فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / بعد انتخاب رئيسٍ جديد للجزائر، ما التالي؟

بعد انتخاب رئيسٍ جديد للجزائر، ما التالي؟

Algeria demos
متظاهرون جزائريون يطلقون هتافاتٍ أثناء تجمعهم حاملين أعلام الجزائر خلال مظاهرةٍ حاشدة في وسط العاصمة الجزائر في 17 ديسمبر 2019. Photo: RYAD KRAMDI / AFP

ابتليت الجزائر باحتجاجاتٍ مستمرة ضد الحكومة منذ فبراير 2019، مما أسفر عن استقالة الرئيس عبد العزيز بوتفليقة في أبريل وحكمٍ عسكري بحكم الأمر الواقع حتى الانتخابات الرئاسية في 12 ديسمبر. ومع فشل نتائج الانتخابات في إرضاء الحركة الجماهيرية التي تسعى إلى تغييرٍ حقيقي، فإن الخطوات التالية للإدارة الجديدة ستكون حاسمة لاستقرار البلاد.

سجلت الانتخاب انخفاضاً قياسياً بنسبة 39,9%، وفقاً للمجلس الدستوري، على الرغم من أن نسبة المشاركة الفعلية أقل بكثير، حسب المحلل الجزائري مصعب حمودي الذي استشهد بمصدرٍ حكومي.

وقال لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز: “من الواضح أن نسبة المشاركة المعلنة رسمياً خاطئة تماماً،” وأضاف “رأينا أن أحداً لم يخرج للتصويت. اعتدنا على هذه الانتخابات المزيفة بالكامل. لهذا السبب لم نطرح مرشحاً.”

فقد تم الإعلان عن فوز عبد المجيد تبون رئيساً جديداً للبلاد بنسبة 58,15% من الأصوات، متقدماً بفارقٍ كبير على منافسه عبد القادر بن قرينه من الحزب الإسلامي، حركة البناء الوطني، الذي حصل على 17,38% من الأصوات.

رفض المتظاهرون فوز تبون، وسط هتافات “الانتخابات مزورة! لا تملكون الشرعية! المسيرة مستمرة!” التي تردد صداها بين المتظاهرين في تجمعٍ حاشد بعد التصويت، وذلك بحسب مراسل وكالة فرانس برس في العاصمة الجزائر.

دعت حركة الاحتجاج المعروفة باسم الحراك الجزائريين لمقاطعة الانتخابات. وفي بعض المناطق كان هذا ممكناً في منطقة القبائل على سبيل المثال، معقل البربر. فقد لعب البربر في البلاد دوراً رئيسياً في تحدي الوضع الراهن.

ادعى المعارضون أن الانتخابات والمرشحين المقترحين مجرد خدعةٍ من قبل المؤسسة لتعزيز السلطة، في حين أن السبيل الوحيد للمضي قدماً هو من خلال الحوار مع الحراك.

كان لدى المرشحين الخمسة علاقاتٍ ببوتفليقة، الذي حكم البلاد لـ20 عاماً حتى بعد معاناته من جلطةٍ دماغية خطيرة في عام 2013.

كما يعتقد أن تبون، الذي شغل في السابق منصب رئيس الوزراء، مُقرّب من قائد الجيش أحمد قايد صالح، الذي ظهر كرجل قوي في الجزائر بعد أن أجبر بوتفليقة على التنحي. حاول صالح أن ينأى بنفسه عن النظام القديم من خلال شن حملةٍ كبيرة لمكافحة الفساد ضد الدائرة الداخلية لبوتفليقة، بما في ذلك شقيقه سعيد بوتفليقة.

فقد كان صالح، الذي توفي متأثراً بأزمة قلبية في 23 ديسمبر، مؤيداً لإجراء انتخاباتٍ بأسرع وقتٍ ممكن لكسر الجمود منذ رحيل بوتفليقة، لكن المحتجين جادلوا بأن الانتخابات كانت ببساطة وسيلة للنظام لاكتساب المصداقية قبل المضي قدماً في نظام لن يؤدي إلى أي تحول حقيقي.

مُعربين عن أسفهم بأن الحكومة القديمة لجبهة التحرير الوطني لم تشهد أي تغييرٍ منذ استيلائها على السلطة بعد الاستقلال في عام 1962، تعهد المتظاهرون بمواصلة التظاهر والحفاظ على سلمية المظاهرات على الرغم من تسجيل جماعات حقوق الإنسان للقمع المتزايد ضد الحراك والبربر.

فقد تم إلقاء القبض على أكثر من 300 متظاهر منذ يونيو، حيث حُكم على أكثر من 120 منهم، أو تم إيقافهم في السجن أو يقبعون بالحبس الاحتياطي، وفقاً للجنة الوطنية للإفراج عن الموقوفين، التي تم إنشاؤها في 26 أغسطس للدفاع عن المتظاهرين المحتجزين.

وبحسب المحللين اليوم، فإن عدم الاستماع لمطالب الشعب سيعمق الهوة بينهم وبين النظام.

وإلى حدٍ ما، فإن انتخاب تبون أمر منطقي بسبب منصبه السابق ولكن أيضاً بسبب إقالته من منصب رئيس الوزراء لانتقاده عشيرة الرئيس، مما مكنه من أن ينأى بنفسه عن النظام القديم خلال حملته الانتخابية. ومع ذلك، قد لا يكون هذا كافياً إذا استمر المتظاهرون في رفض زعامته.

ووفقاً لكريم ميزران، الزميل المقيم في مركز رفيق الحريري لدراسات الشرق الأوسط التابع للمجلس الأطلسي، وأليسيا ميلكانجي، الأستاذة المساعدة في جامعة سابينزا في روما، يجب أن يشرع تبون أبواب الحوار الجاد مع المتظاهرين وإصلاحاتهم المقترحة إلى جانب خلق “طرقٍ جديدة لمشاركة السكان.”

وعلى حد قولهما، “إن الاستمرار الواضح للوضع الراهن هو طريقة جلية لمستقبلٍ تشوبه الإضطرابات وعدم الاستقرار.”

كما يخشى كل من المحتجين والمحللين أن يزداد الوضع سوءاً، فكما ورد في الفاينانشيال تايمز، قال أحد المحتجين: “لن تكون هذه نهاية الأزمة – هذه هي البداية. هل تبون حرٌ لاتخاذ قراراته الخاصة؟ إنه ببساطة جزءٌ من العصابة.”

بل إن تهديد العنف المتزايد والقمع يلوح في الأفق على الرغم من سلمية حركة الاحتجاج، التي تتألف من مختلف الطبقات والفئات العمرية.

وقال محامي حقوق الإنسان مصطفى بوشاشي لصحيفة فاينانشيال تايمز: “يمكنهم قمع النشطاء أو حزبٍ سياسي ما ولكن لا يمكنهم قمع الشعب.” وأضاف “سيكون من الصعب تبرير استخدام العنف ضد المتظاهرين السلميين للعالم.”

من جهتها، قالت دالية غانم، المحللة السياسية الجزائرية والباحثة المقيمة في مركز كارنيغي للشرق الأوسط، متحدثةً لفَنَك: “هناك أمر واحد مؤكد،” وتابعت القول “طوال هذه الأشهر التسعة من الاحتجاجات السلمية، رأينا نمطاً من التصعيد من جانب قوات الأمن.”

وأضافت: “إذا أراد الرئيس الجديد بناء قدرٍ ضئيل من الشرعية، فعليه إيقاف هذا النمط وتجنب التصعيد. ومع ذلك، لا يمكن استبعاد خيار العنف.” وللمضي قدماً، أكدت غانم أيضاً على ضرورة الإفراج عن المحتجين الموقوفين حالياً.

كما اتفقت إميلي هوثورن، المحللة في شؤون الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في ستراتفور، على أنه من المحتمل تطبيق قيودٍ صارمة جديدة، ولكن من المرجح أيضاً أن تتجنب الحكومة العنف المباشر قدر الإمكان. وقالت لفَنَك: “يعلمون أكثر من أي شخصٍ آخر مدى خطورة هذا الأمر في الجزائر، بالنظر إلى تاريخ البلاد الحديث من العنف السياسي.”

وتابعت القول أنه في حين أن اكتساب ثقة حركة الاحتجاج سيشكل تحدياً وسيستغرق بعض الوقت، إلا أنه ينبغي على تبون للقيام بذلك أن يوجه باستمرار خطاباته وعملية صنع القرار نحو أولويات الشعب وليس النخبة السياسية، وعلى حد تعبيرها، “على الرغم من أنه لربما سيكتسب ثقة البعض، إلا أنه لن يكتسب قط ثقة الجميع.”

كما يمكن للمجتمع الدولي أيضاً أن يساعد في توجيه الأمة نحو المزيد من الديمقراطية من خلال تقديم المشورة والدعم للاقتصاد، الذي شهد ركوداً منذ عدة سنوات، للمساعدة في تخفيف التوترات.

بيد أن خطوات تبون التالية ستكون حاسمة، لا سيما فيما يتعلق بتشكيل حكومته، ومن سيحل محل صالح، وما الذي سيضعه على سلم أولوياته.

كما سيكون للسياسة الاقتصادية للإدارة الجديدة أهمية حاسمة، بحسب هوثورن، إذ تقول، “يتعين على تبون أن يحافظ على حالة الرفاهية الكبيرة في البلاد مع تصحيح الاختلالات الهيكلية طويلة الأجل وعدم الكفاءة، وهذا توازن يصعب تحقيقه.”

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن الجزائر يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها و...
تعتبر الجزائر مهداً لأسلاف البشر الأوائل بحسب نتائج أبحاثٍ أُجري...
يمكن القول أن بوتفليقة استلم السلطة وبقيّ فيها بدعمٍ من العسكر. وخ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: RYAD KRAMDI ©AFP | RYAD KRAMDI ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Algeria / Past to Present / Following Election of New President, What Next for Algeria?

Following Election of New President, What Next for Algeria?

Algeria demos
Algerian anti-government protesters chant slogans as they gather with national flags during a mass demonstration in the centre of the Algerian capital Algiers on December 17, 2019. Photo: RYAD KRAMDI / AFP

Algeria has been plagued by persistent anti-government protests since February 2019, resulting in the resignation of President Abdelaziz Bouteflika in April and de facto military rule up to the 12 December presidential election. With the election results failing to satisfy the mass movement seeking real change, the new administration’s next moves will be crucial for the country’s stability.

The election had a record low turnout of 39.9 per cent, according to the constitutional council, although the actual turnout is thought to be far lower, according to Algerian analyst Moussaab Hammoudi who cited a government source.

“It’s clear that the officially announced turnout is completely false,” he told The New York Times. “We saw that nobody came out to vote. We’re used to these completely falsified elections. That’s why we didn’t put forward a candidate.”

Abdelmadjid Tebboune was declared the new leader with 58.15 per cent of the vote, putting him far ahead of his not-so-close rival Abdelkader Bengrine from the Elbinaa Islamist party, who won 17.38 per cent of the vote.

Protesters rejected Tebboune’s win. Shouts of “The election was fixed! It wasn’t legitimate! The march will continue!” were heard at a rally after the vote, according to an AFP journalist in the capital Algiers.

The protest movement, known as the Hirak, called on Algerians to boycott the election. In some areas this was possible such as in Kabyle, a Berber stronghold. The country’s Berbers have played a central role in challenging the status quo.

Opponents have claimed that the election and proposed candidates were a ploy by the establishment to consolidate power, and the only way to move forward is through dialogue with the Hirak.

All five candidates had links to Bouteflika, who ruled for 20 years even after suffering a serious stroke in 2013. A former prime minister, Tebboune is also thought to be close to army chief Ahmed Gaid Salah, who emerged as Algeria’s strongman after Bouteflika was forced to step down. Salah attempted to distance himself from the old regime by introducing a major anti-corruption campaign against Bouteflika’s inner circle, including his brother Said Bouteflika.

Salah, who died of a heart attack on 23 December, had been a proponent of pushing through an election as soon as possible to break the impasse since Bouteflika’s departure. But protesters argued that the election was simply a way for the regime to gain credibility before moving forward with a system that will not lead to any real transformation.

Lamenting that the old government of the National Liberation Front (FLN) has not changed since it took power after independence in 1962, protesters have vowed to continue demonstrating and to keep demonstrations peaceful despite human rights groups recording increased repression against the Hirak and the Berbers.

More than 300 protesters have been arrested since June, more than 120 of whom have been either sentenced, sent to prison or kept in pre-trial detention, according to the National Committee for the Liberation of Detainees, which was created on 26 August to defend arrested protesters.

Analysts now say that not listening to the people will deepen the chasm between them and the regime.

To a certain extent, Tebboune’s election makes sense because of his former position but also because as prime minister he was dismissed for criticizing the president’s clan, which enabled him to distance himself from the old regime during his election campaign. However, this may not be enough if protesters continue to reject his leadership.

According to Karim Mezran, a resident senior fellow at the Rafik Hariri Center for the Middle East at the Atlantic Council, and Alessia Melcangi, an assistant professor at the Sapienza University of Rome, Tebboune should be open to a serious dialogue with the protesters and their proposed reforms while creating ‘new avenues of participation for the population’.

‘The plain continuation of the status quo is a clear recipe for a future of turmoil and instability,’ they argued.

Both protesters and analysts fear the situation will get worse. As reported in the Financial Times, one protester said, “This will not be the end of the crisis — this is the start. Is Tebboune even free to make his own decisions? He’s just part of the gang.”

The threat of increased violence and repression is looming despite the protest movement, which is made up of diverse classes and age groups, being peaceful.

“They can repress activists or a political party but not a people,” human rights lawyer Moustapha Bouchachi told the Financial Times. “It will be hard to justify to the world the use of violence against peaceful people.”

“One thing remains sure,” said Dalia Ghanem, an Algerian political analyst and resident scholar at the Carnegie Middle East Center, speaking to Fanack, “throughout these nine months of peaceful protests, we’ve seen a pattern of escalation from the security forces.”

She added, “If the new president wants to build a modicum of legitimacy, he should stop this pattern and avoid an escalation. However, the option of violence cannot be ruled out.”

To move forward, Ghanem also emphasized the need to release the protesters currently being detained.

Emily Hawthorne, a Middle East and North Africa analyst for Stratfor, agreed that a new clampdown is likely to occur but the government is also likely to avoid outright violence as much as possible.

“They know better than anyone how especially inflammatory this would be in Algeria, given the country’s recent history of political violence,” she told Fanack.

While gaining the trust of the protest movement will be challenging and will take time, she continued, to do so Tebboune must continually orient his decision making and discourse towards the priorities of the people and not the political elite. “Though he may gain the trust of some, he will never gain the trust of them all,” she said.

The international community could also help to steer the nation towards greater democracy by providing advice and support for the economy, which has been stagnant for several years, to help ease tensions.

However, Tebboune’s next moves may well be decisive, notably who he will select for his cabinet, who will replace Salah and what Tebboune’s priorities will be.

The new administration’s economic policies will also be crucial, according to Hawthorne. “Tebboune has to maintain the country’s hefty welfare state while also patching up long-term structural imbalances and inefficiencies, and that is a difficult balance to strike.”


Further Reading

Fanack’s Algeria country file provides a comprehensive overview about Algeria, its history, politics, culture, economy...
Algeria is considered one of the cradles of the first human ancestors, according to the results of a research conducted ...
It can be said that Bouteflika came to and stayed in power with the support of the military. Over the next two decades, ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: RYAD KRAMDI ©AFP | RYAD KRAMDI ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!