فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البحرين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الربيع العربي في البحرين

الربيع العربي في البحرين

محتجون في دوار اللؤلؤة في نيسان/أبريل 2011 Photo HH / اضغط للتكبير
محتجون في دوار اللؤلؤة في نيسان/أبريل 2011 Photo HH / اضغط للتكبير

عام 2011، وصل الربيع العربي إلى البحرين. جرت الانتخابات في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 2010. احتجت “الوفاق” ومجموعات شيعية أخرى على القمع واسع النطاق ضد الناخبين، لا سيما في المناطق الشيعية.

ردّت الحكومة باعتقال نشطاء المعارضة. بدأت الاحتجاجات بشكل جدي في شباط/فبراير عام 2011، عند دوار اللؤلؤة في المنامة. إلى حد كبير، كان إطار هذه الاحتجاجات السلمية المطالبة بالعدالة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والحقوق السياسية وحقوق الانسان. ومع أن معظم المتظاهرين كانوا من الشيعة، صدرت دعوات الإصلاح في البداية من مختلف الطوائف.

ردت الحكومة بقوة، مما أسفر عن مقتل العشرات. وأعقب ذلك سلسلة من الاحتجاجات، والقمع، والجنازات، ثم المزيد من الاحتجاجات. عاد الانقسام للظهور بين ولي العهد، الذي بدا داعماً للجهود الرامية للحوار، ورئيس الوزراء المتشدد الذي هيمنت وجهات نظره في النهاية. وفي آذار/مارس، دخلت قوة مجلس التعاون الخليجي الذي يهيمن عليها السعوديون إلى البحرين وسحقت الانتفاضة.

في آذار/مارس 2011، أعلن الملك حالة الطوارئ وأنشأ محكمة عسكرية، محكمة الأمن الوطني، لمحاكمة أعضاء المعارضة، يرأسها قاض عسكري وقاضيين مدنيين، يتم تعيينهم جميعاً من قبل قوة دفاع البحرين. تم سجن عدد كبير من المعارضين المتورطين في ثورة 2011 دون محاكمة أو محاكمات لاحقة. وفي الأشهر التالية، تم طرد موظفين حكوميين، ولا سيما عاملين في المجال الطبي، وصحفيين. ونتيجة لتشديد الحكومة قبضتها، توحّد السنّة وراء الملك، وبدأ الصراع يأخذ نبرة طائفية بشكل متزايد.

في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، نشرت لجنة تقصي الحقائق المستقلة في البحرين تقريراً تتهم فيه قوات الأمن الحكومية باستخدام التعذيب والقوة المفرطة ضد المتظاهرين (انظر أيضاً تقرير هيومن رايتس ووتش: “لآ عدالة في البحرين“). وكانت الحكومة قد سيطرت بشكل مؤقت، ولكن التوترات الضمنية استمرت بالتأجج. وخلال اضطرابات عام 2011، استقال 18 من ممثلي “الوفاق” احتجاجاً وقاطعوا الانتخابات الفرعية في أيلول/سبتمبر عام 2011.

صور الربيع العربي في البحرين

صور من مدونات تُظهر منطقة دوار اللؤلؤة، رمز المظاهرات في شباط/فبراير وآذار/مارس عام 2011. اضغط على الصور لتكبيرها.

منظر فضائي
منظر فضائي
دوار اللؤلؤة ليلاً
دوار اللؤلؤة ليلاً
ظلال أبراج اللؤلؤة على المتظاهرين
ظلال أبراج اللؤلؤة على المتظاهرين
شيعة يصلّون Photo HH
شيعة يصلّون Photo HH
Photo HH
Photo HH
الجيش البحريني يتقدم باتجاه الساحة Photo HH
الجيش البحريني يتقدم باتجاه الساحة Photo HH
بعد مظاهرات آذار/مارس 2011
بعد مظاهرات آذار/مارس 2011
دمار نصب اللؤلؤة في آذار/مارس 2011 Photo HH
دمار نصب اللؤلؤة في آذار/مارس 2011 Photo HH

 

 

 

 

 

مزيد من القراءة

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Bahrain / Past to Present / Bahrain’s Arab Spring

Bahrain’s Arab Spring

Protesters gathering on Pearl Square, April 2011, Photo HH.

In October 2010, elections were held in Bahrain. Al-Wefaq and other Shiite groups alleged widespread voter suppression, particularly in Shiite districts. The government responded by arresting opposition activists. New protests began in earnest in February 2011, at Manama’s Pearl Roundabout. These peaceful protests were framed largely as demands for economic and social justice and political and human rights. Although most of the protesters were Shiites, the calls for reform were initially cross-sectarian.

The government responded with force, killing dozens. A cycle of protests, repression, funerals, and more protests ensued. The cleavage reappeared between the Crown Prince, who appeared to back efforts at dialogue, and the hard-line Prime Minister, whose views eventually prevailed. In March a predominantly Saudi Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) force entered Bahrain, crushing the uprising.

In March 2011, the King declared a state of emergency and established a military court, the National Safety Court to try opposition members, presided over by a military judge and two civilian judges, all appointed by the Bahraini Defence Force. A large number of dissidents involved in the 2011 uprising were imprisoned without trial or following trials internationally condemned for their lack of due process, lack of transparency and the use of torture and mistreatment during interrogation. In the following months many state employees, especially medical personnel and journalists, were fired. As the government hardened its position, Sunnis rallied behind the King, and the conflict took on an increasingly sectarian tone.

In November 2011, the Bahrain Independent Commission of Inquiry’s Investigation (or Bassiouni Commission) published a report accusing the government’s security forces of using torture and excessive force against the protesters. (See also Human Rights Watch’s report No Justice in Bahrain). The government had temporarily prevailed, but the underlying tensions continued to simmer. During the unrest in 2011 eighteen representatives of al-Wefaq resigned in protest and boycotted the by-elections to fill those seats in September 2011.

Images of the Arab Spring in Bahrain

Images found on weblogs, featuring the Pearl Roundabout, symbol of the demonstrations in February and March 2011.

Satellite view
The Pearl Roundabout by night
Pearl Towers overshadowing the demonstrators
Shiites praying, Photo HH.

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the demonstrations in March 2011
Photo HH.
The Bahraini army approaching the square / Photo HH
Destruction of the Pearl Monument, by the government, March 2011 Photo HH.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.