فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البحرين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / في البحرين: القوة للمال

في البحرين: القوة للمال

Bahrain- Elections bahrain
ناخبون بحرينيون يقفون خارج أحد مراكز الاقتراع في المحرّق، شمال المنامة، في 24 نوفمبر 2018، بينما ينتظرون الإدلاء بأصواتهم في الإنتخابات البرلمانية. Photo AFP

في منتصف ديسمبر 2018، أي قبل أيامٍ من الإحتفال باليوم الوطني في البحرين، أضيئت المباني الشاهقة بالعاصمة المنامة بأضواء باللونين الأبيض والأحمر بقيمة ملايين الدولارات. ينطبق ذات الشيء على الآلاف من أشجار النخيل المشذبة بعناية والتي تُزيّن الطرق الرئيسية. كما تزينت كل إشارة مرور وتقاطع بلوحةٍ إعلانية ضخمة تهنىء الملك وولي العهد ورئيس الوزراء. وترفرف الأعلام الحمراء والبيضاء فوق المباني الحكومية والمنازل في الأحياء السُنيّة.

بيد أننا لا نرى أياً من هذه المظاهر الاحتفالية في القرى الشيعية، التي تصل إلى قرابة الـ30 قرية منتشرةً في جميع أنحاء الجزيرة. هناك، ترفرف الأعلام السوداء التي تركت منذ شهر محرّم، إلى جانب ملصقاتٍ لرجال الدين والأولياء الشيعة. لا يمكن رؤية الأضواء الاحتفالية في أي مكانٍ هناك.

“من الواضح أن الحكومة لا تنفق فلساً واحداً لزخرفة قراها،” كما قال أحد زعماء المجتمع البارزين من البحارنة (كما يسمي سكان الشيعة الأصليون أنفسهم)، الذي طلب عدم الكشف عن هويته. كما أنه لا يلومهم، معترفاً بأن الأمر مضيعةٌ للمال، ومعتبراً أن البحارنة لا يملكون الكثير للاحتفال به هذه الأيام.

إذا ما تغيّر شيء فهي أوضاعهم التي ازدادت سوءاً، فالتمييز في قطاع العمل آخذٌ في الارتفاع، كما يتم إسكات أعضاء المعارضة وتجريدهم من جنسيتهم. القرى مهملة، والطرقات والمنازل تفتقر إلى الصيانة، كما باتت المزيد والمزيد من الأراضي العامة، مثل الشواطىء، تقع في أيدي القطاع الخاص، مما يعوّق وصول القرويين.

فقد قاطع الكثيرون الإنتخابات الأخيرة لبرلمانٍ لا حول له ولا قوة، على الرغم من أن الحكومة التي يهيمن عليها السنة حاولت بذل قصارى جهدها لجذب الناس إلى صناديق الاقتراع. كان يتم هذا تحت الضغط، “إذا قمت بالتصويت، ستحصل على ختمٍ على جواز سفرك. دون هذا الختم، يتم الإفتراض أنكم جزءٌ من المعارضة، وهناك العديد من الأماكن في الحكومة التي يتعين عليك فيها إظهار جواز سفرك.”

ولكن، لماذا تستمر الحكومة في معاداة واستبعاد غالبية السكان الأصليين؟ قد يكون المال أحد الأسباب الجذرية لذلك. ففي بلدٍ مفلسٍ تقريباً، قد يتساءل المرء من أين تم إنفاق الأموال على هذه الزخارف والإضاءة. أو مثلاً من أين تم بناء المراكز التجارية الفاخرة مثل ذا أفينيوز ومول المملكة، أو فنادق الخمس نجوم والمجمعات السكنية الفارهة.

الجواب: بأموالٍ من الخارج، معظمها من المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة والكويت. هذه الدول السُنيّة كانت تدعم، إلى حدٍ كبير، اقتصاد البحرين المتداعي لعدة سنوات من خلال ضخ مليارات الدولارات.

يتم تمويل مراكز التسوق وغيرها من المشاريع المرموقة من قبل مستثمرين من القطاع الخاص، ومعظمهم من نفس البلدان (وبعضهم من الهند). مجمع الأفينيوز، على سبيل المثال، هو مشروعٌ كويتي، ويقال أن مول المملكة هو استثمارٌ إماراتي. فبعد الانتفاضة الفاشلة في عام 2011، تمكنت البحرين من جذب استثماراتٍ أجنبية مباشرة كبيرة.

ولكن من الذي ينفق بالفعل الأموال في مراكز التسوق والفنادق هذه؟ “بالنسبة لمعظمنا، هذه المراكز التجارية باهظة الثمن،” بحسب ما قاله الزعيم آنف الذكر. فهو يتذكر افتتاح ايكيا في وقتٍ سابق من هذا العام، “لسببٍ ما، منتجات ايكيا هنا أكثر تكلفةً من فرعها خلف الحدود في المملكة العربية السعودية. جميعنا نذهب إلى هناك بالسيارات. نحن نفكر ملياً بالأموال التي ننفقها.”

فقد بات من الواضح أثناء تجولنا في الأفينيوز أن معظم الزوار من السعودية، إذ قال زوجان كبيران في السن يتجولان على طول الواجهة البحرية إن أحد عوامل الجذب الرئيسية هو درجة الحرية الأكبر هنا. لم يعد الشباب فقط من يعبرون الجسر بين البلدين لتناول المشروبات ومرافقة الفتيات، فقد أصبحت البحرين وجهة عائلية أيضاً.

هناك حاجة ماسة للعملة الأجنبية، لكن اعتماد البلاد على مصدرٍ أو اثنين (يلعب الإماراتيون دورهم أيضاً) أمرٌ محفوفٌ بالمخاطر السياسية. فقد أصبحت البحرين بالفعل الفناء الخلفي للمملكة العربية السعودية، إذ بات بقاؤها معلقاً بالحكومة السعودية والمستثمرين السعوديين والسياح السعوديين.

ومع اعتماد القطاعين العام والخاص بكثافة على الأموال من هذا الجار بعينه، فليس من المستغرب ألا تستطيع عائلة خليفة الحاكمة التفكير في السعي إلى التقارب مع الأغلبية الشيعية. فالمملكة العربية السعودية لن تدع هذا يتم دون عقابٍ أيضاً. يحتاج المرء فقط إلى التفكير في قطر، التي واجهت حصاراً برياً وبحرياً تقوده السعودية منذ منتصف عام 2017، لإدراك الخطر. فالبحرين لا تملك المال لتحمّل غضب هذا الجار، وبالتالي فالأمر غير واردٍ على الإطلاق.

قد يأتي الإنقاذ المحتمل من حقول النفط البحرية المكتشفة حديثًا، على الرغم من أن الإنتاج سيحتاج لسنواتٍ قبل أن يوّلد دخلاً ذو أهمية. ويبقى أيضاً أن نرى من سيستفيد من هذا “الذهب الأسود.” هل سيخدم السكان الشيعة الفقراء؟

هذا ممكن، ولكن بشرطين: أولهما، نية حقيقية من آل خليفة لإيجاد حلٍ سلمي للأغلبية الساخطة؛ وثانياً، يجب أن يولد النفط ما يكفي من المال لتصبح البلاد مستقلة مالياً. فيما يتعلق بالشق الأول، كانت هناك دلائل في الماضي أن النية موجودة، على الأقل لدى البعض في الحكومة. أما بالنسبة للشق الثاني، إن لم يكن المال كافياً، سيواصل الجيران تقديم المال وإملاء سياسات البلاد. وعلى هذا النحو، سيبقى آل خليفة دون حولٍ ولا قوة.

ومن الناحية النظرية، يمكن لهذا العجز أن يعود بالفائدة على الشيعة، ففي نهاية المطاف، سيضر خلق اضطراباتٍ بالحكومة، وبالتالي، سينأى المستثمرون الجدد والسائحون بأنفسهم عن البلاد، ولن يتم إنجاز المشاريع وما إلى ذلك. ومع ذلك، كما أشار الزعيم السابق، “لدينا فقط إطارات السيارات والحجارة، بينما تمتلك الحكومة قواتٍ أمنية هائلة.” وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجلس ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان على بُعد جسرٍ عن البلاد.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن البحرين يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها و...
انضمت البحرين إلى مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية مايو/أيار 1981، ...
عام 2011، وصل الربيع العربي إلى البحرين. جرت الانتخابات في تشرين الأ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©AFP | ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Bahrain / Past to Present / In Bahrain, Money Talks

In Bahrain, Money Talks

Bahrain- Elections bahrain
Bahraini voters queue outside a polling station in Al-Muharraq, north of Manama on November 24, 2018, as they wait to cast their vote in the parliamentary election. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ unknown

In mid-December 2018, a few days before Bahrain’s national day, the capital’s high rises are lit by millions of red and white lights. The same goes for the thousands of neatly trimmed palm trees lining the main roads. Every crossing and traffic light is adorned with an enormous billboard congratulating the king, crown prince and prime minister. Red and white flags fly from government buildings and houses in Sunni suburbs.

There is none of this in the Shia villages, of which there are about 30 scattered over the island. There, the flags are black, left over from the month of Muharram, and the posters depict Shia clerics and saints. Festive lights are nowhere to be seen.

“Obviously, the government is not spending a penny on the decoration of our villages,” said a prominent community leader of the Baharna (as the original Shia habitants call themselves), who asked to remain anonymous. He does not blame them, admitting it would be a waste of money, considering that the Baharna have little to celebrate these days.

If anything, their situation has worsened. Discrimination in the job sector is on the rise and opposition members are being silenced, detained and stripped of their nationality. Villages are neglected, roads and houses are poorly maintained, and more and more public land, such as beaches, is falling into private hands, blocking access to villagers.

The recent elections for – a rather powerless – parliament were boycotted by many, although the Sunni-dominated government tried its best to attract people to the ballot boxes. Under pressure, that is. ‘If you vote, you’ll get a stamp in your passport. Without a stamp, you’re assumed to be part of the opposition, and there are many places in the government where you have to show your passport.’

But why is the government continuing to antagonize and exclude the majority of the indigenous population? Money could very well be one of the reasons. In a virtually bankrupt country, one may wonder how all those decorative lights were paid for. Or the new luxurious shopping malls such as The Avenues and the Kingdom Mall. Or the five-star hotels and residential complexes.

The answer: with money from abroad, mostly Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Kuwait. These largely Sunni states have been propping up Bahrain’s failing economy for several years with injections of billions of dollars.

The malls and other prestigious projects are funded by private investors, mostly from the same countries (and some from India). The Avenues, for example, is a Kuwaiti venture and the Kingdom Mall is said to be an Emirati investment. After the failed uprising in 2011, Bahrain managed to attract significant foreign direct investments.

But who is actually spending money in these shopping malls and hotels? “For most of us, these malls are too expensive,” said the community leader. He recalls the opening of Ikea earlier this year. “For some reason, Ikea made its products here more expensive than in its branch across the border in Saudi Arabia. We all drove down there. We think carefully about the money we spend.”

Walking around The Avenues it becomes clear that most of the visitors are Saudi Arabian. An older couple strolling along the waterfront said a major attraction is the greater degree of freedom here. It is no longer only young men who cross the bridge between the countries for drinks and girls; Bahrain has become a family destination as well.

The foreign currency is much needed, but being dependent on one or two (the Emiratis play their part as well) sources of income is politically risky. Bahrain has effectively become Saudi Arabia’s backyard, kept afloat by the Saudi government, Saudi investors and Saudi tourists.

With both the public and private sector heavily relying on money from this particular neighbour, it is no surprise that the ruling Khalifa family cannot afford to think about seeking rapprochement with the Shia majority. Saudi Arabia would not let that go unpunished either. One only needs to think of Qatar, which has faced a Saudi-led sea and land blockade since mid-2017, to see the danger. Bahrain has no money of its own to withstand the fury of this neighbour, so that is an absolute no-go.

Possible relief may come from the newly discovered offshore oilfields, although it will take years before production generates significant income. It also remains to be seen who will benefit from this ‘black gold’. Will it bring relief to the impoverished Shia population?

Maybe, but on two conditions: 1) a true intention by the House of Khalifa to find a peaceful solution for the disgruntled majority; and 2) the oil must generate enough money for the country to become financially independent. With regards to the first, there have been signs in the past that the intention is there, at least in some parts of the government. As for the second, if the money is not enough, the neighbours will keep chipping in and dictating the country’s politics. As such, the Khalifa’s hands are tied.

Theoretically, this impotency could benefit the Shias. Creating unrest would ultimately harm the government. New investors and tourists would stay away, projects would go unfinished and so on. However, as the community leader pointed out, “We only have car tyres and stones, the government has formidable security forces.” In addition, Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman is just a bridge away.

Further Reading

Bahrain is an archipelago of about 36 islands and islets. Its main island – whose 134-metre-high Jabal al-Dukhan (Moun...
Bahrain joined the Gulf Cooperation Council in May 1981, which also includes Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the ...
Peaceful protests, demanding economic and social justice and political and human rights, began in earnest in February 20...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ unknown | ©AFP ⁃ unknown

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.