فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / التعليم

النظام التعليمي في الجزائر

طالبات في المدرسة / Photo HH
طالبات في المدرسة / Photo HH
مؤشر التعليم في الجزائر (الأمم المتحدة)

بعد فرض التعليم الإلزامي في السبعينيات، التحق 90% من الجزائريين بالمدارس. أدى ذلك إلى زيادة كبيرة في معدل المتعلمين: من 21% في السبعينيات إلى 75% في الوقت الحالي. ومع ذلك، لا تزال المرأة متأخرة، لأن الكثير منهن لم يحصلن على فرصة الالتحاق بالمدرسة في الماضي. واليوم، تحرز الإناث نتائج أفضل من الذكور، لأنهن يشكّلن غالبية الطلاب في مرحلة التعليم العالي. عام 2008، كان عدد النساء في مؤسسات التعليم العالي حوالي 1,5 مقارنة بالرجال، بعد أن كان الربع تقريباً عام 1970.

لا يزال نظام التعليم يحمل آثار النظام الاستعماري السابق. فهو يشبه كثيراً نظام التعليم الفرنسي – 9 سنوات في التعليم الأساسي، يليها التعليم الثانوي العام أو التقني قبل التعليم الجامعي. والتعليم الأكاديمي مدعوم بالكامل، وتقوم الحكومة باستثمارات هائلة لإنشاء 25 جامعة في البلاد. تستقطب الجامعات والعشرات من مؤسسات التعليم العالي الأخرى أكثر من مليون طالب. العلوم الاجتماعية هي الأكثر شعبية (40% من الطلاب) تقريباً ضعف نسبة العلوم الطبيعية والهندسة. ويأتي التعليم والإنسانيات في المرتبة الثالثة (16%) ويتبعهما الطب (7%).

بقيت اللغة الفرنسية لغة هامة في نظام التعليم، على الرغم من محاولة الدولة سابقاً إلى تعريب النظام الدراسي. وبعد إدخالها بشكل رسمي، تبين سريعاً عدم واقعية هذا التغيير المخطط له للمنهج الدراسي بأكمله. ومن بين المشاكل المطروحة أيضاً الصعوبة التي يواجهها عدد كبير من المتخرجين الذين تلقوا تعليماً عربياً صرفاً في الحصول على عمل في الحكومة أو الصناعات التي تديرها الدولة، حيث الأفضلية لمن يتقن اللغة الفرنسية ولغات أجنبية أخرى. وأصبحت لاحقاً خيبة أمل هؤلاء المستعربين عاملاً ساهم في نهوض الحركة الإسلامية. وفي الدول المجاورة التي شهدت مؤخراً اندلاع ثورات سياسية، خاصة تونس، أصبحت العلاقة بين ارتفاع مستويات التعليم ونسبة البطالة عاملاً هاماً في ظهور “الإسلام السياسي”. وفي الجزائر، يبلغ معدل بطالة الشباب ضعف الرقم الإجمالي، بل حتى أعلى بين الخرّيجين الجامعيين.

دفعت المعاني الإيديولوجية لمسألة اللغة بالدولة إلى اتباع مسار حذر. وكحل وسط، يتم تعليم اللغة العربية حصرياً حتى السنة الثالثة، عندما يبدأ الأولاد بتعلم اللغة الفرنسية أيضاً. ويتم التشجيع على تدريس اللغات الأوروبية الأخرى (الإنكليزية والإسبانية والإيطالية) للتقليل من أهمية “الحرب الثقافية”. وفي الجامعات، اللغة الفرنسية هي المهيمنة، خاصة في العلوم الطبيعية. ومنذ الاعتراف بلغة البربر، ظهرت فرص أكبر لتعليم اللغة الأمازيغية.

على الرغم من سعي الدولة إلى توفير التعليم للجميع، إلا أن عدداً كبيراً من أهالي الطلاب يلجؤون إلى المدارس الخاصة. وهذه الأخيرة غير مسموح بها رسمياً، ولكنها في الواقع تضم عدداً  كبيراً جداُ من أولاد الأسر الثرية التي تتمتع بنفوذ وعلاقات جيدة مع أصحاب السلطة.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Education

Education in Algeria

Photo HH
Photo HH

Because of the introduction of compulsory education in the 1970s, 90 percent of Algerians have been enrolled in school. This has resulted in a sharp decline of illiteracy: from a mere 21 percent in 1970, about 75 percent of the population can now read and write. Women, though, still lag behind, because, in the past, most had no chance to attend school. Nowadays, girls are better performers than boys, as they make up the majority of pupils in higher education. In 2008 the number of women in institutions of higher education was almost 1.5 times that of men, up from about one-quarter in 1970.

The educational system still bears traces of the colonial past. It strongly resembles the French system – a nine-year primary school, followed by vocational training or a lycée in preparation for university. Academic education is entirely subsidized, and the government has invested heavily in the creation of 25 universities across the country. Together with dozens of other establishments for higher education, they attract more than one million students. The social sciences are most popular (40 percent of students), almost twice the rate for natural sciences and engineering. Third are education and humanities (16 percent), followed by medicine (7 percent).

French has remained an important language of instruction, despite the state’s early attempt at the Arabization of the educational system. Soon after its formal introduction, this planned conversion of the entire curriculum proved unrealistic. Not the least of problems was that many graduates educated exclusively in Arabic had more difficulties finding employment in the government or in state-run industries, where a mastery of French and other foreign languages was an advantage. The frustration of these arabisants later became a factor in the rise of the Islamist movement. In the neighbouring countries that have recently undergone political revolutions, especially Tunisia, the connection between higher levels of education and higher unemployment has been an important factor in the rise of Islamism. In Algeria, the rate of unemployment among youth is twice the overall figure and is even higher among university graduates.

The ideological connotations of the language issue have led the state to follow a cautious course. As a compromise, Arabic is taught exclusively until the third year, when children also begin to learn French. The teaching of other European languages (English, Spanish, Italian) is encouraged in order to de-emphasize the ‘culture war’. At the universities, French is dominant, especially in the natural sciences. Since the recognition of the Berber language, there are more opportunities for learning Tamazight.

Although the state aims to provide universal access to education, many parents resort to private schools. The latter are not formally permitted, but, in practice, they are crowded with children from affluent and influential families who have good relations with those in power.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.