فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البحرين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / البحرين في مأزق

البحرين في مأزق

Protests and clashes continue on Bahraini streets, while the government keeps on curbing the opposition.
محتجون بحرينيون مناهضون للحكومة في مظاهرة دعما لقائد المعارضة الشيعيّة، الشيخ علي سلمان، في ضاحية البلاد القديمة في العاصمة المنامة، البحرين, 6 يناير 2015. Photo Hasan Jamali

بعد ما يقارب الخمس سنوات من الاحتجاجات في البحرين، لا يزال التوتر سيد الموقف في البلاد في ديسمبر 2015، حيث أنّ الوقت والأسماء هي المتغيرات الوحيدة في هذه الجزيرة الصغيرة. الاحتجاجات والاعتقالات والضحايا والمطالب وعدم الثقة بين الحكومة ذات الأغلبية السُنية والمعارضة الشيعية تبدو ثابتة. في الحقيقة، تجعل الأحداث السياسية التي شهدها العام الماضي احتمالات التوصل إلى حل سياسي قاتمة على نحو متزايد.

تتمتع السجون في البحرين بسمعة سيئة ولا تزال الشرارة الرئيسية للاضطرابات المتواصلة. ففي يوليو 2014، أضرب حوالي 600 سجين في سجن الحوض الجاف احتجاجاً على تدهور أوضاعهم. وبحسب ما ورد، يتعرض السجناء في سجن الحوض الجاف للتعذيب الوحشي وغيرها من الانتهاكات، حيث أكدت التقارير ومقاطع الفيديو المسربة أن حراس السجن وقوات الأمن استخدموا الغاز المسيل للدموع وقنابل الصوت داخل الزنازين المغلقة، مما أدى إلى إصابة 40 سجين على الأقل بجروح. كان هذا أسوء الإضطرابات التي حدثت في السجون البحرينة حتى مارس 2015، عندما احتج السجناء بعد أن حرمتهم السُلطات من التواصل مع أسرهم لمدة تصل إلى 13 يوماً. وتطورت الاحتجاجات إلى اضطرابات خطيرة، بعد أن تم تعذيب السجناء وضربهم وتعرضوا للاختناق بالغاز المسيل للدموع المستخدم في الزنازين المغلقة.

وفي أكتوبر 2014، أصرت الحكومة البحرينية على التحضير للانتخابات البرلمانية المزمع عقدها في 22 نوفمبر، وذكرت المعارضة أن أي انتخابات لا تتضمن انتقال سلمي إلى نظام ملكي دستوري ستكون غير عادلة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، كانت المعارضة تخشى تزوير الانتخابات. أعلنت المعارضة مقاطعة الانتخابات، مما أسفر عن مجلس برلماني موالٍ للنظام، الذي على أساسه تم تشكيل حكومة جديدة. وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، أيّدت كل من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والمملكة المتحدة نتائج الانتخابات. شجع هذا الثناء الدولي بالإنجاز الحكومي السُلطات البحرينية على مواصلة حملتها ضد المعارضة. وكانت انتخابات نوفمبر أول انتخابات برلمانية كاملة منذ استقالة نواب المعارضة في فبراير 2011، بعد بداية الانتفاضة في البحرين.

بدأت البحرين عاماً آخر من عدم الاستقرار السياسي في 2015، مع احتجاجات ضخمة بعد اعتقال الشيخ علي سلمان، الأمين العام لجمعية الوفاق الوطني الاسلامية، جماعة المعارضة الرئيسية في 28 ديسمبر. كما مددت الحكومة احتجازه دون مبررٍ قانوني. ومن ثم حكمت السُلطات على جميل كاظم، رئيس مجلس شورى الوفاق، بالسجن لمدة ستة أشهر بسبب تغريده له على حسابه الخاص على موقع تويتر، اتهم فيه الحكومة برشوة بعض المرشحين للمشاركة في الانتخابات التشريعية في نوفمبر. وفي الوقت نفسه

، كان هناك اعتقالات ومداهمات شبه يومية في أعقاب الاحتجاجات. وأدين الشيخ سلمان بالتحريض على العصيان والكراهية وإهانة هيئة رسمية، وحكم عليه بالسجن لمدة أربع سنوات، ولكن برأته المحكمة من تهمة أخطر بالسعي لقلب نظام الحكم، والتي كان من الممكن أن يحكم عليه بالسجن المؤبد. استقطب اعتقال سلمان إدانة من المجتمع الدولي، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة، حيث اعتبرته منظمات حقوق الإنسان “سجين الضمير” الذي حوكم في محاكمة غير عادلة. كما اعتبرت منظمة العفو الدولية إدانة سلمان انتهاكاً للعهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية، الذي صادقت عليه البحرين.

في غضون ذلك، صعدّت الحكومة من التوترات بسحب الجنسية من أكثر من 70 ناشط في المنفى. وينضم هؤلاء إلى الـ31 ناشط في حقوق الإنسان ومؤيدي الديمقراطية الذين تم تجريدهم من الجنسية البحرينية عام 2011 بجحة “الإضرار بأمن الدولة.” وادعت الحكومة أن التدابير الجديدة طُبقت لـ” الحفاظ على الاستقرار والأمن ومحاربة خطر التهديدات الإرهابية.” هذا وتسمح التعديلات على قانون الجنسية للدولة بإلغاء جنسية أولئك الذين تتم إدانتهم بالإرهاب، ولا يملك سوى الملك فقط السُلطة لسحب الجنسية. وكانت وزارة الداخلية قد أعدّت قائمة بأسماء أولئك الذين ستسحب منهم جنسياتهم والتي شملت نشطاء حقوق الإنسان والصحفيين والأطباء وعلماء الدين، إلى جانب 20 من السُنة المتطرفين الذين انضموا إلى صفوف تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش.”

وقد امتازت الذكرى الرابعة لإنتفاضة فبراير بالاحتجاجات. فقد خرج مئات الأشخاص إلى شوارع العاصمة، المنامة، يدعون إلى الإصلاحات التي يطالبون بها على مدى الأعوام الأربع الماضية: ملكية دستورية، وتشكيل جمعية تأسيسية لكتابة دستور جديد للبلاد يلبي طموحات وآمال جميع الفصائل في البحرين، وتشكيل مجلس تشريعي منتخب من خلال انتخابات نزيهة، وإطلاق سراح جميع المعتقلين السياسيين، وبخاصة الشيخ علي سلمان. وقد قوبلت الاحتجاجات بقنابل الغاز المسيل للدموع والرصاص المطاطي، تبعها مداهمات للمنازل.

ومن جانبٍ آخر، اتخذت الحكومة البحرينية قراراً مصيرياً في مارس 2015 بالمشاركة في الحرب على اليمن بالانضمام إلى التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية ضد المتمردين الحوثيين الشيعة في اليمن. هذا وجرمت البحرين انتقاد المشاركة في الحرب على اليمن، حيث تم اعتقال سياسيين بعد أن انتقد حزبهم، التجمع الوطني الديمقراطي (الوحدة)، الحرب بأنها غير دستورية. وتقتضي “المادة 36” من الدستور البحريني موافقة البرلمان على الحروب الدفاعية، الأمر الذي لم يتم.

ومرة أخرى، تفجر الغضب في الجزيرة عندما ألقي القبض على ناشط بارز في مجال حقوق الإنسان، نبيل رجب في 2 أبريل لاستنكاره اندلاع أعمال عنف في سجن الحوض الجاف. أثار اعتقال رجب إدانةً دولية، ليأمر الملك بالإفراج عنه لأسبابٍ صحية، بعد أن قضى ثلاثة أشهر من عقوبة الستة أشهر.

حدث سياسي آخر كان الأفراج عن إبراهيم شريف، الأمين العام السابق لجمعية وعد العلمانية. أطلق سراح شريف، وهو سُني، في 19 يونيو، بعد أن قضى 4 سنواتٍ في السجن لتورطه في احتجاجات عام 2011 المناهضة للحكومة، إلا أنه تم اعتقاله مجدداً بعد ثلاثة أسابيع فقط من إخلاء سبيله لانتقاده الحكومة في حفل أقيم لأحد ضحايا الاضطرابات.

وفي الأول من نوفمبر 2015، زار وزير خارجية المملكة المتحدة البحرين، يرافقه أفراد من قوات البحرية، ليفتتح رسمياً أعمال بناء منشأة جديدة تابعة للبحرية الملكية في البحرين. وبالتالي، تُصبح هذه المنشأة أول قاعدة عسكرية بريطانية دائمة في الشرق الأوسط، وتهدف إلى محاربة المتطرفين في المنطقة- “التحدي الكبير في عصرنا”- كما يُطلق عليها هاموند. أما التحدي الحقيقي فكان في أيدي المعارضة البحرينية، التي شهدت سعي بريطانيا لاستعادة مجدها القديم في البحرين؛ واعتبر هذا تحولاً استراتيجياً رئيسياً، مما خذل النشطاء في مجال حقوق الإنسان.

وخلال الأشهر الأخيرة من عام 2015، تمت السيطرة على الأوضاع في البحرين بحس من اليقظة، إذ بات هناك بعض الدلائل على وجود حوار بين الحكومة والمعارضة. وما بين اتهام الحكومة للمعارضة بالانسحاب من أي حوار، ويقين المعارضة بفشل الحكومة تنفيذ أيٍ من الإصلاحات، لا يزال مستقبل البلاد مظلماً.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن البحرين يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها و...
انضمت البحرين إلى مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية مايو/أيار 1981، ...
عام 2011، وصل الربيع العربي إلى البحرين. جرت الانتخابات في تشرين الأ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: HASAN JAMALI ©Hollandse Hoogte

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Bahrain / Past to Present / Bahrain Faces a Stalemate

Bahrain Faces a Stalemate

Protests and clashes continue on Bahraini streets, while the government keeps on curbing the opposition.
Bahraini anti-government protesters march in support of Shiite opposition leader Sheik Ali Salman in Bilad Al Qadeem, Manama, Bahrain, 6 January 2015.Photo Hasan Jamali

After nearly five years of protests in Bahrain, tension still rules the country in December 2015. Time and names are the only variables in the tiny island nation. Protests, arrests, victims, demands, and lack of trust between the mainly Sunni government and mainly Shiite opposition seem unchanging. In fact, the political events of the past year make prospects for a political resolution increasingly dim.

Bahrain’s prison has a notorious reputation and remains a major flashpoint in the ongoing unrest. In July 2014 about 600 prisoners went on strike at the Dry Dock Prison in protest against their deteriorating situation. The prisoners held at the Dry Dock Prison have reportedly been subjected to severe torture and other abuses. The reports and leaked videos confirmed that prison guards and security forces used tear gas and stun grenades inside closed cells, resulting in at least 40 injuries. That was the worse unrest in Bahraini prisons until March 2015, when prisoners protested after authorities denied contact with their families for up to 13 days. The protest became serious unrest,when detainees were tortured, beaten, and subjected to suffocation by tear gas used in closed cells.

In October 2014 the Bahraini government insisted on preparing for parliamentary elections to be held on 22 November. The opposition stated that any elections without a peaceful transfer to a constitutional monarchy would be unfair. In addition, it feared vote rigging. The opposition announced an election boycott, which resulted in a completely pro-regime parliament, on the basis of which a new government was formed. The election was endorsed by the United States and the United Kingdom. This international praise for the government’s achievement encouraged the Bahraini authorities to continue their crackdown on the opposition. The November election was the first full parliamentary vote since opposition MPs resigned in February 2011, after the beginning of the uprising in Bahrain.

Bahrain started another year of political instability in 2015, with massive protests after the arrest of Sheikh Ali Salman, the secretary general of the al-Wefaq National Islamic Society, the main opposition group, on 28 December. The government extended his detention without legal justification. Authorities then sentenced Jamil Kazem, the president of the al-Wefaq Shura Council, to six months in prison for a post on his personal Twitter account, in which he accused the government of bribing some candidates to take part in the legislative elections in November. Meanwhile, there were almost daily arrests and raids following protests. Sheikh Salman was convicted of inciting disobedience and hatred and insulting an official body and was sentenced to four years in prison, but the court acquitted him of the more serious charge of seeking to overthrow the regime, for which he could have been jailed for life.

Salman’s arrest drew condemnation from the international community, including the US and the UK, as human-rights groups considered him a prisoner of conscience who had been prosecuted in an unfair trial. Amnesty International considered that Salman’s conviction violated the international Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, which Bahrain has ratified.

In the meantime, the government escalated tensions by revoking the citizenship of more than 70 exiled activists. Those were added to the 31 human-rights and pro-democracy activists that were stripped of their Bahraini citizenship in 2011 because they were “damaging the security of the state.” The government claimed that the new measures had been implemented to “preserve security and stability and fight the danger of terrorist threats.” Amendments to the nationality law allow the state to revoke citizenship for those guilty of terrorism, but only the king has the authority to revoke citizenship. The Ministry of Interior’s list of those whose citizenships were to be revoked included human-rights activists, journalists, doctors, and religious scholars, along with with 20 Sunni extremists that had gone to fight for Islamic State in Iraq and Syria.

The fourth anniversary of the February uprising was marked by protests. Hundreds of people took to the streets of the capital, Manama, calling for the reforms they had been demanding for the past four years: a constitutional monarchy, the formation of a constituent assembly to write a new constitution for the country that meets the aspirations and hopes of all factions of Bahrain, formation of an elected legislature through fair elections, and the release of all political detainees, especially Sheikh Ali Salman. Protests were met with tear gas and rubber bullets, followed by raids of homes.

A significant decision by the government of Bahrain made in March 2015 was to take part in the war in Yemen by joining the Saudi-led coalition against Yemen’s Shiite Houthi rebels. Bahrain criminalized criticism of war in Yemen. Two politicians were arrested after their party, the National Democratic Assembly (al-Wahdawi), criticized the war as unconstitutional. Article 36 of Bahrain’s constitution requires parliamentary approval for defensive wars, which was not sought.

Again, the island exploded in anger when the prominent human-rights activist Nabeel Rajab was arrested on 2 April for decrying an outbreak of violence in the Dry Dock Prison. Rajab’s arrest drew international condemnation, and the king ordered his release for health reasons, after he had served three months of his six-month sentence.

Another major political event was the release of Ibrahim Sharif, the former head of the Waed secular group. Sharif, a Sunni, was released on 19 June, after spending four years in jail over his involvement in 2011 anti- government protests, but was arrested again, just three weeks after his release, for criticizing the government during a ceremony for one of the victims of the unrest.

On 1 November 2015, the UK foreign secretary came to Bahrain, accompanied by navy personnel, to inaugurate formally the construction of a new Royal Navy facility in Bahrain. The facility is to become the first permanent British military base in the Middle East, designed to fight extremists in the region, the “great challenge of our time,” as Hammond called it. The real challenge was for the Bahraini opposition, which saw Britain seeking to recover its old legacy in Bahrain; it was considered as a major strategic shift, which let down human-rights campaigners.

During the final months of 2015, the situation in Bahrain was controlled with vigilance. There are few signs of a dialogue between government and opposition. Between the government’s accusation that the opposition pulled itself out of any dialogue and the opposition’s certainty that the government would fail to implement any reforms, the country’s future remains murky.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Bahrain country file provides a comprehensive overview about Bahrain, its history, politics, culture, economy...
Bahrain joined the Gulf Cooperation Council in May 1981, which also includes Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the ...
Peaceful protests, demanding economic and social justice and political and human rights, began in earnest in February 20...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: HASAN JAMALI ©Hollandse Hoogte

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update