فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الجزائريون يطالبون بتغيير نظام الحكم

الجزائريون يطالبون بتغيير نظام الحكم

Algeria- Algerian protests
جزائريون يتظاهرون خارج قاعة المدينة في مدينة وهران الساحلية الشمالية، التي تبعد عن غرب الجزائر العاصمة حوالي 410 كيلومتر، في 1 مارس 2019. Photo AFP

قام عبد العزيز بوتفليقة، الرئيس الجزائري منذ فترةٍ طويلة، بتعديل الدستور سنة 2008 بفتح العهدات الرئاسية من عهدتين إلى رئاسة مدى الحياة. إلا أن المتتبع للمشهد السياسي الجزائري يعرف جيداً أن بوتفليقة منذ مجيئه إلى السلطة عام 1999، كان عازماً على البقاء في سدة الحكم مدى الحياة.

غير أن الوعكة الصحية التي أصيب بها سنة 2013 والتي جعلته مقعداً في كرسي متحرك بعد جلطة دماغية جعلت الكثيرين يتوقعون تخليه عن الحكم في 2014 بعد إنهاء ولايته الثالثة. لكن دوائر النظام أبقوا عليه كشخصية توافقية تخدم مصالح صناع القرار ودفعوا به إلى عهدةٍ رابعة. توقع القليلون إكماله حتى السنة الأولى منها لوضعه الصحي المتدهور، ولكن بالرغم من أن ولايته الحالية أوشكت على الإنتهاء، أراد بوتفليقه أن يرشح نفسه لولايةٍ خامسة.

بيد أن صبر الشعب بدأ ينفذ على ما يبدو، مع اندلاع الاحتجاجات في جميع أرجاء البلاد قُبيل إجراء الإنتخابات المزمع عقدها في الأصل في 18 أبريل 2019.

وبعد شد وجذب كبيرين عرفته نهاية سنة 2018 بين أجنحة النظام الحاكم في الجزائر أدت إلى تغييرات كبيرة على مستوى قيادات الجيش وأطاحت برؤوس قوية في السلطة أولها اللواء عبد الغاني هامل، المدير العام للأمن الوطني، ثم قائد سلاح الدرك الوطني اللواء مناد نوبة، بالإضافة إلى أربع قادة نواحي عسكرية مع مدير أمن الجيش ومدير المصالح المالية بوزارة الدفاع الوطني.

مهدت هذه التغييرات الطريق أمام النظام لتقديم مرشح الرئاسة لعام 2019. فقد كان هناك تكهنات عديدة حول هوية مرشح الرئاسة، وهل من الممكن الإبقاء على بوتفليقة لعهدةٍ خامسة ترفضها المعارضة والشخصيات الوطنية والأوساط الشعبية وحتى بعض الأطراف داخل النظام ذاته.

مع ذلك، أعلن بوتفليقة عن ترشحه عبر رسالة مكتوبة وجهها إلى الشعب الجزائري بتاريخ 10 فبراير تداولتها وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية، المصدر الرسمي للسلطة ولرئاسة الجمهورية. أهم ما جاء فيها أنه في حال فوز بوتفليقة بثقة الشعب وانتخابه مجدداً رئيساً للجمهورية فإنه سيدعو كل قوى الشعب السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية ومختلف فئات المجتمع إلى عقد ندوةٍ وطنية جامعة ستكرس تحقيق التوافق حول الإصلاحات والتحولات العميقة التي ينبغي أن تباشرها الجزائر بغرض المضي أبعد من ذي قبل في بناء مستقبلها، ولأجل تمكين المواطنين من الاستمرار بالعيش معاً أفضل وأفضل في كنف السلم والازدهار.

وفي رسالة ترشحه وجه بوتفليقة خطاباً خاصاً إلى الشباب الجزائري، الذين تبلغ نسبة البطالة بينهم واحد لكل أربعة، بحسب رويترز. فقد أشار إلى أن تعزيز ثقة المواطنين في مؤسساتهم يقتضي أيضاً أجوبة أكثر تكيفاً مع تطلعات الشباب، الذي ينأى أغلبهم، في بعض الأحيان، بنفسه عن المشاركة في الحياة السياسية. بل ووصل الأمر بالبعض منهم بأن اختاروا الجنوح إلى محاولات اغتراب مفرطة وانتحارية، غالباً إلى أوروبا، لتحققي تطلعاتهم وطموحاتهم. وفي محاولةٍ واضحة لكسب الناخبين الشباب، وعد بوتفليقة بمعالجة هذه القضية من خلال ضمان تمثيل أقوى للشباب في السلطات التنفيذية والمجالس المنتخبة.

يُنظر إلى محاولة إعادة إنتخاب بوتفليقة، على نطاقٍ واسع، باعتبارها أمراً لا مفر منه، ليس أقله لترأسه الحزب الحاكم والتحالف الرئاسي الذي يسيطر على النقابة المركزية للعمال والجهات الفاعلة المالية والإعلامية المؤثرة. إضافةً إلى تمتعه بدعم قيادة الجيش وطبقة رجال الأعمال، الذين يحتاجون إليه لمواصلة خدمة مصالحهم.

اندلعت الاحتجاجات عبر عديد من المدن مثل بجاية، وخنشلة، وعنابة، ووهران، في أعقاب إعلان بوتفليقة. رفض المحتجون ترشحه وطالبوا برحيل النظام الحالي.

وكان الوزير الأول أحمد أويحي قد توقع قبل أيام وقوع احتجاجات رافضة لترشح بوتفليقة مثل ما حدث خلال الإنتخابات الرئاسية لعام 2014، والتي سبقتها عدة وقفات احتجاجية لكنها لم تؤثر على سير الإقتراع، حيث قال في مؤتمر صحفي: “بعض هؤلاء لجؤوا إلى الشارع في الاستحقاقات الرئاسية الماضية، لكن الدولة برهنت أنها قادرة على التحكم في الشارع،” كما دعى المعارضين الذين يرغبون في التعبير عن أفكارهم التوجه إلى قاعات الإقتراع وممارسة حقهم بكل حرية.

وفي نفس السياق دعا السيد عبد المالك سلال، الوزير الأول السابق ومدير الحملة الانتخابية للمترشح عبد العزيز بوتفليقة، الجزائريين إلى التعبير عن آرائهم بطريقة سلمية وبحنكة بعيداً عن الفوضى. وقال سلال في تصريح له أثناء لقائه مناضلات من اتحاد النساء الجزائريات يوم 18 فبراير، إن “السلطة تقبل الرأي الآخر وليس لها أي مشكلة معها، ولا بد أن يعبر كل واحد عن رأيه لكن بسلم وبحنكة.”

وأضاف “مهما كانت الظروف يجب أن نتحاور مع بعضنا البعض… إن الندوة الوطنية التي وعد بها بوتفليقة في حال فوزه بالانتخابات هي فرصة حقيقية للتوافق الوطني لأنها ستكون مفتوحة أمام الجميع وليست باتجاه واحد.”

وقال رئيس حزب “جيل جديد” وأحد قيادي “حركة مواطنة” المعارضة للنظام، الدكتور سفيان جيلالي، حسب ما نقله موقع أربيك: “إن الحركة رفضت منذ البداية السيناريو الأسوأ، وهو ترشح الرئيس بوتفليقة وفعلت ما في وسعها لمنع حدوثه كونه غير دستوري، لكنه تحول إلى حقيقة.

وأضاف، إن “ترشح الرئيس بوتفليقة لولاية جديدة يغتصب الضمائر، ويسبب جرحاً في الشعور الوطني العام.”

ورغم أن هناك معارضة كبيرة للعهدة الخامسة للرئيس بوتفليقة من طرف أحزاب المعارضة وبعض الشخصيات السياسية الوطنية، إلا أن هذه الأخيرة لم تستطع أن تتفق على مرشح توافقي يستطيع أن يجمع حوله كل المعارضين للسلطة الحالية ويجمع أصواتهم في الانتخابات. وكذلك لم تستطع الخروج بقرار موحد بخصوص المشاركة في الرئاسيات أم مقاطعتها، وهو الأمر الذي سيخدم بوتفليقة لا محالة في الاستحقاقات القادمة.

لكن لم يكن هذا الحال بالنسبة لـحركة مجتمع السلم، الحزب الاسلامي الأكبر في الجزائر والذي شكل التحالف الرئاسي الذي دعم الرئيس بوتفليقة إلى جانب حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني وحزب التجمع الوطني الديمقراطي منذ سنة 2004 إلى غاية سنة 2012 لينتقل بعدها إلى خط المعارضة. فقد قررت الحركة المشاركة في الرئاسيات عن طريق تقديم رئيس الحركة الدكتور عبد الرزاق مقري كمرشح.

وكذلك هو الأمر بالنسبة لـحزب طلائع الحريات، الذي أعلن ترشيح علي بن فليس، رئيس الوزراء الأسبق وأول زعيم سياسي ينشق حزب التحرير الوطني لبوتفليقة عام 2002.

تطورت الأحداث بشكلٍ متسارع وغير متوقع بعد هذه الإعلانات. المظاهرات المتفرقة في بعض ولايات الوطن تلتها دعوات للخروج في مسيرات سلمية عبر كامل التراب الوطني يوم 22 فبراير 2019. جاءت الدعوات عبر صفحات مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي ويبقى مصدر هذه الدعوات مجهولاً. وبالفعل كانت الاستجابة كبيرة عبر العديد من الولايات أهمها الجزائر العاصمة التي خرق فيها المتظاهرون قانون منع التظاهر في العاصمة الذي صدر سنة 2001 عقب مظاهرات الربيع الأمازيغي.

والملفت للانتباه أن المظاهرات كانت سلمية وحضارية من قبل المتظاهرين وهو نفس السلوك عند قوات الأمن التي قابلت الاحتجاجات بكل احترافية حيث أطرت المظاهرات ولم تمنعها ولم تقابلها بالقمع.

كما تم مشاهدة صور عناق المتظاهرين لرجال الشرطة وتقبيلهم ومقابلتهم بالورود وكذلك تنظيف المتظاهرين للساحات العمومية بعد انتهاء المسيرات التي رفعت فيها شعارات متعددة من قبل المتظاهرين، أهمها؛ “بوتفليقة مكاش عهدة خامسة” (لا وجود لعهدة خامسة يا بوتفليقة)، و”سلمية سلمية” (يعني أن المظاهرات سلمية والشعب يريد تغيير النظام بطريقة سلمية)، و”الشعب والدولة خاوة خاوة” (يعني الشعب وقوات الأمن إخوة وكلاهما إبن الشعب)، و”الشعب لا يريد بوتفليقة والسعيد” (الشعب لا يريد الرئيس بوتفليقة وشقيقه السعيد الذي يُعرف بأنه هو من يسير شؤون البلاد في ظل مرض أخيه)، و”إرحل يا أويحي” (المطالبة برحيل الوزير الاول أحمد أويحي الذي صرح بأن الشعب الجزائري سعيد بترشح بوتفليقة لعهدة خامسة).

الملاحظ أن الاستجابة لدعوات رفض للعهدة الخامسة للرئيس بوتفليقة بدأت تتوسع بشكل كبير حيث مست مختلف فئات المجتمع من المحامين، وطلبة الجامعات، والسياسيين والمواطنين العاديين. وما لفت الانتباه أن الاعلاميين التابعين للقطاع الخاص وكذلك للقطاع العام قاموا بتجمعات مناهضة للوضع ومطالبين بحرية الصحافة والإعلام في سابقة هي الأولى من نوعها.

تضاعف عدد المتظاهرين في مسيرات كبيرة في الأول من مارس استجابةً للدعوات التي أطلقت عبر صفحات التواصل الاجتماعي بالخروج في مسيرة مليونية.

بيد أن بوتفليقة رفض سحب ترشحه، فقد أكدّ ذلك كل من عبد المالك سلال والوزير الأول أحمد أويحي، اللذان أضافا أن التظاهر السلمي مكفول دستورياَ وهو نتيجة إصلاحات بوتفليقة وأن من حق الشعب التعبير عن رأيه ولكل واحد أن يدعم من يشاء من المرشحين ووتبقى الانتخابات هي الفاصل والقرار الأخير يكون للصندوق.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، صرّح قائد أركان الجيش الوطني الشعبي الفريق أحمد قايد صالح، بأن الشعب الجزائري تواق للعيش في أمان وأن الجيش متلزم بمهامه الدستورية وسيسهر على أن تمر الانتخابات الرئاسية في كنف الهدوء.

وأضاف أن الجيش لن يسمح لأي كان بأن يدفع بالشارع إلى سياقاتٍ لا تحمد عقباها في ظل دعوات تبقى مجهولة المصدر لتحريك الشارع الجزائري وجره نحو مصيرٍ مجهول. وفي ظل هذا الحراك غير المسبوق، تبقى الأيام وحدها من ستبين إلى ما ستؤول إليه الاحداث في ظل تمسك السلطة الحالية بدفع الرئيس بوتفليقة لعهدة خامسة وإصرار الشعب على رفض العهدة وإسقاط كل رموزها.

وقد شهد يوم 8 مارس، اليوم العالمي للمرأة، الذي تزامن مع الجمعة الثالثة على التوالي للمظاهرات، مسيرات كبيرة جداً. فقد خرج المتظاهرون، تتقدمهم النساء، للتعبير عن رفضهم للوضع الراهن والمطالبة بتغيير النظام. مسيرات امتزجت فيها ألوان الورود مع ألوان الشعارات السياسية المطالبة بالتغيير.

لم يستجب بوتفليقة لنداءات الشارع بسحب ترشحه لعهدة خامسة نظراً لتواجده خارج الوطن نتيجة الفحوصات الطبية التي كان يخضع لها. نتيجةً لذلك، تمت الدعوة إلى عصيان مدني لمدة خمسة أيامٍ متتالية بداية من يوم 10 مارس، التي لقيت استجابةً واسعة النطاق. قاطع العمال مناصب عملهم في المصانع والمؤسسات وحتى في الهيئات العمومية، كما شاركت الأعمال التجارية الخاصة في العصيان بغلق محلاتهم التجارية وشكل ذلك في الحقيقة ضغطاً قوياً على السلطة. ومع ذلك، رفض العديد من النشطاء السياسيين خيار العصيان المدني الذي كما يقولون سيؤدي إلى تعطيل الحراك وتغيير مساره.

وبعد عودة بوتفليقة إلى الجزائر، أعلن مباشرة في رسالة وجهها للجزائريين يوم 11 مارس عن العدول عن ترشحه للرئاسيات مع تأجيل موعدها إلى أجلٍ آخر وذلك بعد التوصل فقط إلى إجماعٍ وطني للمضي قدماً بالبلاد.

شكل هذا انتصاراً صغيراً للمتظاهرين، الذين لا زالوا يطالبون بتغييرٍ جذري، بما في ذلك تغيير النظام.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Past to Present / Algerians Demand Regime Change

Algerians Demand Regime Change

Algeria- Algerian protests
Algerians protest outside the city hall in the northern coastal city of Oran, about 410 kilometers west of the capital Algiers, on March 1, 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ unknown

Abdelaziz Bouteflika, Algeria’s longtime president, amended the constitution in 2008 to lengthen the presidential term from two to life-long. But anyone who follows Algerian politics knows that, since coming to power in 1999, Bouteflika has never had any intention of leaving.

After a stroke in 2013 put him in a wheelchair, many expected him to step down at the end of his third term the following year. Nonetheless, the regime’s inner circles insisted on keeping him on as a consensus figure who can serve the interests of decision-makers, and they pushed him into a fourth term. Few expected him to be able to complete even the first year of the term because of his deteriorating health, but this term has also come to a close, and Bouteflika wanted to nominate himself for a fifth.

The people’s patience appears to have run out, however, with protests erupting across the country ahead of the election originally planned for 18 April 2019.

Heightened tensions at the end of 2018 within the ruling parties led to major changes in the military leadership. The most prominent of these was Major General Abdul Gani Hamel, the head of national security, followed by Manad Nuba, commander of the Algerian National Gendarmerie, four commanders of military districts, the director of army security and the finance director at the National Defence Ministry.

These changes paved the way for the regime to present its 2019 presidential candidate. There was widespread speculation about the candidate’s identity, and whether it would even be possible for Bouteflika to run for a fifth term in the face of the opposition from national figures, popular circles and even some parties within the regime itself.

Nevertheless, Bouteflika announced his candidacy on 10 February in a letter to the people circulated by Algerie Presse Service, the official media outlet for the Algerian authorities and presidency. Most importantly, the letter said that if Bouteflika is reelected, he will call on all political, economic and social forces to hold a comprehensive national forum aimed at reaching consensus on reform and profound transformations that Algeria should make in order to build its future. The forum would also discuss ways to enable citizens to live together in peace and prosperity.

Bouteflika also explicitly addressed Algerian youth, one in four of whom are unemployed, according to Reuters. He noted that enhancing citizens’ confidence in their institutions requires answers that are more tailored to the aspirations of young people, who often distance themselves from participation in political life. Many young Algerians have chosen illegal – and frequently fatal – migration, often to Europe, to fulfill their aspirations and ambitions. In a clear attempt to win over young voters, Bouteflika promised to address this issue by ensuring a stronger representation of young people in executive authorities and elected councils.

Bouteflika’s attempt to be reelected was widely viewed as inevitable, not least because he heads the ruling party and presidential alliance that controls the General Union of Algerian Workers and influential financial and media actors. He is also backed by the army and the business elite who need him to continue serving their interests.

Protests broke out in cities such as Bejaia, Khanchila, Annaba and Oran following Bouteflika’s announcement. The protesters denounced his candidacy and demanded that the current regime step down.

Prime Minister Ahmed Ouyahia predicted that the protests would mirror those that preceded the 2014 elections, which ultimately had no effect on the outcome. “Some of the protesters took to the street in the previous presidential elections, but the state proved to be capable of controlling the street,” he said at a press conference. He also called on opponents who wish to express their opinions to do so at the ballot box.

In the same vein, Abdelmalek Sellal, former prime minister and head of Bouteflika’s election campaign, urged Algerians to express their views wisely and away from chaos. During his meeting with representatives of the Association of Algerian Women on 18 February, he said, “[The government] accepts other opinions and has no problem with them; everyone should express their opinion, but peacefully and wisely.”

He added, “We should talk with each other no matter what…. The national forum promised by Bouteflika should he win the elections will be a real opportunity for achieving national consensus because it will be open to everyone and not a one-way process.”

Soufiane Djilali, head of the New Generation Party and a leading member of the anti-regime Democracy and Citizenship Movement, was quoted on the Arabique website as saying that “the movement rejected that worst scenario from the beginning, that is the candidacy of President Bouteflika, and it did its best to prevent this from happening because it is unconstitutional. However, that scenario has turned into reality”.

He went on to say, “President Bouteflika’s candidacy for a new term troubles our consciences and inflicts pain on the public national sentiment.”

Although Bouteflika’s candidacy has met with considerable resistance from opposition parties and some national political figures, the latter have not been able to agree on a candidate who can unite opponents of the current regime and win a significant number of votes. Neither could the opposition agree on whether to participate in or boycott the elections, a fact that will inevitably play into Bouteflika’s hands come election day.

However, this was not the case for the Movement of Society for Peace, the largest Islamist party in Algeria, which along with the National Liberation Front (FLN) and the National Democratic Rally Party (NDA) formed the presidential alliance between 2004 to 2012 before moving to the opposition. The movement decided to participate in the elections by nominating its president Abdulrazak Muqri as a candidate.

Similarly, the Vanguards of Freedoms party announced it was nominating Ali Benflis, former prime minister and the first political leader to defect from Bouteflika’s FLN in 2002.

Events evolved rapidly and unpredictably following these announcements. The sporadic protests in a handful of cities were followed by calls for peaceful marches across the country on 22 February 2019. The calls went out on social media, although the source remains anonymous. The response was strong across many states, notably the capital Algiers, in contravention of the anti-demonstration law promulgated in 2001 following the Amazigh spring uprising.

The protests were peaceful and civilized, and the security forces dealt with them professionally, setting rules for the events without banning them, and without resorting to repressive measures.

Protesters were even pictured hugging and kissing police officers and handing them roses, in addition to cleaning the venues of public marches where slogans were raised. The most prominent of these slogans were ‘No fifth term for Bouteflika’, ‘Peaceful peaceful’ (meaning that the demonstrations are peaceful and the people want to change the regime peacefully), ‘The people and the state are brothers’, ‘The people do not want Bouteflika and Saeed’ (the ailing president’s brother who is believed to be running the country behind the scenes) and ‘Go away Ahmed Ouyahia’ (a call for the prime minister to step down and a reference to his comment that the people were happy with Bouteflika’s candidacy).

The response to the calls to reject Bouteflika’s candidacy expanded dramatically as lawyers, university students, politicians and other groups got involved. It was also notable that public and private media workers organized rallies protesting the current situation and demanding freedom of the press and the media – a first in the country. Calls on social media to organize a million-strong march saw protester numbers swell on 1 March.

However, Bouteflika has refused to withdraw his candidacy. This was confirmed by Sellal and Ouyahia, who both added that peaceful protest is constitutionally guaranteed, as a result of reforms initiated by Bouteflika, and that the people have the right to express their opinion and everyone has the right to support any candidate they want at the ballot box.

Moreover, Lieutenant General Ahmed Gaid Salah, the National People’s Army chief of staff, stated that the Algerian people want to live in peace and that the army is committed to carrying out its constitutional duties and will ensure that the presidential elections are held calmly.

He added that the army will not allow anyone to push the people into scenarios that would lead to grave consequences, amid calls by unknown sources to mobilize Algerians to face an unknown fate. In this unprecedented show of resistance, it remains unknown what the current incidents will lead to, particularly in light of the authorities’ insistence on nominating Bouteflika for a fifth term and the people’s insistence on rejecting it and toppling the regime.

On 8 March, International Women’s Day, massive demonstrations were staged for the third week in a row. Protesters, many of them women, took to the streets to express their rejection of the status quo and demand regime change. The colors of the roses raised in the protests corresponded with the various political slogans demanding change.

Bouteflika failed to heed the people’s calls to withdraw his candidacy because he was undergoing medical examinations abroad. Consequently, calls were made for civil disobedience for five consecutive days starting 10 March, a call that was well received. Factory workers and civil servants boycotted their jobs. Moreover, private business owners closed their shops, applying additional pressure on the authorities. However, many political activists rejected this tactic, saying it would disrupt the protest movement and cause it to change course.

On Bouteflika’s return to Algiers, he announced in another open letter on 11 March that he would withdraw his candidacy and postpone the elections until further notice and only after reaching a national consensus on the way forward for the country.

It was a small victory for the protesters, who are still demanding radical change, including in the regime.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ unknown | ©AFP ⁃ unknown

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.