فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع الجزائري

المجتمع الجزائري

نساء من منطقة القبائل
نساء من منطقة القبائل

يتألف المجتمع الجزائري من البربر والعرب مع تأثيرات فرنسية ورثة أكثر من 130 سنة من الاستعمار الفرنسي. وتزخر المنطقة بتراث ثقافي غني. وتشهد على ذلك الرسومات الصخرية الرائعة في جنوب البلاد، والتي تعود إلى العصور القديمة. ومن هذه المنطقة انتشرت تأثيرات هامة شملت الموسيقى والأدب. واليوم، أصبح الفكر العلماني المهيمن منذ العقود الأولى للجمهورية عرضة للخطر من الإسلاميين الذين تمكنوا من اكتساب دعم كبير في المجتمع. وكما في أماكن أخرى في المنطقة، يواجه الحكام مشاكل ناشئة عن واقع أن النمو السكاني لا يتماشى مع التنمية الاقتصادية – والذي يتسبب بقلق اجتماعي.

العشائر والمجتمعات

تعزز حس الانتماء الوطني لدى السكان الجزائريين منذ حرب الاستقلال. عزز اختبار تلك الحرب، التي تم نقلها عبر نظام التعليم وبطريقة غير رسمية، بترسيخ مفهوم السيادة الوطنية. وساهم التكامل الاقتصادي في الجزائر، رغم عيوبه، في تعزيز العلاقات بين سكان مختلف المناطق في البلاد. لكن النزعة الإقليمية لا تزال عاملاً هاماً في الحياة الاجتماعية والسياسية في الجزائر. فعلى سبيل المثال، تولى أهمية كبيرة على الأصول المناطقية للرئيس وغيره من قادة الدولة. ولطالما كان هناك تنافس بين النخب من شرق الجزائر وغربها، باستثناء مجموعات أصغر مثل الطوارق أو الإباضيين من الصحراء الكبرى. كما هناك تنافس بين المناطق الناطقة باللغة العربية وتلك الناطقة باللغة البربرية، مع أن ذلك يشمل بشكل خاص منطقة القبائل وعلاقتها مع مركز السلطة في مدينة الجزائر المجاورة. في كلا الحالتين، تتشابك هذه التوترات مع عوامل أخرى، وغالباً ما برزت اختلافات كبيرة بين القادة السياسيين والاجتماعيين في المنطقة نفسها – على سبيل المثال نذكر التوجهات المتعارضة لما يعرف بالأحزاب البربرية (جبهة القوى الاشتراكية وحزب التجمع من أجل الثقافة والديمقراطية) والاختلافات بين الحزبين والحركات الاجتماعية المحلية التي ظهرت في منطقة القبائل في أوائل التسعينيات. للعديد كير من رجال السياسة شبكات عملاء.

الأسرة

مدينة الجزائر
مدينة الجزائر / Photo HH

خضع حجم الأسرة الجزائرية وتركيبتها إلى العديد من التغييرات خلال العقود الماضية. فمع انخفاض معدل الخصوبة من 3% في السبعينيات إلى حوالي 1,7%. وبعد مرور ثلاثة عقود، انخفض متوسط حجم الأسرة أيضاً. ساهم التحضر في تعزيز دور الأسرة النووية مقارنة بالأسر الممتدة التي كانت مهيمنة في العقود السابقة، لكن هناك فروقات هامة على صعيد الطبقة الاجتماعية بين الأسر الريفية والأسر الحضرية. ومع ارتفاع نسبة التعليم للإناث وتعزيز دور المرأة في سوق العمل، انخفض متوسط عدد الأطفال لكل أسرة خلال السنوات العشرين الماضية.

الحماية الاجتماعية

توفر الدولة نظام ضمان اجتماعي أساسي للعاطلين عن العمل وتضمن الحد الأدنى للأجور. ويتم تخصيص 7% تقريباً من موازنة الدولة للخدمات الاجتماعية، بما في ذلك إعانات البطالة ومنح تعليم الشباب العاطلين عن العمل. وتشمل رواتب التقاعد لكبار السن مساعدات المحاربين (المجاهدين) القدامى في حرب الاستقلال، تتم إدارة هذه الإعانات من قبل وزارة المجاهدين السابقين المستقلة. والمشكلة هي أن قيمة هذه المساعدات لا ترتفع بالسرعة نفسها التي ترتفع فيها تكلفة المعيشة. وهذا ينطبق بشكل خاص على السلع التي لا تتوفر إلا عن طريق الاستيراد. وخمس السكان تقريباً ليس لديهم تأمين ضد الأمراض وغيرها من المخاطر الصحية أو إصابات العمل. نتيجة لذلك، تعتبر الشبكات غير الرسمية، خاصة الأهل، ضرورية لأفراد الطبقات الدنيا.

المرأة

لطالما كان وضع المرأة مسألة اجتماعية وسياسية رئيسية في المجتمع الجزائري. وعلى الرغم من دور المرأة في حرب الاستقلال والتوجه الاشتراكي اللاحق للحكومة، لا تزال هناك تفاوتات في مجالات كثيرة، كما فروقات كبيرة في نمط حياة المرأة باختلاف المناطق والطبقات الاجتماعية. ولناشطي حقوق المرأة كلمتهم في السياسة الجزائرية وحشدوا حركات جماهيرية للدفاع عن قضيتهم، إلا أن مبادراتهم محدودة.

لكن شهد وضع المرأة تغيراً كبيراً على مر السنين، ويعود ذلك بشكل رئيسي إلى التطورات في المجتمع، خاصة التعليم الإلزامي للإناث ونجاح المرأة في التعليم العالي والتحسينات على صعيد الصحة الإنجابية. وأدى تحسين التعليم وتوفير فرص التوظيف للنساء إلى تقليص حجم الأسرة. واليوم، للأبناء والبنات دور يختلف عن الأجيال السابقة التي عاشت في بيئة ذكورية.

على الصعيد السياسي، تنقسم الحركة النسائية حول مسائل هامة. في الثمانينيات، وجدت نساء من اتجاهات مختلفة أنفسهن في تضاد مع ما يعرف بقانون الأسرة، الذي كان يهدد وضع المرأة في مسائل مثل الزواج والطلاق والميراث. ففي الزواج، كان على المرأة أن تكون برفقة “مُحرم”، كما كانت حقوق المرأة المتعلقة بالميراث أقل من تلك الممنوحة للرجل. وبعد مرور عشر سنوات، تسبب الاستقطاب حول الانتخابات ودور الإسلام بانقسام ناشطات حقوق المرأة العلمانيات بشكل رئيسي. ولم يكن ذلك مفاجئاً، نظراً للانقسام حول مسألة المواقف التي أصبحت واضحة تجاه التدخل العسكري في السياسة والمجتمع المدني عام 1992. فأصبحت بعض الناشطات السابقات، مثل خليدة تومي، موالية للحكومة؛ وأصبحت في النهاية وزيرة الاتصال والثقافة، الخطوة التي لاقت معارضة شديدة من سائر النساء.

الشباب

نظراً إلى ارتفاع عدد السكان الكبير في العقدين الماضيين، أصبح الشباب يشكلون الأغلبية في المجتمع الجزائري في الثمانينات. وفي الوقت ذاته، أدت الأزمة الاقتصادية والتطورات الهيكلية المتنوعة إلى نقص في فرص العمل والسكن ووسائل الترفيه. وبالتالي، لم يكن من المفاجئ أن يكون قادة انتفاضة تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 1988 من الشباب. لاحقاً، التحق عدد صغير ولكن ملحوظ منهم بمجموعات إسلامية مسلحة. لكن بدا أن مصير غالبية هؤلاء الشباب كان إما البقاء والانتظار أو المخاطرة والهجرة بطريقة غير شرعية إلى أوروبا. تُظهر دراسات الشباب بانتظام أن عدداً كبيراً منهم يتوقون إلى السفر إلى الخارج بحثاً عن حياة أفضل وباقي الأمور غير المتوفرة في بلادهم، غير أن القليل منهم ينجحون بذلك. على عكس صورة “الحراقة” (الذين حرقوا كل شيء وراءهم، مجازاً) و “الحيطيست” (الذين يسندون الحائط في المدن الكبيرة)

التعداد السكاني حسب الفئة العكرية
التعداد السكاني حسب الفئة العكرية

التعليم

بعد فرض التعليم الإلزامي في السبعينيات، التحق 90% من الجزائريين بالمدارس. أدى ذلك إلى زيادة كبيرة في معدل المتعلمين: من 21% في السبعينيات إلى 75% في الوقت الحالي. ومع ذلك، لا تزال المرأة متأخرة، لأن الكثير منهن لم يحصلن على فرصة الالتحاق بالمدرسة في الماضي. واليوم، تحرز الإناث نتائج أفضل من الذكور، لأنهن يشكّلن غالبية الطلاب في مرحلة التعليم العالي. عام 2008، كان عدد النساء في مؤسسات التعليم العالي حوالي 1,5 مقارنة بالرجال، بعد أن كان الربع تقريباً عام 1970.

لا يزال نظام التعليم يحمل آثار النظام الاستعماري السابق. فهو يشبه كثيراً نظام التعليم الفرنسي – 9 سنوات في التعليم الأساسي، يليها التعليم الثانوي العام أو التقني قبل التعليم الجامعي. والتعليم الأكاديمي مدعوم بالكامل، وتقوم الحكومة باستثمارات هائلة لإنشاء 25 جامعة في البلاد. تستقطب الجامعات والعشرات من مؤسسات التعليم العالي الأخرى أكثر من مليون طالب. العلوم الاجتماعية هي الأكثر شعبية (40% من الطلاب) تقريباً ضعف نسبة العلوم الطبيعية والهندسة. ويأتي التعليم والإنسانيات في المرتبة الثالثة (16%) ويتبعهما الطب (7%).

بقيت اللغة الفرنسية لغة هامة في نظام التعليم، على الرغم من محاولة الدولة سابقاً إلى تعريب النظام الدراسي. وبعد إدخالها بشكل رسمي، تبين سريعاً عدم واقعية هذا التغيير المخطط له للمنهج الدراسي بأكمله. ومن بين المشاكل المطروحة أيضاً الصعوبة التي يواجهها عدد كبير من المتخرجين الذين تلقوا تعليماً عربياً صرفاً في الحصول على عمل في الحكومة أو الصناعات التي تديرها الدولة، حيث الأفضلية لمن يتقن اللغة الفرنسية ولغات أجنبية أخرى.

مؤشر التعليم في الجزائر
مؤشر التعليم في الجزائر (الأمم المتحدة)

وأصبحت لاحقاً خيبة أمل هؤلاء المستعربين عاملاً ساهم في نهوض الحركة الإسلامية. وفي الدول المجاورة التي شهدت مؤخراً اندلاع ثورات سياسية، خاصة تونس، أصبحت العلاقة بين ارتفاع مستويات التعليم ونسبة البطالة عاملاً هاماً في ظهور “الإسلام السياسي”. وفي الجزائر، يبلغ معدل بطالة الشباب ضعف الرقم الإجمالي، بل حتى أعلى بين الخرّيجين الجامعيين.

دفعت المعاني الإيديولوجية لمسألة اللغة بالدولة إلى اتباع مسار حذر. وكحل وسط، يتم تعليم اللغة العربية حصرياً حتى السنة الثالثة، عندما يبدأ الأولاد بتعلم اللغة الفرنسية أيضاً. ويتم التشجيع على تدريس اللغات الأوروبية الأخرى (الإنكليزية والإسبانية والإيطالية) للتقليل من أهمية “الحرب الثقافية”. وفي الجامعات، اللغة الفرنسية هي المهيمنة، خاصة في العلوم الطبيعية. ومنذ الاعتراف بلغة البربر، ظهرت فرص أكبر لتعليم اللغة الأمازيغية.

على الرغم من سعي الدولة إلى توفير التعليم للجميع، إلا أن عدداً كبيراً من أهالي الطلاب يلجؤون إلى المدارس الخاصة. وهذه الأخيرة غير مسموح بها رسمياً، ولكنها في الواقع تضم عدداً كبيراً جداُ من أولاد الأسر الثرية التي تتمتع بنفوذ .وعلاقات جيدة مع أصحاب السلطة

النظام الصحي

 احصائيات الصحة في الجزائر
احصائيات الصحة في الجزائر

من أولويات الدولة في مرحلة ما بعد الاستعمار، حصول جميع الجزائريين على الرعاية الصحية. وهذا النظام، الذي كان مجانياً منذ عام 1975، متقدم نسبياً. فهو يشمل كليات الطب في الجامعات، بالإضافة إلى معاهد التمريض وغيرها من المساعدة الطبية. كما تضمن الدولة توفير العلاج الوقائي والعلاج في المناطق النائية. ويتعيّن على الأطباء وأطباء الأسنان الخدمة في مدن الواحات أو قرى الهضاب العليا في السنوات الخمس الأولى بعد تخرجهم، وذلك قبل السماح لهم بالعودة إلى المدن الكبرى التي يفضلونها في غالبية الأحيان.

أدى النمو السريع للسكان بعد عام 1962 إلى تأسيس المزيد من مراكز الرعاية الوقائية، بدلاً من المستشفيات الجديدة فقط. وعلى مر السنين، ساهمت هذه الرعاية الوقائية في تراجع كبير في معدل وفيات الرضع والأطفال.

خلال العقد الأخير، شمل الطب الوقائي أيضاً تدابير ضد انتشار مرض الإيدز. ومع أن الجزائر ومنطقة شمال إفريقيا لا تشكلان خطراً على انتشار المرض، إلا أنه يبدو أنه في ارتفاع. ومن بين العوامل المسببة لهذه الأمراض الدعارة في مدن الترانزيت الرئيسية على طول طرق الصحراء الكبرى. والأكثر خطورة هي المواضيع المحرمة المتعلقة بالجنس المنتشرة في أجزاء كبيرة من المجتمع، خاصة الجنس ما قبل الزواج والمثلية الجنسية. ولهذا أطلقت الحكومة حملات توعية وفتحت مراكز للفحص الطبي (بشكل سري ومجاني) في عدد كبير من المدن والبلدات.

إقرأ المزيد

يمكن تشخيص [الكوليرا] بسهولة وأي تأخير لا يغتفر. إذا ما أصبح هذا وباءً اليوم، فيعود ذلك إلى التأخير في الإبلاغ عن الحالة واتخاذ ...
وبعد عقدٍ من ذلك، أي في عام 2015، شهدت الجزائر طفرة في نكاح المسيار، أو كما يُسمى محلياً بزواج المسافر. ووجد هذا النوع من الزيجات...
تسود ثلاثة أنواع من السلفية في الجزائر: السياسية، والجهادية، والأصولية. ومع تراجع السلفية الجهادية والسياسية، ازدهرت في الجز...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: RYAD KRAMDI ©AFP | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Algeria / Society, Media & Culture / Society

Society of Algeria

Kabyli women
Kabyli women

Algerian society is characterized by a Berber/Arab identity with fading French influences – the inheritance of over 130 years of far-reaching French colonization. The dominant secular legacy dating from the first decades of the Republic has since been challenged by the Islamists, who have won substantial support amongst layers of society. As elsewhere in the region the Algerian rulers are grappling with the tensions caused by the fact that the rate of population growth is incongruent with the country’s economic development. Poverty and discontent are the result.

Clans and Communities

Since the war of independence, the Algerian population has had a strong sense of national belonging. The experience of that war, which is transmitted both through the educational system and more informally, has strengthened the idea of nationhood. The economic integration of the country, its imperfections notwithstanding, has brought people from the various regions of the large country into more contact with each other. Regionalism is, however, still an important factor in Algerian social and political life. The regional origins of the President and other state leaders, for example, are considered significant. There has always been a rivalry between the elites from eastern and western Algeria. Smaller groups, such as the Tuareg or the Ibadis of the Saharan region, are left out of this equation. There is also competition between Arabic and Berber-speaking regions, although this involves mainly Kabylia and its relationship to the power centre of nearby Algiers. In both cases, the tensions overlap with other factors, and social and political leaders from the same region have often exhibited strong differences – for example, the contrasting orientations of the so-called Berber parties (the Socialist Forces Front (Front des Forces socialistes, FFS), and the Rally for Culture and Democracy (Rassemblement pour la Culture et la Démocratie, RCD)), and the differences between the two parties and the local social movements that appeared in Kabylia beginning in the 1990s. Many politicians also have client networks.

Family

Algiers
Algiers / Photo HH

The size and structure of Algerian families have undergone many changes over the past decades. As fertility fell from about 3 percent in the 1970s to about 1.7 percent three decades later, the average size of families also fell. With urbanization has come a larger role for the nuclear family as compared with the extended family, which predominated in earlier decades, but there are significant differences according to class and between urban and rural families. With the increase in education for girls and the increasing role of women in the labour market, the average number of children per family has been declining for the past twenty years.

Social protection

The state provides a basic social-security system for the unemployed and guarantees minimum wages. About 7 percent of the state budget is allocated to social services, including unemployment benefits and grants for the education of unemployed youth. Old-age pensions include benefits for former fighters (mujahidin) in the war of independence, with benefits administered by the independent Ministry of Former Mujahidin. The problem is that these benefits do not rise as fast as the cost of living. This is especially true of the many items that are available only as imports. About one-fifth of the population is uninsured against illness and other health risks or labour-related injuries. As a result, informal networks, especially one’s family, are important for the lower classes.

Women

The position of women has always been a major social and political issue in Algerian society. Despite the role of women in the war of independence and the subsequent socialist course of the government, there are still inequalities in many domains, and there are great differences in the way women lead their lives in various social classes and regions. Women’s-rights activists have been making themselves heard in Algerian politics and have rallied mass movements to their cause, but the impact of their actions has been limited.

The position of women has, however, changed significantly over the years, due mainly to developments in the wider society, especially compulsory education for girls and the success of women in higher education and improvements in women’s reproductive health. Improvements in education and employment opportunities for women have led to smaller families. Daughters and sons now have different role models from those of earlier generations, who grew up in far more patriarchal traditions.

Politically, the women’s movement is divided over important issues. In the 1980s women from many different tendencies found themselves opposed to the so-called Family Law, which threatened to harm the position of women on issues such as marriage, divorce, and inheritance. In marriage, women were obliged to be accompanied by a male ‘guardian’, and women’s rights at inheritance were inferior to those of men. Ten years later, polarization around elections and the role of Islam divided the mainly secular women activists. This was not surprising, given the division on the issue that became apparent in attitudes on the 1992 military intervention in politics and civil society. Some former activists, such as Khalida-Toumi, sided with the government; she eventually became Minister of Communication and Culture, a move fiercely opposed by other women.

Youth

Because of the population boom in the previous two decades, the youth of Algeria became Algeria’s majority in the 1980s. At the same time, the economic crisis and various structural developments led to a shortage of jobs, housing, and entertainment. It was no surprise, then, that the October 1988 uprising was conducted mainly by the young. A small but significant number later joined Islamist armed groups. For the most part, though, young people have seemed doomed to wait and see or take the risky step of illegal migration to Europe. Surveys of youth regularly show that many young people desperately want to move abroad in search of a better life and all the things that are not available at home, but only a small minority succeeds in that endeavour. Contrasted with the image of the h arraga (those who burn their immigration papers upon capture) is that of the hittiste (one who hangs to the wall, hit ).

Youth of Algeria

Education

Because of the introduction of compulsory education in the 1970s, 90 percent of Algerians have been enrolled in school. This has resulted in a sharp decline of illiteracy: from a mere 21 percent in 1970, about 75 percent of the population can now read and write. Women, though, still lag behind, because, in the past, most had no chance to attend school. Nowadays, girls are better performers than boys, as they make up the majority of pupils in higher education. In 2008 the number of women in institutions of higher education was almost 1.5 times that of men, up from about one-quarter in 1970.

The educational system still bears traces of the colonial past. It strongly resembles the French system – a nine-year primary school, followed by vocational training or a lycée in preparation for university. Academic education is entirely subsidized, and the government has invested heavily in the creation of 25 universities across the country. Together with dozens of other establishments for higher education, they attract more than one million students. The social sciences are most popular (40 percent of students), almost twice the rate for natural sciences and engineering. Third are education and humanities (16 percent), followed by medicine (7 percent).

infographic on education in Algeria

French has remained an important language of instruction, despite the state’s early attempt at the Arabization of the educational system. Soon after its formal introduction, this planned conversion of the entire curriculum proved unrealistic. Not the least of problems was that many graduates educated exclusively in Arabic had more difficulties finding employment in the government or in state-run industries, where a mastery of French and other foreign languages was an advantage. The frustration of these arabisants later became a factor in the rise of the Islamist movement. In the neighbouring countries that have recently undergone political revolutions, especially Tunisia, the connection between higher levels of education and higher unemployment has been an important factor in the rise of Islamism. In Algeria, the rate of unemployment among youth is twice the overall figure and is even higher among university graduates.

The ideological connotations of the language issue have led the state to follow a cautious course. As a compromise, Arabic is taught exclusively until the third year, when children also begin to learn French. The teaching of other European languages (English, Spanish, Italian) is encouraged in order to de-emphasize the ‘culture war’. At the universities, French is dominant, especially in the natural sciences. Since the recognition of the Berber language, there are more opportunities for learning Tamazight.

Although the state aims to provide universal access to education, many parents resort to private schools. The latter are not formally permitted, but, in practice, they are crowded with children from affluent and influential families who have good relations with those in power.

Health

infographic health in algeria

Providing all Algerians with access to health care was one of the priorities of the post-colonial state. The system, which has been free of charge since 1975, is relatively advanced. It includes medical faculties at the universities, as well as schools for nurses and other auxiliary personnel. The state also guarantees the availability of preventive care and treatment in remote areas. Doctors and dentists are required to serve in oasis towns or in villages on the High Plains for the first five years after their graduation, before being allowed to return to the big cities that they often prefer.

The strong growth of the population after 1962 has led to the establishment of more preventive-care centres, instead of just new hospitals. Over the years, prevention has brought a sharp reduction in infant and child mortality.

In the last decade, prevention has also included measures against the spread of HIV/AIDS. Although Algeria and the North African region are not a major risk area for the spread of the disease, it appears that it may be on the rise there. One of the factors behind this may be prostitution in the main transit towns along the Saharan routes. A more general risk is the taboos surrounding sexuality that prevail in large parts of society, especially those concerning premarital sex and homosexuality, so the government has instituted information campaigns and has opened centres for testing (anonymous and free) in many towns and cities.

Further Reading

Cholera is easily diagnosable and any delay is unforgivable. If this becomes an epidemic today, it is because of the delay in reporting and taking preventive measures.
A decade later, in 2015, Algeria is witnessing a surge in nikah al-misyar, or traveller's marriage. Imported from Middle Eastern countries like Saudi Arabia and Egypt via the Gulf states, it is now finding its way into educated Al...
Three types of Salafism predominate in Algeria: political, jihadi, and purist. As political and jihadi Salafism decline, another Salafist movement has flourished in Algeria—purist Salafism, also called “scientific Salafism.”...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: RYAD KRAMDI ©AFP | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update