فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الحرب الأهلية (1991-2002)

الحرب الأهلية (1991-2002)

قبور ضحايا مجهولين في الحرب الأهلية في التسعينات الحرب الأهلية
قبور ضحايا مجهولين في الحرب الأهلية في التسعينات

سرعان ما أعقب الانقلاب ردة فعل عنيفة. وما بدأ كهجمات غير منتظمة على الجيش والشرطة تحوّل إلى صراع مسلح تقوده مجموعات إسلامية متنوعة ظهرت بغتة في معظم أنحاء البلاد. تشكلت نواة هذه المجموعات المسلحة من الجزائريين الذين حاربوا في أفغانستان ضد القوات السوفييتية. وانضم إليهم أعضاء متطرفين سابقين في حزب الجبهة الإسلامية للإنقاذ. وسرعان ما تبين عدم قدرة الجيش أو المجموعات الإسلامية المسلحة على تحقيق الانتصار. وسرعان ما تحولت دورة القمع والهجمات إلى عنف شامل استهدف المدنيين بشكل أساسي. وكان ظهور الجماعة الإسلامية المسلحة علامة على ذلك. وقام مقاتلو الجماعة الإسلامية المسلحة، أو الذين استأجرتهم للقيام بعمليات القتل، بالهجوم على عشرات الصحفيين والفنانين والمفكرين الذين اعتبروهم “أعداء الإسلام”.
بهدف إعادة السيطرة على حرب العصابات، شكّل قادة حزب الجبهة الإسلامية للإنقاذ، في العالم السفلي والمنفيون، الجيش الإسلامي للإنقاذ كجناح عسكري لهم.

في منتصف التسعينيات، تمكنت مجموعات إسلامية تابعة للجيش الإسلامي للإنقاذ والجماعة الإسلامية المسلحة من إعادة السيطرة على أجزاء من المناطق الجبلية في الشمال. وفي النهاية، طردهم الجيش الذي تم تعزيزه بعتاد من فرنسا ودول أخرى. وأشارت التقارير إلى أن أجهزة الاستخبارات تمكنت من اختراق هذه المجموعات المسلحة. ونجحت المؤسسة العسكرية في التوصل إلى اتفاق مع الجيش الإسلامي للإنقاذ عام 1997. نصت الهدنة على وقف إطلاق النار مقابل إعادة تأهيل المقاتلين الإسلاميين الذين قاموا في بعض الأحيان بالمساعدة على قمع أعدائهم في الجماعة الإسلامية المسلحة.

في البداية، أدى هذا الوضع إلى فترة من العنف الشديد. تعرضت قرى بأكملها إلى مجازر من قبل عناصر مسلحة، كان الهدف منها معاقبة الجماعات والمجموعات غير الموالية، وفق الجماعة الإسلامية المسلحة. أشار بعض المراقبين إلى دور الجيش، الذي اتُّهم بالفشل في مواجهة المجرمين أو حتى بالتورط في جرائم حرب بهدف الحط من قدر الإسلاميين. والأمر المؤكد هو أنه تم “خصخصة” الحرب جزئياً من خلال إنشاء ميليشيات موالية للحكومة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. تم تسليح هذه الميليشيات من قبل الجيش، وكان ينتظر منها تأدية دور المساعد. عملياً، غالباً ما كانت الميليشيات تمثل مصالح الزعماء المحليين، وكانت على الأقل مسؤولة عن بعض الأعمال الوحشية. كما شارك في أعمال العنف المستمرة مجرمون سعوا إلى حماية مصالحهم من الحكومة. وبدأت هدنة عام 1997 والعتاد الأفضل للجيش واختيار العصابات السابقة بتحقيق نتائج إيجابية لصلح قادة الدولة.

الجزائر حرب أهلية ضحايا عنف ارهاب
ارقام تضطر اعداد ضحايا الحرب الأهلية في الجزائر مابين الأعوام 1991-2005
محمد بوضياف في ريعان الحرب الأهليةالشباب
محمد بوضياف في ريعان الشباب
الرئيس محمد بوضياف قبل الحرب الأهلية لحظات من اغتياله في 29 يونيو 1992
الرئيس محمد بوضياف قبل لحظات من اغتياله في 29 يونيو 1992

 

تزامنت التطورات في ساحة المعارك مع خطوات اتخذها الجيش لكسر الجمود السياسي واستعادة بعض الشرعية التي فقدها على الصعيدين المحلي والدولي، وذلك بعد إلغاء الانتخابات. في البداية، باءت هذه الجهود بفشل ذريع. وفي كانون الثاني/يناير عام 1992، بدا تعيين زعيم حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني المنفي محمد بوضياف كرئيس للمجلس الأعلى للدولة خطوة محكمة، غير أن بوضياف اغتيل على يد حارسه الشخصي في 29 حزيران/يونيو عام 1992. وساد الاعتقاد بأن سبب قتل بوضياف هو رغبته في القضاء على الفساد. ولم تتمكن المحاولات الأخرى الهادفة إلى إعطاء طابع مدني للحكم العسكري من تحقيق أي نتائج. وحاول قادة الدولة المتعاقبون إما متابعة إعادة هيكلة الاقتصاد أو إعادة اعتماد هذه التدابير، لكن كلا المقاربتين لم تمنحهما المصداقية لدى الشعب.

 

الرئيس ليامين زروال الحرب الأهلية
الرئيس ليامين زروال

أدت الحرب المستمرة والركود السياسي إلى انقلاب جهاز قيادة حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني ضد الجيش. عام 1995، وقّع حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني اتفاقية روما مع زعماء حزب الجبهة الإسلامية للإنقاذ في المنفى وحزب جبهة القوى الاشتراكية العلماني الذي يهيمن عليه البربر. وبموجب هذه الاتفاقية، سعت هذه “الجبهات” الثلاث إلى الحصول على دعم محلي ودولي لإنهاء الحرب الأهلية والعودة إلى الديمقراطية. كما أرغم هذا الجيش على اعتماد مبادرة سياسية. عام 1996، فاز في الانتخابات الرئاسية الجنرال ليامين زروال، الذي أنشأ أيضاً حزباً سياسياً كبديل عن حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني غير الموثوق به. ومن شأن “حزب التجمع الوطني الديمقراطي” هذا أن يكون أداة لاستعادة شرعية نظام سياسي موصوم.

عام 1997، تم انتخب الشعب الجزائري برلماناً جديداً. ومع أن هذه الانتخابات اعتبرت كجهود لطمس فوز الجبهة الإسلامية للإنقاذ عام 1991، إلا أن عدداً كبيراً من الأحزاب المعارضة قررت المشاركة فيها. ولم يكن فوز حزب التجمع الوطني الديمقراطي الذي تم تشكيله حديثاً مفاجئاً. وكان الجديد في الأمر تشكيل هذا الحزب لحكومة ائتلافية ضمت علمانيين ومتعصبين لحزب التجمع من أجل الثقافة والديمقراطية وحزب حركة مجتمع السلم الإسلامي اللذين طالما عارضا حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني.

الحرب الأهلية مكتب الأمم المتحدة في مدينة الجزائر عام 2007
مكتب الأمم المتحدة في مدينة الجزائر عام 2007

في أواخر الألفية الثانية، انتهت الحرب الأهلية. سيطر الجيش، على الرغم من استمرار الهجمات على المواكب العسكرية ومؤسسات الدولة في الأعوام اللاحقة. عام 2007، تم تفجير مكتب الأمم المتحدة في الجزائر. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أعلنت بعض الجماعات الإسلامية أنها جزء من تنظيم القاعدة وهدفت إلى ضم مقاتلين من جميع أنحاء شمال إفريقيا. واستمرت الهجمات على قوات الأمن في جميع أنحاء البلاد. ومع ذلك، بدا أن تأسيس تنظيم القاعدة في بلاد المغرب الإسلامي يمثل إضعافاً للحركة الإسلامية المسلحة عوضاً عن القوة. اشتهر تنظيم القاعدة في بلاد المغرب الإسلامية من مجموعات في الشمال بخطف السياح وغيرها من الأعمال الإجرامية في الصحراء الجزائرية والدول المجاورة. جرى معظم هذه الأعمال ضمن أو خارج الحدود الجنوبية للجزائر التي طالما كانت مأوى للمهرّبين نظراُ إلى صعوبة سيطرة السلطات على التحركات عبر الحدود. ويبقى السؤال حول ماهية المشروع السياسي الواضح وراء تنظيم القاعدة في بلاد المغرب الإسلامي. في الواقع، تشكل عمليات خطف الأجانب والتورط في تجارة المخدرات من أميركا اللاتينية عبر غرب إفريقيا إلى أوروبا (بالإضافة إلى الهجرة غير الشرعية) مصادر عائدات تجتذب كل من يسيطر على بجزء من الأراضي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، عام 2012 أظهر الوضع في دولة مالي المجاورة نمطاً آخر من نقاط الاختلاف والتشابه بين المشاريع الإسلامية والمشاريع السياسية الأخرى (في هذه الحالة، حركة استقلال الطوارق).

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Fanack

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Home / Algeria / Past to Present / Civil War (1991-2002)

Civil War (1991-2002)

Civil war Graves of anonymous victims of the 1990s civil war
Graves of anonymous victims of the 1990s civil war

A violent response to the coup was soon to follow. What began as sporadic attacks on military personnel and policemen grew into an armed struggle by a variety of Islamist groups that cropped up all over the country. The core of the armed groups was formed by Algerians who had fought in Afghanistan against Soviet troops. They were joined by radical ex-members of the Islamic Salvation Front (Front Islamique du Salut, FIS). It soon became clear that neither the army nor the Islamist armed groups could win. The cycle of repression and attacks soon degraded into all-out violence, mainly against civilians. The emergence of the Armed Islamic Group (Groupe Islamique Armé, GIA) was a symptom of this. GIA gunmen, or those hired by them to do the killing, attacked dozens of journalists, artists, and intellectuals whom they considered ‘enemies of Islam’.

In order to regain control of the guerrilla war, underground and exiled FIS leaders created the Islamic Salvation Army (Armée Islamique du Salut, AIS) as a military wing. Islamist groups belonging to both the AIS and GIA managed in the mid-1990s to gain control of parts of the mountainous areas of the north. Eventually they were dislodged by the army, which had been reinforced by materiel from France and other countries. The intelligence services were reported to have infiltrated the armed groups. The military establishment succeeded in striking a deal with the AIS in 1997. The truce involved a ceasefire in exchange for the rehabilitation of the Islamist fighters, who in some cases even helped subdue their adversaries in the GIA.

This situation led at first to a period of extreme violence. Entire villages were massacred by armed attackers, actions the GIA said were to punish disloyal groups and communities. Some observers hinted at the role of the army, which was accused of failing to act against the perpetrators or even of being involved in the war crimes in order to discredit the Islamists. What is certain is that the war was partly ‘privatized’ by the creation of pro-government militias throughout the country. They received arms from the military and were meant to fulfil an auxiliary role. In practice, the militias often represented the interests of local strongmen and were responsible for at least some of the atrocities. Also contributing to the continuing violence were criminals who sought to protect their interests from the powers of the state. The 1997 armistice, the better equipment of the army, and the co-optation of former guerrillas gradually began to pay off for the state leadership.
civil war

civil war Mohamed Boudiaf as a young man
Mohamed Boudiaf as a young man
civil war Mohamed Boudiaf, moments before his assassination, 29 June 1992
President Mohamed Boudiaf, moments before his assassination, 29 June 1992

The developments on the battlefield coincided with steps by the military to break the political deadlock and regain some of the legitimacy they had lost in the domestic and international arenas, after the cancellation of the elections. At first, these efforts failed miserably. The installation, in January 1992, of exiled FLN-leader (National Liberation Front, Front de Libération Nationale), Mohamed Boudiaf as president of the ruling state council seemed initially to be a masterful move, but Boudiaf was assassinated by a bodyguard on 29 June 1992. This killing was widely believed to follow from Boudiaf’s intention to eradicate corruption. Other attempts to give a civilian face to military rule did not at first produce results, either. Successive heads of the state council tried either to pursue economic restructuring or to turn back such measures, but neither approach gained them credibility with the people.

civil war Liamine Zeroual
President Liamine Zeroual

The result of the continuing war and political stagnation was that even the leadership of the FLN party apparatus turned against the military. In 1995, the FLN concluded the Treaty of Rome with the exiled FIS leadership and the secular, Berber-dominated Socialist Forces Front (Front des Forces Socialistes, FFS). With this agreement, the three ‘fronts’ aimed to obtain domestic and international support for ending the civil war and returning to democracy. This forced the military to come up with a political initiative as well. In 1996, the presidential election was won by General Liamine Zéroual, who also created a political party as an alternative to the not-always-reliable FLN party barons. This National Democratic Rally (Rassemblement National Démocratique, RND) would be a vehicle for regaining legitimacy for a tarnished political system.

In 1997, the Algerian population voted for a new Parliament. Although this election was widely regarded as an effort to erase the 1991 victory of the FIS, many opposition parties decided to take part. The victory of the newly founded RND surprised no one. The real novelty was the formation by the RND of a new coalition government that also included both the secularist hardliners of the Rally for Culture and Democracy (Rassemblement pour la Culture et la Démocratie, RCD) and the Islamist Movement of Society for Peace (Mouvement de la société pour la paix, MSP), which had always opposed the FIS.

civil war UN office in Algiers bombed, 2007
UN office in Algiers bombed, 2007

By the turn of the millennium, the civil war, as such, had come to an end. The army prevailed, although attacks on military convoys and government institutions continued in the following years. In 2007 there was a major bomb attack on the United Nations office in Algiers. In addition, some of the Islamist groups declared themselves part of al-Qaeda and aimed to join forces with militants from elsewhere in North Africa. Attacks on security forces continued throughout the country. Nevertheless, the founding of al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb (al-Qaïda au Maghreb islamique, AQIM) seemed to represent a weakening rather than a strengthening of the armed Islamist movement. Having emerged from groups in the north, AQIM became notorious for the kidnapping of tourists and other criminal acts in the Saharan regions of Algeria and its neighbouring countries. Most of these activities took place along or outside Algeria’s southern borders, which have always been the domain of smugglers, as cross-border movements are difficult for the authorities to control. The question remains whether there is a clear political project behind AQIM. The fact is that kidnapping foreigners and involvement in the drug trade from Latin America through West Africa to Europe (as well as illegal migration) are attractive sources of revenue for anyone who controls part of the territory. In addition, the situation that emerged in neighbouring northern Mali in 2012 showed another pattern of convergence and divergence between Islamist and other political projects (in this case, the Tuareg independence movement).

image_pdfimage_print