فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الجزائر: المحطة التالية للربيع العربي؟

الجزائر: المحطة التالية للربيع العربي؟

مظاهرة لرجال الشرطة الجزائرية للمطالبة بتحسين ظروف العمل أمام القصر الرئاسي في العاصمة الجزائر, 15 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2014 / Photo Imago Stock & People GmbH
مظاهرة لرجال الشرطة الجزائرية للمطالبة بتحسين ظروف العمل أمام القصر الرئاسي في العاصمة الجزائر, 15 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2014 / Photo Imago Stock & People GmbH

كان يُنظر إلى الجزائر، لفترة قصيرة من الزمن، باعتبارها البلد المستقر الوحيد في المغرب العربي. شهد عام 2011 اندلاع الثورات في كل من تونس ومصر، في حين تفجرت حرب أهلية في ليبيا، بينما هدد تحرّك الشارع المغربي عرش ملك المغرب. ومع ذلك، تمكنت الجزائر من تخطي هذه الإضطرابات بسلاسة وبدا أنها تتمتع بالقوة والسيادة بين نظيراتها وليس هناك حاجة إلى إصلاحات هيكلية.

بعد ثلاث سنوات، تجاوزت تونس المرحلة الإنتقالية الحرجة، في حين توقف الزمن في مصر في ظل نظام استبدادي جديد وأمست أكثر هدوءاً، في الوقت الراهن. بينما نجح المغرب في الحفاظ على موازين الأمور وتهدئة الشارع. من ناحية أخرى، فشلت ليبيا تقريباً فشلاً ذريعاً في تأسيس دولة من جديد، ولم تكن الأمور في الجزائر أيضاً تسير على مايرام.

يمكن وصف الأوضاع السياسية والإقتصادية للبلاد بالهدوء الذي يسبق العاصفة.

الأزمة الداخلية

انتخب الرئيس عبد العزيز بوتفليقة لولاية رابعة في أبريل 2014. وبعد أنّ تعرّض لعدة وعكات صحيّة، أصبح بالكاد يتمتع بالقدرة على إدارة البلاد، مما أدى إلى اشتداد عود فرقة دمى السياسة من حوله الذين يحركهم شقيقه سعيد. أدى هذا إلى تصاعد حدّة الصراع على السلطة خلف الكواليس.

سيدخل أولئك الذين يسعون إلى خلافة بوتفلقة في صراع ضمني، في حال تعرّض للمساءلة، وبشكلٍ أساسي سيتعرض للطعن من دائرته المقربة. أحد الخلفاء المحتملين هو عبدالعزيز بلخادم، رئيس الوزراء الأسبق والذراع الأيمن للرئيس بوتفليقة، الذي تمت تنحيته من العمل في أجهزة الدولة خلال هذه المعركة الشرسة في أغسطس الماضي. ويبدو أنّ الرجل الثالث في الدولة، عمار سعيداني، رئيس جبهة التحرير الوطني (الحزب السياسي الأكثر أهمية في الجزائر)، قاب قوسين أو أدنى من الإطاحة به أيضاً. ومن الواضح في الوقت الحالي، أنّ أحمد أويحي، مدير مكتب رئيس الجمهورية، صاحب اليد العُليا في هذا السباق- ولكن إلى متى؟

جبهة التحرير الوطني نفسها تكافح ضد أولئك الذين عارضوا ترشيح بوتفليقة في وقت سابق من هذا العام، وخاصة الجنرال توفيق محمد مدين، رئيس المخابرات الجزائرية (إدارة الإستخبارات والأمن أو الاستخبارات العسكرية)، والتنسيقية من أجل الحريات والإنتقال الديمقراطي، وهو ائتلاف من الأحزاب السياسية ونشطاء المجتمع المدني والسياسيين المشهورين، بما في ذلك رئيس وزراء بوتفليقة السابق علي بن فليس.

يمتلك توفيق شبكة من الجنود وضباط المخابرات، في حين يحظى الائتلاف بدعم السياسيين ورجال الأعمال. ومع ذلك، يجري تحجيم نفوذ مدين تدريجياً من قبل رجالات بوتفليقة المقربين، بينما يعتبر الائتلاف معزولاً وضعيفاً.

وصلت الأزمة داخل النظام ذروتها مع “تمرد الشرطة” في أكتوبر 2014. تظاهرت قوات الأمن من المنطقة المتمردة غرداية ، داعين الى رفع الأجور وحق إنشاء نقابة لهم تتيح لهم رفع مطالبهم وتنظيم حراكهم الاجتماعي، ولكن ربط خبراء في الجزائر هذه الأحداث بالصراع بين سماسرة السلطة في الجزائر. لم يكن هذا الأمر شائعاً في الجزائر، وأعقب تمرد الشرطة موجة من الاحتجاجات لقوات الشرطة في مدن أخرى. أكبر تلك الاحتجاجات وأكثرها تأثيراً اجتاح العاصمة الجزائر، وانتهى أمام القصر الرئاسي.

التدهور الاقتصادي

بالرغم من أنّ اقتصاد البلاد لا يزال بحالٍ جيدة، إلا أنه معرّض للخطر. بقي الشعب الجزائري في دائرة الأمان بفضل الدعم الذي تقدمه الدولة للمواطنين وإعادة توزيع الثروة، وهي سياسة أصبحت ممكنة بفضل إيرادات الدولة من النفط والغاز، ولكن تشهد أسعار النفط في الوقت الراهن تراجعاً بسبب مجموعة من العوامل، والجزائر التي تعتمد بشكلٍ أساسي على مواردها الهيدروكربونية تواجه مستقبلاً غامضاً في حال استمر هذا التطور. وعلاوة على ذلك، وبسبب ارتفاع معدل الاستهلاك، بدأت احتياطات النفط بالتناقص، مما يعرّض اقتصاد البلاد لخطر الإنهيار التام.

ومن المتوقع أن ترتفع نسب البطالة، التي تصل معدلاتها حالياً إلى قرابة 30%. فضلاً عن ذلك، تخرّج الجامعات الجزائرية حوالي 300,000 طالب سنوياً، إلا أنه لا توجد فرص عمل متاحة لهم. يُعدّ هؤولاء قنبلة موقوتة، إذ أنّ تزايد أعدادهم سنوياً، سيكون شرارة الثورة تماماً كما حصل في دول شمال إفريقيا الأخرى، حيث شكل الخريجون العاطلون عن العمل وقود الثورة، إلى جانب أنهم هدف سهل للتجنيد من قِبل الجهاديين السلفيين.

التمرد الجهادي والمعارضة الشعبية

يواصل الجهاديون التوسع في أجزاء مختلفة من البلاد، مستمرين في تمردهم منذ ربع قرنٍ من الزمان. وخلال العام، استهدفت عدة هجمات شنها الجهاديون القوات المسلحة والأمن في الجزائر، مما أسفر عن مقتل جندي ورجل شرطة، كما تم إحباط اعتداءات أخرى، فضلاً عن القاء القبض على العشرات من المتطرفين في كل شهر. في سبتمبر الماضي، تم خطف رعية فرنسي وقطع رأسه، حيث أعلنت جماعة “جند الخلافة”- جماعة تابعة لتنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية”- مسؤوليتها عن هذا الاعتداء.

انتفضت غرداية، واحة في المنطقة الوسطى في الجزائر، بسبب أعمال عنفِ وتخريب عرقية واجتماعية تشهدها المدينة منذ أكثر من عام. كما بدأت واحة أخرى، تقرت التي تبعد عشرات الكيلومترات شرق غرداية، تشهد مؤخراً حراكاً في الشارع، حيث اندلعت مواجهات بين السكان والشرطة. وفي كلتا المنطقتين، وقعت وفيات وإصابات، مما يعني أن الوضع لا زال هشاً وعرضة للتصعيد. ومن المتوقع أن تشهد مناطق أخرى في البلاد حركاً شعبياً.

الأحجية الأقليمية

ليبيا، جارة الجزائر واسعة المساحة إلى الشرق، تمزقها صراعات مختلفة، بما في ذلك عداً وليس حصراً، معارك على للإستيلاء على موارد البلاد، وحروب أهلية مصغرة، وحروب بالوكالة، فضلاً على أنها مرتعٌ خصب للجهاديين السلفيين. حاولت الجزائرتقديم مبادرات للحوار الوطني بين مختلف أصحاب المصلحة الليبية، إلا أنّها جميعاً باءت بالفشل.

أما تونس، الجارة الشرقية الأخرى للجزائر، بينما تنعم بالسلم والهدوء في الوقت الراهن، تشهد حدودها مع الجزائر اضطرابات بسبب تمرد الجهاديين. في حين أنّ مالي على الحدود الجنوبية الغربية، لم تهدأ منذ الإنقلاب في آذار 2012، كما أنها أيضاً معقل السلفيين الجهاديين في المنطقة. دفعت هذه التوترات المحيطة بالبلاد الحكومة إلى نشر أعداد كبيرة من أفراد الجيش الجزائري على طول الحدود.

ينخرط الجزائر في صراعٍ عمره عشرات السنين مع الجارة الغربية، المغرب. يمكن وصفها مجازاً بالحرب “الباردة” التي تشهد شداً وجذباً. وأخيراً، بعد أن ساد الهدوء فترةً من الزمن، اتخذت المغرب في أغسطس 2014 قراراً مفاجئاً بإرسال قواتها إلى الحدود الجزائرية ونشر قاذفات الصواريخ، التي تعتبر خطوة غير مبررة حتى الآن. وفي أكتوبر، فتح الجيش الجزائري نيرانه على مواطنين مغربين، ربما كانوا من المهربين، مما أدى إلى استئناف الخطاب الحربي بين الجارتين على المستويين السياسي والإعلامي.

إلى جانب ذلك، تعتبرالميزانية العسكرية الجزائرية الأعلى في إفريقيا، إذ تبلغ 10,4 مليار دولار، ويتوقع أنّ ترتفع للأسباب المذكورة أعلاه. يتطلب مثل هذا الجيش الضخم اقتصاداً قوياً ووحدة صف الشعب الجزائري، وكلاهما يشهدان وَهنَاً في الوقت الحاضر في الجزائر: يمكن أن يؤثر الاستياء بين قوات الأمن على كلٍ من الجنود وعامة الشعب.

في الختام، الوضع السياسي في الجزائر متصلب ويعزف عن أي تغيير، وليس هناك أي مجال للإصلاح أو نمو معارضة جديّة. الاستياء واضح بين عامة الشعب ولكنه أيضاً جليّ في العمود الفقري للنظام (الجيش والشرطة والسياسيين البيروقراطيين). يشابه نظام بوتفليقة، في هذا الصدد، نظاميّ بن علي في تونس ومبارك في مصر عام 2010، عندما أشتعلت أولى شرارات الربيع العربي.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Past to Present / Algeria: The Next Arab Explosion?

Algeria: The Next Arab Explosion?

Algerian policemen take part in a police demonstration over working conditions near the Presidential Palace in Algiers, 15 October 2014 / Photo Imago Stock & People GmbH
Algerian policemen take part in a police demonstration over working conditions near the Presidential Palace in Algiers, 15 October 2014 / Photo Imago Stock & People GmbH

Algeria was seen, for a short time, as the only stable country in the Maghrib. In 2011, revolutions were under way in Tunisia and Egypt, civil war erupted in Libya, and street movements were threatening the throne of the king of Morocco. Algeria, however, went smoothly through these upheavals and seemed strong, prevailing among its peers and in no need of structural reforms.

Three years later, Tunisia has passed the critical period of transition. Egypt has been frozen in time under an autocratic regime and is calmer, for the moment. Morocco succeeded in calming down its street. Libya, on the other hand, is almost a failed state, and neither is Algeria faring well.

The country’s political and economic situations can be described as the calm preceding the storm.

Internal crisis

President Abdelaziz Bouteflika was elected for a fourth term in April 2014. Having suffered several strokes, he is scarcely able to work, and this has strengthened several puppet masters around him, controlled by his brother Said. It has intensified an existing power struggle behind the scenes.

A tacit conflict will confront those aiming to succeed Bouteflika, if he is impeached, and it will come mainly from his immediate circle. One of the possible successors, Abdelaziz Belkhadem, former prime minister and a close aide of Bouteflika, was fired in August during this battle. Another aide, Ammar Saidani, the head of the FLN (Front de Libération Nationale, Algeria’s most important political party) , is perhaps about to be toppled as well. Ahmed Ouyahia, the director of the president’s office, now seems to have the upper hand in this race – but for how long?
The FLN itself is struggling against those who opposed Bouteflika’s candidacy earlier this year, especially General Toufik M. Medien, the head of the Département du Renseignement et de la Sécurité (DRS, the Department of Intelligence and Security, or military intelligence) , and the Coordination Nationale pour les Libertés et la Transition Démocratique, a coalition of political parties, civil-society activists and renowned politicians, including Bouteflika’s former prime minister, Ali Benflis.

Toufik has a network of soldiers and intelligence officers, and the Coordination is backed by politicians and businessmen. Yet Medien’s power is gradually being curbed by Bouteflika’s circle, and the Coordination is isolated and weak. The crisis inside the regime reached its climax with the ‘police rebellion’ of October 2014. Security forces from the rebellious region of Ghardaia demonstrated, calling for higher wages and asking for the right to create a union, but experts on Algeria related the events to the struggle between Algeria’s power brokers. This is uncommon for Algeria, and the police rebellion was followed by a wave of police protests in other cities. The largest and most significant took place in Algiers, the capital, and ended in front of the presidential palace.

Economic decline

The country’s economy, while still doing well, is at risk. The Algerian population was kept peaceful through state subsidies and the redistribution of wealth, a policy made possible by state income from gas and oil, but oil prices are now falling because of a combination of factors, and Algeria, which relies mainly on its hydrocarbon resources, faces an uncertain future, if this development continues . Moreover, due to the high rate of consumption, the country’s reserves are falling short, putting the country’s economy at risk of total collapse.

Unemployment, which runs about 30 per cent, is expected to rise. Algerian universities produce about 300,000 graduates per year, but there are no jobs available for them. This is a time bomb, as numbers are increasing annually: unemployed graduates, are, as in other North African countries, the fuel of revolution. They are also the target of jihadi Salafi recruitment.

Jihadist insurgency and popular dissent

Jihadists continue to advance in various parts of the country, conducting an insurgency that is now a quarter century old. Several attacks have targeted Algeria’s armed and security forces over the year, leading to the deaths of soldiers and policemen. Other assaults have been foiled, and dozens of extremists are arrested every month. A Frenchman was abducted and beheaded in September; Jund al-Khilafa, a group affiliated with the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS), claimed responsibility.

Ghardaia, an oasis in Algeria’s central region, has been shaken by ethnic and social troubles for more than a year. Another oasis, Touggourt, dozens of kilometres east of Ghardaia, has begun to witness street movements recently, with clashes between the population and the police. In both regions, there have been deaths and injuries, which keeps the situation fragile and subject to escalation. It is possible that other regions will revolt as well.

Regional conundrum

Libya, Algeria’s large neighbour to the east, is torn by various conflicts, including, amongst others, battles over resources, mini–civil wars, and proxy wars. It is also a hot spot of jihadi Salafism. Algeria has tried, unsuccessfully, to stage a national dialogue among the various Libyan stakeholders.

Tunisia, Algeria’s other eastern neighbour, while peaceful and quiet, has a jihadist insurgency on its border with Algeria. Mali, on its south-western border, did not calm down after the coup of March 2012, and it is the region’s other jihadi Salafi stronghold. These issues have propelled a massive deployment of the Algerian army on the borders.

Algeria is imbroiled in a decades-old conflict with its western neighbour, Morocco. It is a rather ‘cold’ war, with ups and downs. After a period of calm, Morocco in August 2014 took a sudden decision to send troops to the Algerian border and deploy missile-launchers, a move that remains unexplained. In October, the Algerian army fired at Moroccan citizens, perhaps smugglers. The belligerent discourse recommenced, politically and in the media.

Algeria’s military budget is the highest in Africa ($10.4 billion) and is expected to rise for the reasons mentioned above. Such a large army requires a strong economy and a united population, both of which are weaknesses of present-day Algeria: the dissatisfaction amongst the security forces can affect the army rank and file.

Conclusion

The political situation in Algeria is sclerotic and averse to any change, and there is no space for reform or serious opposition. Discontent is obvious among the masses but also in the regime’s backbone (army, police and bureaucratic politicians). Bouteflika’s regime resembles, in this regard, Ben Ali’s Tunisia and Mubarak’s Egypt in 2010, the year the Arab Spring began.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.