فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجزائر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع الجزائري / موجة الزواج غير الرسمي تجتاح الجزائر

موجة الزواج غير الرسمي تجتاح الجزائر

Informal marriages in Algeria
طلاب في جامعة الخروبة, مدينة الجزائر, الجزائر. Photo Gamma-Rapho Agence Photographique / Hollandse Hoogte

دخل الزواج غير الرسمي، المسيار، المجتمع الجزائري متأثراً بالدعاة الوهابيين.

يحظى نكاح المسيار بشعبية في المجتمع السعودي في ظل الوهابية، وهي فرع أصولي للإسلام السُني الذي ظهر منذ حوالي 250 عاماً منبثقاً عن تعاليم محمد بن عبد الوهاب. وفي عام 2006، تم تسجيل ارتفاع بنسبة 50% في زواج المسيار في المملكة العربية السعودية بعد صدور فتوى تضفي عليه الطابع الشرعي.

وفي الجزائر، قبل عام 1984، كان يتم تنظيم الزواج والطلاق والحضانة والنفقة وفقاً للقانون المدني. وفي عام 1984، قدم مجموعة من القضاة قانون الأسرة إلى الرئيس السابق الشاذلي بن جديد، الذي كان مستوحى بشكل كامل من الشريعة الإسلامية، التي كانت بنظر العديد من القضاة ممثلة بشكل سيء في إطار النظام القانوني الجزائري. باغت القانون الجديد المجتمع الجزائري على حين غِرة وأثار موجة من الاحتجاجات.

قاتلت المنظمات غير الحكومية وحركات حقوق المرأة مثل حركة 20 عاماً بركات (أي 20 عاماً كافية)، التي تعتبر القوانين قمعية وتمييزية، لأكثر من عقدين من الزمن من أجل الإصلاح. ومن بين العديد من المعارك التي تقودها المنظمات النسائية غير الحكومية، كان قضية تعدد الزوجات. فقد تم في نهاية المطاف تعديل قانون تعدد الزوجات عام 2005، عندما أصبح إلزاماً على الرجل الحصول على إذن زوجته الأولى في حال أراد أن يتزوج أكثر من زوجة. كما أدخل أيضاً الزواج المدني، حيث يتوجب استباق جميع الزيجات الدينية بزواج مدني.

ووفقاً لذلك، تنص “المادة 4” من قانون 04-02 الصادر في 27 فبراير 2005 أنّ “الزواج هو عقد بالتراضي بين رجل وإمرأة بالشكل القانوني. يهدف من بين أمورٍ أخرى إلى تأسيس عائلة على أساس المودة والعطف والمساعدة المتبادلة، لحماية الزوجين أخلاقياً والحفاظ على الروابط الأسرية.”

وعلاوة على ذلك، كان الأئمة ممنوعون بشكلٍ رسمي من عقد الزيجات الدينية دون شهادة الزواج المدني الرسمية التي يتم تسليمها من قِبل السلطات المختصة. وأدخلت هذه التغييرات في وقتٍ كانت تحاول فيه الحكومة استعادة السيطرة على أجزاء من المجتمع التي كانت، خلال سنوات العنف بين الجيش والمتطرفين الإسلاميين، تعيش خارج إطار الزواج.

وبعد عقدٍ من ذلك، أي في عام 2015، شهدت الجزائر طفرة في نكاح المسيار، أو كما يُسمى محلياً بزواج المسافر. ووجد هذا النوع من الزيجات، الذي تم استيراده من دول الشرق الأوسط مثل السعودية ومصر عبر دول الخليج، طريقه إلى مجتمع المثقفين الجزائريين، وخاصة في الأوساط الأكاديمية. ويعتبر زواج المسيار أحد أشكال عقود الزواج الإسلامية والذي يتفق بموجبه رجل وإمرأة على الزواج بوجود شاهدين.

ووفقاً لمؤيدي زواج المسيار، ترجع الشعبية المتنامية لهذا الشكل من عقود الزواج إلى حقيقة أنّ الحاجات الجنسية للشباب غير معترف بها سواء من قِبل تلك المجتمعات أو حتى الخطاب الديني، الذي يُدين صراحةً الجنس قبل الزواج. ومع ذلك، وبالرغم من أنه مقبول في أجزاء أخرى من الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا، إلا أنّ زواج المسيار بالإضافة إلى الأشكال الأخرى المشابه له، مثل زواج المتعة، غير معترف بها من قِبل المذهب المالكي، المنتشر بشكل أساسي في الجزائر.

وأصبح هذا النهج ممكناً بفضل تواطىء بعض الأئمة الذين يتبعون التيار الوهابي. ومع ذلك، يصف العديد من المعارضين بصراحة هذا الزواج باعتباره دعارة مقنعة، ومُقدمة لجهاد النكاح، حيث تقوم النساء طوعاً بممارسة الجنس مع المجهادين.

كما وردت تقارير عن ارتفاع نسب جهاد النكاح، وبخاصة في سورية والعراق، حيث تقدّم بعض المسلمات أنفسهنّ لمقاتلي تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) كجزء من واجبهم الديني. ويعتبر الاغتصاب والاستعباد الجنسي للنساء اللواتي يعتبرهن تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) من الكفار أو المرتدين موضوع آخر.

وهناك شكل آخر من زواج المسيار وهو زواج المرأة الغنية، التي تختار التنازل عن بعض حقوقها التي يضمنها الزواج التقليدي مقابل البقاء مع والديها. وعلى ما يبدو، عندما تطلب المرأة من الرجل الزواج بها، يعتبر هذا أمراً طبيعياً في القانون الإسلامي، ذلك أن السيدة خديجة، زوجة النبي محمد الأولى، من طلبت الزواج منه.

وفي أي شكلٍ من أشكال الزيجات المذكورة أعلاه، تواجه الفتيات الجزائريات عواقب بطلانه بموجب القانون الجزائري. ولا يقتصر الأمر فقط على غياب شروط الزواج القانوني (مثل غياب المهر، والنية للعيش معاً، وعدم حصولها على حقوقها في حال الإنفصال)، بل أيضاً بسبب النتائج المترتبة في حال نتج عن هذا الزواج طفل، والذي يعتبر نتاج عقد غير قانوني وبالتالي لا يمتلك أي حقوق قانونية.

تكمن المشكلة في أنّ النظام القانوني الجزائري يفتقر لأي شكل من أشكال تجريم هذه الزيجات. وعلى الرغم من أنّ الزواج غير الرسمي ممنوع بموجب قانون الأسرة المعدّل قبل الزواج المدني، إلا أنه لا توجد أي إشارة لأي عقوبة. ومن الظواهر الشائعة والخطيرة في المملكة العربية السعودية هي إيجاد فتاة قاصر من عائلة ميسورة، ودفع مهر كبير لعائلتها، ومن ثم دفع مرتب شهري إلى حين انتهاء العلاقة. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ زواج القاصرات يعتبر انتهاكاً صريحاً لقانون الدولة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Algeria / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Informal Marriages Surge in Algeria

Informal Marriages Surge in Algeria

Informal marriages in Algeria
Students at the Carroubier university, Algiers, Algeria. Photo Gamma-Rapho Agence Photographique / Hollandse Hoogte

Influenced by Wahhabi preachers, informal al-misyar marriages have entered Algerian society.

Nikah al-misyar is popular in Saudi society under Wahhabism, a fundamentalist branch of Sunni Islam that emerged about 250 years ago from the teachings of Muhammad Ibn Abd al-Wahhab. In 2006, a 50 per cent increase in al-misyar marriages was reported in Saudi Arabia after the issuance of a fatwa (religious edict) giving the alliance sanctity.

In Algeria prior to 1984, marriage, divorce, custody and alimony were regulated by the Civil Code. In 1984, a group of judges presented a Family Code to former President Chadli Bendjedid. It was inspired entirely by Sharia law, which the judges believed was underrepresented within the Algerian legal system. This new code caught civil society by surprise and sparked a wave of protests.

NGOs and women’s rights movements such as 20 Years Barakat (i.e. 20 years is enough), which perceive the laws as oppressive and discriminatory, fought for more than two decades for reform. Among many fights led by women’s NGOs was the issue of polygamy. The law on polygamy was finally amended in 2005 when it became obligatory for the man to obtain permission from his first wife if he wanted to marry more wives. Civil marriages were also introduced and all religious marriages had to be preceded by a civil one.

Accordingly, Section 4 of the Ordinance 04-02 of 27 February 2005 states that: “Marriage is a consensual contract between a man and a woman in legal form. It aims among others to found a family based on affection, kindness and mutual help, to morally protect the two spouses and to preserve family ties.”

Moreover, in 2006, imams were officially prohibited from performing religious marriages without a formal civil marriage certificate delivered by the competent authorities. These changes were introduced at a time when the government was trying to regain control of parts of society which, during years of violence between the army and Muslim extremists, had been living outside marriage.

A decade later, in 2015, Algeria is witnessing a surge in nikah al-misyar, or traveller’s marriage. Imported from Middle Eastern countries like Saudi Arabia and Egypt via the Gulf states, it is now finding its way into educated Algerian society, particularly academia.  An al-misyar marriage is a religiously permitted form of marriage contract to which a man and a woman agree in the presence of two witnesses.

According to supporters of al-misyar, its growing popularity is mainly due to the fact that the sexual needs of young people are neither recognized within those societies nor by religious discourse, which explicitly condemns sex before marriage. However, even if it is accepted in other parts of the Middle East and North Africa, al-misyar marriage as well as all its variants such as zawadj al-moutaa are not recognized by the Maliki rite dominant in Algeria.

The process has been made possible by the complicity of some imams following the Wahhabi trend. However, many opponents bluntly describe this form of marriage as disguised prostitution and a practice behind nikah al-harb (sexual jihad), where women voluntarily provide sex to male warriors (jihadi).

Nikah al-harb is reportedly also on the rise, particularly in Syria and Iraq where some Muslim women are offering themselves to Islamic State (IS) fighters as part of their religious duty. The rape and sexual slavery of women whom IS considers to be infidels and apostates is a different subject.

Another form of al-misyar is the marriage of rich women, who choose to waive some of the rights they would enjoy in a traditional marriage in order to stay with their parents. It seems that when a woman asks a man to marry her, it is recognized by Islamic law, since Khadija, Prophet Muhammad’s first wife, was the one proposing.

In any form of the marriages mentioned above, Algerian girls are faced with the consequences of it being invalid under Algerian law. Not just because of the absence of legal marriage conditions (no dowry, no intention to live together, no rights in the event of separation), but also because of the repercussions if the marriage results in a child, which as a product of a non-legal alliance has no legal rights.

The problem is that the Algerian legal system lacks any form of criminalization of these marriages. Informal marriage is prohibited under the reformed Family Code before civil marriage, yet there is no reference to any sanction. Another popular and dangerous phenomenon in Saudi Arabia is to find an underage girl from a poor background, pay an expensive dowry to her family and then provide a monthly allowance until the end of the relationship. Underage marriage is a pure violation of state law.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.