فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البحرين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / نحو الإصلاح

نحو الإصلاح

عندما توفي الأمير عيسى بن سلمان آل خليفة في 6 آذار/مارس عام 1999 بنوبة قلبية بعد حكم دام أكثر من 37 عاماً، ترك البلاد وراءه في حالة اضطراب. وصل العداء الطويل الأمد بين شيعة المدن الساخطين والطبقات العليا التي معظمها من السنّة والمسيطرة على القطاع التجاري في المنامة وعلى الحكومة، إلى أوجه في أواخر تسعينات القرن لعشرين. واعتباراً من عام 1994، تصادم المتظاهرون الشيعة مراراً مع قوات الأمن المستعدة دائماً لإطلاق النار. طالب المتظاهرون باستعادة المجلس الوطني المنتخب الذي كان في الفترة من عام 1973 إلى عام 1975 (عندما تم تعليق الدستور) والعودة إلى الحكم الدستوري. دائماً ما كانت الحكومة تشير إلى التأثيرات “الأجنبية” (أي إيران)، ولكن يمكن التوصل إلى جذور الاضطرابات الداخلية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية بوضوح من ازدياد هجمات الحرائق المتعمدة الموجهة إلى العمال الآسيويين المهاجرين. كان وضع الاقتصاد غير مستقر، ومن الطبيعي أن يمقت الشيعة العاطلون عن العمل استيراد العمال بأجور مرتفعة من الدول الآسيوية الأقل تطوراً.

جذبت أعمال الشغب المنتظمة في الشوارع وقمعها من قبل الحكومة انتباه الصحفيين الغربيين ومنظمات حقوق الانسان. وبدورها أدت الصحافة السيئة في البحرين إلى انخفاض الاستثمارات الأجنبية، مما فاقم المشاكل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في التسعينات. بدا الحكم الاستبدادي لآل خليفة وكأنه في خطر محدق. وقيل أن بعض أفراد الأسرة الحاكمة، بما فيهم الأمير عيسى وابنه حمد، اعتقدوا بضرورة تقديم تنازلات سياسية لتحقيق الاستقرار في البلاد وضمان مكانة آل خليفة، ولكن السلطة الحقيقية في البحرين لم تكن في يد الأمير وبطانته المفترض أنهم من الاصلاحيين. كان الأمير عيسى حاكماً بالاسم، بينما شقيقه خليفة بن سلمان، الذي كان رئيس وزراء لفترة طويلة، كان الحاكم الفعلي. سيطر خليفة على قوات الأمن وعيّن المؤيدين المخلصين في مناصب وزارية رئيسية. فضّل خليفة القبضة الحديدية القديمة والمجرّبة على منح الامتيازات السياسية، مهما كانت محدودة، كحل لمشاكل البلاد. وعندما خلف حمد بن عيسى والده عام 1999، كان عليه ليس فقط مواجهة المشاكل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الطاغية في البلاد، وإنما أيضاً عمه القوي.

قوة دفاع البحرين

في صراعه مع أنصار عمه، اعتمد حمد بن عيسى على دعم الجيش، قوة دفاع البحرين التي أنشأها بنفسه في السبعينات وبقيت تحت سيطرته. كان الدعم الثابت للجيش حاسماً بالنسبة لحمد، الحقيقة التي أكدها بذاته بعد وقت قصير من توليه السلطة عام 1999، وذلك عند تقديم وارثه وابنه الأكبر سلمان كقائد أعلى جديد لقوة دفاع البحرين. لكن حمد كان بحاجة إلى قاعدة قوة أوسع لمواجهة خليفة، لذلك اعتمد على مجموعة الاصلاحيين الذين كانوا يحيطون بوالده الراحل. وبينما أظهر الأمير الجديد فتوراً ونزعة غير مقنعة نحو التحرر السياسي قبل عام 1999 – حيث شاركت قوة دفاع البحرين بنشاط في عمليات قمع، واعتمد على مجندين باكستانيين بدلاً من الشباب الشيعي المحلي لملء الصفوف الدنيا من جيشه – أعلن حمد فجأة وبشكل مثير للاستغراب عن برنامج طموح للإصلاحات السياسية في خطاب اليوم الوطني في كانون الثاني/ديسمبر عام 1999.

“الحوار الوطني”

في خطوة غير مسبوقة، دعا حمد المثقفين إلى القصر للتشاور، ووعد بـ “حوار وطني” حول الدستور. وفي تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 2000، عيّن لجنة لإعداد ميثاق وطني حول “الإطار العام لنهج الدولة المستقبلي”. وتم عرض مسودة الميثاق على عامة الشعب في الشهر التالي. كان المشروع طموحاً وفق المعايير المحلية – فقد نص على فروع حكومية تنفيذية وقضائية وتشريعية، والشعب باعتباره مصدر السلطات جميعاً، وحقوق سياسية للمرأة، وحرية التعبير. بيد أنه كان غامضاً بشكل ينذر بالشؤم. علاوة على ذلك، حدد الميثاق الأمير على أنه “رئيس السلطات الثلاث” ونص على برلمان من مجلسين حيث يتألف “المجلس الثاني” من “أهل كفاءة وخبرة” يتم تعيينهم. وعلى الرغم من بعض الشكوك، أقنعت الحكومة المعارضة بالنوايا الليبرالية للميثاق عن طريق إطلاق سراح جميع السجناء السياسيين المتبقيين وإظهار الإذعان لمطالبهم بأن يكون للهيئة المنتخبة سلطة تشريعية كما كان الحال من 1973 إلى 1975.

الأمير عيسى بن سلمان آل خليفة
الأمير عيسى بن سلمان آل خليفة

رئيس الوزراء خليفة بن سلمان
رئيس الوزراء خليفة بن سلمان

الملك حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة
الملك حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Bahrain / Past to Present / Towards Reform

Towards Reform

[four_fifth spacing=”yes” last=”no” background_color=”” background_image=”” background_repeat=”no-repeat” background_position=”left top” border_size=”0px” border_color=”” border_style=”solid” padding=”” class=”” id=””]When, on 6 March 1999, Emir Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa died of a heart attack after a reign of more than 37 years, he left behind a country in turmoil. The long-standing animosity between the disgruntled Shiites of the towns and the mostly Sunni upper classes controlling both the business district of Manama and the government, had come to a head during the late 1990s. From 1994 on, Shiite demonstrators frequently clashed with trigger-happy security forces. The rioters demanded a restoration of the elected National Assembly that had been in place from 1973 until 1975 (when the Constitution of 1973 was suspended) and a return to constitutional rule. The government always pointed to ‘foreign’ (i.e., Iranian) influences, but the internal, socio-economic roots of the unrest can be gathered clearly from the increasing arson attacks directed at migrant Asian workers. The economy was in a precarious situation, and unemployed Shiites naturally detested the importation of grossly underpaid labourers from less developed Asian countries.

The regular street riots and government crackdowns attracted the attention of Western journalists and human-rights organizations. Bahrain’s bad press in turn led to a reduction in foreign investment, which worsened the social-economic malaise of the 1990s. The autocratic rule of the Al Khalifa seemed to be in jeopardy. Some members of the ruling family, including Emir Isa and his son Hamad, are said to have believed that political concessions were needed to stabilize the country and secure Al Khalifa prominence, but real power in Bahrain did not lie with the Emir and his presumably reform-minded entourage. Emir Isa had merely reigned, while his brother Khalifa bin Salman, the long-serving Prime Minister, ruled. It was Khalifa who controlled the security forces and had placed loyal supporters in key ministerial positions. Khalifa preferred the old and tested iron fist over the granting of political concessions, however limited, as a solution to the country’s problems. So, when Hamad bin Isa succeeded his father in 1999, he had to confront not only the overwhelming social and economic problems of Bahrain but also his powerful uncle.

Bahraini Defence Force

In his struggle with his uncle’s faction Hamad bin Isa could count on the support of the army, the Bahraini Defence Force (BDF), which he had personally created in the 1970s and which remained under his control. The army’s lingering support was crucial for Hamad, a fact he emphasized, shortly after taking power in 1999, by forwarding his heir and oldest son Salman as the new commander-in-chief of the BDF. Hamad, however, needed a broader power base from which to confront Khalifa, so he turned to the reform-minded group that had surrounded his late father. While the new Emir had shown only a lacklustre and unconvincing disposition towards political liberalization before 1999 – his own BDF troops had actively taken part in the repression, and he had relied on Pakistani conscripts rather than on local Shiite youth to fill the lower ranks of his army – Hamad suddenly and surprisingly announced an ambitious programme of political reforms in his National Day address of December 1999.

‘National dialogue’

In an unprecedented step Hamad invited intellectuals to the palace for consultation and promised a ‘national dialogue’ on the Constitution. In November 2000 he appointed a committee to prepare a National Charter on ‘the general framework of the future course of the state’. Its draft was presented to the public the next month. The charter was ambitious by local standards – it spoke of separate executive, judicial, and legislative branches of government, of the people as the source of all powers, of political rights for women, and of freedom of expression. It was, however, ominously vague. Moreover, the charter named the Emir as ‘head of the three branches’, and it spoke of a bicameral Parliament with a ‘second council’ consisting of appointed ‘people of competence and experience’. Despite some scepticism, the government convinced the opposition of its liberal intentions by releasing all remaining political prisoners and appearing to acquiesce in their demand that the elected body should have legislative authority, as had been the case from 1973 to 1975.[/four_fifth] [one_fifth spacing=”yes” last=”yes” background_color=”” background_image=”” background_repeat=”no-repeat” background_position=”left top” border_size=”0px” border_color=”” border_style=”solid” padding=”” class=”” id=””]

Emir Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa.

 

Prime Minister Khalifa bin Salman.

 

King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa.

 

Prime Minister Khalifa bin Salman and King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa.

[/one_fifth]

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.