فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الأمازيغ يلعبون دوراً محورياً مع صياغة الجزائر لمستقبلٍ سياسي جديد

الأمازيغ يلعبون دوراً محورياً مع صياغة الجزائر لمستقبلٍ سياسي جديد

Algeria- Amazigh algeria
متظاهرون أمازيغ يلوحون بالعلم الأمازيغي والعلم الجزائري بينما يهتفون بشعارات خلال المظاهرة الأسبوعية يوم الجمعة في الجزائر العاصمة، ٢١ يونيو ٢٠١٩. Photo: RYAD KRAMDI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

كان السكان الأصليين في الجزائر، البربر (الذين يطُلقون على أنفسهم أيضاً اسم الأمازيغ)، جزءاً لا يتجزأ من الماضي الثوري للبلاد ويواصلون لعب دورٍ محوري في الاضطرابات السياسية المستمرة التي تهز البلاد.

فقد قامت السلطات بقمع المتظاهرين الذين كانوا يلوحون بعلم البربر الأصفر والأزرق والأخضر خلال سلسلةٍ من الاحتجاجات في الجزائر العاصمة منذ فبراير 2019، بعد أن أعلن الرئيس السابق عبد العزيز بوتفليقة ترشحه لولايةٍ خامسة. تنحى بوتفليقة منذ ذلك الحين.

وفي أغسطس، أصدرت المحكمة حكماً بالسجن لمدة عشر سنوات على أحد المتظاهرين لمشاركته في الاحتجاجات إلى جانب غرامة قدرها 1600 دولار.

فقد أمر قائد الجيش وحليف بوتفليقة أحمد قايد صالح، الذي أصبح قائدًا فعلياً للدولة في شمال افريقيا، بشن حملة القمع التي شهدت اعتقال 41 متظاهراً في يوليو وحده، حيث كان جميعهم إما يلوحون بعلم البربر أثناء التجمعات أو كان العلم بحوزتهم.

وعليه، دعت منظمة العفو الدولية السلطات إلى الإفراج الفوري وغير المشروط عن المحتجين، ووصفت الاعتقالات بـ”العبثية.” كما اتُهم المعتقلون بـ”الإضرار بسلامة” البلاد.

وفي هذا الصدد، قالت المنظمة الدولية أن إطلاق سراح المعتقلين اختبارٌ حقيقي لإصلاح حقوق الإنسان في الجزائر. وفي الوقت نفسه، تعرضت السلطات لانتقاداتٍ لاستمرارها في فرض رقابة صارمة على المتظاهرين، الذين تشمل مطالبهم تنحية الشخصيات البارزة المرتبطة بالنخبة الفاسدة التي تحكم البلاد منذ الاستقلال في عام 1962.

حصلت حملة القمع على الرغم من حصول الأمازيغ على اعترافٍ أكبر في السنوات الأخيرة، بما في ذلك في الدستور. فقد اعترف تعديل الدستور لعام 2016 بالتمازيغت، اللغة البربرية، باعتبارها اللغة الرسمية الثانية للجزائر بعد العربية، واعترف بـ”الأمازيغية” كجزء من الهوية الوطنية. وفي عام 2018، تم اعتبار السنة الأمازيغية عطلةً رسمية.

يأتي الاعتراف الثقافي بعد سنواتٍ من الكفاح لاستعادة التنوع الثقافي الذي تم محوه من قبل النظام العسكري القديم، الذي تبنى اللغة العربية والإسلام كهويةٍ وطنية موحدة في وجه الحكم الاستعماري الفرنسي. تم تعزيز هذه الهوية في ظل حكم جبهة التحرير الوطني.

كانت جبهة التحرير الوطني الحزب السياسي الدستوري الوحيد في الجزائر حتى عام 1989، وكان النضال من أجل ديمقراطية أكبر ينحدر من الأمازيغ الذين يشكلون غالبية السكان. أصبحت رمزيتهم واحدةً من الرموز التي يمكن من خلالها تحقيق جزائر أكثر عدلاً.

حصلت اللحظة الأكثر بروزاً في هذه المعركة خلال ما يشار إليه الآن باسم ربيع البربر، الذي اندلع في 10 مارس 1980 بعد أن ألغت الحكومة مؤتمراً في جامعة تيزي وزو مع شاعر القبائل مولود معمري. تعتبر منطقة القبائل منطقةً ناطقة باللغة البربرية ومصدراً للنشاط الأمازيغي. آنذاك، كان السبب الذي تم بموجبه تبرير إلغاء الفعالية هو إمكانية أن يسبب اضطراباتٍ في البلاد. ومع ذلك، اعتبر القرار بمثابة قمعٍ من جانب الدولة، ورد الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس من خلال التحصن داخل الجامعة في حين نمت الاحتجاجات إلى مسيرة كبيرة قوامها 200 شخص في تيزي وزو، العاصمة الإقليمية، وفي اليوم التالي، ارتفع العدد في نهاية المطاف إلى الآلاف.

تصاعدت التوترات عندما اقتحمت الشرطة الجامعة، وظهرت تقارير عن أعمال عنف ضد المتظاهرين.

دخل ربيع البربر مرحلةً جديدة في عام 2001، خلال الاستعدادات لذكرى ربيع البربر في 20 أبريل. قبل ذلك بيومين، في 18 أبريل، قُتل الطالب ماسينيسا قرماح البالغ من العمر 18 عاماً أثناء احتجازه من قِبل الشرطة في تيزي وزو، مما أثار أعمال شغب انتشرت في جميع أنحاء البلاد وانتهت بفقدان 123 محتجاً حياتهم.

وبالرغم من اعتبارها لحظةً مظلمة في التاريخ، إلا أن ربيع البربر عزز إرثاً دائماً لهوية البربر وشهد ظهور منظمات مثل التجمع من أجل الثقافة والديمقراطية، وهو حزب سياسي وقاعدة القوة الرئيسية في منطقة القبائل، والذي ساعد في تحقيق المطالب الرئيسية للبربر.

كما تم تشكيل مجموعات أخرى ذات طموحات بعيدة المدى، لا سيما الحركة من أجل تقرير المصير في منطقة القبائل، التي تسعى إلى الاستقلال الثقافي عن الجزائر.

وبحسب ما قاله لنا في فَنَك، يوغرطة، أحد سكان منطقة القبائل والذي يبلغ من العمر 26 عاماً ويستخدم اسم Jeybroxer على تويتر، فإنه يُعارض تقسم البلاد، إذ قال “إذا فكرنا بهذه الطريقة، فإن الشاوية بحاجة أيضاً إلى رئيس، وهذا هو حال الطوارق، والشينوي، والشلحية، والريف… فهم جميعاً السكان الأصليون في شمال افريقيا أيضاً.” كما يعتقد أن صالح يهاجم العلم البربري من أجل زرع الانقسام بين العرب والأمازيغ.

في حين قالت إميلي هاوثورن، محللة شؤون الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في مركز ستراتفور لتبادل المعلومات الجيوسياسية الواقع في أمريكا: “الوضع الجزائري في الوقت الحالي يمثل تحدياً كبيراً للحكومة، ذلك أنها تتمتع بقدرةٍ على اتخاذ إجراءاتٍ صارمة ومنع الناس من الخروج إلى الشوارع بطريقة أكبر.” وأضافت “لكنهم متحفظون للغاية فيما يتعلق باستخدام القوة والسلطة التي يمتلكونها، لأنهم لا يريدون أن يتحول الوضع إلى عنفٍ أكبر وإشعال نزاعٍ أكبر وبالتالي التعرض لمأزقٍ أكبر.”

وقالت هاوثورن إن الحملة على الحركات الأصغر ما هي إلا استراتيجية لتقسيم ودحر حركة الاحتجاج بأكملها. علاوةٍ على ذلك، لاحظت أنه بينما تدرك الحكومة، بما في ذلك الجيش، أن المطالبة الأمازيغية بالحقوق الثقافية قضيةٌ حساسة، فهي مسألة لا يهتم بها جميع الجزائريون على قدم المساواة.

في الوقت نفسه، لم يُبدِ صالح أي رغبةٍ في التواصل مع المحتجين أو خفض عدد قوات الأمن المنتشرة لمراقبة الحركة المدنية.

بدلاً من ذلك، دفع باتجاه إجراء انتخابات رئاسية في أسرع وقتٍ ممكن في ظل الحكومة الحالية، من أجل ترسيخ الوضع الراهن، وفقاً لهاوثورن.

ومع ذلك، يرى الكثير من الجزائريين أن صالح مجرد بوتفليقة آخر، ولا يزال الجيش والحكومة أنفسهم منقسمين بشأن التنازلات التي يتعين تقديمها، بما في ذلك إطلاق سراح السجناء، فضلاً عن مستقبل البلاد السياسي.

في الوقت الراهن، يرفض صالح رفع الحظر عن التلويح علناً بعلم البربر، معتبراً أنه تهديد للوحدة الوطنية.

وفي هذا الصدد، أوضحت هاوثورن إن “العلم الجزائري مرادفٌ للجيش وللثورة ضد الفرنسيين،” مضيفةً أن أي علمٍ آخر يعتبر إهانة لروح الثورة وكل ما قاتل الجيش من أجله. وتابعت القول، “الجيش الجزائري هو القوة السياسية المهيمنة في الجزائر. وهو أمرٌ لا نتوقع في ستراتفور أن يتغير.”

ولربما سيثبتون أنها على خطأ، ذلك أنه في ظل تنامي الحركات التي تسعى إلى إنشاء نظامٍ سياسي جديد، حتى وإن كان ذلك في الوقت الذي يحاول فيه الجيش بسط هيمنته. فقد أعلن النظام المؤقت في 15 سبتمبر 2019 أنه حدد موعداً للانتخابات الرئاسية في 12 ديسمبر.

مع اكتساب الحركة المؤيدة للديمقراطية زخماً، تضمنت الهتافات خلال الاحتجاجات الأسبوعية “نرفض أن يقودنا قايد صالح” و”سئمنا من الجنرالات.”

وسط هذا الغموض السياسي، أمرٌ واحدٌ واضح: مهما كانت نتيجة انتخابات ديسمبر، فإن الأمازيغ سيلعبون دوراً محورياً في الواقع السياسي الجديد للجزائر.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Past to Present / As Algeria Forges New Political Future, the Amazigh Will Play a Central Role

As Algeria Forges New Political Future, the Amazigh Will Play a Central Role

Algeria- Amazigh algeria
Algerian protesters wave the Amazigh and national flags as they chant slogans during the weekly Friday demonstration in the capital Algiers on June 21, 2019. Photo: RYAD KRAMDI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

Algeria’s indigenous Berber people (who call themselves Amazigh) have been integral to the country’s revolutionary past and continue to play a central role in the ongoing political upheaval rocking the nation.

The authorities have cracked down on protesters waving the yellow, blue and green Berber flag during a series of protests in Algiers since February 2019, after former President Abdelaziz Bouteflika announced he was running for a fifth term. He has since stepped down.

In August, a court handed one demonstrator a ten-year prison sentence for taking part in the protests alongside a $1,600 fine.

The crackdown, which saw 41 protestors arrested in July alone, all of whom were flying the Berber flag during rallies or had it in their possession, was ordered by army chief and Bouteflika ally Ahmed Gaid Salah, who has become the de facto leader of the North African state.

Amnesty International called on the authorities to immediately and unconditionally release the protesters, describing the arrests as ‘absurd’. Those detained were charged with ‘harming the integrity’ of the country.

Releasing the protesters was a litmus test, said the global campaign group, for human rights reform in Algeria. At the same time, the authorities have been criticized for maintaining tight control of the demonstrators, whose demands include the removal of senior figures associated with a corrupt elite that has governed the country since independence in 1962.

The crackdown has occurred despite the Amazigh achieving greater recognition in recent years, including in the constitution. A 2016 amendment declared Tamazight, the Berber language, Algeria’s second official language after Arabic, and recognized ‘Amazighness’ as a part of the national identity. In 2018, the Amazigh new year was designated as a public holiday.

The cultural acknowledgment comes after years of struggle to restore the cultural diversity that was erased by the old military regime, which adopted Arabic and Islam as a unified national identity in opposition to French colonial rule. This identity was further cemented under the National Liberation Front (FLN).

The FLN was Algeria’s only constitutionally legal political party until 1989, and the fight for greater democracy hailed from the Amazigh who make up the majority of the population. Their symbolism became one through which a fairer Algeria could be realized.

The most notable moment in this fight occurred during what is now referred to as the Berber Spring, sparked on 10 March 1980 after the government cancelled a conference in the University of Tizi Ouzou with Kabyle poet Mouloud Mammeri. Kabyle is a major Berber-speaking region and the source of much of the Amazigh activism. The reason given for the event being struck off was that it could cause unrest. However, the decision was seen as state repression, and students and teaching staff responded by barricading themselves in the university while protests grew into a 200-strong march in Tizi Ouzou, the regional capital, the next day, which eventually snowballed into the thousands.

Tensions rose when police stormed the university, and reports of violence against the protesters emerged.

The Berber Spring entered a new phase in 2001, during preparations for the Spring’s anniversary celebrated on 20 April each year. Two days earlier, on 18 April, 18-year-old student Massinissa Guermah was killed in police custody in Tizi Ouzou, provoking riots that spread across the country and ended with 123 protesters losing their lives.

While a dark moment in history, the Berber Spring cemented a lasting legacy for Berber identity and saw the emergence of organizations such as the Rally for Culture and Democracy (RCD), a political party and the main power base in Kabyle, which has helped to realize the Berbers’ key demands.

Other groups with more far-reaching ambitions have also been formed, notably the Movement for the Autonomy of Kabyle (MAK), which seeks cultural autonomy from Algeria.

Jugurtha, a 26-year-old resident of Kabyle who uses the Twitter handle @Jeybroxer, told Fanack that he is against dividing up the country. “If we think in this way, then the Chaoui also need a president, as do the Touareg, Chinoui, Chleh, Rif…. They are all the original people of North Africa as well.” He believes that Salah is attacking the Berber flag in order to sow division between the Arabs and Amazigh.

“The Algerian situation right now is such a challenge for the government, because they have the power to crack down and to keep people from going out into the streets in a bigger way,” said Emily Hawthorne, a Middle East and North Africa analyst at the American-based geopolitical intelligence platform Stratfor. “But they’re very reticent to use the force and power that they have, because they don’t want the situation to snowball into greater violence and set off a bigger conflict and a bigger impasse.”

The crackdown on smaller movements is a strategy to divide and conquer the whole protest movement, said Hawthorne. Moreover, she noted, while the government, including the military, realize the Amazigh demand for cultural rights is a sensitive issue, it is not one all Algerians care about equally.

At the same time, Salah has been unwilling to engage with the protesters or step down the security forces deployed to monitor the civilian movement.

Rather, he has pushed for presidential elections as soon as possible under the existing government, in order to enshrine the status quo, according to Hawthorne.

However, many Algerians see Salah as another Bouteflika, and the army and government themselves remain divided over the concessions to be made, including releasing prisoners, as well as the country’s political future.

For now, Salah is refusing to lift his ban on publicly waving the Berber flag, calling it a threat to national unity.

“The Algerian flag is synonymous with the military and with the revolution against the French,” explained Hawthorne, adding that any other flag is seen as an affront to the spirit of the revolution and everything that the military fought for. “The Algerian military is the dominant political power in Algeria. And that’s something we at Stratfor don’t expect to change,” she said.

She may still be proven wrong as the movement in favour of a new political system is growing, even as the military tries to exert its dominance. The interim regime announced on 15 September 2019 that it had set presidential elections for 12 December 2019.

As the pro-democracy movement gains strength, chants during the weekly protests have included ‘We refuse to be led by Gaid Salah’ and ‘We’re sick of generals’.

Amid this political uncertainty, one this is clear: whatever the outcome of the December elections, the Amazigh will play a central role in Algeria’s new political reality.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI | ©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.