فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الجزائر: معركة الديناصورات السياسية الشرسة من أجل التفوق

الجزائر: معركة الديناصورات السياسية الشرسة من أجل التفوق

Bouteflika and General Toufik political battle
رجال يحملون جثمان أحد البربر الإحدى عشر الذين قتلوا خلال الاضطرابات العرقية في منطقة غرداية جنوبا، وذلك خلال مراسم التشييع في القرارة جنوب الجزائر, 11 يوليو 2015. Photo AP/Mokhtar ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Mokhtar

منذ أواخر الثمانينات وحتى الربيع العربي عام 2011، قدمت الجزائر صورة سياسية مختلفة للعالم. وفي منطقة تعدّ فيها أنظمة الحزب الواحد والحكم المُطلق المعيار الأساسي، كانت الجزائر تتمتع بالتعددية الحزبية في الانتخابات وبحرية الصحافة، وإن كان ذلك بشكلٍ جزئي. في الواقع، لطالما كانت دولة الظل تُدير الأمور في البلاد، والتي تتكون بشكلٍ أساسي من الثلاثي غير الرسمي: الرئاسة، والجيش، والمخابرات. ومع استبدال الجنرال توفيق، رئيس جهاز الأمن منذ فترة طويلة في البلاد، هذا الشهر، انخفضت الركيزة الثالثة، وباتت أمور البلاد في قبضة كل من الرئاسة، والجيش، والمجهول.

أثرت حرب الاستقلال عن فرنسا (1954-1962) على سياسات الجزائر ما بعد الاستعمار، ومنذ عام 1962، حُكمت البلاد من قِبل المجاهدين (مجاهدي الاستقلال) وأنصارهم. وكان العامل الرئيسي الآخر هو الحرب الأهلية الدامية في التسعينيات، التي عارضت وصول جماعات حرب العصابات الإسلامية للدولة، وزادت من قبضة القوات الأمنية والاستخبارتية.

ومن أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة، بنى النظام الجزائري كياناً أمنياً وعسكرياً مثيراً للإعجاب، الذي بدوره سيطر على الدولة وأمنّ حدود البلاد. فقد كان جميع رؤساء الجزائر الأوائل من رجالات الجيش، وأغلقت الحياة السياسية إلى أنّ تولى الرئيس الشاذلى بن جديد مقاليد الحكم وسمح في عام 1988 بالتعددية الحزبية. أدى هذا إلى تعزيز قوة الأحزاب الإسلامية، التي فازت في الانتخابات عام 1991. ومن ثم ظهرت مجموعة من الجنرالات الذين خاضوا المنافسة لتحقيق الفوز وإقامة حكمهم الخاص. كانت تلك بداية العشرية السوداء في الجزائر، أو الحرب الأهلية الدامية في الجزائر.

أحد هؤلاء الجنرالات، الملقبون بـ”الاستئصاليون،” كان محمد مدين، المعروف باسم توفيق، رئيس دائرة المخابرات الجزائرية (دائرة الاستعلامات والأمن أي ما يعادل لجنة أمن الدولة في الاتحاد السوفياتي KGB). الجنرال توفيق الذي قاد دائرة الاستعلامات والأمن منذ عام 1990 إلى عام 2015، حوّل دائرته إلى عامود ارتكاز الدولة الجزائرية، ويعتقد أنه كان وراء العديد من الفظائع التي ارتكبت خلال الحرب الأهلية.

عُرف الجنرال توفيق، على نطاقٍ واسع، باعتباره أكثر الرجال تأثيراً في الجزائر وكان يُحسب له ألف حساب، صانع قيادات ذو نفوذ فضّل التواري عن الأنظار بينما كان يحبك الحيل والمؤامرات من الأجنحة السياسية. كما لعب دوراً في “اختيار” العزيز بوتفليقة رئيساً للبلد عام 1999، وكان له دور أساسي في تهميش الجنرال محمد العماري، رئيس الأركان العامة للجيش في عام 2004، حيث قام باستبدالة بأحد أنصار بوتفليقة، الجنرال أحمد قايد صالح. وبالتالي، بات من الواضح منذ ذلك الوقت تأييد الجيش لبوتفليقة.

ومع ذلك، وفي السنوات التالية لعام 2000، نمت العداوات بين مخيميّ بوتفليقة والجنرال توفيق. فقد بدأ بوتفليقة بتفويض السُلطة إلى أفراد مقربين منه، مثل شقيقه سعيد، والعمل بشكلٍ مستقل عن رئيس المخابرات. ومن هنا، بدأت مصالح المجموعتين تتعارض، حيث بدأ شقيق بوتفليقة ومؤيديه بحشد السلطة والمال، والتعدي على مناطق نفوذ كلٍ من الجنرال توفيق ودائرة الاستعلامات والأمن.

وفي عام 2009، فتحت دائرة الاستعلامات والأمن ملف المقربين من بوتفليقه، ومن بينهم وزير الطاقة شكيب خليل. أجبر خليل على الاستقالة كما أضطر إلى الانتقال إلى المنفى. أراد الجنرال توفيق بهذا إثبات مدى قوته أمام بوتفليقه. كما كان هناك أيضاً هجمات متكررة في وسائل الإعلام ضد الرجال والنساء على حد سواء من المقربين لكلا الجانبين، إذ تعتبرأكثر الصحف تأثيراً في الجزائر على صلة إما بالرئاسة أو بدائرة الاستعلامات والأمن.

في عام 2013، أصبح بوتفليقه عاجز جزئياً إثر إصابته بسكتة دماغية. كان الجنرال توفيق مقتنعاً أن الرئيس بات الآن خارج اللعبة، وغير قادر على القيام بمهمته كرئيس للدولة. وأوضح أمام بوتفليقه ومساعديه أنه يتوجب أن تتمخض انتخابات 2014 عن انتخاب رئيسٍ جديد. وعلاوة على ذلك، فقد عارض الجنرال توفيق ترشح بوتفليقه للانتخابات، إلا أنّ احتجاجه هذا قد ضرب عرض الحائط.

سقوط توفيق

انحازت وسائل الإعلام إلى بوتفليقه وشرعت في انتقاد دائرة الاستعلامات والأمن بشكل أكثر شراسة، وفي عام 2014، هاجم عمار سعيدان، الأمين العام لحزب جبهة التحرير الوطني بقيادة بوتفليقه، الجنرال توفيق علناً. كان هذا أول انتقاد صريح لتوفيق، كما كشف عن مدى الضعف الذي بات يتمتع به الآن الجنرال، الذي كان في فترة من الفترات يُلقب بإله الجزائر. وفي الأشهر التالية، تم إفراغ وكالاته من الأقوياء، ونُقلت صلاحياته إلى وزارات وإدارات أخرى. وأجبر العشرات من كبار المسؤولين في حاشيته إلى التقاعد.

كما تسارعت وتيرة الأحداث في عام 2015، ووصل إنتقاد دائرة الاستعلامات والأمن أوجه بعد الهجوم الغامض على قصر “زيرالدا،” مقر الإقامة الصيفية للرئيس بوتفليقه. تم اعتبار هذا الهجوم فشلاً ذريعاً لأجهزة المخابرات في البلاد، وسمح لبوتفليقه “بتنظيف محيطه” من الأعداء.

فضلاً عن ذلك، فقد طُرد الجنرال حسن واسمه الحقيقي عبد القادر آيت عراب، رئيس مكافحة الإرهاب وأحد المقربين من الجنرال توفيق، من منصبه ومن ثم اعتقل بعد هجوم قصر “زيرالدا،” بتهمة التخطيط لإنقلاب. كانت تلك الضربة القاضية للجنرال توفيق، إلا أنها أيضاً لربما عكست آخر محاولات بوتفليقه الجرئية لاختبار قوة عدوه. إنّ عدم قدرة الجنرال توفيق على إبداء أي رد فعل، شجع الرئاسة، وفي 13 سبتمبر 2015 تم استبدال الجاسوس القديم.

وبعد أسبوعين من رحيله، اختفت آثار الجنرال توفيق. وهذا ليس بالأمر المستغرب، نظراً لما عُرف عنه بتفضليه عدم الظهور العلني، إذ أن الصورة الوحيدة التي نُشرت له كانت صورة غير واضحة المعالم التقطت في التسعينيات. ومع ذلك، لا تزال وسائل الإعلام الجزائرية توجه أصابع الاتهام إلى أعداء الجزائر بسقوط الشيطان. كما يجري العمل على تفكيك الإمبراطورية التي بناها داخل جهاز الدولة أسبوعاً بعد أسبوع. هل يخطط لهجومٍ مضاد؟ أم لظهورٍ آخير؟ أم سيتم اعتقاله مثل ما حصل للجنرال حسن؟

لا تزال هذه الأسئلة بحاجة إلى الرد، ولكن، ما هو مؤكد أن بوتفليقه فاز في هذه الجولة السياسية. فقد تمكن الزعيم المعتل صحياً، والذي بالكاد يستطيع السير أو التكلم، من الإطاحة بحليفه القديم وعدوه حديث العهد عن دربه. لقد انتصر بسبب دعم الجيش، الذي يعتبر في الوقت الراهن اللاعب الأساسي الآخر إلى جانب الرئاسة. ولكن، هل انتهت مشاكل البلاد عند هذا الحدّ؟ بل على العكس، لعل هذه مجرد البداية. فقد أصبحت الجزائر تعتمد على مواردها الطبيعية لبناء دولة قوية تتمتع بالرفاهية، ولكن مع تعثر أسعار النفط، تواجه البلاد ركوداً اقتصادياً. وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، أصبح انعدام الأمن الإقليمي، وخاصة مع تصاعد الاضطرابات في مالي وليبيا المجاورتين، محسوساً عبر الحدود الجزائرية. يُفاقم هذا التهديد حالة عدم الاستقرار الداخلي الذي تشهده البلاد، مما يفتح أبواب نطاق المجهول.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Mokhtar

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Past to Present / In Algeria, Political Dinosaurs Battle for Supremacy

In Algeria, Political Dinosaurs Battle for Supremacy

Bouteflika and General Toufik political battle
Men carry the body of one of the 11 Berbers killed during ethnic unrest in the southern Ghardaia region, during a funeral ceremony in Guerrara, southern Algeria, 11 July 2015. Photo AP/Mokhtar ©Hollandse Hoogte

From the late 1980s until the Arab Spring in 2011, Algeria presented a different political picture to the world. In a region where one-party regimes and absolute rulers were the norm, Algeria had multiparty elections and a partially free press. In reality, a shadow state has long been running the show, composed of an informal triumvirate: the presidency, the army and the secret services. With the replacement this month of General Toufik, the country’s longtime security chief, the third pillar has fallen, leaving the country in the hands of the presidency, the military and the unknown.

The war of independence from France (1954-1962) affected Algeria’s postcolonial politics and, since 1962, the country has been ruled by the Mujahedeen (independence fighters) and their supporters. The other major factor was the bloody civil war in the 1990s, which opposed Islamist guerrilla groups to the state, and increased the power of the security and intelligence forces.

In order to survive, the Algerian regime built an impressive security and military structure that controlled the state and secured its borders. Algeria’s first presidents were all army men, and political life was closed down until the presidency of Chadli Bendjedid who in 1988 permitted multiparty politics. That led to the strengthening of Islamist parties, which went on to win the 1991 elections. A group of generals then stepped in to contest the win and establish their own rule. It was the beginning of the décennie noire, Algeria’s bloody civil war.

One of these generals, nicknamed the Janviéristes, was Mohamed Mediène, better known as Toufik, head of Algeria’s DRS (Département du Renseignement et de la Sécurité, equivalent to the KGB). General Toufik, who led the DRS from 1990 to 2015, transformed his department into the dorsal fin of the Algerian state, and is believed to have been behind many of the atrocities committed during the civil war.

Toufik was widely regarded as Algeria’s most influential and feared man, a kingmaker who preferred to stay out of sight, plotting tricks and conspiracies from the political wings. He played a role in Abdelaziz Bouteflika’s “selection” as president in 1999, and was instrumental in sidelining General Mohamed Lamari, the army chief of staff in 2004, replacing him with Bouteflika supporter General Ahmed Gaid Salah. The army then seemed to be on Bouteflika’s side.

In the years following 2000, however, animosities between the Bouteflika and Toufik camps grew. Bouteflika began delegating power to people around him, such as his brother Said, and acting independently from the intelligence chief. The two groups’ interests clashed, with Bouteflika’s brother – and clients – amassing power and wealth, and encroaching on Toufik and the DRS’ territory.

In 2009, the DRS opened a file on those close to Bouteflika, among them his energy minister Chakib Khelil. Khelil was obliged to resign and forced into exile. Toufik wanted to show Bouteflika how strong he was. There were also recurrent attacks in the media against men and women considered close to either side – Algeria’s most influential newspapers have links to either the presidency or the DRS.

In 2013, Bouteflika became partly incapacitated following a stroke. Toufik was convinced that the president was out of the game, and unable to fulfil his task as head of state. He made it clear to Bouteflika and his aides that a new president should emerge from the 2014 elections. Toufik was opposed to Bouteflika’s candidacy, but his protest was ignored.

The Downfall of Toufik

Media aligned with Bouteflika began to criticize the DRS more aggressively, and in 2014 Amar Saidan, secretary general of Bouteflika’s National Liberation Front party, publicly attacked Toufik. It was the first such open criticism and revealed just how weak Toufik – once nicknamed the God of Algiers – had become. In the following months, his agencies were emptied of their strongmen and his powers transferred to other departments and ministries. Dozens of high-ranking officials in his entourage were forced into retirement.

The process accelerated in 2015 and the criticism of the DRS reached its climax after the mysterious attack on Bouteflika’s summer palace in Zeralda. It was perceived as a failure by the country’s secret services, and allowed Bouteflika to “clean his garden” of his enemy’s men.

General Hassen (Abdelkader Ait-Ouarab), head of counterterrorism and one of Toufik’s closest allies, was fired last year and then arrested after the Zeralda attack on charges of plotting a coup. It was the final blow for Toufik, but perhaps also Bouteflika’s last bold attempt to test his enemy’s strength. Toufik’s inability to react emboldened the presidency and on 13 September 2015 the old spy was replaced.

Two weeks after his departure, Toufik has all but disappeared. This is hardly surprising given his famed anonymity – one of the only photographs published of him is a blurry shot taken in the 1990s. Yet the media continues to point the finger of blame for Algeria’s woes at the fallen devil. The empire he built inside the state apparatus is being dismantled week by week. Is he preparing for a counterattack? Or for a swan song? Will he be persecuted like General Hassen?

These questions are still to be answered. What is certain is that Bouteflika won this political round. The ailing leader who can barely talk and walk was able to remove his old ally and recent enemy. He won because of the support of the military, which is now the other major player alongside the presidency. Have the country’s problems ended there? On the contrary, this is perhaps only the beginning. Algeria has turned to its natural resources to build a strong welfare state, but as oil prices tumble, the country is facing a recession. Regional insecurity, especially mounting unrest in neighbouring Mali and Libya, is being felt across Algeria’s borders. This threat is exacerbating the country’s internal instability, opening the gates for more uncertainty.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.