فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الصراع العربي- الاسرائيلي- الفلسطيني / الحروب والمفاوضات العربية- الفلسطينية- الإسرائيلية / الجزء الثالث: ما بعد اتفاقات أوسلو / أوراق فلسطين

أوراق فلسطين

Al-Harem al-Sharif, Jerusalem/al-Quds Photo HH
الحرم الشريف في القدس/
Photo HH / اضغط للتكبير

في منتصف كانون الثاني/يناير، تم نشر ملفات داخلية من قبل محطة الجزيرة (الدوحة، قطر) وصحيفة الغارديان (لندن) – ما يسمى بـ “أوراق فلسطين” – والتي تسلط مزيداً من الضوء على المفاوضات بين إسرائيل ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية/السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية. تمت إزالة الشكوك الأولية حول صحة الوثائق التي ينوف عددها عن 1600 وثيقة، وذلك بعد اعتراف صائب عريقات، كبير المفاوضين الفلسطينيين، تسريبها من قبل موظفي مكتبه.

يتضح من الوثائق أن المفاوضين الفلسطينيين على استعداد لتقديم تنازلات بعيدة المدى لإسرائيل: التنازل عن قسم كبير من القدس الشرقية، وضم إسرائيل كتل استيطانية كبيرة حول القدس الشرقية وأماكن أخرى، والتنازل عن حق العودة للاجئين الفلسطينيين الذين طردهم إسرائيل منذ عام 1947 والذين فروا من الحرب، والاستعداد لقمع المعارضين لعملية التفاوض مع إسرائيل بالعنف. ومن جهة أخرى، توضح الوثائق أن المفاوضين الإسرائيليين لم يؤيدوا ما يسمى بتنازلات الطرف الفلسطيني.

الوثائق الرئيسية


تم نشر جميع ملخصات أوراق فلسطين بإذن من وحدة الجزيرة للشفافية.

5 كانون الثاني/يناير 2004: Egyptian Plan for Palestinian Security

خطة المصرية غير محددة المصدر تشرح تفاصيل الأفكار والتوجيهات والمعايير المقترحة فيما يتعلق بتنفيذ المرحلة الأولى من خارطة الطريق. توضح خطة العمل المشاعر المصرية الصريحة، الإيجابية والسلبية، حول الأداء الفلسطيني والطريقة الأفضل لتنفيذ أهداف خارطة الطريق. تعبّر الخطة عن رغبة في ضمان عمل القوات متعددة الجنسيات على أهدافها وترك القضايا المتعلقة التعامل مع / تفكيك جماعات مثل كتائب شهداء الأقصى لقادة الأجهزة الأمنية التقليدية والقيادة السياسية؛ وبشكل عام تعطي الفلسطينيين ثقة ونفوذاً وسلطة أكثر في التعامل مع القضايا.

18 آذار/مارس 2005: British Security Plan: Palestinian National Security Force Report

هذه الوثيقة، التي أعدها مكتب الاتصال العسكري البريطاني، هي في المقام الأول مجموعة من التوصيات لتعزيز قوات الأمن الفلسطينية. أحد المرافق هو عبارة عن قائمة من المشاريع والأهداف — كل شيء من تدريب طاقم تقنية المعلومات حتى شراء الأسلحة — ولكن القليل من الأهداف تتضمن تفاصيل عن التمويل أو التقدم. تتضمن التوصيات اقتباسات عن مدى تعاون قوات الأمن الفلسطينية مع إسرائيل، وحول دور بريطانيا في تحديد بنية قوات الأمن الفلسطينية.

4 شباط/فبراير 2008: Meeting Minutes: Ahmed Qurei and Tzipi Livni

محضر 4 شباط/فبراير 2008 للاجتماع في القدس. يذكر ليفني التفجير الانتحاري الأخير الذي نفذته كتائب شهداء الأقصى ويسأل إذا كان المقاتلون جزء من مقاتلي فتح. يقر قريع بأن “كتائب شهداء الأقصى جزء من حركة فتح”. ويقول عريقات إن كتائب شهداء الأقصى “تم احتواؤها بعد أن تعهدت بتسليم جميع أسلحتها للأجهزة الأمنية الفلسطينية”، وأضاف بأنه “كل من لم يوقّع هو خارج المنظمة”. هناك أيضاً نقاش حول غزة وقرار مصر بإغلاق الحدود. يقول قريع لليفني بأن  إسرائيل ” دعمت حماس لعزل غزة لأن هدفكم هو الانفصال”. هناك كلام كثير من قبل المسؤولين الفلسطينيين حول حماس. يقول قريع “سيقوم بتطبيق الشريعة الإسلامية وتصدير نظامهم إلى الدول المجاورة”، بينما يقول عريقات إن المعركة مع المجموعة “لا نهاية لها”.

8 أيار/مايو 2008: Meeting Minutes: Borders with Erekat, Qurei and Livni

قدم الفلسطينيون موقفهم بشأن الحدود: حدود عام 1967 إلى جانب جميع المناطق التي احتلتها إسرائيل عام 1967، الضفة الغربية مع الأراضي المشاع والقدس الشرقية ووادي الأردن وقطاع غزة والبحر الميت. كما قدم الفلسطينيون خرائط لمقايضة الأرض — مبادلة بنسبة 1:1 (نفس الحجم والقيمة)

21 أيار/مايو 2008: Meeting Minutes: Post-Annapolis Plenary Session on Territory

محضر جلسة ما بعد أنابوليس العامة حول الأراضي. ناقش الجانبان تقارير صحفية بشأن قرار إسرائيل بالتفاوض مع سوريا حول إعادة مرتفعات الجولان. إلا أن معظم المباحثات ركزت على قضايا الحدود والأراضي، ولا سيما فيما يتعلق بالقدس الشرقية والأراضي المشاع. قدم الجانب الإسرائيلي تقييمه للاقتراح الفلسطيني حول مبادلة الأراضي.

15 حزيران/يونيو 2008: Meeting Minutes: Trilateral – United States, Israel and Palestine

محضر اجتماع بين الوفد الفلسطيني والإسرائيلي والأميركي في القدس لمفاوضات أنابوليس. ويناقش الأطراف إمكانية التوصل إلى اتفاق قبل نهاية عام 2008. ركز النقاش بالدرجة الأولى على استخدام حدود 1967 كأساس، والقدس الشرقية وضم المستوطنات والقضايا ذات الصلة.

21 حزيران/يونيو 2008: Meeting Minutes: Bilateral Post-Annapolis Plenary Session

يبحث الجانبان ما يسمونه “فجوة” في مواقفهما بشأن القضايا الأساسية، من الأمن والمستوطنات إلى الحدود والقدس واللاجئين. يرفض المسؤول الإسرائيلي تسيبي ليفني الاتفاق على قضية “التعويضات عن الاحتلال”، قائلاً إن إسرائيل لن تدفع عن الأضرار التي لحقت بالاقتصاد الفلسطيني نتيجة للاحتلال المستمر لعقود طويلة. يناقش الطرفان مبادلة القرى، ولا سيما تبادل القرى الإسرائيلية العربية لفلسطين.
تال بيكر: ” نحتاج إلى مناقشتها نوعاً ما. منقسمون. جميع الفلسطينيين. جميع الإسرائيليين….”

24 حزيران/يونيو 2008: Meeting Minutes: Post-Annapolis Bilaterals and Trilateral in Berlin

محاضر الاجتماعات الثنائية بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين، والفلسطينيين والأميركيين، فضلاً عن اجتماع ثلاثي للأطراف الثلاثة مجتمعة، في برلين. ركزت موضوعات المناقشة على قضايا الأمن والمشاركة الدولية في آليات الأمن وتأثير حماس. كما ركزت الأطراف على مناقشة قضية اللاجئين والموضوعات ذات الصلة خلال الاجتماع الثلاثي.discussion on refugees and related issues during the trilateral meeting.

16 تموز/يوليو 2008: Meeting Minutes: US-Palestinian Bilateral Session

يقول أحمد قريع للمسؤولين الأمريكيين إن “لم يحدث شيء” بشأن تنفيذ التزامات إسرائيل بموجب أنابوليس أو خارطة الطريق. تتابع الأطراف مناقشة المستوطنات واللاجئين وقضايا أخرى عديدة.

31 آب/أغسطس 2008: Ehud Olmert’s ‘Package’ Offer to Mahmoud Abbas

موجز لحزمة إسرائيل المقدمة للفلسطينيين، بما في ذلك خرائط مفصلة لتبادل الأراضي في إسرائيل والقدس. يتضمن الموجز عروض بشأن الأراضي والقدس واللاجئين والأمن. وستضم إسرائيل 6.8٪ من مساحة الضفة الغربية، ويكون ممر آمن بين غزة والضفة الغربية تحت السيادة الإسرائيلية. ويتم تأجيل السيادة على الحوض المقدس إلى مرحلة لاحقة. وفي شأن اللاجئين، تعترف إسرائيل بمعاناة اللاجئين الفلسطينيين — ولكنها ليست مسؤولة عنها. لم يرد ذكر للأمن.

6 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2008: NSU Email Re: Meeting Summary – Heads of Committee

رسالة الكترونية غير مكتملة من زينة صلاحي إلى أعضاء وحدة دعم المفاوضات بشأن “موجز اجتماع رؤساء اللجان اليوم”، بتاريخ 6 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2008. تتضمن الرسالة قائمة المهام فضلاً عن تعليقات بوش ورايس وأولمرت وعريقات وعباس. وحذر بوش عباس من ترك منصبه في 9 كانون الثاني/يناير 2009، قائلاً بأن “إعلان بوش” يعني قيام دولة فلسطينية هو أمر محتوم، وإن لم يكن خلال فترة ولايته؛ ويعتقد أنه من المستحيل التوصل إلى اتفاق مع أولمرت. وأعرب عباس عن إحباطه إزاء عدم إحراز تقدم مع اولمرت. يشك عريقات بأن وكالة المخابرات المركزية تحاول وضع حماس كمحاور حقيقي. رايس تصر على عباس وعريقات عقب الخرائط الإسرائيلية الأخيرة بينما يعبر الأخيران عن إحباط شديد أثناء التعامل مع رايس وعدم قدرتها على الوفاء بوعودها. تشير ملاحظات إلى وجود جهود منسقة لاستبعاد رايس من مفاوضات مقبلة

6 تشرين الثاني 2008: Meeting Summary: Salam Fayyad with Danish, British, U.S. and EU Delegates

رسالة راشد الإلكترونية بشأن ملخص اجتماعات فياض مع: وزير الخارجية الدنمركي؛ الوفد البرلماني للاتحاد الأوروبي؛ وزارة الخارجية البريطانية؛ وسفير الولايات المتحدة وولش. يبلغ الاتحاد الأوروبي فياض أنهم لم يتم الموافقة على زيارتهم لممثلي المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني في السجن. وتحدث فياض إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي وبريطانيا حول تهيئة الظروف لتجميد العمل في المستوطنات كجزء من تعزيز العلاقات مع إسرائيل. ناقش فياض وولش القضايا الأمنية.

قال ديفيد وولش بأن الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة تتوقع أن نرى نفس الوجوه الفلسطينية (أبو مازن وسلام فياض) من أجل مواصلة تمويل السلطة الفلسطينية.

24 آذار/مارس 2009: Meeting Minutes: Mahmoud Abbas and NSU Advisors

يطلع محمود عباس مستشاري وحدة دعم المفاوضات على المؤتمر الذي عقد في القاهرة وقضايا الوضع الدائم التي تمت مناقشتها. يجري عقد مفاوضات الوضع النهائي في الوقت الذي تقوم فيه إسرائيل بتشكل حكومة جديدة.

16 حزيران/يونيو 2009: Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat with NSU

يطلع عريقات وحدة دعم المفاوضات على رحلته إلى واشنطن ولقائه مع جورج ميتشل. ويقول إن الأميركيين يرون نجاح دولة فلسطين على أنها أولوية قصوى. يرى أوباما القضية الفلسطينية على أنها جدار بين المنطقة وبن لادن. وشدد عريقات على ضرورة وجود حملة إعلامية كبيرة لعزل نتانياهو وادعاءاته تجاه فلسطين.

عريقات: قال مولن لأبو مازن: نحن نساعدكم، والجنرال دايتون معكم؛ وقوانين الولايات المتحدة لا تسمح لنا أن نرسل لك حتى رصاصة واحدة. أنت الشخص الأكثر أهمية في الشرق الأوسط. والعرب والمسلمون لديهم أمراً واحداً فقط في أذهانهم: فلسطين. لذا، لن نساعدك على إنشاء دولة فلسطينية. نحن لا نريد لها أن تصبح مثل باكستان واليمن وأفغانستان والصومال. نحن لا نريد دولة أخرى فاشلة. ساعدنا عن طريق إظهار المسؤولية والشفافية والقوانين الجيدة… وإقامة الدولة الفلسطينية هي مصلحة أساسية للولايات المتحدة.

24 حزيران/يونيو 2009: Meeting Summary: Saeb Erekat and Keith Dayton

محضر اجتماع: في المقام الأول بين صائب عريقات والجنرال كيث دايتون، بتاريخ 24 حزيران/يونيو 2009. يطلع عريقات دايتون على الدور المتزايد للإدارة والتزامها، لا سيما من حيث الزيادة في الميزانية. دايتون يعرب أيضاً عن تقديره للعمل الذي يقوم به عريقات وقوات السلطة الفلسطينية في الوفاء بالتزاماتها وخلق بيئة مستقرة.

17 أيلول/سبتمبر 2009: Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat and David Hale

محضر اجتماع: في المقام الأول بين صائب عريقات وديفيد هيل في 17 أيلول/سبتمبر 2009. يحاول هيل إقناع عريقات بقبول ضبط نفس إسرائيل بشأن المستوطنات بدلاً من تجميد كامل؛ ويعرب عن قلقه بأن عريقات غير منطقي، وأن بعض المحادثات هي أفضل من لا شيء. يرفض عريقات المساومة على حدود عام 1967 وتجميد المستوطنات والقدس. ويعتقد أنهم ضحوا بما فيه الكفاية لعدم اضطرارهم للوصول إلى ما يريدونه الآن بالضبط.
ديفيد هيل: لا يمكننا فرض حكومة ذات سيادة. يمكننا استخدام الإقناع والمفاوضات والمصالح المشتركة.
عريقات: بالطبع يمكنك إذا أردت. كيف تعتقد أن هذا سينعكس على مصداقية الولايات المتحدة إذا كان لا يمكنك فعل ذلك؟
ديفيد هيل: نحن نقرر ذلك بناء على مصداقيتنا الخاصة

20 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2009: Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat – George Mitchell and Saeb Erekat – Hillary Clinton

اجتماع مطول يغطي: الجهود المصرية للتوصل إلى اتفاق مصالحة بين حماس وفتح؛ وتقرير غولدستون؛ والمستوطنات في القدس الشرقية والضفة الغربية؛ وإصلاح حركة فتح. النصف الثاني من هذه الوثيقة هو لقاء مختصر بين كلينتون وعريقات وميتشل.

21 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2009 Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat and General James Jones

محضر اجتماع صائب عريقات والجنرال جيمس جونز في البيت الأبيض، واشنطن، بتاريخ 21 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2009. يكرر جونز اعتقاد أوباما أن الرئيس عباس هو لاعب رئيسي ومدعوم من قبل الإدارة الأمريكية؛ يعبر عريقات عن استيائه الشديد بتورط الدول العربية، بما في ذلك المملكة العربية السعودية ومصر.

21 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2009: Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat and George Mitchell

محضر اجتماع عريقات وميتشيل وهيل وشوارتز. عريقات يتجادل ميتشل حول موقف السلطة الفلسطينية في المفاوضات السابقة وتفاني أوباما في هذه العملية وضرورة تجميد المستوطنات بالكامل. يرسم عريقات خطاً ثابتاً، ويقول لا مفاوضات مباشرة من دون تجميد المستوطنات بالكامل وتضمين القدس. كما يعرب عريقات عن إحباطه في وعود الولايات المتحدة القديمة وشكوكه بقدرة أوباما؛ ويقول إن أوباما قد فقد مصداقيته في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. كما يشكو عريقات من الإجراءات التي اتخذتها الدول العربية وتقويض المفاوضات من أجل تحقيق مكاسب شخصية؛ ويتحدث بقوة على تورط مصر وربط الأجزاء الرئيسية لهذه العملية. يطلع عريقات عن استعداده للتنازل عن الحرم في مفاوضات السيادة على المدينة القديمة.

15 كانون الثاني/يناير 2010: Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat and David Hale

محضر اجتماع ديفيد هيل وصائب عريقات، بتاريخ 15 كانون الثاني/يناير 2010، حيث ناقشا في المقام الأول القضايا المتعلقة بالقدس وحدود عام 1967 ومناقصات المستوطنات. كما ناقشا وجهات نظر الدول العربية الأخرى.
عريقات: يريد الإسرائيليون حل الدولتين لكنهم لا يثقون. فهم يريدونه أكثر مما تعتقد، وأحيانا أكثر من الفلسطينيين. ما في تلك الوثيقة يعطيهم أكبر أورشليم في التاريخ اليهودي، وعدد رمزي من عودة اللاجئين، ودولة منزوعة السلاح… ما يمكنني أن أعطي أكثر؟”
هيل: هل يمكن أن نكون أكثر تحديداً…
عريقات: قيد التنفيذ… سنلتقي مع عوزي أراد. أنت تعرف الوثيقة – التي أعطيتها لدانيال، كتبها أبو مازن بنفسه، ونحن ترجمناها. أبو مازن يعرف الإسرائيليين تمام المعرفة. انه يفهم نتنياهو.

(بدون تاريخ): Palestinian Security Plan

تشجيع وتمكين السلطة الفلسطينية من الوفاء بالتزامات الأمن بشكل كامل في إطار المرحلة الأولى من خريطة الطريق.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Arab-Palestinian-Israeli Conflict / Arab-Palestinian-Israeli Negotiations and Wars / Part III: After the Oslo Accords / Palestine Papers

Palestine Papers

Al-Harem al-Sharif, Jerusalem/al-Quds Photo HH
Al-Harem al-Sharif, Jerusalem/al-Quds Photo HH

Mid-January 2011, al-Jazeera (Doha, Qatar) and The Guardian (London) published confidential documents – the so-called Palestine Papers – offering further insight in the negotiations between Israel and the PLO/PNA. Initial doubts have been allayed about the authenticity of the in total more than 1,600 documents, after Palestinian Saeb Erekat, chief negotiator, admitted that these documents had been leaked by employees of his office. From the documents it becomes clear that the Palestinian negotiators were willing to make far-reaching concessions. These included giving up a large part of East Jerusalem; acknowledging the Israeli annexation of large conglomerations of settlements around East Jerusalem and elsewhere; renouncing the right of return of Palestinian refugees who were displaced by Israel in 1947 and afterward, or who fled the acts of war; and the readiness to come down on adversaries of the peace process by use of violence, in cooperation with Israel. Conversely, the documents also reveal that the Israeli negotiators refused to comply with these proposals put forward by the Palestinian negotiators.

Key Documents


All Palestine Papers summaries published by permission of al-Jazeera’s Transparency Unit.

5 January 2004

Egyptian Plan for Palestinian Security

Egyptian plan of unspecified origin that details thoughts and proposed directives and benchmarks regarding Phase I of Roadmap implementation. The work plan describes frank Egyptian sentiments, positive and negative, on Palestinian performance and the best way to execute the Roadmap objectives. The plan expresses a desire to ensure multinational task forces work on their objectives and leave matters regarding handling/dismantling groups like Al-Aqsa Brigades to traditional security chiefs and the political leadership; overall it gives Palestinians more credit, leverage and authority in handling matters.

18 March 2005

British Security Plan: Palestinian National Security Force Report

This document, prepared by the UK’s military liaison office, is primarily a set of recommendations for strengthening the Palestinian Security Forces. One annex is a list of projects and goals – everything from training an IT staff to procuring weapons – but few of the goals contain any details about funding or progress. The recommendations contain otes about the extent of the PSF’s collaboration with Israel, and about the UK’s role in determining the makeup of the PSF.

4 February 2008

Meeting Minutes: Ahmed Qurei and Tzipi Livni

Minutes for February 4, 2008 meeting in Jerusalem. Livni mentions recent suicide bombing by Al-Aqsa Martyr’s Brigade and asks if the fighters are part of Fatah. Qurei acknowledges ‘Al-Aqsa Martyr’s Brigade is part of the Fateh movement’. Erekat says Al-Aqsa have been ‘contained after they pledged to hand over all their arm to the Palestinian security apparatuses’, adding ‘Whoever didn’t sign is outside the organization’. There is also discussion about Gaza, and Egypt’s decision to close the border. Qurei tells Livni Israel’s ‘supporting Hamas to segregate Gaza because your aim is seperation’. There is much talk by Palestinian officials about Hamas. Qurei says ‘they will apply Islamic Shari’a and export their regime to neighboring countries’, while Erekat says the battle with the group is ‘unending’.

4 May 2008

Meeting Minutes: Borders with Erekat, Qurei and Livni

Palestinians presented their position regarding borders: 1967 borders along with all areas occupied by Israel in the 1967 area, West Bank with No Man’s Land and East Jerusalem, the Jordan Valley, Gaza Strip and the Dead Sea. Palestinians also presented maps for land swaps – swaps by the ratio of 1:1 (same size and value)

21 May 2008

Meeting Minutes: Post-Annapolis Plenary Session on Territory

Minutes of a post-Annapolis plenary session on Territory. Both sides discussed news reports regarding Israel’s decision to negotiate with Syria over the return of the Golan Heights. However, the majority of the conversation focused on border and territory issues, particularly those regarding East Jerusalem and No Man’s Land.  The Israeli side presented their assessment of the Palestinian land swap proposal.

15 June 2008

Meeting Minutes: Trilateral – United States, Israel and Palestine

Minutes of meeting among US, Palestinian and Israeli delegation in Jerusalem for Annapolis negotiations. The sides discuss whether they can reach an agreement before the end of 2008. The conversation primarily focused on the use 1967 borders as a baseline, East Jerusalem, settlement annexation and related issues.

21 June 2008

Meeting Minutes: Bilateral Post-Annapolis Plenary Session

The two sides discuss what they call a ‘gap’ in their positions on core issues, from security and settlements to borders, Jerusalem and refugees. Israeli official Tzipi Livni refuses to agree on the issue of ‘compensation for occupation’, saying Israel will not pay for the damage done to the Palestinian economy as a result of her country’s decades-long occupation. The parties discuss swaps of villages, particularly swapping Arab Israeli villages to Palestine.

Tal Becker: ‘We will need to address it some how. Divided. All Palestinian. All Israeli’.

24 June 2008

Meeting Minutes: Post-Annapolis Bilaterals and Trilateral in Berlin

Minutes of bilateral meetings between Israelis and Palestinians, and Palestinians and Americans, as well as a trilateral meeting with all three parties, in Berlin. Topics of discussion focused on security issues, international involvement in security mechanisms, and the impact of Hamas. The parties also had a focused discussion on refugees and related issues during the trilateral meeting.

16 July 2008

Meeting Minutes: US-Palestinian Bilateral Session

Ahmed Qurei tells US officials that ‘nothing has happened’ on the implementation of Israel’s obligations under Annapolis or the Road Map. The parties go on to discuss settlements, refugees, and several other issues.

31 August 2008

Ehud Olmert’s ‘Package’ Offer to Mahmoud Abbas

Summary on Israel’s package offer to the Palestinians, including detailed maps of land swaps in Israel and Jerusalem. The summary includes offers on territory, Jerusalem, refugees and security.  Israel would annex 6.8% of the West Bank, and safe passage between Gaza and West Bank would be under Israeli sovereignty. Sovereignty over the Holy Basin would be delayed to a later stage. On refugees, Israel would acknowledge the suffering of – but not responsibility for – Palestinian refugees. No mention is made of security.

6 October 2008

NSU Email Re: Meeting Summary – Heads of Committee

Incomplete email from Zeinah Salahi to NSU members regarding ‘Summary of today’s heads of committees meeting’, dated October 6, 2008. The email includes a task list as well as comments regarding Bush, Rice, Olmert, Erekat and Abbas. Bush cautioned Abbas against leaving office on Jan 9, 2009; says his ‘Bush declaration’ means a Palestinian state is inevitable, though not while he’s in office; and believes it is impossible to reach an agreement with Olmert. Abbas expressed frustration at lack of progress with Olmert. Erekat suspects CIA is trying to set up Hamas as the real interlocutor. Rice insists on Abbas and Erekat following Israeli maps while latter two express immense frustration at dealing with Rice and her inability to deliver on promises. Notes indicate a concerted effort to block Rice in future negotiations

6 November 2008

Meeting Summary: Salam Fayyad with Danish, British, U.S. and EU Delegates

Email from Rashed regarding summaries of meetings Fayyad had with: Danish Foreign Minister; EU Parliamentary delegation; British Foreign Ministry; and U.S. Ambassador Welch. The EU informs Fayyad that they were denied access to PLC representatives in prison.  Fayyad spoke to both the EU and the UK about creating conditions of a settlement freeze as part of upgrading of relations with Israel. Fayyad and Welch discussed security issues.

David Welch said that the new US administration expects to see the same Palestinian faces (Abu Mazen and Salam Fayyad) if it is to continue funding the PA.

24 March 2009

Meeting Minutes: Mahmoud Abbas and NSU Advisors

Mahmoud Abbas briefs the NSU advisors on conference held in Cairo and the Permanent Status issues that were discussed. Permanent Status Negotiations are hold while Israel forms new government.

16 June 2009

Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat with NSU

Erekat briefs the NSU about his trip to Washington and meeting with George Mitchell. He says that Americans see a successful state of Palestine as a top priority. Obama sees the Palestinian issue as a wall between the region and Bin Laden. Erekat stressed the need for a major media campaign to isolate Netenyahu and his claims towards Palestine.

Erekat: Mullen said to Abu Mazen: We’re helping you; General Dayton is with you; and US laws don’t allow us to send you even a single bullet. You’re the most important person in the Middle East. Arabs and Muslims have only one thing on their mind: Palestine. So, we ant to help you establish a Palestinian state. We don’t want it to go the path of Pakistan, Afghanistan, Yemen and Somalia. We don’t want another failed state. Help us by showing us accountability, transparency, good laws…A Palestinian state is a cardinal interest of the USA.

24 June 2009

Meeting Summary: Saeb Erekat and Keith Dayton

Minutes of meeting primarily between Saeb Erekat and LTG Keith Dayton, dated June 24, 2009. Dayton informs Erekat of the Administration’s increased role and committment, especially in terms of budget increase. Dayton also expresses his appreciation of the work Erekat and the PA sercurity forces have been doing in meeting their obligations and creating a stable environment.

17 September 2009

Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat and David Hale

Minutes of meeting primarily between Saeb Erekat and David Hale on September 17, 2009. Hale attempts to convince Erekat to accept Israeli restraint on settlements rather than a complete freeze; he expresses concern that Erekat is being unreasonable and that some talks are better than none. Erekat refuses to compromise on 1967 borders, settlement freezes and Jerusalem; he believes they have sacrificed enough to not push for exactly what they want now.

DH: We cannot force a sovereign government. We can use persuasion and negotiations and shared interests.

SE: Of course you could if you wanted. How do you think this will reflect on the credibility of the US, if you can’t get this done?

DH: We make the call on our own credibility…

20 October 2009

Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat – George Mitchell and Saeb Erekat – Hillary Clinton

A lengthy meeting that covers: Egyptian efforts to broker a Hamas-Fatah reconciliation deal; the Goldstone report; settlements in East Jerusalem and the West Bank; and Fatah reform. The second half of the document is a briefer meeting between Clinton, Erekat and Mitchell.

21 October 2009

Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat and General James Jones

Minutes of meeting between Saeb Erekat and General James Jones at the White House, Washington, DC, dated October 21, 2009. Jones reiterates Obama’s belief that Abbas is a key player and is supported by the U.S. administration; Erekat voices his strong displeasure with Arab states’ involvement, including Saudi Arabia and Egypt.

21 October 2009

Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat and George Mitchell

Minutes of meeting among Erekat, Mitchell, Hale and Schwartz. Erekat and Mitchell argue about the PA position on previous negotiations, Obama’s dedication to the process and the need for a full settlement freeze. Erekat draws a hard line and says no direct negotiations without a full settlement freeze and inclusion of Jerusalem. Erekat also expresses frustration at past U.S. promises and doubts of Obama’s ability; he mentions that Obama has lost credibility throughout the region. Erekat also complains about the actions of the Arab states and their undermining of negotiations for personal gain; he speaks heavily of Egypt’s involvement and their bundling of key parts of the process. Erekat informs his willingness to concede the Haram in negotiations for sovereignty over the Old City.

15 January 2010

Meeting Minutes: Saeb Erekat and David Hale

Minutes of meeting between David Hale (DH) and Saeb Erekat (SE), dated January 15, 2010, where they primarily discuss issues related to Jerusalem, 1967 borders and settlement tenders. The pair also discuss viewpoints of other Arab nations.

Erekat: Israelis want the two state solution but they don’t trust. They want it more than you think, sometimes more than Palestinians. What is in that paper gives them the biggest Yerushalaim in Jewish history, symbolic number of refugees return, demilitarized state… what more can I give? 

Hale: Can we be more specific… 

Erekat: On process…we will meet with Uzi Arad. You know the paper – the paper I gave to Daniel, Abu Mazen wrote it himself we translated it. Abu Mazen knows the Israelis well. He understands Netanyahu. 

(No date given)

Palestinian Security Plan

To encourage and enable the Palestinian Authority (PA) fully to meet its security obligations under Phase 1 of the Roadmap.

Further Reading

Despite many rounds of negotiations between Palestinians and Israelis under the auspices of several parties, including t...
Palestine is made up of two geographically separate areas: the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. Together, they make up 22 p...
Palestinians have been waging a bitter struggle to establish their independent state and implement international legitim...

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.