فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / وُجوه / أحمد قايد صالح: ما الخطوة القادمة لأقوى رجلٍ في الجزائر؟

أحمد قايد صالح: ما الخطوة القادمة لأقوى رجلٍ في الجزائر؟

أعلن الرئيس الجزائري عبد العزيز بوتفليقة استقالته الرسمية في 2 أبريل 2019، وسط احتجاجاتٍ جماهيرية ضد استمرار قيادته. وبعد فترةٍ وجيزة، قام حليفه السابق اللواء أحمد قايد صالح باعتقال رئيس المخابرات السابق الجنرال محمد مدني ( المعروف أيضاً باسم الجنرال توفيق) وسعيد بوتفليقة شقيق الرئيس المستقيل، بتهم ثقيلة تتعلق بالتآمر على الدولة وعلى الجيش.

فقد أكد في كل خطاباته المتكررة على التزامه الدائم بالدستور وعلى أن المؤسسة العسكرية لن تحيد عن مهامها الدستورية وستبقى مرافقة للحراك الشعبي ومؤيدة له في هذا الإطار، مشدداً على أنه لا توجد له أي طموحات سياسية من وراء ذلك، حيث جاء ذلك رداً على كل المشككين في أن تحرك المؤسسة العسكرية بقيادته هو في اتجاه محاكاة الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي، الذي صعد إلى السلطة في انقلابٍ عسكري، بدعم من الإمارات التي تريد المحافظة على نفوذها في المنطقة.

فهل سيصنع القايد صالح الاستثناء أم سيكون نسخة لأمثاله من الجنرالات في الدول العربية؟

ولد أحمد قايد صالح يوم 13 يناير من سنة 1940 ببلدة عين ياقوت بولاية باتنة جنوب شرق الجزائر. التحق بالحركة الوطنية إبان الاستعمار الفرنسي للجزائر مناضلاً وعمره لا يتجاوز 17 سنة، ثم جندياً في جيش التحرير الوطني ضد الاستعمار الفرنسي. استمر في صفوف الجيش الوطني الشعبي بعد الاستقلال عام 1962، حيث شارك في حرب الاستنزاف سنة 1968كجزءٍ من الحملة العسكرية بالشرق الأوسط بمصر.

ومثل العديد من قادة جيش التحرير الوطني، أجرى قايد صالح غداة الاستقلال دورات تكوينية في الاتحاد السوفياتي سابقاً. وبعد تخرجه من أكاديمية فيستريل الواقعة خارج موسكو، عاد إلى الجزائر وبدأ مسلسل صعود الرتب العسكرية وتقلّد المسؤوليات متدرجاً في سلم القيادة. رقًي إلى رتبة لواء في يوليو 1993، ليعين في سنة 1994 قائداً للقوات البرية التي تحصي النسبة الأكبر من عدة وعتاد الجيش الجزائري والتي لعبت دوراً أساسياً في مواجهة الجماعات المسلحة خلال الحرب الأهلية (1991-2002).

مسيرة القايد كادت أن تنتهي في مرتين الأولى سنة 1980 في فترة رئاسة الشاذلي بن جديد للجزائر عندما كان على وشك الإحالة على التقاعد وتم إنقاذه بوساطة من الجنرالين خالد نزار ومحمد العماري، والثانية سنة 2003 عندما أراد المسؤولون عنه إحالته على التقاعد في عملية تجديد إطارات الجيش وترتيب الولاءات، حيث أعد رئيس الأركان الجزائري آنذاك محمد العماري مسودة بقائمة لضباط في الجيش برتب مختلفة ليُحالوا على التقاعد، وكان من بينهم قايد صالح. ووفقاً لمجلة جون آفريك الفرنسية، فقد تلقى هذا الأخير مكالمة من الرئيس بوتفليقة، الذي أصبح رئيساً عام 1999، يسأله فيها “هل تريد أن تتركنا؟”

وفي نهاية المطاف سمح له بأن يظل في منصبه قائداً للقوات البرية، ليتم تعيينه في أواخر 2004رئيساً لأركان الجيش الوطني الشعبي خلفاً للفريق محمد العماري الذي دفع ثمن معارضته لعهدة ثانية لبوتفليقة. وعبر القايد صالح عن امتنانه لذلك عبر تحوله إلى أكثر المخلصين لبوتفليقة.

تقلد رتبة فريق في يوليو 2006، وفي سبتمبر 2013 تم تعيينه نائباً لوزير الدفاع الوطني. ويرى مراقبون أن بوتفليقة منحه هذا المنصب مقابل دعمه له في مواجهة جهاز المخابرات بقيادة الفريق توفيق الذي كان يعارض ترشحه لعهدة رئاسية رابعة في 2014 والذي أطيح به من قبل بوتفليقة في سنة 2015 وبدعم من الفريق قايد صالح.

كما وقف القايد صالح في وجه من كانوا يريدون الإطاحة ببوتفليقة بعد تعرضه لجلطة دماغية جعلته مقعداً على كرسي متحرك. وعلاوةً على ذلك، هو من ضمن ترشح وفوز بوتفليقة بعهدة رئاسية رابعة سنة 2014 وضمن بقاءه في الحكم رغم كل الدعوات التي تعالت من أجل منعه من الترشح لعهدة رابعة بسبب المانع الصحي.

وقبيل رئاسيات 2019، التي كان من المفترض إجراؤها في 4 يوليو والتي كانت ستشهد ترشح بوتفليقة لعهدةٍ خامسة، قام القايد صالح بإحكام قبضته على مؤسسة الجيش بإبعاد كل من تحوم حولهم الشكوك من قادة مختلف القوات وقادة النواحي العسكرية مع المديرية العامة لأمن الجيش وقيادة سلاح الدرك الوطني. كما أنه استطاع أن يستولي كذلك على قيادة الأمن الوطني بالإطاحة بمديرها العام اللواء عبد الغاني هامل.

استمر هذا الوفاء المطلق إلى غاية 22 فبراير، تاريخ بداية الحراك الشعبي المناهض لترشح بوتفليقة. في هذه المرحلة، عارض القايد صالح المسيرات واصفاً الذين خرجوا للشارع بالمغرر بهم. وحذر من أن هناك من يريد العودة بالبلاد إلى سنوات الألم والجمر التي شهدتها الجزائر سنوات التسعينيات وراح ضحيتها أكثر من مائتي ألف شخص.

لكن الحراك كان قوياً ومصمماً ومس كل فئات المجتمع وجميع طبقاته مما جعل القايد صالح يغير من موقفه. فقد عبر في خطابٍ رسمي له بتاريخ 26 مارس 2019 عن وقوفه في صف الشعب، داعياً إلى ضرورة الاستجابة لمطالبه وتطبيق حالة شغور منصب الرئيس باللجوء إلى الحل الدستوري في المادة 102 منه (التي تنص على حالة الشغور).

وهنا تخلى القايد صالح عن بوتفليقة بعدما وجد أن هذا الأخير انتهى سياسياً وأن البقاء في صفه سيؤدي إلى ذهابه. ومنذ ذلك التاريخ يعتبر القايد صالح الأقوى في نظام الحكم، وباعتباره رئيس أركان الجيش، يعتبر مسؤولاً عن تحديد مسار مستقبل بلاده.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Farouk Batiche

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Faces / Ahmed Gaid Salah: What Next for Algeria’s Most Powerful Man?

Ahmed Gaid Salah: What Next for Algeria’s Most Powerful Man?

Algerian President Abdelaziz Bouteflika announced his official resignation on 2 April 2019, amid mass protests against his continued leadership. Shortly after, his previously staunch ally General Ahmed Gaid Salah arrested General Mohamed Mediene (aka General Toufik), former head of the intelligence services, and Said Bouteflika, the president’s brother, on conspiracy-related charges.

He has confirmed repeatedly that he has abided by the constitution and that the military establishment will not depart from its constitutional duties in supporting the protest movement. He has also claimed that there are no personal political ambitions behind this support. The last comment was made in response to rumours that he is trying to emulate Egypt’s President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi, who came to power in a military-led coup, with support from the United Arab Emirates, which is seeking to maintain influence in the region.

So will Gaid Salah be an exception to the rule or will he emerge as another power-hungry Arab general?

He was born on 13 January 1940 in the town of Ain Yagout in south-east Algeria. He joined the nationalist movement at the age of 17 and started his military career as a fighter in the National Liberation Army against France. He stayed in the army after independence in 1962, participating in the war of attrition in 1968 as part of the Middle East military campaign in Egypt.

Algeria- Ahmed Gaid Salah
Photo AFP

Like many commanders of the National Liberation Army, he attended training courses in the former Soviet Union. After graduating from the Vystrel Military Academy outside Moscow, he returned to Algeria and began rising through the ranks. He was promoted to general in July 1993, and in 1994, he was appointed commander of the ground forces, one of the most powerful army units that played a major role in confronting armed terrorist groups during the civil war (1991-2002).

His military career nearly came to a premature end twice. The first time was in 1980, when Chadli Bendjedid was in power. Gaid Salah was about to be forced into early retirement but was rescued by generals Khaled Nezzar and Mohamed Lamari. The second time was in 2003, when his superiors also tried to pressure him to retire as part of the army’s renewal campaign and rearrangement of loyalties. Lamari, then army chief of staff, prepared a draft list of officers of different ranks for retirement, and Gaid Salah was on the list. According to the French-language magazine Jeune Afrique, the latter received a call from Bouteflika, who had become president in 1999, asking, “Do you want to leave us?”

He was eventually allowed to stay on as commander of the ground forces, to be appointed later in 2004 as chief of staff of the People’s National Army, succeeding Lamari, who paid the price for his opposition to Bouteflika’s second presidential term. Gaid Salah showed his gratitude by becoming Bouteflika most loyal ally.

In July 2006, he was promoted to the rank of general, and in September 2013, he was appointed deputy minister of national defence. According to observers, the post was a reward for his ongoing support for Bouteflika, notably after General Toufik opposed Bouteflika’s candidacy for a fourth term in 2014 and was subsequently ousted in 2015, also with Gaid Salah’s support.

Gaid Salah also stood up to those who wanted to overthrow Bouteflika after a stroke put him in a wheelchair. Moreover, it was Gaid Salah who guaranteed Bouteflika’s fourth presidential term in 2014 and ensured his stay in power despite growing calls not to allow him to run again because of his poor health.

Prior to the 2019 elections, which were planned for 4 July and would have seen Bouteflika run for a fifth term, Gaid Salah tightened his grip on the army, removing opponents among commanders of various forces and military districts. He also managed to seize the National Security Command by overthrowing its director, Abdelghani Hamel.

This absolute loyalty to Bouteflika continued until 22 February, when mass protests against Bouteflika’s rule first broke out. At that stage, Gaid Salah opposed the protests, describing those who took part as misled. He also warned that certain parties wanted to take the country back to the years of pain and suffering in the 1990s that claimed more than 200,000 lives.

However, the protest movement was so strong and determined and included all segments and classes of society that Gaid Salah changed his position. He said in an official speech on 26 March that he had sided with the people. He called for their demand that the president step down be heard and that article 102 of the constitution be applied, declaring the presidential post vacant.

In short, Gaid Salah abandoned Bouteflika after he found out that the latter’s political career was over and that remaining loyal to him would lead to his own departure. Since then, Gaid Salah has been considered the regime’s most powerful figure and, as the army’s chief of staff, responsible for setting the course of his country’s future.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.