فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / حرب استقلال الجزائر(1954-1962)

حرب استقلال الجزائر(1954-1962)

الرئيس الفرنسي شارل ديغول في الجزائر في 4 يونيو 1958 / Photo HH
الرئيس الفرنسي شارل ديغول في الجزائر في 4 يونيو 1958 / Photo HH

عام 1954، أطلق حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني حملة مسلحة ضد السلطات الفرنسية. وفي ذلك الوقت، كان من الصعب رؤية كيف يمكن لسلسلة الهجمات ضيقة النطاق ضد الجيش الفرنسي القوي والبنى التحتية الاستعمارية أن تؤدي إلى حرب شاملة دامت ثماني سنوات وانتهت برحيل المستعمرين. في السنوات الأولى، اندلعت معارك أيضاً بين جبهة التحرير الوطني وأنصار مصالي الحاج، والتي تمثلت بمقتل أكثر من ثلاث مئة شخص في بلدة ملوزة عام 1957 باعتبارهم مناصرين لمصالي. وعلى الصعيد العسكري، لم يكن الثوار صنواً للجيش الفرنسي. وبفضل الانتشار الكبير للقوات الفرنسية واستخدام التعذيب على نطاق واسع، تمكنوا من القضاء على ثوار المدن في معركة الجزائر عام 1957. وقصفوا المناطق الريفية في الداخل بقنابل النابالم، وكانت الحدود مع تونس والمغرب خاضعة لحراسة مشددة لصد غارات جبهة التحرير الوطني. لكن الوقت كان قد تأخر للعودة إلى الوضع الاستعماري الراهن. فقد دفعت القومية الجزائرية الشعب إلى التكتل، بينما دب الذعر في قلوب المستعمرين نتيجة التفجيرات وغيرها من الأعمال القتالية التي أخلت بنمط حياتهم وخلقت جواً من الخوف من المستقبل. كما عملت الانقسامات الداخلية والضغوطات الدولية ضد باريس في وقت كان العالم فيه يخلع ثوب الاستعمار.

في عهد الرئيس الجنرال شارل ديغول، واعتباراً من عام 1958، بدأت فرنسا بتحويل مسارها ببطء. واعتبر الرئيس الجديد الحرب خاسرة، كما اتضح لفرنسا أنها لن تربح إذا تمسكت بممتلكاتها الزراعية ما وراء البحار أكثر من تحويل نفسها إلى دولة صناعية. فاختار ديغول حلاً من شأنه أن يترك لفرنسا بعض النفوذ على الجزائر، غير أنه كان يعني في الواقع إنهاء الاستعمار. خلال اتصالاته الأولى، حاول الرئيس أن يبقي الصحراء الكبرى تحت سيطرة فرنسا بسبب اكتشاف النفط فيها والحاجة إلى اختبار الأسلحة النووية في رقان. وكان هذا الأمر غير مقبول بالنسبة إلى معظم المستعمرين وأطراف عديدة أخرى في المجتمع الفرنسي، حيث أن “فقدان” الجزائر يعني في الواقع نهاية الإمبراطورية الفرنسية. ورداً على ذلك، شكلت عناصر متطرفة في الجيش الفرنسي “منظمة الجيش السري” وأطلقت حملةً إرهابية، حتى أنها استهدفت ديغول نفسه. أدى ذلك إلى إراقة دماء كثيرة، غير أنه لم يغير مسار التاريخ. قُتل ما بين 400,000 و 1,500,000 جزائري خلال حرب التحرير (1954-1962)، عادةً ما تسمى بحرب استقلال الجزائر أو الثورة الجزائرية. لطالما كان عدد القتلى مختلف عليه: حدد المؤرخون الفرنسيون عدد القتلى بحوالي 300,000، وليس من الواضح إذا كان هذا العدد يشمل الجرحى الذين فارقوا الحياة بعد عام 1962 أو “المفقودين”. أما التصريحات الجزائرية الرسمية عن الحرب فقد ذكرت أرقاماً عالية تتخطى المليون.

الجزائر عام 1962 / Photo HH
الجزائر عام 1962 / Photo HH
أعمال شغب في الجزائر / Photo HH
أعمال شغب في الجزائر / Photo HH
مجموعة من الحركيين، مقاتلون جزائريون يدعمون المستعمرين الفرنسيين / Photo HH
مجموعة من الحركيين، مقاتلون جزائريون يدعمون المستعمرين الفرنسيين / Photo HH
عملية بيجار عام 1956 / Photo HH
عملية بيجار عام 1956 / Photo HH
دورية للجيش الفرنسي في قصبة الجزائر / Photo HH
دورية للجيش الفرنسي في قصبة الجزائر / Photo HH

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Past to Present / Algeria’s War of independence (1954-1962)

Algeria’s War of independence (1954-1962)

French President Charles de Gaulle in Algiers on 4 June 1958 / Photo HH
French President Charles de Gaulle in Algiers on 4 June 1958 / Photo HH

In 1954 the National Liberation Front (Front de Libération Nationale, FLN) began an armed campaign against the French authorities. At the time, it was hard to see how the series of small-scale attacks on the powerful French army and the colonial infrastructure could lead to an all-out war that lasted for eight years and ended with the departure of the colons. In the first years there were also battles between the FLN and the partisans of Messali Hadj. This was exemplified by the killing, in 1957, of more than three hundred inhabitants of the village of Melouza, deemed supporters of Messali, by the FLN. Militarily, the guerrilla fighters were no match for the French army. Through the massive deployment of force and the widespread use of torture, the French largely put down the urban guerrillas in the 1957 Battle of Algiers. The rural areas in the interior were subjected to napalm bombings, while the borders with Tunisia and Morocco were heavily guarded to prevent FLN incursions. But it was too late for a return to the colonial status quo. Algerian nationalism had become a cause for the masses to rally behind, while the colonists were terrified by bomb attacks and other elements of war that disrupted their way of life and produced a continuous fear for the future. Internal divisions and international pressure worked against Paris during a time of worldwide decolonization.

Under the presidency of General Charles De Gaulle, from 1958 onwards, France slowly began changing course. The new President regarded the war as unwinnable, while it became clear that France had less to gain from holding on to its overseas agricultural possessions than from transforming itself into an industrial nation. De Gaulle opted for a solution that would leave France with some influence in Algeria but in fact meant the end of the colonial status quo. During the first contacts, he tried to keep the Sahara for France, because of the discovery of oil and the perceived need to test nuclear weapons at Reggane. For most colons and many other segments of French society, this was not acceptable, as the ‘loss’ of Algeria would, in fact, mean the end of the French empire. In response, extremist elements in the French army, forming the Organization of the Secret Army (Organisation de l’Armée Secrète, OAS), began a terrorist campaign and even targeted De Gaulle. This led to further bloodshed but did not change the course of history. It is estimated that between 400,000 and 1,500,000 Algerians were killed during the war of liberation (1954-1962), usually called the Algerian War of Independence or the Algerian Revolution. The numbers of dead have always been a source of contention: French historians put the number at around 300,000, but it is not always clear whether this includes the many wounded who, after 1962, succumbed to their injuries or those who were made to ‘disappear’. The higher figures of more than one million are part of the official Algerian discourse on the war.

Algiers, 1962 / Photo HH
Algiers, 1962 / Photo HH

Riots in Algiers / Photo HH
Riots in Algiers / Photo HH

A group of Harkis, Algerian fighters supporting the French colonizer / Photo HH
A group of Harkis, Algerian fighters supporting the French colonizer / Photo HH

Operation Bigeard in 1956 / Photo HH
Operation Bigeard in 1956 / Photo HH

French army patrouille in the Algiers kasbah / Photo HH
French army patrouille in the Algiers kasbah / Photo HH

Further Reading

Fanack’s Algeria country file provides a comprehensive overview about Algeria, its history, politics, culture, economy...
Algeria is considered one of the cradles of the first human ancestors, according to the results of a research conducted ...
Bouteflika’s policy of ‘peace and reconciliation’ has led to a stable society, which seems to persist in spite of ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!