فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الصراع العربي- الاسرائيلي- الفلسطيني / خان الأحمر يُشعل مجدداً الصراع الدولي حول المستوطنات الإسرائيلية غير القانونية

خان الأحمر يُشعل مجدداً الصراع الدولي حول المستوطنات الإسرائيلية غير القانونية

Palestine- Bedouin
طلاب فلسطينيون من البدو يسيرون في ساحة مدرستهم الابتدائية في قرية خان الأحمر في الضفة الغربية المحتلة في 6 سبتمبر 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Justin TALLIS

لكم من الوقت ستصمد خان الأحمر، وهي قرية بدوية محاصرة في الضفة الغربية المحتلة؟ فقد تم بالفعل رصد تحركات الجرافات الإسرائيلية، كما منحت المحكمة العليا الاسرائيلية موافقتها على الهدم. وبالرغم من هذا كله، وصلت الحرب حول مصير القرية إلى طريقٍ مسدود.

هدمت إسرائيل آلاف المنازل الفلسطينية، فمنذ نوفمبر 2014، ورداً على الهجمات الفلسطينية، تضمنت عمليات الهدم هذه المنازل التي تعود مُلكيتها لـ”إرهابيين محتملين” وعائلاتهم، إذ يهدف هذا الإجراء إلى ردع مثل هذه الهجمات. ومن سخرية القدر، وقبل تسع سنوات، تخلت إسرائيل عن نفس الممارسة بناءً على طلبٍ من جيشها، إذ أنه وبحسب اللواء أودي شاني، فإن إسرائيل تسببت في ضررٍ أكثر من النفع بتحريضها على الكراهية بين الفلسطينيين.

وتقدر اللجنة الإسرائيلية لمناهضة هدم المنازل أنه في الفترة بين عامي 1967 و2015، قامت إسرائيل بهدم 48,488 مبنىً فلسطيني. ولا يوجد أي دليلٍ على أن الردع المفترض قد عزز الأمن الإسرائيلي.

تعتبر جماعات حقوق الإنسان هدم منازل الفلسطينيين بمثابة “عقابٍ جماعي.” إن سياسة هدم المنازل العقابية، بحكم تعريفها، تهدف إلى إلحاق الأذى بالأشخاص الذين يشتبه في عدم ارتكابهم أي أخطاء، سوى علاقتهم بفلسطينيين هاجموا أو حاولوا مهاجمة المدنيين الإسرائيليين أو قوات الأمن، وفقاً لمنظمة بتسيلم، وهي منظمة غير حكومية معنية بحقوق الإنسان. “في جميع الحالات تقريباً، لم يعد الشخص الذي نفذ الهجوم أو كان يعتزم القيام به يعيش في المنزل، حيث قتلتهم قوات الأمن الإسرائيلية أثناء الهجوم أو تم القبض عليهم ويواجهون عقوبة سجن طويلة في إسرائيل،” بحسب مقالٍ للمنظمة في نوفمبر 2017 حول هذه القضية. ويعتبر العقاب الجماعي غير قانوني بموجب القانون الدولي، بل إن هدم المنازل دون تبريرٍ عسكري قوي هو انتهاكٌ جسيم لاتفاقية جنيف ويمكن أن يؤدي إلى توجيه تهمٍ بارتكاب جرائم حرب.

فإسرائيل لا تهدم سوى منازل الفلسطينيين، ولكن عندما يرتكب يهودي أي أذى، على سبيل المثال عندما قتل المستوطن باروخ جولدشتاين في عام 1994، 29 من المصلين المسلمين في الحرم الإبراهيمي في الخليل المحتلة، لم يفكر أحدٌ في إرسال الجرافات إلى منزل عائلته. يُستنثى من ذلك فحسب عندما قررت إسرائيل إزالة المستوطنات، كما فعلت عام 2005 إبان فك الإرتباط مع غزة.

أما في حالة خان الأحمر، فيخدم تهديد الهدم هدفاً آخر، وهو توسيع المستوطنات، إذ تقع القرية البدوية ضمن منطقةٍ تُعرف وفقاً لإسرائيل بمخطط “E1،” والتي تعدّ أكبر مستوطنةٍ مخطط لها في الضفة الغربية.

ومع التخلص من البدو، تستطيع إسرائيل السيطرة على الجزء الأوسط بأكمله من الضفة الغربية، من القدس إلى البحر الميت، ويمكنها شق المنطقة من المنتصف، مما يحرم الفلسطينيين من إمكانية السفر من الشمال إلى الجنوب أو العكس.

وفي مقالٍ افتتاحي لصحيفة جيروزاليم بوست، ناقش ديفيد م. واينبرغ، نائب الرئيس وكبير زملاء البحث في معهد القدس للدراسات الإستراتيجية ومدير مكتب إسرائيل في مركز الشؤون الإسرائيلية واليهودية في كندا، بأن “بناء 50 ألف منزلٍ على الحافة الشرقية للقدس أمرٌ خطيرٌ للغاية لمستقبل المدينة ولأمن إسرائيل.” وبصرف النظر عن حقيقة كون هذا تصرفاً غير قانوني بموجب القانون الدولي، إلا أن صدق تصريحاته مشكوك فيها. ففي ديسمبر 2017، أظهر مركز الأبحاث الإسرائيلي “مولاد” أن المستوطنات بالكاد ما تُقدم شيئاً لحماية الإسرائليين، بل إنها أيضاً تضع الأمن القومي للبلاد تحت ضغوطٍ شديدة. إن إنتشار المواطنين الإسرائيليين في الضفة الغربية يعيق عمل قوات الأمن، مما يزيد من الضغوطات على ميزانية الدفاع ويُعقّد عمل الجيش لأن خطوط الدفاع باتت أطول.

ووفقاً لواينبرغ، فإن الجدل حول التشعب في الضفة الغربية ما هي إلا “تبريراتٌ زائفة،” لأن أي ترتيباتٍ في منطقة E1 ستشتمل على “طرقٍ جانبية وممرات تحت الأرض وطرقٍ التفافية ومساحاتٍ مشتركة،” بحسب قوله. وتابع القول، “حتى أن الاتحاد الأوروبي يمول إنشاء مستوطناتٍ فلسطينية وبدوية غير شرعية في منطقة E1، لخلق ‘حقائق على الأرض‘ ومنع التنمية الإسرائيلية في هذه المنطقة.”

إن عدم الشرعية المزعومة للمباني التي يُراد هدمها هي مجرد حجة نسمعها غالباً كلما تم التطرق إلى موضوع الهدم الإسرائيلي. فهل يمول الاتحاد الأوروبي حقاً المباني غير الشرعية؟ بالطبع لا. بل إن التنمية الإسرائيلية في هذه المنطقة ما تعدّ غير قانونية بموجب القانون الدولي.

بل إن المزاعم ببناء البدو منازلهم بشكلٍ غير قانوني على أراضٍ تعود للدولة منذ خمسينيات القرن الماضي تتجاهل أيضاً حقيقة أن الأرض مملوكة للفلسطينيين في عناتا، وهي بلدةٌ تقع وسط الضفة الغربية. ووفقًا لأنجيلا غودفري غولدشتاين، وهي ناشطة بريطانية إسرائيلية تقاتل من أجل البدو لأكثر من 20 عاماً، فإن سكان البدو في خان الأحمر، وهم لاجئون من صحراء النقب في عام 1951، يمتلكون عقد إيجار من ملاك الأراضي الفلسطينيين.

وفي مقالٍ نشر على الموقع الإخباري، مجلة +972، تُشير غودفري غولدشتاين إلى “الاعتقاد الشائع” أن البدو هم من البدو الرحل، إذ تقول “تقليدياً، تم منع ملاك الأراضي، الذين يتنلقون بشكلٍ موسمي كبدو شبه رحل على أراضيهم الصحراوية الخاصة، أي بدو النقب، من قبل إسرائيل من تقديم سندات ملكية الأراضي إلى سلطة الأراضي الإسرائيلية؛ ليتم بعدها اتهامهم بالإقامة في أراضيهم، معرضين لخطر نقلهم، لتسهيل أسطورة أرض بلا شعب.”

ولا تزال نفس الإجراءات تطارد البدو الذين لا يزالوا يتواجدون في النقب. فعلى سبيل المثال، قامت السلطات الإسرائيلية بهدم قرية العراقيب الواقعة على بعد خمسة أميال شمال بئر السبع في إسرائيل، أكثر من 100 مرة. ووفقاً لجمعية ذاكرات، وهي منظمة غير حكومية إسرائيلية تعمل على تعزيز الوعي بالنكبة– الهجرة الفلسطينية الجماعية عام 1948، أنشئت قرية العراقيب خلال الفترة العثمانية، على الأرض التي اشتراها السكان في ذلك الوقت.

وبالإضافة إلى التجريف المستمر، لا يحصل سكان العراقيب على الخدمات الأساسية، فالقرية غير متصلة بشبكة الكهرباء الوطنية؛ ويستخدم السكان المولدات والألواح الشمسية. وينطبق نفس الشيء على إمدادات المياه الخاصة بهم؛ إذ يضطرون لنقل المياه في عبوات.

ففي نهاية المطاف، يواجه سكان خان الأحمر نفس المصير المتوقع، ما لم يوافقوا على العرض الإسرائيلي بالإنتقال- إلى مكبٍ للنفايات في القدس الشرقية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Justin TALLIS

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Arab-Palestinian-Israeli Conflict / Khan al-Ahmar Reignites International Row Over Israeli Illegal Settlements

Khan al-Ahmar Reignites International Row Over Israeli Illegal Settlements

Palestine- Bedouin
Palestinian Bedouin students walk in the courtyard of their primary school in the village of Khan al-Ahmar in the Israeli-occupied West Bank on September 6, 2018. Photo AFP

How long will Khan al-Ahmar, an embattled Bedouin hamlet in the occupied West Bank, stand? The Israeli bulldozers have already been spotted, and Israel’s High Court has given its permission for the demolition. Despite this, the war over the fate of the village has reached an impasse.

Israel has demolished thousands of Palestinians homes. Since November 2014, in response to Palestinian attacks, these have included homes belonging to “suspected terrorists” and their families. This measure is meant to deter such attacks. Ironically, nine years earlier, Israel abandoned the same practice at the request of its own army. According to Major General Udi Shani, Israel had caused more harm than good by inciting hatred among the Palestinians.

The Israeli Committee Against House Demolitions estimates that between 1967 and 2015, Israel razed 48,488 Palestinian structures. There is no evidence that the supposed deterrence has enhanced Israeli security.

Human rights groups regard the demolition of Palestinian homes as a ‘collective punishment’. The policy of punitive house demolition is, by definition, meant to harm people who are suspected of no wrongdoing but are related to Palestinians who attacked or attempted to attack Israeli civilians or security forces, according to B’Tselem, a human rights NGO. ‘In almost all cases, the individual who carried out the attack or planned to do so no longer lives in the house, as they were killed by Israeli security forces during the attack or were arrested and face a long prison sentence in Israel,’ the organization stated in a November 2017 article on the issue. Collective punishment is illegal under international law. The demolition of houses without overwhelming military justification is a grave breach of the Geneva Convention and could potentially lead to a war crime charge.

Israel only demolishes houses owned by Palestinians. When a Jew does any harm, for instance, when in 1994 settler Baruch Goldstein killed 29 Muslim worshippers in the Ibrahimi Mosque in occupied Hebron, no one even considered sending bulldozers to his family home. The exception to this is when Israel decides to remove settlements, as it did in the 2005 disengagement from Gaza.

In the case of Khan al-Ahmar, the threat of demolition serves yet another goal, that of expanding settlements. The Bedouin village is situated in an area Israel has designated as ‘E1’, the largest planned settlement in the West Bank.

With the Bedouins removed, Israel can control the entire centre part of the West Bank, from Jerusalem to the Dead Sea, and could cut the territory in half, denying Palestinians the possibility to travel from north to south or vice versa.

In an op-ed in The Jerusalem Post, David M. Weinberg, vice president of and a senior research fellow at the Jerusalem Institute for Strategic Studies (JISS) and Israel office director of Canada’s Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs (CIJA), argued that ‘building 50,000 homes on Jerusalem’s eastern edge is critical for the future of the city and for Israel’s security’. Apart from the fact that this is illegal under international law, the veracity of his statement is questionable. In December 2017, the Israeli think tank Molad showed that the settlements not only do little to protect Israelis but put the country’s national security under heavy pressure. The scattering of Israeli citizens across the West Bank hinders the work of security forces, makes huge demands on the defence budget and complicates the work of the army because there are longer clear lines of defence.

According to Weinberg, the argument about bifurcation of the West Bank is a ‘red herring’, since any arrangement in E1 would involve ‘bypasses, underpasses, detour roads and shared spaces’, he argued. ‘Outrageously’, he continued, ‘the EU is even funding the establishment of unauthorized Palestinian and Bedouin settlements in E1, to create “facts on the ground” and prevent Israeli development in this zone.’

The alleged illegality of the structures that are to be demolished is an argument that is often heard whenever the topic of Israeli demolitions is discussed. Is the EU really funding illegal structures? Of course not. It is the Israeli development in this area that would be illegal under international law.

The claim that the Bedouins have built illegally on state lands since the 1950s also ignores the fact that the land is owned by Palestinians in Anata, a town in the central West Bank. According to Angela Godfrey-Goldstein, a British-Israeli activist who has been fighting for the Bedouins for over 20 years, the Bedouin residents of Khan al-Ahmar, refugees from the Negev desert in 1951, possess a lease from those Palestinian landowners.

In an article on the news website +972 Magazine, Godfrey-Goldstein notes the ‘common misconception’ that the Bedouin are nomads. ‘Traditionally landowners, moving seasonally as semi-nomads on their own desert lands, Negev Bedouins have been prevented by Israel from submitting their land deeds to the Israel Land Authority; they are then accused of squatting on their own lands, at risk of being moved, to facilitate the myth of a land without people.’

The same procedure still haunts the Bedouins that are still present in the Negev. For example, the village of al-Araqeeb, five miles north of Beersheba in Israel proper, has been demolished by the Israeli authorities well over 100 times. According to Zochrot, an Israeli NGO working to promote awareness of the Nakba, the Palestinian exodus of 1948, the village of al-Araqeeb was established during the Ottoman period, on land that the inhabitants purchased at the time.

In addition to the incessant bulldozing, the inhabitants of al-Araqeeb do not receive basic services. The village is not connected to the national electricity grid; the residents use generators and solar panels. The same goes for their water supply; they are forced to transport water in containers.

The inhabitants of Khan al-Ahmar face the same prospects, unless they accept Israel’s offer to move – to a garbage dump in East Jerusalem.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.