فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الإنتخابات الرئاسية 2014

الإنتخابات الرئاسية 2014

اشتباكات بين المتظاهرين وقوات الشرطة في البويرة في 17 آذار, أثناء الإنتخابات / Photo HH
اشتباكات بين المتظاهرين وقوات الشرطة في البويرة في 17 آذار, أثناء الإنتخابات / Photo HH

أتى الربيع العربي بآمال كثيرة للمنطقة العربية ومن بينها وصول الشباب إلى السلطة وإمكانية انتخاب القادة بحرية وإخضاعهم للمساءلة. في تونس وليبيا ومصر ما قبل السيسي، وعلى الرغم من استمرار تهميش الشباب واقتصار دورهم على المجتمع المدني والإعلام الاجتماعي، تم تنظيم الانتخابات الحرة وتسلم ممثلو الشعب زمام الحكم. مع ذلك، لم يطَل مد الربيع العربي المنطقة كلها وشهدت بعض البلدان صدمة عكسية.

تستعد سوريا لإجراء انتخابات رئاسية في 3 حزيران/يونيو من العام 2014 غير أن الرئيس بشار الأسد سيكون الرابح المعتاد. وفي مصر، ترشح المشير عبد الفتاح السيسي للانتخابات الرئاسية المصرية التي ستُجرى في 26 و27 أيار/مايو وهو سيُنتخب رئيساً من دون أدنى شك. وفي الجزائر، توجه الناخبون إلى صناديق الاقتراع في 17 نيسان/أبريل وكالمعتاد مددوا ولاية رئيسهم المسن والمريض.

أُعيد انتخاب عبد العزيز بوتفليقة (77 عاماً) وحاز على 81.5% من الأصوات مقابل 12% لمنافسه الرئيسي علي بن فليس. كانت المشاركة ضعيفة ولم تتخطَّ 51.7%  خصوصاً في العاصمة وفي المنطقة البربرية حيث بلغ معدل التصويت 1 إلى 4 أشخاص.

في صباح اليوم الانتخابي، وصل الرئيس إلى مركز الاقتراع على كرسي متحرك يجره أحد مساعديه ويرافقه إلى اليسار أخوه سعيد المتمتع بنفوذ كبير. أدلى الرئيس بصوته وعلى وجهه ابتسامة حاول بها إخفاء عجزه. لم يتحدث الرئيس لا إلى أتباعه ولا إلى المسؤولين في المركز ولم يتوجه إلى الصحافة. وكان ذلك ظهوره الأول منذ تعافيه من السكتة الدماغية التي أصابته في نيسان/أبريل من العام 2013.

عهد بوتفليقة

الجزائر الرئيس عبد العزيز بو تفليقة
الرئيس الجزائري عبد العزيز بو تفليقة

و”بوتف”  يعد مجاهدا فقد شارك في حرب استقلال الجزائر عن فرنسا (1954-1962)، كما أنه فرد من المجموعة التي انقلبت على الرئيس الأول للبلاد أحمد بن بلة (في العام 1965). تسلم بوتفليقة حقيبة الخارجية الجزائرية وكان من أهم وزراء الخارجية العرب وتمكن من بناء علاقات صلبة مع مانديلا وعرفات وكارلوس الثعلب وآخرين. ومع توليه سدة الرئاسة في العام 1999، كانت البلاد لا تزال غارقة في الإرهاب ويعود له الفضل الأكبر في وضع حد للحرب الأهلية الجزائرية (1991-2002). وتعرض بوتفليقة للعديد من السكتات الدماغية في السنوات الأخيرة وفُقد الأمل مراراً بعودته إلى الحياة.

في عام 1994، عدّل الرئيس اليامين زروال الدستور من اجل حظرالتمديد للرؤساء لأكثر من ولايتين؛ ولكن بوتفليقة أعاد تعديله في العام 2008 وألغى هذا البند وهو الآن في ولايته الرابعة بعد فوزه على خمسة مرشحين. وقد تولت الحكومة تنظيم هذه الانتخابات التي اعتبرها المراقبون المحليون والدوليون غير عادلة، على خلاف تونس وليبيا حيث تم تشكيل هيئة مستقلة عُنيت بالتنظيم.

وكان قد وجه بوتفليقه خطابه الاخير قبل عامين  واعلن مدراء حملته بأنهم سيقومون بحملته بدلاً عنه، وهو ما حصل بالفعل. وقاد حملة بوتفليقة رئيس وزرائه السابق عبد المالك سلال الذي ترك المدرسة قبل التخرج والمعروف بلغته العنيفة وسلوكه غير الحسن، أما مؤيدوه الأساسيون فهم رئيس أركان الجيش، ورئيسا جبهة التحرير الوطني والتجمع الوطني الديمقراطي (الحزبان اللذان يؤلفان أكثرية أعضاء المجلس النيابي)، أحمد قايد صلاح وعمار سعيداني وعبد القادر بن صلاح، بالإضافة إلى أحمد أويحي وهو نائب سابق (1995-8؛ 2008-12) والرئيس السابق للتجمع الوطني الديمقراطي (1999-2012)، والمستشار الخاص الحالي لبوتفليقة؛ عبد العزيز بلخادم وهو نائب سابق (2006-8) ورئيس سابق لجبهة التحرير الوطني (2005-13)؛ ولويزة حنون (التي تولت لفترة طويلة الأمانة العامة لحزب العمال وهي من المروجين لنظرية المؤامرة الخارجية على الجزائر والتي تحولت من معارضة شرسة لبوتفليقة إلى مناصرة له)؛ ناهيك عن شبكة قوية من حكام الأقليات.

عارض توفيق محمد مدين (المعروف بالاه الجزائر) وهو رئيس مديرية الاستعلام و الأمن المتمتع بنفوذ واسع، في بادئ الأمر ترشيح بوتفليقة، إلا أنه عاد عن موقفه.

وتدير جماعة بوتفليقة التلفزيون الوطني (وهو الأكثر شعبية في الجزائر) والعديد من وسائل الإعلام الأخرى كما أنها تتحكم بأجهزة الدولة كافةً.

لم تكن الانتخابات الجزائرية يوماً عادلة وشفافة فالتلاعب تحت الطاولة شائع جداً والجيش هو صانع الرؤساء. كان بوتفليقة قبل ما أصابه من سكتات دماغية قادراً على كف يد الجيش في بعض الأحيان ومنح السياسين وحكام الأقليات بعض الصلاحيات، إلا أن الكلمة الأخيرة تبقى للأوساط العسكرية (والمخابرات هي جزء من الجيش).

زاد مرض بوتفليقة من صعوبة الوضع وعلى ما يبدو أن الرأس المخطط هو شقيقه، سعيد، الذي له الكثير من العلاقات في مجال الأعمال كما تربطه علاقات قوية مع الخارج.

يشار إلى أن العلاقة بين سعيد وتوفيق محمد مدين سيئة ويعتقد الكثيرون بأن سعيد هو من دفع برئيس جبهة التحرير الوطني، عمار سعيداني، إلى شن هجوم إعلامي على رئيس مديرية الاستعلام والأمن وإلى المطالبة باستقالته، فتحول إلى كبش فداء: فبعد أيام قليلة على تعليقاته، أصدر بوتفليقة (أو المتحدثون باسمه) بياناً يدين فيه أي نوع من الهجوم على الجيش وتم التوصل إلى تسوية.

وللتهدئة من روع توفيق، وافقت جماعة بوتفليقة على إدخال قوة مضادة إلى القصر الرئاسي تمثلت في شخص أحمد أويحي. وهذا الأخير هو في حماية مديرية الاستعلام والأمن ولديه العديد من الصلاحيات، وهو يتولى بصفته مستشاراً شخصياً لبوتفليقة، إدارة الشؤون الرئاسية جميعها وخصوصاً ما يتعلق بسعيد. وقد يكون الأويحي في صدد التخطيط لخلق منصب نائب الرئيس فيتولاه هو لاحقاً.

وفي ولاياته الثلاث، منح بوتفليقة الجيش وحكام الأقليات في الجزائر امتيازات اقتصادية وسياسية عديدة. ويرى هؤلاء بقاءه في السلطة استمراراً لنفوذهم. أما الأشخاص من أمثال سعيد وأويحي، فلديهم مكاسب شخصية إضافية أي أنهم يتمتعون بكم أكبر من النفوذ والثراء. ويعتبر آخرون، كحنون مثلاً، بوتفليقة حارساً ضد المؤامرات الخارجية التي تحاك ضد الجزائر وضد تولي الإسلاميين الحكم. وتوافق تلاقي المصالح هذا على إبقاء الرجل العجوز في السلطة على الرغم من كل شيء.

الحملة الإنتخابية

الجزائر انتخابات
المرشح الرئاسي علي بن فليس

انضم نائب سابق آخر إلى السباق الرئاسي, وهو علي بن فليس (2000-2003), وقد تمتع بن فليس بدعم بعض المجموعات الشابة بالإضافة إلى عدد من الأحزاب الإسلامية ولكنه كان يعلم بأنه عاجز عن التنافس مع بوتفليقة كما أنه لا يتمتع بالإمكانيات المالية نفسها؛ غير أنه رجل يتمتع بنفوذ واسع ليُسمع صوته، وكان قد بدأ يدين الغش قبل افتتاح صناديق الاقتراع.

لم يكن بن فليس الوحيد الذي انتقد النظام السياسي، فقد تم إنشاء حركة احتجاجية عُرفت باسم “بركات” (كفى!). ووجه المعارضون الآخرون لبوتفليقة انتقادات قاسية، فوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي غصت بالنكات التي استهدفته شخصياً والمقربين منه. أتت التعليقات من داخل النظام أيضاً، لذا حض الرئيس السابق زروال على تداول السلطة في رسالة وجهها إلى الشعب الجزائري. وأعرب النائب السابق مولود حمروش ( 1989-1991) عن استنكاره  متهماً بوتفليقة والجيش بالإساءة إلى البلاد.

 

الجزائر عبد العزيز بو تفليقة انتخابات
مؤيدون للرئيس الجزائري عبد العزيز بز تفليقة

وأتت انتخابات العام 2014 في الجزائر في ظل اضطرابات إثنية دموية شهدتها وسط البلاد (غرداية)، واعتبرها النظام مؤامرة غربية. إشارة إلى أن الحدود مع مالي تشهد بداية صراع قبلي. وما الحرب في مالي وانقطاع العلاقات الدبلوماسية مع المغرب والحرب شبه الأهلية في ليبيا التي يضاف إليها اضطراب الوضع في تونس إلا عوامل تسهم في مفاقمة الوضع. يشار في هذا السياق إلى الخطر الدائم الذي يطرحه الإرهاب، فالقاعدة والمجموعات التابعة لها ما زالت تستعمل الأراضي الجزائرية كقاعدة. كذلك، فالبطالة والفساد يثيران حفيظة الشباب، كما هو الحال في البلدان العربية الأخرى، والربيع العربي لن يلبث أن يحل.

قد ترشح بوتفليقة للرئاسة رغماً عن إرادة شريحة كبيرة من الجزائريين وبدعم من عصابة من النافذين.

و بات بوتفليقة الآن الرئيس الأطول حكماً في التاريخ الجزائري، الذي فاز في انتخابات العام 2014 ليقود بلاده إلى المجهول.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Past to Present / 2014 Presidential Elections

2014 Presidential Elections

Protesters and anti-riot troops clash in Bouira on 17 April, the day elections were held / Photo HH
Protesters and anti-riot troops clash in Bouira on 17 April, the day elections were held / Photo HH

The Arab Spring brought many hopes to the Arab region, among them was the rise of youth to power, the possibility of freely electing leaders and taking them into account. In Tunisia, Libya and pre-Sisi Egypt, even if youth remained marginalized and contained in civil society and social media, free elections were organized and representatives of the people ruled. Yet the Arab Spring waves did not reach the whole region and, in some places, a reverse shock happened.

Hence Syria is organizing elections on 3 June 2014, but President Bashar al-Assad will be the usual winner. Field-Marshal Abdulfattah al Sisi is running for Egypt’s presidency on 26 and 27 May, and doubtless he will be elected as the next president. Algerians went to the polls on April 17th and, unsurprisingly, they extended their old and sick President’s mandate.

Abdelaziz Bouteflika (77 year old) was re-elected at 81.5%, while his main rival Ali Ben Flis got just about 12%. Participation was low at 51.7 %, especially in Algiers and the Berber region, where about one in four people voted.

On election morning, the President arrived at the polling station in a wheelchair, driven by an assistant, accompanied to his left by his all-powerful brother Said. He voted, showing  an uneasy smile. He did not talk, neither to his followers, nor to the polling station agents, nor to the press. It was actually his first public appearance since he suffered a stroke in April 2013.

Bouteflika’s rule

“Boutef” is a Moujahid, one of those who fought for Algeria’s War of Independence (1954-62). He was also part of the group that toppled the country’s first president, Ahmed Ben Bella (in 1965). He was among the most famous Arab ministers of foreign affairs, and forged strong ties with Mandela, Arafat, Carlos the Jacakal and others. When he became president in 1999, the country was still plagued by terrorism, and he is credited to have ended Algeria’s civil war (1991-2002). However, he suffered a number of strokes in the last two years, and he was said to be dead many times.

The constitution was amended by President Liamine Zeroual (1994-9), limiting the number of mandates a President could exercise to two. Bouteflika changed it in 2008, cancelling that clause, and he is currently starting his fourth mandate. Five – candidates ran against him. The government was in charge of organizing this election (by comparison, Tunisia and Libya established an independent authority for their polls). Local and international observers call it unfair.

It has been two years since Bouteflika last gave a public speech. His electoral campaign managers said that they would do the job for him, and they did. Bouteflika’s campaign head was his former prime minister (PM) Abdel Malek Sellal, a school drop-out known for his thuggish language and lack of manners. His main supporters are Ahmed Gaid Salah, chief of staff of the Algerian Army; Amar Saidani and Abdelkader Ben Salah, leaders of the  Front de Libération Nationale (FLN) and Rassemblement Nationale Démocratique (RND), which  form the parliament’s majority; Ahmed Ouyahya, former PM (1995-8; 2008-12), former head of the RND (1999-2012), and currently Bouteflika’s Private Personal Secretary; Abdelaziz Belkhadem, former PM (2006-8) and former leader of the FLN (2005-13); Louisa Hanoune (long-time general secretary of the Worker’s Party, an outspoken conspiracy theorist who switched from harsh opponent to Bouteflika’s fan); and a strong network of oligarchs.

Toufik Mohamed Medien (“Algiers’ God”), the powerful head of the DRS (secret services), was against Bouteflika’s candidacy, but tempered his position later.

The Bouteflika clique controls the national TV (the most popular in Algeria) and several influential media outlets. They have also  the machines of the state at their disposal.

Algerian elections were never fair and transparent. Behind-the-table tricks are common, and the army is the usual kingmaker. Bouteflika before his strokes was able to push the soldiers a little bit aside and give more power to oligarchs and politicians, but the last word remains in the military circles (intelligence is part of the military).

Bouteflika’s illness complicated the situation. It looks like the brain behind Abdelaziz is his brother, Said, a man of nebulous foreign and business connections.

Said, however, is in trouble with Toufik. Many think that it was Said who pushed FLN’s Amar Saadani to attack the head of DRS  in the media and ask for his resignation. Saadani, however, was turned into a scapegoat: a few days after his comments, Bouteflika (or at least those speaking in his name) issued a statement condemning any sorts of attack on the army. A compromise was found.

In order to appease Toufik, Bouteflika’s clique accepted a counter-power inside the presidential palace: Ahmed Ouyahia. The latter is protected by the DRS, and he is also coveting power for himself. As Bouteflika’s Private Personal Secretary, he will control everything in the presidency, especially Said. He may be planning to create the position of vice-president, in order to take-over later.

During his three mandates, Bouteflika guaranteed the army and Algeria’s oligarchs with economic and political advantages. These two groups see his continuing position  as head of state as a continuation of the status quo. People such as Said and Ouyahia covet more personal gains, hence more power and more wealth. Others, such as Hanoune, consider Bouteflika as the safeguard against foreign conspiracies and Islamist takeover. This coalition of interests agreed on keeping the old man in power, against all odds.

Campaign

Another former PM joined the election race: Ali Ben Flis (2000-3). He had the support of some youth groups as well as a number of Islamist parties, but he knew that he could not compete with Bouteflika, and he did not have the same financial assets. But  he had enough weight to make his voice heard, and he started denouncing fraud even before voting polls opened.

Ben Flis was not the only one to criticize the political establishment. A protest movement was born recently: “Barakat” (Enough!). Other opponents of Bouteflika had very harsh comments. Algerian social media are full of jokes targeting his person and entourage. Comments came from inside the system too. Hence former president Zeroual asked the older generation to pass power over to the youth in an open letter. Former PM Mouloud Hamrouch (1989-91) aired his discontent as well, accusing Bouteflika and the army to be behind the country’s problems.

This year’s election came amid bloody ethnic troubles in the centre of the country (Ghardaia), described by the regime as a western conspiracy. Another conflict, of tribal level, is growing at the border with Mali. The war in Mali, the diplomatic break with Morocco as well as the quasi- civil war in Libya and the uncertain situation in Tunisia only worsen the situation. Terrorism is an ongoing threat, and Al Qaeda and its affiliates are still using the Algerian lands as a base. Youth are angry about unemployment and corruption, like their peers in other Arab countries, and the Arab Spring is never far away.

Bouteflika ran against the will of many Algerians, on behalf of a powerful  gang. He is now the longest serving president in Algerian history. He won this round of election, yet sending his country to the unknown.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.