فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / الصحة / الحكومة الجزائرية تحت الهجوم بعد فوضى تفشي وباء الكوليرا

الحكومة الجزائرية تحت الهجوم بعد فوضى تفشي وباء الكوليرا

Algeria- Cholera Algeria
طبيب خارج مستشفى في مدينة بوفاريك الجزائرية، حيث تواجه البلاد تفشي لوباء الكوليرا، في 28 أغسطس 2018. Photo AFP

بعد ثلاثة أسابيع من تأكيد وزارة الصحة والسكان وإصلاح المستشفيات الجزائرية رسمياً تفشي وباء الكوليرا في العديد من المحافظات، تشير التصريحات الأخيرة من قِبل السلطات المحلية إلى أن انتشار المرض شديد العدوى أصبح تحت السيطرة اليوم.

فقد انخفض عدد حالات الكوليرا المشتبهة بها في المستشفيات “بشكلٍ ملحوظ في الأيام الأربعة الماضية،” بحسب بيانٍ حكومي نقلته وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية المملوكة للدولة في 2 سبتمبر 2018. وبعد خمسة أيام، أعلنت وزارة الصحة والسكان وإصلاح المستشفيات عن خروج آخر مرضى وباء الكوليرا من مستشفى في ولاية البليدة، جنوب غرب العاصمة الجزائر.

وفي آخر تحديثٍ لها حول حجم الأزمة في 30 أغسطس، أكدت وزارة الصحة وجود 74 حالة إصابة بالكوليرا في ست ولايات- 39 حالة في البليدة، و15 حالة في العاصمة الجزائر، و15 في تيبازة، و3 في البويرة، وواحدة في كل من المدية وعين الدفلى. فقد توفي شخصان في البليدة في وقتٍ لاحق بسبب تفشي المرض الذي يقول النقاد إنه يمكن تجنبه إلى حدٍ كبير. وكان المريض الذي تأكد لاحقاً بأنه أول مريض مصاب قد تم نقله إلى المستشفى في البويرة في 7 أغسطس، إلا أن الحكومة اعترفت بأنها كانت تتعامل مع تفشي وباء الكوليرا في 23 أغسطس فحسب.

وفي الأسابيع التي تلت ذلك، تعرضت الحكومة لإنتقاداتٍ حادة بسبب سياساتها الصحية الفاشلة في السنوات الأخيرة، وتعاملها الفوضوي والمشوش مع الأزمة. وقال مدير مصلحة الأوبئة بمستشفى مصطفى باشا في العاصمة الجزائر، عبد الوهاب بن قونية، لصحيفة الوطن في مقابلة لفتت الانظار، “لقد كان حدوث تفشي الكوليرا متوقعاً منذ يناير.”

فقطاع الصحة العامة في الجزائر يعاني من نقص التمويل المستمر، مما أدى إلى عدم كفاية المعدات والبنية التحتية البالية إلى جانب الافتقار إلى المواد الأساسية مثل الأدوية. ويشكو الأطباء والممرضين أيضاً من سوء ظروف العمل، خاصةً في المرافق الصحية في المناطق النائية.

فقد علق بن قونية قائلاً، “يمكن تشخيص [الكوليرا] بسهولة وأي تأخير لا يغتفر. إذا ما أصبح هذا وباءً اليوم، فيعود ذلك إلى التأخير في الإبلاغ عن الحالة واتخاذ التدابير الوقائية،” وأضاف أنه يعتبر الحكومة مسؤولةً عن “التخفيف الواضح” لبرامج الوقاية الطبية منذ أوائل العقد الأول من القرن الحالي.

وبالفعل، دعا الحزب المعارض، جبهة القوى الاشتراكية، إلى تشكيل لجنةٍ برلمانية للتحقيق في ظروف تفشي المرض.

في هذه الأثناء، غضب الناس في جميع أنحاء البلاد بسبب رد الفعل الفوضوي للحكومة تجاه تفشي الوباء، الذي تم تسجيل ظهوره آخر مرة في البلاد في عام 1996. ووصفت الصحافية زهراء رحموني “موجة الذعر” التي تجتاح الجزائر على أنها عدم يقينٍ وشائعاتٍ حول مصدر الوباء، التي سيطرت على الخطاب العام والشارع لأسابيع.

ففي 6 سبتمبر فحسب أكدت وزارة الصحة في نهاية المطاف أنها حددت مصدر تفشي المرض بوادٍ ملوث في البليدة. ووفقاً لبيانٍ حكومي، فقد قام والي الولاية المؤقت، رباح أيت حسين، فوراً بوضع سلسلة من الإجراءات الطارئة لتنظيف وتطهير الوادي.

كما أثار الاكتشاف المتأخر لمصدر تفشي المرض المزيد من الغضب العام. تضاعف هذا عندما أصدرت وزارة الزراعة تأكيداتٍ بأن تناول الفواكه والخضروات آمن، وهي رواية يناقضها معهد باستور بالجزائر العاصمة فيما وصفته صحيفة الوطن “حرب معلومات.” وفي بيانٍ له، قال المعهد إن الفواكه والخضروات – إذا ما استهلكت نيئة – قد تكون مصدراً للكوليرا. غير أنه في الأول من سبتمبر، استبعد المعهد أي صلةٍ بين استهلاك المنتجات الزراعية المحلية وانتشار المرض.

كما حدث خلافٌ مماثل حول شائعاتٍ تقول بأن مياه الري أو الينابيع لربما تكون مسؤولة عن انتشار المرض. وبعد أن أشارت وزارة الصحة العامة إلى أن منبع سيدي لكبير في تيبازة ملوث ببكتيريا الكوليرا، أنكر توفيق عمراني، مدير الصحة بولاية تيبازة، إدعاء الحكومة في مقابلةٍ أجراها في 30 أغسطس مع قناة النهار الخاصة. كما ناقض عبد القادر بوعزقي، وزير الفلاحة والتنمية الريفية والصيد البحري، تصريحات الحكومة، مؤكداً للعامة أن مياه الري لم تكن مصدراً للوباء.

في غضون ذلك، أفادت التقارير أن السلطات ألقت القبض على أكثر من 1700 مزارع في 15 ولاية بتهمة “ري المحاصيل بالمياه الملوثة، ودفن مواد غير صحية من شأنها تلويث المياه، وحفر الآبار لاستخراج المياه الجوفية دون ترخيص.”

من جهته، أشار المنفذ الإخباري TSA Algérie، إلى أن إمكانية تعقب المنتجات الزراعية في الجزائر سيئة. فالقطاع الزراعي غير رسمي إلى حدٍ كبير، مما يجعل من المستحيل تقريباً تتبع المنتجات الملوثة في السوق. وليس من المستغرب أن حالة عدم اليقين المستمرة بشأن منشأ تفشي المرض قد أثر على الصادرات الزراعية، حيث ورد أن روسيا وقطر وكندا أعادوا شحنات من البطاطا والتمر إلى البلاد.

وعلى الرغم من أن وزير الصحة، مختار حسبلاوي، قد أعلن أن الأزمة باتت تحت السيطرة، إلا أن العديد من الدول المجاورة اتخذت إجراءاتٍ وقائية. فالمغرب، على سبيل المثال، عزز الضوابط في مطاراته ومعابره الحدودية. وعلاوةً على ذلك، قامت الحكومة الفرنسية بتحديث معلومات السفر إلى الجزائر ووضعت خططاً لإجراءات تطهير الطائرات القادمة من المطارات الجزائرية.

وفي غضون ذلك، عقدت التنسيقية المستقلة للأطباء المقيمين الجزائريين (كامرا) مظاهرةً أمام مبنى وزارة الصحة والسكان وإصلاح المستشفيات في الجزائر العاصمة في 2 سبتمبر. جاء ذلك في أعقاب تعليقٍ مؤقت لحملةٍ مدتها 8 أشهر بدأت منذ شهر يونيو من الإضرابات والاعتصامات. وعلى الرغم من أن التنسيقية المستقلة للأطباء المقيمين لم تتناول تفشي وباء الكوليرا بشكلٍ مباشر، إلا أنها طالبت وزير الصحة بالعودة إلى طاولة المفاوضات لمعالجة نقص التمويل بالمستشفيات ومشاكل أخرى تواجه قطاع الصحة العامة.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Algeria / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Health / Algeria’s Government Under Attack for Chaotic Handling of Cholera Outbreak

Algeria’s Government Under Attack for Chaotic Handling of Cholera Outbreak

Algeria- Cholera Algeria
A doctor gestures outside a hospital in the Algerian town of Boufarik, as the country faces a cholera outbreak, on August 28, 2018. Photo AFP

Three weeks after the Algerian Ministry of Health, Population and Hospital Reform (MSPRH) officially confirmed a cholera outbreak in several provinces, recent statements by local authorities indicate that the spread of the highly infectious disease is finally under control.

The number of suspected hospitalized cholera cases has decreased ‘significantly in the past four days’, according to a government statement quoted by the state-owned news agency APS on 2 September 2018. Five days later, the MSPRH announced the last cholera patients had been discharged from a hospital in the province of Blida, south-west of the capital Algiers.

In its latest update on the scale of the crisis on 30 August, the MSPRH had confirmed 74 cases of cholera in six provinces – 39 in Blida, 15 in Algiers, 15 in Tipaza, 3 in Bouira and 1 each in Médéa and Aïn Defla. Two people in Blida later died in an outbreak that critics say was largely avoidable. The patient who was later confirmed as being the first person infected was hospitalized in Bouira on 7 August, but the government only admitted it was dealing with a cholera outbreak on 23 August.

In the weeks since, the government has been under heavy fire for its failed health policies in recent years and the reluctant and chaotic handling of the crisis. “The occurrence of a cholera outbreak [has been] predictable since January,” Abdelouahab Bengounia, head of epidemiology at the Mustapha Basha hospital in Algiers, told El Watan newspaper in an attention-grabbing interview.

Algeria’s public health sector suffers from persistent underfunding, which has led to insufficient and outdated equipment and infrastructure as well as a lack of essential items such as medication. Doctors and nurses also complain about poor working conditions especially in health facilities in remote areas.

”[Cholera] is easily diagnosable and any delay is unforgivable. If this becomes an epidemic today, it is because of the delay in reporting and taking preventive measures,” Bengounia commented, adding that he considers the government responsible for the “blatant easing” of medical prevention pro-grammes since the early 2000s.

The opposition party FFS has already called for a parliamentary committee to investigate the circumstances of the outbreak.

Meanwhile, people across the country have been outraged by the government’s chaotic response to the disease, which was last recorded in the country in 1996. Journalist Zahra Rahmouni described a ‘wave of panic’ sweeping Algeria as uncertainty and rumours about the origin of the disease dominated public discourse and street talk for weeks.

Only on 6 September did the MSPRH finally confirm that it had identified the source of the outbreak as a contaminated wadi in Blida. The interim governor of the province, Rabah Ait Hocine, had immediately put in place a series of emergency measures to clean up and cover the wadi, according to a government statement.

The late discovery of the source of the outbreak sparked further public outrage. This was compounded when the Ministry of Agriculture issued assurances that fruits and vegetables were safe to eat, a narrative that was contradicted by the Pasteur Institute in Algiers in what El Watan called a ‘war of information. In a statement, the institute said that fruits and vegetables – if consumed raw – might be the source of the cholera. On 1 September, however, it ruled out any link between consumption of local agricultural products and the spread of the disease.

A similar spat occurred over rumours that irrigation water or springs might be responsible for the spread of the disease. After the MSPRH indicated that the Sidi Lekbir spring in Tipaza was contaminated with cholera bacteria, Toufik Amrani, the local director of the health department, denied the government’s claim in a 30 August interview with the private TV channel Ennahar. Abdelkader Bouazghi, the Minister of Agriculture and Development, also contradicted the government line, reassuring the public that irrigation water was not the source of the outbreak.

Meanwhile, authorities reportedly arrested more than 1,700 farmers in 15 provinces on charges of ‘watering crops with polluted water, burying unhealthy substances that can contaminate water and digging wells to extract underground water without permission’.

The news outlet TSA Algérie pointed out that the traceability of agricultural products in Algeria is considered poor. The agricultural sector is largely informal, which makes it almost impossible to track contaminated products on the market. Unsurprisingly, the ongoing uncertainty about the origin of the outbreak has affected agricultural exports, with Russia, Qatar and Canada reportedly sending back shipments of potatoes and dates to the country.

Although Minister of Health Mokhtar Hasbellaoui declared that the crisis is under control, several neighbouring countries have taken preventative measures. Morocco, for instance, has reinforced controls at its airports and border crossings. Further afield, the French government has updated its travel information on Algeria and introduced disinfection procedures for planes coming from Algerian airports.

Meanwhile, the Algerian medics and resident doctors syndicate CAMRA CAMRA held a rally in front of the MSPRH building in Algiers on 2 September. This followed the temporary suspension in June of an eight-month campaign of strikes and sit-ins. Although CAMRA did not address the cholera outbreak directly, it called on the Minister of Health to return to the negotiating table to tackle hospital underfunding and other problems facing the public health sector.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.