فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الشرطة تتخذ إجراءات ضد الاحتجاجات المتواصلة في الجزائر

الشرطة تتخذ إجراءات ضد الاحتجاجات المتواصلة في الجزائر

Algeria- Algerian security forces
قوات الأمن الجزائرية تشكل حاجزاً بشرياً أمام المتظاهرين المشاركين في مظاهرة حاشدة في شوارع العاصمة الجزائر في 17 سبتمبر 2019. Photo: RYAD KRAMDI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

مع استمرار التزام الجيش الجزائري بالانتخابات الرئاسية المقرر إجراؤها في 12 ديسمبر 2019، تواجه الاحتجاجات وحركات المعارضة في جميع أنحاء العاصمة الجزائر تواجداً أمنياً متزايداً، وفي بعض الحالات، التعرض للاعتقال.

فالجزائريون الذين يعتريهم الغضب بسبب سنواتٍ من الفساد السياسي وسوء الإدارة التي تسببت في عجز كبيرٍ في الميزانية وارتفاع نسب البطالة، يواصلون الاحتجاجات منذ فبراير 2019، إذ طالبوا في البداية باستقالة الرئيس عبد العزيز بوتفليقة بعد 20 عاماً في السلطة، وهو ما حصل بالفعل في 2 أبريل.

تولى عبد القادر بن صالح، رئيس الغرفة العليا في مجلس الأمة، مهام رئاسة الجمهورية مؤقتاً، بيد أنه تم تأجيل الانتخابات المقرر إجراؤها في يوليو من قبل المجلس الدستوري بسبب عدم وجود مرشحين صالحين.

وبالرغم من شنّ حملةٍ لمكافحة الفساد بعد ذلك، إلا أن الجيش، الذي كان على مدى سنواتٍ أقوى لاعبٍ سياسي، دعم إجراء إنتخاباتٍ في سبتمبر.

يُعارض المتظاهرون الإنتخابات، إذ يقولون أنها بعيدة كل البعد عن الإنتخابات الحرة والنزيهة طالما أن هناك العديد من مؤسسات بوتفليقة في السلطة.

ومع ذلك، تشير بعض التقارير إلى انخفاض أعداد المشاركين في التجمعات، من مئات الآلاف في الربيع إلى عشرات الآلاف الآن. كما يلاحظ المحللون أن الضغوط لا تزال قائمة، حيث تجري العديد من الاحتجاجات في أيام مختلفة، وليس في أيام الجمع كالمعتاد.

وفي السابق كان يتم مراقبة الاحتجاجات عن كثب بشكل متواصل، حيث تنشر السلطات تواجداً أكبر للشرطة في الشوارع وتكون متيقظة بشكلٍ خاص حول التجمعات التي تعقد في الأيام الأخرى غير الجمعة.

رافق استراتيجية الاحتواء هذه احتجاز كبار المسؤولين وشخصيات معارضة بارزة مثل كريم طابو. فقد ألقي القبض على مؤسس حزب الاتحاد الاجتماعي الديمقراطي للمرة الثانية بعد أقل من 24 ساعة من توجيه الاتهام له بـ”إضعاف معنويات الجيش” في 12 سبتمبر.

وقعت اعتقالات أخرى لشخصيات رفيعة المستوى في يونيو عندما قُبض على لخضر بورقعة، المحارب المخضرم في حرب الاستقلال ضد فرنسا الذي يبلغ من العمر 90 عاماً، في منزله بعد أن قال في اجتماع عام إن الجيش عبارة عن مجموعة من “الميليشيات.” وقد يُحكم عليه بالسجن لمدة عشر سنوات بتهمة “إضعاف معنويات الجيش”.

في 19 أغسطس، قُبض على أحمد بن شمسي من منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش، الذي كان يراقب المظاهرات، وتم ترحيله في نهاية المطاف، بينما في 27 أغسطس، حظرت السلطات المحلية حول مدينة بجاية الساحلية اجتماعاتٍ للجمعية الوطنية للشباب (راج)، وهي مجموعة ديمقراطية تنظم الاحتجاجات، دون تفسير. تم اعتقال 20 ناشطاً كانوا يخططون لحضور اجتماع راج في 5 سبتمبر وتم إطلاق سراحهم بعد ثلاث ساعات، مما حال دون عقد الاجتماع.

كما وصلت اليد العليا للمراقبة الأمنية الجزائرية إلى مصر أيضاً، حيث اعتقلت الشرطة المصرية موفق سردوك البالغ من العمر 40 عاماً خارج ملعب في القاهرة حيث كان الفريق الجزائري لكرة القدم يلعب في كأس الأمم الأفريقية. كان سيردوك يحمل لافتة تعرض عبارة “ليرحلوا جميعاً،” وهو شعار شعبي للحركة الجزائرية الحالية المناهضة للحكومة.

وبحسب ما ورد، فقد ألقي القبض على سردوك، الذي احتُجز لمدة يومين ثم طُرد من مصر، من قبل الشرطة الجزائرية لدى وصوله إلى الجزائر. حُكم عليه بالسجن لمدة عام بسبب “عرضه علانية ورقة يمكن أن تضر بالمصلحة الوطنية،” بموجب المادة 96 من قانون العقوبات، العقوبة التي يقوم على استئنافها.

كما تعرض السكان الأمازيغ الجزائريون، الذين لعبوا دوراً رئيسياً في الاحتجاجات، لاعتقالاتٍ جماعية، عادةً بسبب التلويح بعلم البربر. فقد وثقت هيومن رايتس ووتش اعتقال 40 محتجاً بتهمة “الإضرار بسلامة الأراضي الوطنية،” وهي تهمة تنطوي على عقوبة تصل إلى عشر سنوات.

لطالما كان المشهد الإعلامي للبلاد يذخر بالتحديات، فقد شهدت الاحتجاجات الحالية قيوداً مماثلة لتلك القيود المفروضة أثناء حكم بوتفليقة. فقد قالت لجنة حماية الصحفيين إن الرقابة على المراسلات قد بدأت منذ أن بدأت الاحتجاجات في تسليط الضوء على حالة المراسل المستقل سفيان مراكشي، الذي كان يغطي الاحتجاجات واعتُقل في 22 سبتمبر بسبب عمله دون ترخيص وتهربه من السلطات الجمركية أثناء استيراد معدات البث. في حال أدين، قد يواجه عقوبة السجن لمدة تتراوح بين سنتين وسبع سنوات.

وقال منسق برنامج لجنة حماية الصحفيين في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، شريف منصور، “حبس سفيان مراكشي وتوجيه تهمٍ إليه يؤكد أن السلطات الجزائرية ماضية في مواصلة عرقلة التغطيات الإعلامية للأحداث الجارية بالجزائر.”

كما تم إيقاف صحفيين آخرين عن العمل بسبب تغطيتهم للاحتجاجات بينما تم طرد المراسلين الأجانب. أصبح موقع “كل شيء عن الجزائر” (TSA)، وهو موقع إخباري مستقل غطى الاحتجاجات على نطاق واسع، غير متاحٍ منذ شهر يونيو ما لم يتم الدخول إليه من خلال الاتصال بشبكة خاصة افتراضية.

ووصف مدير موقع كل شيء عن الجزائر، حامد غماشي، ذلك بأنه “حجب تعسفي أمرت به السلطات،” وقال: “حاولنا الاتصال بالحكومة للحصول على توضيحات، لكنهم رفضوا الإجابة على أسئلتنا. هذا الحظر يشكل تهديداً خطيراً لبقائنا كموقع مستقل على الإنترنت.”

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أظهرت بيانات الشبكة من مرصد الإنترنت NetBlocks أن الوصول إلى الإنترنت قد تم تقييده في مناطق الجزائر اعتباراً من 14 سبتمبر، مما أثر على المظاهرات. كما تم حظر موقع يوتيوب في أغسطس من قبل شركة اتصالات الجزائر الحكومية وغيرها من مزودي خدمة الإنترنت، وفقاً للمنظمة.

وفي أواخر سبتمبر، أجرى مارك أوين جونز، الأستاذ المساعد في جامعة حمد بن خليفة في قطر، تدريباً قصيراً غير رسمي على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، حيث حلل حوالي 20 ألف تغريدة من 5,769 حساباً، ويبدو أنه وجد دليلاً واضحاً على “حملة التضليل.”

فقد أشار إلى أن التأييد لوسمين(هاشتاغ) # ماتهدرش_باسمي (ليس باسمي) – ينتقد أولئك الذين يقاطعون الانتخابات – و# الجزائر_تنتخب، تم تضخيمه بحسابات مشبوهة، ويقدر إن “8% من تلك التغريدات لتشجيع الجزائريين على المشاركة في الانتخابات ربما يكونون من الذباب الإلكتروني و/أو المتصيدين على الإنترنت.”

من جهتها، قالت إميلي هوثورن، محللة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في مركز ستراتفور الأميركي للأبحاث الأمنية والإستراتيجية، “المعركة الآن هي معرفة ما إذا كان بإمكان الحكومة إقناع الناس بالمشاركة في تلك الانتخابات.” وأضافت “إذا لم يكن لديك عدد كاف من الأشخاص الذين يظهرون عند صناديق الاقتراع، وإذا كان لديك رؤساء بلديات ومحافظون، وإذا كان لديك قادة محليون لا يشاركون في لوجستيات الانتخابات، فسيكون ذلك ضار فعلياً بجهود الحكومة الإنتقالية لعقد هذه الانتخابات في الوقت المحدد.”

وأضافت أن التكتيكات من المحتمل أن تتحول من المعارضة إلى مقاطعة الانتخابات.

ومن بين المرشحين المحتملين في تصويت ديسمبر، علي بن فليس وعبد المجيد طبون، رئيس الوزراء السابق في عهد بوتفليقة.

وقالت هوثورن إنه أصبح من الواضح أن الجيش يرغب في تسريع العملية الانتخابية من أجل استقرار البلاد. ومع ذلك، هناك إجماعٌ ضئيل بين أصحاب المصلحة حول قائمة المرشحين للرئاسة، ويمكن أن تتقاطع نسبة المشاركة التقليدية المنخفضة للناخبين مع مقاطعة الإنتخابات لتقويض النتائج. ومع ذلك، فإن التصويت سيكون المؤشر النهائي للرأي العام.

ربما أخفقت الإطاحة ببوتفليقة في إيجاد حلٍ سحري للديمقراطية الجزائرية، لكن الرد القوي من جانب السلطات يعني أن حركات الاحتجاج قد لا تنجح في فرض فترة راحة كاملة من الحرس القديم.

وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن عدم وجود مرشحين للرئاسة أو بدائل قابلة للتطبيق للوضع الراهن يخلق الظروف نفسها التي كادت أن تشهد ترشح بوتفليقة لولاية خامسة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Past to Present / Police Take Action Against Algeria’s Continuing Protests

Police Take Action Against Algeria’s Continuing Protests

Algeria- Algerian security forces
Algerian security forces form a human barrier in front of demonstrators taking part in a rally in the streets of the capital Algiers on September 17, 2019. Photo: RYAD KRAMDI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

As the Algerian military remains committed to presidential elections scheduled for 12 December 2019, protests and opposition movements throughout the capital Algiers are facing an increased security presence and, in some cases, the heavy hand of the law.

Angered by years of political corruption and mismanagement that created a large budget deficit and high unemployment, Algerians have been protesting since February 2019, initially demanding the resignation of President Abdelaziz Bouteflika after 20 years in power, which he conceded on 2 April.

Former upper house speaker Abdelkader Bensalah stepped in as interim president, but elections scheduled for July were postponed by the constitutional council due to a lack of viable candidates.

While an anti-corruption drive has ensued, the army, which for many years has been the most powerful political player, has backed election plans for December.

Protestors oppose the elections, saying they cannot be free or fair as long as so many of Bouteflika’s establishment remain in power.

Some reports suggest the numbers attending the rallies have declined, from hundreds of thousands in the spring to tens of thousands now. However, analysts note that the pressure is still there, with many protests taking place outside what used to be a weekly Friday event.

Previously tolerated, the protests are increasingly closely monitored, with authorities deploying a bigger police presence in the streets and being particularly vigilant around assemblies held outside of Friday.

This containment strategy has been accompanied by the detention of senior officials and prominent opposition figures such as Karim Tabbou. The founder of the Democratic and Social Union party was arrested for a second time less that 24 hours after he was indicted for ‘undermining the morale of the army’ on 12 September.

Other high-profile arrests took place in June when Lakhdar Bouregaa, a 90-year-old veteran of the war of independence against France was arrested at his home after he said at a public meeting that the army is a collection of “militias”. He may also be sentenced to ten years in prison for ‘weakening the morale of the army’.

On 19 August, Human Rights Watch’s (HRW) Ahmed Benchemsi, who was observing demonstrations, was detained and eventually deported, while on 27 August the local authorities around the port city of Bejaia banned meetings by the Rassemblement Action Jeunesse (RAJ), a pro-democracy group that organizes protests, without explanation. Twenty activists planning to attend an RAJ meeting were arrested on 5 September and released three hours later, preventing the meeting from taking place.

The long arm of Algeria’s security surveillance has reached as far as Egypt, where on 23 June Egyptian police arrested 40-year-old Mouaffak Serdouk outside a stadium in Cairo where Algeria’s football team was playing in the African Cup of Nations. Serdouk was carrying a sign displaying the phrase ‘They must all leave’, a popular slogan of Algeria’s current anti-government movement.

Detained for two days and then expelled from Egypt, Serdouk was reportedly arrested by Algerian police on arrival in Algiers. He was sentenced to one year in prison for ‘publicly displaying a paper that can harm the national interest’, under article 96 of the penal code, a sentence he is appealing.

Algeria’s Amazigh population, which has played a central role in the protests, have also been subject to mass arrests, usually for waving the Berber flag. HRW has documented 40 protesters being taken into custody for ‘harming the integrity of the national territory’, a charge that carries a sentence of up to ten years.

The country’s media landscape has always been challenging, and the current protests have seen restrictions similar to those imposed under Bouteflika. The Committee to Protect Journalists (CJP) said reporting has been censored since protests began highlighting the case of freelance correspondent Sofiane Merakchi, who was covering the protests and was arrested on 22 September for working without a licence and evading customs authorities while importing broadcasting equipment. If found guilty, he could face two to seven years in prison.

“Sofiane Merakchi’s arrest and the charges against him show that Algerian authorities will stop at nothing to keep a lid on coverage of events taking place in the country,” said CPJ Middle East and North Africa Program Coordinator Sherif Mansour.

Other journalists have been suspended for their coverage of the protests while foreign correspondents have been expelled. Tout Sur l’Algérie (TSA), an independent news site that has extensively covered the protests, has been more or less inaccessible since June unless viewed with a virtual private network connection.

TSA Director Hamid Guemache called it “an arbitrary block ordered by the authorities”, saying, “We tried to contact the government to get explanations, but they refused to answer our questions. This blockage is a serious threat to our survival as an independent website.”

In addition, network data from the NetBlocks internet observatory showed that internet access had been restricted in regions of Algeria as of 14 September, impacting the demonstrations. YouTube was also blocked in August by state-run Algeria Telecom and other internet providers, according to the organization.

In late September, Marc Owen Jones, an assistant professor at Hamad bin Khalifa University in Qatar, performed a short informal social media exercise analysing around 20,000 tweets from 5,769 accounts, apparently finding clear evidence of a ‘disinformation campaign’.

He noted that support for two hashtags #ماتهدرش_باسمي (‘not in my name’) – criticizing those boycotting elections – and #الجزائر_تنتخب (‘Algeria votes/is voting’), were inflated by suspicious accounts, estimating ‘8% of those tweeting for Algerians to go to the elections are probably bots and/or trolls’.

“The battle now is to see whether the government can convince people to participate in those elections,” said Emily Hawthorne, a Middle East and North Africa analyst at Stratfor, an American-based geopolitical intelligence platform. “If you don’t have enough people show up at the polls, if you have municipal mayors and governors, and if you have local leaders that are not participating in the logistics of the elections, then that’s going to be really detrimental to the interim government’s efforts to hold these elections on time.”

She added that tactics are likely shifting from opposition to a boycott of the elections.

Potential candidates in December’s vote include Ali Benflis and Abdelmadjid Tebboune, former prime ministers under Bouteflika.

Hawthorne said it is becoming clearer the military want to expedite the electoral process for the country’s stability. However, there is little consensus among stakeholders on who the presidential candidates should be, and traditional low voter turnout could converge with a boycott to undermine the results. Even so, a vote would be the ultimate indicator of public sentiment.

Bouteflika’s ouster may have failed to produce a silver bullet for Algerian democracy, but a forceful response from the authorities means protest movements may not succeed in compelling a complete break from the old guard.

Meanwhile, the lack of presidential candidates or viable alternatives to the status quo is creating the same conditions that almost saw Bouteflika run for a fifth term.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI | ©AFP ⁃ RYAD KRAMDI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.