فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البحرين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الربيع العربي في البحرين / استمرار التمرد

استمرار التمرد

الناشط نبيل رجب يتضم إلى جنازة عبد العزيز العبار الذي قتل أثناء المظاهرات في سنابس تموز يوليو 2014 Photo Corbis
الناشط نبيل رجب يتضم إلى جنازة عبد العزيز العبار الذي قتل أثناء المظاهرات في سنابس تموز يوليو 2014 Photo Corbis

اجتمع، في 16 يناير 2014، ولي العهد الشيخ سلمان بن حمد آل خليفة، النائب الأول لرئيس مجلس الوزراء ونائب القائد الأعلى لقوات الدفاع البحرينية بوفد من جمعية الوفاق (المعارضة الشيعية) التي يرأسها رجل الدين الشيعي علي السلمان. واعتبر هذا الإجتماع من قِبل الدوائر الدولية “تفعيلاً لعملية الحوار السياسي” لحل الازمة السياسية المستمرة في البحرين منذ ثلاث سنوات، والتي انتهت رسمياً قبل ثمانية أيام لتعليق المعارضة مشاركتها في سبتمبر 2013.

واعتبر الإجتماع المفتوح لولي العهد مع المعارضة خطوة جريئة. كما التقى ولي العهد أيضاً مع وفد يمثل جمعيات الفاتح (الإئتلاف الموالي للحكومة) برئاسة الشيخ عبداللطيف المحمود ووفد آخر يمثل السلطة التشريعية.

وفي بيانٍ رسمي، أعلن القصر الملكي ” نيته عقد لقاءات ثنائية مع الأطراف المشاركة في الحوار، لضمان تمثيل رؤيا واضحة لكل طرف والتأكيد على الإرادة القوية لدور الحكومة في توحيد المجتمع والحفاظ على الوحدة”.

هذه الدعوة إلى الحوار، والتي تبعتها عدة بيانات من القصر الملكي، وضعت الأسس لحوارٍ مستقبلي، في ظل الوضع الأمني المتوتر. وطالبت المعارضة التي يقودها الشيعة، والتي تدّعي أنها تمثل الأغلبية الشيعية في البحرين، باستمرار الأجواء الأيجابية التي تُشّرع أي أبواب للحوّار، بما في ذلك إطلاق سراح سجناء الرأي ووقف المحاكمات والمداهمات الأمنية والقيود المفروضة على حرية الكلام. وطالب ممثلي الفاتح، من جانبهم، بوقف العنف من قِبل المعارضة.

بعد أسبوعين من هذه الدعوة إلى الحوار، أصدرت المحكمة الإدراية حكماً بحل مجلس علماء الشيعة وتصفية أمواله. هذا ويضم المجلس العديد من علماء الشيعة البارزين ممن يدعمون المعارضة. وجاء هذا الحكم على خلفية دعوى قضائية أقامها وزير العدل والشؤون الإسلامية والأوقاف. وقد أتهم أعضاء المجلس باستغلاله من أجل القيام بأنشطة سياسية تحت غطاء الطائفة الدينية، حيث وصفت المعارضة القرار بأنه تدخل في شؤون الدين.

الاضطهاد مستمر

ينسحب المتظاهرون المعارضون للحكومة بعد أن أطلقت الشرطة الغاز المسيل للدموع عليهم وأحدهم يحمل علم حركة الرابع عشر من فبراير. 21 حزيران يونيو 2014 Photo Corbis
ينسحب المتظاهرون المعارضون للحكومة بعد أن أطلقت الشرطة الغاز المسيل للدموع عليهم وأحدهم يحمل علم حركة الرابع عشر من فبراير. 21 حزيران يونيو 2014 Photo Corbis

وفي أبريل، رحلّت السلطات البحرينية رجل الدين الشيعي حسين نجاتي (الممثل البحريني لرجل الدين الشيعي الاكثر نفوذاً في العراق) إلى بيروت، بعد أن أسقطت السلطات الجنسية البحرينية عن رجل الدين الشيعي و30 بحرينياً آخرين في ديسمبر 2012. وفي هذه الأثناء، استمرت، في بعض الأحيان، احتجاجات عنيفة من قِبل المتظاهرين الشيعة. وتبقى هذه المظاهرات محدودة نوعاً ما مقارنةً بمظاهرات عام 2011، التي سحقتها قوات الأمن التابعة للنظام الملكي السني. وأصبحت بعض جماعات المعارضة متطرفة في رد فعلها اتجاه تدهور حقوق الإنسان وطالبت بالإطاحة بالنظام الملكي.

ومع ذلك، يتمسك تيار الوفاق بمطلبه بأن تجلب الإصلاحات نظاماً ملكياً دستورياً. وتتهم السلطات المعارضة بتبعيتها لإيران، وهو إدعاءٌ نفته كل من إيران وجماعات المعارضة. كما تتهم الحكومة وجماعات الأغلبية السنية الموالية للحكومة، المعارضة بالتحريض على العنف والإرهاب.

لم تنتهي أعمال العنف والثأر بعد دعوة الحكومة للحوار. واعتبرت المؤسسات التي تديرها الحكومة والأحزاب الموالية أنّ أعمال العنف التي تُثيرها الجماعات المتطرفة التابعة للمعارضة مؤشر، لا لُبس فيه، بعدم استعداد الأخير بأن يكونوا جزءاً من الحوار. ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، رأت المعارضة أنّ الإستخدام المفرط للقوة من جانب قوات الأمن يعدّ السبب الرئيسي لتردي حقوق الإنسان ومؤشر على عدم وجود إرادة جادة من قبل الحكومة للدخول في حوار.

كما تشكو المعارضة أيضاً من أنّ الناشطين قد حُكم عليهم بالسجن لمدة طويلة. ووفقاً لجمعية الوفاق، أصدر القضاء أحكاماً بالسجن تصل إلى أكثر من 1700 سنة ضد 173 متهماً في أبريل 2014. من بين هذه الأحكام، ما أُصدر بحق 12 متهماً بالسجن مدى الحياة بتهمة التواطؤ مع أطراف ثالثة. كما تم الحكم على متهمين آخرين بالسجن خمسة عشر عاماً بتهمة التعاون مع أطراف ثالثة، وحُكم على البعض الآخر بالسجن مدى الحياة بتهمة علاقتهم بموجة التفجيرات.

في غضون ذلك، استكمل وفد فني من مكتب المفوضية السامية لحقوق الإنسان في جنيف زيارته لمملكة البحرين. وخلال الزيارة التي استمرت لشهرين، قام الوفد بالتعاون مع المؤسسات الحكومية ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني، بوضع برنامج لمواجهة تحديات حقوق الإنسان.

وجاءت هذه الزيارة بعد حوار مطول بين المفوضية والحكومة حول الدور الحقيقي الذي يمكن أن تقوم به المفوضية في البحرين. طالبت المفوضية بعدم إعاقة عملها خلال الزيارة، ولكن حاولت الحكومة منع أي انتهاك لسيادة الدولة. ولذلك، تم تأجيل الزيارة الخاصة المقررة للمقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة المعني بالتعذيب، السيد خوان منديز، ثلاث مرات.

في يونيو 2014، نشرت 46 دولة في مجلس حقوق الإنسان، بياناً مشتركاً حول البحرين. رحب البيان ببعض الخطوات الإيجابية في البحرين، من بينها إنشاء مفوضية حقوق السجناء وزيارة الوفد الفني، ومع ذلك لا زال موضوع حقوق الإنسان  يشّكل مصدر قلق: “إننا نشعر بالقلق إزاء الاحكام الطويلة التي صدرت بحق من يمارسون حقوقهم في حرية التجمع السلمي وحرية التنظيم وعدم وجود ضمانات كافية لضمان محاكمة عادلة. نحن نشعر بالقلق إزاء قمع المظاهرات”.

في غضون ذلك، تأثر الإقتصاد البحريني في السنوات الثلاث الماضية. بدأ التأثير السلبي على الإقتصاد بالتزامن مع الأزمة الإقتصادية العالمية التي ضربت القطاع المالي وشملت الأزمة السياسية في المملكة منذ اندلاع حركة الإحتجاج في فبراير 2011. وعلى الرغم من أنّ معدل النمو الاقتصادي في المملكة قد انخفض بشكل ملحوظ، إلا أنّ الاقتصاد عموماً لم يعاني حتى الآن عواقب كارثية، حيث أن ارتفاع أسعار النفط العالمية حدَّ من تأثير الأزمة المالية وتأثيرها على الإيرادات الوطنية. ولكن النمو المطرد في الإنفاق، والدين العام، والاعتماد الكلي تقريبا على إيرادات النفط- إنتاج النفط والغاز بنسبة تفوق 70 بالمئة من إجمالي الناتج المحلي- قد تدق ناقوس الخطر لمضاعفة محتملة للمخاطر الإقتصادية والمالية في السنوات القادمة.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن البحرين يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها و...
انضمت البحرين إلى مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية مايو/أيار 1981، ...
عام 2011، وصل الربيع العربي إلى البحرين. جرت الانتخابات في تشرين الأ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

Fanack Home / Bahrain / Past to Present / Bahrain's Arab Spring / Insurgency continues

Insurgency continues

Activist Nabeel Rajab (centre) flashes the V sign as he joins mourners marching during the funeral of killed protester Abdul-Aziz al-Abbar in Sanabis, 6 July 2014 / Photo Corbis
Activist Nabeel Rajab (centre) flashes the V sign as he joins mourners marching during the funeral of killed protester Abdul-Aziz al-Abbar in Sanabis, 6 July 2014 / Photo Corbis

On 16 January 2014, Crown Prince Sheikh Salman bin Hamad Al Khalifa,  the first deputy prime minister of the kingdom of Bahrain and deputy supreme commander of the Bahrain Defense Forces, met with a delegation from al-Wefaq (the Shiite opposition) headed by the Shiite cleric Ali Salman. This meeting was considered by international circles an “activation of the political dialogue process “ to solve the three-year-old political crisis in Bahrain, which ended officially eight days before the opposition suspended its participation in September 2013.

The crown prince’s open meeting with the opposition delegation was seen as a bold step. The crown prince also met with a delegation representing the al-Fateh associations (a pro-government coalition) under the chairmanship of Sheikh Abdullatif al-Mahmoud and another delegation representing the legislative branch.

In an official statement, the Royal Palace announced “its intention to hold bilateral meetings with the parties taking part in the dialogue, so as to ensure representing a clear vision for each party and emphasizing the strong will of the government’s role  in unifying the  society and maintaining unity.”

This call for dialogue, which was followed by several statements by the Royal Palace, laid the foundations for future dialogue, amid a tense security situation. The Shiite-led opposition, which claims to represent the Shiite majority in Bahrain, has continually demanded that a positive atmosphere be created for any dialogue, including the release of prisoners of conscience and the halting of trials and security raids and restrictions on the freedom of speech. The representatives of al-Fateh have, for their part, demanded that violence by the opposition be stopped.

Two weeks after this call for dialogue, the major administrative court issued a ruling dissolving the Shiite-led Scholars Council and ordered the liquidation of its assets . The council includes several prominent Shiite scholars who support the opposition. The court ruling came against the backdrop of a lawsuit filed by the Minister of Justice and Islamic Affairs and Endowments. The members of the council have been accused of exploiting it in order to conduct political activities under the cover of religious sectarianism. The opposition described the decision as interfering in the affairs of religion.

Continuing Repression

Bahraini anti-government protesters, one carrying the flag of the February 14 opposition group, retreat as police fire tear gas to disperse a pro-democracy march in the town of Malkiya, 21 June 2014 / Photo Corbis

In April, Bahraini authorities deported the Shiite cleric Hussein al-Najati (the Bahraini representative of Iraq’s most powerful Shiite figure) to Beirut, after they had stripped the top Shiite cleric and 30 other citizens of their Bahraini citizenship in December 2012. In the meantime, violent protests by Shiite protesters have continued. The protests have remained small, relative to the demonstrations in February/March 2011, which were crushed by security forces of the Sunni monarchy. Some opposition groups have become radicalized in reaction to the deteriorating human-rights situation and have demanded the overthrow of the monarchy. Mainstream al-Wefaq, however, maintains that it wants reforms to bring about a constitutional monarchy. Authorities accuse the opposition of being in the pay of Iran, an assertion denied by both Iran and the opposition groups. The government and mainly Sunni pro-government groups accuse the opposition of inciting violence and terrorism.

Acts of violence and retaliation did not end after the government’s call for dialogue. The government-run institutions and pro-government parties considered the violence provoked by extremist opposition-inspired groups as an unmistakable indication of the lack of willingness of the latter to take part in a dialogue. On the other hand, the opposition considered excessive use of force by security forces the main reason for the deterioration in human rights and an indication of the lack of a serious will by the government to engage in dialogue.

The opposition also complains that activists have been sentenced to long prison terms. Al-Wefaq says that the judiciary issued prison sentences totaling more than 1700 years against 173 defendants in April 2014. Among them, 12 defendants accused of collaborating with third parties have been sentenced to life in prison. Other defendants have been jailed for 15 years for collaborating with third parties, and some have been sentenced to life in prison in connection with a wave of bombings.

In the meantime, a technical delegation of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights in Geneva completed its visit to Bahrain. During its two-month visit, the delegation, in collaboration with the government and civil-society institutions, set up a program to meet the challenges of human rights.

This visit came after a lengthy dialogue between the Commission and the government over the true role to be played by the Commission in Bahrain. The Commission required that its work not be hindered during the visit, but the government attempted to block any infringement of its state sovereignty. The scheduled special visit of the United Nations Special Rapporteur on torture, Juan E. Méndez, has therefore been postponed three times.

In June 2014, 46 nations published, in the Human Rights Council, a joint statement on Bahrain. The statement welcomed some positive steps in Bahrain, among them the establishment of a prisoner’s-rights commission and the visit of the technical delegation, but the human-rights situation remained of serious concern: “We are concerned about the increases in long sentences for exercising rights to freedom of peaceful assembly and of association and the lack of sufficient guarantee of fair trial. We are concerned about the repression of demonstrations.”

In the meantime, the Bahraini economy has been affected in the last three years. The negative effect on the economy began with the global economic crisis that hit the financial sector and has included the political crisis in the kingdom since the outbreak of the protest movement in February 2011. Although the rate of economic growth in the kingdom has declined significantly, the overall economy has not yet suffered catastrophic consequences, as the rise in global oil prices has reduced the impact of the financial crisis and its effect on national revenues. But the steady growth in spending, public debt, and the nearly total dependence on oil revenues—Bahraini oil and gas production accounts for more than 70 percent of GDP—could set the alarm bells ringing for a possible doubling of economic and financial risk in the coming years.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Bahrain country file provides a comprehensive overview about Bahrain, its history, politics, culture, economy...
Bahrain joined the Gulf Cooperation Council in May 1981, which also includes Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the ...
Peaceful protests, demanding economic and social justice and political and human rights, began in earnest in February 20...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!