فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني الحاكم في الجزائر يدعو بوتفليقة إلى الترشح لولايةٍ خامسة

حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني الحاكم في الجزائر يدعو بوتفليقة إلى الترشح لولايةٍ خامسة

Algeria- Abdelaziz Bouteflika
الرئيس الجزائري عبد العزيز بوتفليقة يجلس على كرسي متحرك بينما يدلي بصوته في مركز اقتراعٍ في العاصمة الجزائر في 4 مايو 2017، خلال الانتخابات البرلمانية. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

وصلت لعبة الشد والجذب السياسية في الجزائر إلى لحظةٍ حاسمة، حيث دعا الحزب الحاكم، حزب التحرير الوطني، الرئيس عبد العزيز بوتفليقة إلى الترشح لولايةٍ خامسة على التوالي في الاقتراع المقرر في ربيع عام 2019.

فخلال اجتماعٍ للحزب في العاصمة الجزائر في 7 أبريل 2018، أوضح أمين عام جبهة التحرير الوطني جمال ولد عباس أن حزبه لا ينوي التخلي عن سيطرته على البلاد على الرغم من طموحاته الجلية بمنافسة بوتفليقة لتولي الرئاسة.

وبحسب وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية قال ولد عباس: “باسم كل مناضلي حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني الذين يبلغ عددهم 700 ألف مناضل، وباسم محبي الحزب والمتعاطفين معه، أتحمل مسؤوليتي كأمين عام لتبليغ رئيس الجمهورية بآمال ورغبة المناضلين في أن يواصل مسيرته كرئيس للجمهورية.” وأضاف أنه بعد موافقة الحزب، يعود الأمر إلى بوتفليقة لاتخاذ القرار النهائي.

كما أيد عبد القادر مساهل، وزير الخارجية وعضو هيئة التنسيق في اللجنة المركزية لحزب جبهة التحرير الوطني، بشكلٍ علني ترشيح الرئيس البالغ من العمر 81 عاماً لفترةٍ رئاسيةٍ أخرى، مضيفًا أنه تحت قيادته، “استعادت الجزائر السلام والأمن، وأصبحت مرجعيةً في مجال نزع التطرف، وحل النزاعات الدولية.”

وفي مقابلةٍ مع القناة الفرنسية، فرانس 24، أشاد مساهل بإنجازات بوتفليقة منذ توليه منصبه في عام 1999.

وبعد إعادة انتخابه الأخيرة في عام 2014، استبعدت العديد من الشخصيات في النظام ترشح رئيس الدولة المريض لولايةٍ ثانية، بسبب تزايد المعارضة الصريحة تجاه بوتفليقة. وعلى الرغم من أن مسؤولي جبهة التحرير الوطني ومسؤولي الدولة قد ادعوا مراراً وتكراراً سلامته البدنية والعقلية للحكم وتمتعه بالقدرة على القيام بواجباته على النحو المطلوب، إلا أنه تم مواصلة تداول الشائعات حول صحته.

وفي مارس 2013، عانى بوتفليقة من سكتةٍ دماغية وأمضى أشهراً إلى حين تعافي في مستشفى فرنسي.

واليوم، يستخدم كرسي متحرك منذ ذلك الحين وبالكاد يظهر على الملأ، وهي حقيقة تغذي التكهنات بشأن تدهور حالته الصحية المزعومة. وبعد أن كان بالكاد قادراً على قراءة قسم يمينه بعد إعادة انتخابه في عام 2014، توقف المسؤولون الحكوميون عن نشر تسجيلات صوتية للرئيس وبدلاً من ذلك تحولوا إلى إصدار صور وأشرطة فيديو تظهر مشاركة بوتفليقة في جلسات مجلس الوزراء أو محادثات واجتماعات مع سياسيين أجانب، خلال زياراتهم في الجزائر. ولذلك، ليس من المستغرب أن وسائل الإعلام وقوى المعارضة تشكك في قدرة بوتفليقة على الحكم وتعارض بشدة توليه فترة أخرى.

وبعد ثلاثة أيام من دعم ولد عباس ترشح بوتفليقة، ظهر الرئيس علناً لأول مرة منذ أكثر من 18 شهراً وانضم إلى العديد من مسئولي الدولة والوزراء في حفل إعادة افتتاح مسجد كتشاوة وافتتاح محطتي مترو جديدتين في العاصمة الجزائر.

فقد تم إحضار المئات من أنصار جبهة التحرير الوطني إلى المنطقة بالحافلات، وهم يلوحون بصور بوتفليقة والعلم الجزائري في ما وصفه موقع TSA Algérie الإخباري بحملةٍ انتخابية غير رسمية، كما سلط الموقع الإلكتروني الضوء على غياب رئيس الوزراء أحمد أويحي، رئيس حزب التجمع الوطني الديمقراطي، شريك ائتلاف جبهة التحرير الوطني وواحد من أكثر المرشحين الواعدين لخلافة بوتفليقة، عن هذه الزيارة.

فأويحيى لم يخفِ طموحاته في الترشح رغم أنه كان يعتبر حليفاً وثيقاً لعشيرة بوتفليقة لسنوات. ومع ذلك، فإن آمال أويحيى بأن يصبح الرئيس المقبل للجزائر باتت تتلاشى، حيث ينافسه حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني بشدة على ترشحه المحتمل، الذي يعتبر نفسه الفصيل الرئيسي في النظام الجزائري المتغاير.

وفي ديسمبر 2017، أعلن أويحيى أنه توصل إلى اتفاقٍ مع اتحاد نقابات العمَّال، الذي تسيطر عليه الدولة، الاتحاد العام للعمَّال الجزائرين، ومنتدى رجال الأعمال في الجزائر، الذي يتمتع بالقوة، حول برنامج خصخصة جزئي لعدة شركات مملوكة للدولة. ولكن بعد أسبوعين فقط، في 3 يناير 2018، دعا ولد عباس لعقد اجتماعٍ منفصل مع كل من اتحاد نقابات العمَّال الجزائريين ومنتدى رجال الأعمال، حيث ألغى خطة الخصخصة. وبعد فترةٍ وجيزة، نشر بوتفليقة بياناً وبخ فيه رئيس وزرائه بشأن خطة الخصخصة، مما وفرّ المزيد من المؤشرات على أن لعبة الشد والجذب حول القرارات السياسية والتعيينات الحكومية داخل النظام لم تنتهي بعد.

وعليه، لم تُشكل هذه الخلافات الأخيرة مفاجأةً كبيرة في الوقت الذي باتت فيه خلافة بوتفليقة وشيكة. وقال ريكاردو فابياني، وهو محلل سياسي خبيرٌ في شؤون شمال افريقيا، “ينبغي على الجميع أن يتأقلموا” بعد قرار جبهة التحرير الوطني بالموافقة على ترشح بوتفليقة لولايةٍ خامسة، حيث “اختارت فصائل النظام المختلفة الاستمرارية لتجنب الانقسامات في وقتٍ حساس.”

وقد علّق أويحيى على المسألة بعد أسبوعٍ فحسب من موافقة جبهة التحرير الوطني على ترشح بوتفليقة، وأعرب عن دعمه ترشحه لولاية خامسة. ومع ذلك، لا يمكن استبعاد مواجهة أخرى بين فصيليّ النظام الرئيسيين قبل الانتخابات، ذلك أن الصراعات الأخيرة داخل الطبقة الحاكمة مرتبطة بشكلٍ متزايد بالقرارات السياسية المتعلقة بالاقتصاد وكيفية التعامل مع الاضطرابات الاجتماعية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI | ©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Past to Present / Algeria’s Ruling FLN Calls on Bouteflika to Run for a Fifth Term

Algeria’s Ruling FLN Calls on Bouteflika to Run for a Fifth Term

Algeria- Abdelaziz Bouteflika
Algerian President Abdelaziz Bouteflika is seen on a wheelchair as he casts his vote at a polling station in Algiers on May 4, 2017, during parliamentary elections. Photo AFP

Algeria’s political tug of war reached a crucial moment as the ruling party, the National Liberation Front (FLN), called on President Abdelaziz Bouteflika to run for a fifth consecutive term in the ballot scheduled for spring 2019.

During a party meeting in the capital Algiers on 7 April 2018, the FLN’s Secretary General Djamel Ould Abbès made it clear that his party does not intend to give up its control of the country despite distinct ambitions of Bouteflika’s rival to take over the presidency.

“On behalf of all activists of the FLN, numbering about 700,000, and on behalf of its members and supporters, as secretary general I pledge to convey to the president of the republic the wish of the party’s members to see him continue his work as the president of the republic,” Ould Abbès said, according to the Algerian state-owned news agency APS. After the party’s endorsement, it is up to Bouteflika to make the final decision, he added.

Abdelkader Messahel, minister of foreign affairs and a member of the FLN’s Central Committee, also publicly supported another presidential run of the 81 year old, adding that under his leadership, “Algeria regained peace and security, and has become a reference in the field of de-radicalization, and resolution of international conflicts.” In an interview with the French news channel France 24, Messahel praised Bouteflika’s achievements since he took office in 1999.

After his last re-election in 2014, another term for the ailing head of state was ruled out by several regime figures due to the increasing outspoken opposition towards Bouteflika.

Although FLN and state officials have repeatedly claimed that he is physically and mentally fit to govern and carries out his duties as required, rumours about his health continue to swirl.

In March 2013, Bouteflika suffered a stroke and spent months recovering in a French hospital. He has been wheelchair-bound ever since and is barely seen in public, a fact that fuels speculation about his alleged deteriorating health. After he was barely able to read his oath of office after his re-election in 2014, government officials stopped publishing sound recordings of the president and instead turned to releasing photo and video footage showing Bouteflika’s participation in cabinet sessions or talks and meetings with foreign politicians during their visits in Algeria. Therefore, it comes as no surprise that media outlets and opposition forces are questioning Bouteflika’s ability to govern and strongly oppose another term by the FLN’s leader.

Three days after Ould Abbès’ endorsement of Bouteflika’s candidacy, the president appeared in public for the first time in more than 18 months and joined numerous state officials and ministers for the reopening ceremony of the Ketchaoua mosque and the inauguration of two new metro stations in Algiers.

Hundreds of FLN supporters were brought to the area by bus, waving pictures of Bouteflika and the Algerian flag at what the news website TSA Algérie called an informal election campaign kick-off and highlighted the absence of Prime Minister Ahmed Ouyahia, head of the FLN’s coalition partner National Democratic Rally (RND) and one of the most promising candidates for Bouteflika’s succession, during the visit.

Ouyahia has made no secret of his ambitions to run although he has been considered a close ally of Bouteflika’s clan for years. However, Ouyahia’s prospects for becoming Algeria’s next president are fading as his potential candidacy is strongly contested by the FLN, which considers itself as the leading faction of the heterogeneous Algerian regime.

In December 2017, Ouyahia announced he had reached an agreement with the state-controlled trade union federation General Union of Algerian Workers (UGTA) and the powerful Algerian Business Leaders Forum (FCE) on the partial privatization of several state-owned companies. But only two weeks later, on 3 January 2018, Ould Abbès called for a separate meeting with both the UGTA and the FCE, in which the privatization scheme was cancelled. Shortly after, Bouteflika published a statement in which he rebuked his prime minister over the privatization plan, providing further indications that the tug of war over policy decisions and governmental appointments within the regime is all but over.

These latest disputes come as little surprise at a time when Bouteflika’s succession is imminent. Riccardo Fabiani, a political analyst working on North Africa, argued that “everyone else will have to fall in line” after the FLN’s decision to endorse Bouteflika for a fifth term as the “various regime factions have opted for continuity to avoid divisions at a delicate time”.

Ouyahia only commented on the issue a week after the FLN endorsed Bouteflika’s candidacy, and voiced his own support for a fifth term. However, another confrontation between the two major regime factions ahead of the elections cannot be ruled out as the latest conflicts within the ruling class are increasingly connected to policy decisions regarding the economy and how to deal with social unrest.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.