فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الصراع العربي- الاسرائيلي- الفلسطيني / مبادرة السلام العربية في عداد الموتى

مبادرة السلام العربية في عداد الموتى

Specials- Mohammed bin Salman
فلسطينيون يستعدون لإشعال النار في علم إسرائيل وصور الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب وولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان خلال احتجاج على السياج الحدودي مع إسرائيل ، في شرق خان يونس جنوب مدينة غزة ، 13 أبريل 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Thomas COEX

باتت مبادرة السلام العربية، التي اقترحها السعوديون في مارس 2002 لحل الصراع الفلسطيني- الاسرائيلي في عداد الموتى. فقد تم الإعلان عن المبادرة لأول مرة في قمة الجامعة العربية في العاصمة اللبنانية بيروت، حيث اعتبرها العديد من المراقبين الغربيين عرضاً يصعب على إسرائيل رفضه.

كانت بنود المبادرة بسيطة: ستقيم الدول العربية علاقاتٍ دبلوماسية كاملة مع إسرائيل مقابل قيام دولة فلسطينية على طول حدود الأراضي المحتلة منذ عام 1967. وللحصول على موافقة إسرائيل، تبنت مبادرة السلام العربية موققاً متبايناً تجاه حق العودة للاجئين الفلسطينيين، وهو شرطٌ يعتبره أكثر من 4 ملايين فلسطيني يعيشون في المنفى غير قابلٍ للتفاوض.

وبعد مرور ستة عشر عاماً، بات مصير مبادرة السلام العربية الفشل بعد أن طلب ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان من الفلسطينيين “قبول السلام” أو الصمت. فقد أدلى ولي العهد بملاحظاته هذه في اجتماعٍ عُقد في مارس 2018 في نيويورك مع المنظمات اليهودية الأمريكية. وتابع قوله بأن القضية الفلسطينية لم تعد أولويةً للمملكة بسبب القضايا الأكثر إلحاحاً في المنطقة.

فقد قالت نادية حجاب، وهي رئيسة شبكة السياسات الفلسطينية “الشبكة،” لفَنَك، إن غالبية الفلسطينيين لم يفاجأوا بتصريحات محمد بن سلمان، نظراً لمسار النظام السعودي الجديد. وأضافت أن أي آمالٍ متبقية بحصول السلطة الفلسطينية على الدعم السياسي قد تلاشت الآن.

فقد قالت لنا في رسالةٍ عبر البريد الإلكتروني “كان [التصريح] بمثابة ناقوس خطرٍ بالنسبة للقيادة الفلسطينية لإعادة بناء مصادر قوتها من الداخل.” وأضافت “ينبغي أن تتثمل خطواتهم الأولى بإنهاء التنسيق الأمني مع إسرائيل، والتعلم من إخفاقات الماضي، فضلاً عن التحالف مع المجتمع المدني [الفلسطيني].”

ويعتقد خبراء آخرون أن مصير مبادرة السلام العربية كان مُقدرٌ لها الفشل منذ لحظة إعلانها. فقد رفضها أرييل شارون، رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي آنذاك، بالمجمل. وفي وقتٍ لاحق، رحب خليفته إيهود أولمرت، بالاقتراح إلا أنه جادل بأن على الفلسطينيين تقديم المزيد من التنازلات.

إلا أن القادة الفلسطينيين، الذين سئموا من اتفاقياتٍ أوسلو الفاشلة، تساءلوا عما يمكن تقديمه من تنازلاتٍ أخرى محتملة. وكتب الدكتور جودت بهجت، مدير دراسات الشرق الأوسط في جامعة أنديانا، أن إسرائيل اعتقدت أنها تستطيع تطبيع العلاقات مع العالم العربي في الوقت الذي تستطيع فيه إجبار الفلسطينيين على التخلي عن كفاحهم من أجل إقامة دولة.

وفي نهاية المطاف، نجح رهان إسرائيل. فلم تبني إسرائيل المزيد من المستوطنات غير القانونية فحسب، بل أجرت أيضاً محادثاتٍ علنية وسرية على حد سواء مع دول الخليج مثل المملكة العربية السعودية والبحرين والإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وأشار الصحفي رمزي بارود إلى أن إسرائيل لطالما سعت إلى توقيع اتفاقات سلامٍ مع الدول العربية لإنهاء عزلتها الإقليمية، بدلاً من مناقشة تسويةٍ سلمية مع الفلسطينيين. وقال إن تلك الإستراتيجية كانت حجر الأساس في سياسة إسرائيل الخارجية منذ تأسيس الدولة اليهودية.

فبدايةً، تم توقيع معاهدة السلام مع مصر في 26 مارس 1979، ليتم بعدها اغتيال الرئيس المصري أنور السادات على يد حركة الجهاد الإسلامي المصرية بعد عامين لتوقيعه على المعاهدة. ثم جاء اتفاق السلام مع الأردن، الذي وقعته إسرائيل والملك حسين في 23 أكتوبر 1994.

واليوم يبدو تطبيع العلاقات الدبلوماسية بين المملكة العربية السعودية وإسرائيل وشيكاً. ويتمثل دافع المملكة الرئيسي للقيام بذلك بخلق تحالفٍ ضخم ضد إيران، العدو اللدود لكلا البلدين.

وقال ياكوف نايجل، المستشار الأمني السابق لرئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو لصحيفة التلغراف البريطانية اليومية، إن المملكة العربية السعودية مستعدة للتوقيع على أي اتفاقات سلامٍ إسرائيلية- فلسطينية مهما كانت غير مواتية للفلسطينيين.

وأضاف “كان ينبغي عليهم [السعوديين] فقط القول بأن هناك اتفاقاً بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين، فهم لا يهتمون ولا يبالون بطبيعة ما سيكون عليه الاتفاق، كانوا بحاجة فقط للقول إن هناك اتفاقاً من أجل اتخاذ الخطوات المقبلة”.

غير أنه يشكك بقدرة المملكة العربية السعودية امتلاك ما يكفي من النفوذ لإجبار السلطة الفلسطينية على قبول اتفاق السلام. وقد صرّح مسؤولون فلسطينيون أنهم سيقاومون أي ضغوطاتٍ من الرياض من شأنها إجبارهم القبول بصفقةٍ تنحرف عن بنود مبادرة السلام العربية.

وبالفعل هذا ما فعله الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس عندما زار محمد بن سلمان في ديسمبر 2017. وأفادت الأنباء أن ولي العهد أخبر عباس بأن يقبل بإتفاقٍ أسوأ من جميع المقترحات التي حاولت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، الحليف الأكثر قرباً من اسرائيل، التوسط بها في الماضي.

وقال مسؤولون فلسطينيون وعرب وأوروبيون لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز إن محمد بن سلمان اقترح تسويةً سلمية من شأنها أن تمنح الفلسطينيين سيطرةً محدودة على مناطق غير متجاورة في الضفة الغربية.

وعلاوة على ذلك، سيتم حرمان الفلسطينيين من القدس الشرقية كعاصمةٍ لدولتهم، بينما ستبقى جميع المستوطنات الإسرائيلية غير القانونية قائمةً، كما لا يحق للاجئين الفلسطينيين في الدول العربية المجاورة العودة إلى ديارهم. وعندما سُئل عما إذا كانت السعودية ستطرح الخطة بالفعل، رفض المسؤولون في المملكة التعليق.

وبالطبع، هذه ليست المرة الأولى التي يتم فيها الضغط على الفلسطينيين للقبول بصفقةٍ خاسرة. فمنذ أن فر الفلسطينيون أو طُردوا من ديارهم عام 1948، لم تعترف إسرائيل مطلقاً بفكرة التنازل عن السيادة الكاملة لهم.

وأوضحت نادية حجاب أنه “بعد توقيع اتفاقات أوسلو، أوضح إسحاق رابين- الذي وصف بصانع السلام العظيم- أنه أياً كان الاتفاق الذي أبرم مع الفلسطينيين، فإنه لن يكون هناك دولة فلسطينية ذات سيادة، وأن إسرائيل ستحتفظ بالسيطرة الأمنية.”

وبالتالي، كانت مبادرة السلام العربية أكثر عرضٍ مقبولٍ قُدم للفلسطينيين في السنوات الأخيرة، بالرغم من أنها حدّت من حق العودة للاجئين الفلسطينيين. ولطالما أشار محمود عباس إلى مبادرة السلام العربية باعتبارها أفضل إطارٍ لضمان التوصل إلى سلامٍ عادل.

ولكن اليوم، ومع تزايد تقارب محمد بن سلمان من الجانب الاسرائيلي، يُزعم أن الأخير أقل ميلاً لقبول تسوية سلامٍ من أي وقتٍ مضى في التاريخ الحديث.

وبالرغم مما ذكر آنفاً، لا تزال الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية تزوّد إسرائيل بأكثر من 3 مليارات دولار سنوياً من المساعدات العسكرية، بينما تواصل المستوطنات غير القانونية توسعها دون أي تبعاتٍ من قِبل المجتمع الدولي. كما نقلت الولايات المتحدة سفارتها إلى القدس في 14 مايو 2018، وهو نفس اليوم الذي شهد أطلاق الجيش الإسرائيلي النار على ما لا يقل عن 60 متظاهراً سلمي في غزة مما تسبب في مقتلهم.

خلاصة القول هي أن جميع التحركات السابقة الذكر وضعت المسمار الأخير في نعش مبادرة السلام العربية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Thomas COEX | ©AFP ⁃ Thomas COEX

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Arab-Palestinian-Israeli Conflict / The Death of the Arab Peace Initiative

The Death of the Arab Peace Initiative

Specials- Mohammed bin Salman
Palestinians prepare to set fire on an Israeli flag and portraits of US President Donald Trump and Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman during a protest at the border fence with Israel, east of Khan Yunis in the southern Gaza city, on April 13, 2018. Photo AFP

The Arab Peace Initiative (API), which the Saudis proposed in March 2002 to resolve the Palestinian and Israeli conflict, is dead. The proposal was first announced at an Arab League Summit in the Lebanese capital Beirut and was considered by many Western observers as an offer that Israel could not refuse.

The terms of the deal were simple: Arab nations would  establish full diplomatic ties with Israel in exchange for a Palestinian state along the 1967 borders. To get Israel to agree, the API even adopted an ambivalent stance towards the right of return for Palestinian refugees, a condition that more than 4 million Palestinians living in exile consider unnegotiable.

Sixteen years later, the API is all but doomed after the Saudi Crown Prince Mohammad bin Salman (MBS) told Palestinians to “accept peace” or shut up. His remark was made at a March 2018 meeting in New York with American-Jewish organizations. The Palestinian issue, he continued, was no longer a priority for the kingdom due to much more pressing issues in the region.

Nadia Hijab, the president of the pro-Palestinian think tank al-Shabaka, told Fanack Chronicle that most Palestinians were not surprised by MBS’ remark, given the trajectory of the new Saudi regime. She added that any lingering hopes that the Palestinian Authority (PA) had in receiving political support has now dissipated.

“[The remark] was a wake-up call to the PA leadership to rebuild its indigenous sources of power, she said via email. “Their first steps [should be] to end security collaboration with Israel, learn from past failures and learn as well as ally with [Palestinian] civil society.”

Other experts believe that the API was doomed from the moment it was proposed. Ariel Sharon, then Israel’s prime minister, dismissed it completely. His successor, Ehud Olmert, later entertained the proposal but argued that Palestinians should make further concessions.

But Palestinian leaders, who were fed up with the failed Oslo Accords, wondered what other possible concessions they could make. Gawdat Bahgat, director of Middle Eastern Studies at Indiana University, wrote that Israel thought they could normalize relations with the Arab world while forcing Palestinians to give up their fight for statehood.

Israel’s gamble paid off. Not only has Israel built more illegal settlements, but they have also conducted public and backdoor talks with Gulf nations such as Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates.

Journalist Ramzy Baroud noted that Israel has always sought to sign peace deals with Arab countries to end its regional isolation, rather than genuinely discuss a peace settlement with Palestinians. That strategy, he said, has been the cornerstone of Israel’s foreign policy since the Jewish state was established.

First came the peace treaty with Egypt on 26 March 1979. Egypt’s President Anwar al-Sadat was assassinated by the Egyptian Islamic Jihad two years later for signing the treaty. Then came the peace agreement with Jordan, which Israel and King Hussein signed on 23 October 1994.

Today, normalizing diplomatic ties between Saudi Arabia and Israel looks imminent. The kingdom’s main motivation for doing so is to create a formidable alliance against Iran, which both countries consider their arch nemesis.

Yaacov Nigel, the former security advisor to Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, told The Telegraph, a British daily, that Saudi Arabia is willing to sign off on any deal between Israel and Palestine, regardless of how unfavourable it might be for the latter.

“The (Saudis) just have to say there is an agreement between Israel and the Palestinians, they don’t care, they don’t give a damn about what will be in the agreement,” Nagel said. “They need to say there is an agreement in order to go for next steps.”

He is, however, sceptical about whether Saudi Arabia has enough leverage to force the PA to accept a peace deal. Palestinian officials have stated that they would resist any pressure from Riyadh to accept a deal that deviates from the terms of the API.

Mahmoud Abbas, the Palestinian president, did just that when he visited MBS in December 2017. The crown prince reportedly told Abbas to accept an agreement that was worse than all the proposals that the United States (US), Israel’s closest ally, had tried to broker in the past.

Palestinian, Arab and European officials all told the New York Times that MBS proposed a peace settlement that would see Palestinians exercise limited control over non-contiguous areas of the West Bank.

Palestinians would also be denied East Jerusalem as its capital, while all illegal Israeli settlements would remain. Palestinian refugees in surrounding Arab countries would not be entitled to return to their homes. When asked if Saudi Arabia would indeed put forth the plan, officials in the kingdom refused to comment.

This is not the first time, of course, that Palestinians have been pressured to accept a raw deal. Since Palestinians fled or were expelled from their homeland in 1948, Israel has never entertained the idea of conceding full sovereignty to them.

“After the Oslo Accords were signed, (Israeli President) Yitzhak Rabin – touted as the great peacemaker – made it clear that whatever agreement was reached with the Palestinians, it would not be a sovereign Palestinian state and that Israel would keep security control,” explained Nadia Hijab.

The API was therefore the most reasonable offer presented to Palestinians in recent years, even though it limited the right of return for Palestinian refugees. Abbas often referred to the API as the best framework to ensure that a just peace is reached.

But with MBS now inching closer to Israel’s side, the latter is less inclined to accept a peace settlement than arguably any time in recent memory.

The US, after all, still provides Israel with more than $3 billion annually in military aid, while illegal settlements continue to expand without repercussions from the international community. The US also moved its embassy to Jerusalem on 14 May 2018, the same day that the Israeli military shot and killed at least 60 non-violent protestors in Gaza.

All these moves have killed the API.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.