فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البحرين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الاستقلال

الاستقلال

طابع بريدي بقيمة روبيتان

بعد إعلان الاستقلال، أعلن الأمير عيسى أن البحرين ستتبنى الشكل الدستوري للحكومة. تم إعداد مجلس وطني منتخب ذي سلطة استشارية فقط في دستور عام 1973 وتعيينه عام 1974، ولكن عيسى حلّ هذا المجلس الضعيف بعد عشرين شهراً فقط، وذلك عندما رفض تمرير قانون أمن الدولة. تميّزت ثمانينات وتسعينات القرن العشرين القمعية بالاضطرابات السياسية المستوحاة جزئياً من الثورة الإيرانية. وخلال هذه الفترة، ازداد التعاون العسكري مع الولايات الأمريكية المتحدة أيضاً. عام 1999، أعلنت وفاة الأمير عيسى عندما كان وزير الدفاع الأمريكي يهمّ بمغادرة قصر الأمير. خلف عيسى ابنه حمد الذي أدخل دستوراً جديداً عام 2002 وأعلن نفسه ملكاً. بدأ حمد فترة قصيرة الأمد من الإصلاح الليبرالي، سرعان ما ألغاه. كان البرلمان الثنائي المجلس الذي أدخله أقل قوّة ومستقلاً عن مجلس عام 1974.

إقرأ المزيد

البحرين أرخبيل مكوّن من 36 جزيرة كبيرة وصغيرة. تسمى الجزيرة الرئيس...
انضمت البحرين إلى مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية مايو/أيار 1981، ...

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Bahrain / Past to Present / Independence

Independence of Bahrain

After independence was declared on 11th August 1971, Emir Isa announced that Bahrain would adopt a constitutional form of government. An elected National Assembly with only consultative power was provided for in the Constitution of 1973 and installed in 1974, but Isa dissolved even this weak Assembly only twenty months later, when it refused to pass a state security Law. The repressive 1980s and 1990s were characterized by political unrest, inspired partly by the Iranian revolution. During this period, military cooperation with the United States also increased. In 1999 the death of Emir Isa was announced just as the US Secretary of Defence was leaving the Emir’s palace. Isa was succeeded by his son Hamad, who, in 2002, introduced a new Constitution and declared himself ‘King’ (malik). Hamad initiated a short-lived period of liberal reform, which he soon reversed. The bicameral Parliament he introduced was less powerful and independent than the Assembly of 1974.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.