء الإدارة. أدى ذلك إلى تغيير في الدستور يسمح بالانفتاح الديموقراطي، ونهاية حكم الحزب الواحد لجبهة التحرير الوطني، والحرب الأهلية الدامية التي اندلعت بعد أن أبطل بن جديد والجيش فوز الاسلاميين في الانتخابات. في عام 1989، أعاد حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني انتخاب عبد العزيز بوتفليقة إلى اللجنة المركزية. وفي عام 1992، تمت دعوة محمد بوضياف، الذي كان قد ذهب إلى المنفى في المغرب عام 1964، للعودة كرئيسٍ لمجلس الدولة المدعوم من قِبل الجيش. وفي أعقاب اغتيال بوضياف عام 1992، طلب الجيش من بوتفليقة، الذي رأى فيه خير خليفة، قيادة البلاد. رفض ذلك قائلاً “أنا لا أمتهن السياسة، لا أريدها بعد الآن، أقسم أنني لن أشارك مجدداً في الحياة السياسية.” ومع ذلك، في عام 1999، ترشح بوتفليقة للانتخابات وفاز بالرئاسة، على الرغم من أنّ الانتخابات شابتها مزاعم التدخل العسكري وانسحاب المرشحين الآخرين قبل يوم واحد فقط من التصويت.

كرئيس، ركز بوتفليقة على إعادة بناء البلاد وتعزيز سمعة الجزائر على المستوى الدولي. قاد حملة ناجحة لإقناع الجزائريين بالتصويت على مشروع وطني للسلام والمصالحة يهدف إلى إعادة تأهيل المتطرفين الذين وجدوا غير مذنبين بالقتل والاغتصاب والتفجير. قال أكثر من 97% من الناخبين “نعم” للمصالحة. وبمساعدة تواصل ارتفاع أسعار النفط، شطب جميع الديون الخارجية على الجزائر وباشر في تنفيذ مشاريع مهمة للبنية التحتية، والإصلاحات القانونية التي تهدف إلى تحرير الاقتصاد وجذب الاستثمارات. وعلى صعيد السياسة الخارجية، روّج لتحقيق التكامل الإقليمي على مستوى المغرب العربي والبحر الأبيض المتوسط، وسعى لتنصيب الجزائر زعيم افريقيا. استضافت البلاد العديد من الفعاليات الإقليمية والدولية، وبفضل خبرة بوتفليقة الواسعة في هذا المجال، لعبت الجزائر أيضاً دوراً غير مسبوق في مكافحة الإرهاب في شمال إفريقيا ومنطقة الساحل.

محلياً، عمل بوتفليقة على إبعاد الجيش، وبالتحديد الأجهزة الأمنية، من الساحة السياسية. خلق هذا صراعاً على السُلطة لا يزال حتى الآن يحدد السياسة الجزائرية. وفي سبتمبر 2015، نجح في إحالة الرئيس السابق لوحدة الاستخبارات الجزائرية، دائرة الاستعلام والأمن، على “التقاعد،” وإنشاء وكالة جديدة تحت سيطرة الرئاسة. وبعد موجة الربيع العربي التي انطلقت عام 2011، وعد بوتفليقة بإجراء المزيد من الإصلاحات في محاولة لإنقاذ نظامه من مصير التونسي زين العابدين بن علي. وفي فبراير 2016، نفذت آخر هذه الإصلاحات عندما وافق البرلمان الجزائري على مجموعة بارزة من الإصلاحات الدستورية تمنح المزيد من الحريات للصحافة والأقليات والمعارضة والشباب والنساء المهمشات.

الانتقادات

كانت صحة بوتفليقة المعتل سبباً في الكثير من التكهنات في السنوات الأخيرة، التي دعمها عدم وجود معلوماتٍ من الرئاسة حول هذا الموضوع. وفي عام 2013، تعرّض الرئيس لسكتة دماغية نقل على إثرها إلى فرنسا لتلقي العلاج. ومنذ ذلك الحين، قل ظهوره الشعبي بشكلٍ لافت حيث بات يتواصل فحسب من خلال الرسائل التي يقرأها حلفائه وشركائه. وتشتمل هذه القائمة على أصدقائه المقربين، ومستشاره وكاتب خطاباته، محمد بن عمر زرهوني، ورئيس الوزراء السابق أحمد أويحيى، والوزير السابق بلعيز وشقيقه سعيد. وبالرغم من ذلك، ترشح بوتفليقة لولاية رابعة وفاز بها في عام 2014، على الرغم من وصف خصومه للنتائج بأنها مزورة وطالبوا باستقالته.

وعلاوة على ذلك، كثيراً ما شاب الفساد إدارته على جميع المستويات. وفي عام 2015، صنفت منظمة الشفافية الدولية الجزائر في المرتبة 88 من أصل 186 بلداً. واليوم، مع الانخفاض التاريخي لأسعارالنفط، يتساءل العديد من الجزائريين لمَ لا يزال اقتصادهم يعتمد على مثل هذا المورد المحدود، وعن ما فعلته الحكومة بالدولارات البترولية التي كسبتها عندما وصل سعر النفط إلى 140 دولار للبرميل الواحد.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Polaris | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Polaris

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Faces / Abdelaziz Bouteflika

Abdelaziz Bouteflika

Abdelaziz Bouteflika
Abdelaziz Bouteflika. Photo Polaris

Abdelaziz Bouteflika is the current and longest serving president of Algeria. His eloquence and guile brought him to power at a time when the country was drifting towards violent extremism. To some, he is a charismatic liberal Boumedienist; to others, a corrupt dictator. This year marks six decades since he left school to fight the war of independence and embark on a long journey of diplomacy and politics, marked by both triumph and failure. Following two strokes in recent years, he has gradually disappeared from public life.

Bouteflika was born on 2 March 1937 in Oujda, Morocco to parents from Tlemcen, Algeria. He grew up in a modest family with five siblings and three stepsisters. A son of a zaouia (Islamic monastery) sheikh, he memorized the Koran at a very young age. He continued his education in Oujda up to high school then, as many young people were doing, he joined the Algerian Liberation Army (ALN) and was soon promoted. In 1960, he was tasked with leading the Malian Front in the Algerian south. He became known as Abdelkader al-Mali (the Malian), his revolutionary name which has survived to this day. In the ALN, Bouteflika reportedly excelled at communication and negotiation and became known for his leadership skills. It was also around this time that he met Houari Boumediene, his best friend and later president of Algeria from 1965-1978.

After Algeria’s independence from France in 1962, Bouteflika was appointed minister of youth, sports and tourism. He became minister of foreign affairs in 1963. In 1964, he was elected a member of the political bureau and the central committee of the National Liberation Front (FLN), at the time the country’s sole political party. From 1964-1965, President Ahmed Ben Bella tried to isolate Boumediene’s allies, known as the Clan of Oujda. Only when he tried to dismiss Bouteflika did Boumediene overthrow him in a bloodless coup and replace him with a Revolutionary Council. Bouteflika contributed to the coup and was appointed to the Revolutionary Council.[1]

Boumediene became president and kept Bouteflika as chief of diplomacy in an era when Algeria maintained a non-alignment policy and advocated the development of post-colonial states. Bouteflika made a name for himself in the developing world and beyond as an astute negotiator and eloquent orator. In 1974, the UN General Assembly unanimously elected Bouteflika, by then foreign minister, as its president.

Controversy

When Boumediene died in December 1978, Bouteflika and the FLN director, Salah Yahyaoui, topped the list of successors. However, Bouteflika lost out to Boumediene’s defence minister, Chadli Bendjedid, who was a consensual candidate backed by the military. Bouteflika was regarded as being too liberal; Yahyaoui too socialist. The army, then in control of the country’s politics, allegedly wanted to end the Boumediene era, of which Bouteflika was considered an extension[1]. In 1981, Bouteflika was charged with corruption. He was subsequently found guilty and removed from the FLN’s party ranks. To avoid the fate of his jailed collaborators, Senouci and Boudjakdji, he went into self-imposed exile. He spent the period from 1981 and 1986 in the UAE, Switzerland and France. In 1983, the state newspaper, el Moudjahid, reported that the Court of Auditors had found that between 1965-1978 Bouteflika had allegedly mismanaged over 6 billion Algerian centimes (59 million Algerian dinars or 469,169 Swiss francs) related to budgetary exercises and the extra-budgetary expenses of diplomatic and consular missions.

Return to the Scene

In 1986, President Bendjedid granted Bouteflika amnesty and cleared him of the corruption charges, following numerous appeals by Bouteflika himself and intervention from such influential figures as Yasser Arafat and Sheikh Zayed of the UAE. Bouteflika returned to Algeria at a time of social crisis caused by bad governance. This led to a change in the constitution allowing for a democratic opening, the end of one-party FLN rule and a bloody civil war after Bendjedid and the army annulled an Islamist election victory. In 1989, the FLN reelected Bouteflika to the central committee. In 1992, Mohamed Boudiaf, who had gone into exile in Morocco in 1964, was invited to return as the head of a military-backed council of state[1]. Following Boudiaf’s assassination in 1992, the military, which saw in Bouteflika the ideal successor, asked him to lead the country. He declined, saying: “I don’t do politics, I don’t want it anymore, I swear I will never be involved in politics.” In 1999, however, Bouteflika ran for and won the presidency, although the election was marred by claims of military meddling and the withdrawal of the other candidates a day before voting.

As president, Bouteflika focused on rebuilding the country and strengthening Algeria’s international reputation. He led a successful campaign to convince Algerians to vote on a national project for peace and reconciliation meant to rehabilitate extremists who were not guilty of murder, rape and bombing. Over 97% of voters said ‘yes’ to reconciliation. Aided by consistently high oil prices, he wrote off all of Algeria’s external debts and embarked on important infrastructure projects and legal reforms aimed at economic liberalization and attracting investment. On the foreign policy front, he pushed for regional integration at the Maghreb and Mediterranean level and endeavoured to position Algeria as an African leader. The country hosted many regional and international events. Thanks to Bouteflika’s extensive experience in the field, it also played an unprecedented role in fighting terrorism in North Africa and the Sahel.

Domestically, Bouteflika worked on distancing the military, namely the security services, from the political arena. This created a power struggle that continues to define Algerian politics. In September 2015, he succeeded in ‘retiring’ the former chief of Algeria’s spy unit, the DRS, and created a new agency under the control of the presidency. After the Arab Spring of 2011, Bouteflika promised further reforms in a bid to save his regime from the fate of Tunisia’s Ben Ali. In February 2016, the last of these reforms was realized when the Algerian parliament approved a landmark package of constitutional reforms granting more freedoms to the press, minorities, the opposition and marginalized youth and women.

Critics

Bouteflika’s ailing health in recent years has been the cause of much speculation, fuelled by a lack of information from the presidency on the topic. In 2013, the president suffered a stroke and was rushed to France for medical treatment. Since then, his public appearances have reduced significantly and he has only communicated through letters read by his allies and associates. These include his good friend, advisor and speechwriter Mohamed Benamer Zerhouni, former PM Ahmed Ouyahia, retired general Khermubi, former minister Blaiz, and his brother, Said. Even so, Bouteflika sought and won a fourth term in 2014, although his opponents decried the results as fraudulent and demanded his resignation.

Moreover, Bouteflika’s administration has often been marred by corruption at all levels. In 2015, Transparency International ranked Algeria 88 out of 186 countries. With oil prices now at historically low levels, many Algerians wonder why their economy is still so reliant on such a finite resource and what the government has done with the petrodollars earned when the commodity was hitting $140-a-barrel highs.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.