فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البحرين / حقوق الإنسان في البحرين / المجتمع الدولي يغض الطرف عن عمليات الإعدام في البحرين

المجتمع الدولي يغض الطرف عن عمليات الإعدام في البحرين

bahrain- Excutions bahrain
متظاهرون بحرينيون يشاركون في مظاهرة مناهضة لاعتقال الشيخ علي سلمان (الظاهر في اللوحات) ، رئيس حركة الوفاق المعارضة الشيعية ، 30 يناير 2015. Photo: MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH / AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH

بعد ساعات من نشر مناشدةٍ دولية لوقف إعدام رجلين بحرينيين مدانين بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب، قُتل علي محمد حكيم العرب (25 عاماً) وأحمد عيسى الملالي (24 عاماً) رمياً بالرصاص في 27 يوليو 2019.

جذبت القضايا اهتماماً وإدانةً في جميع أنحاء العالم بسبب التعذيب المزعوم للرجلين وتجاهل إجراءات التقاضي السليمة أثناء تنفيذها وسط حملة قمعٍ أوسع ضد المعارضين، لا سيما المعارضين الشيعة، في الدولة الخليجية. فقد تسارعت الجهود التي تبذلها الحكومة ذات الأغلبية السنية لقمع المعارضة منذ ثورات عام 2011، ويقول النقاد إن الحلفاء الغربيين الأقوياء يعززون الظروف التي تسمح بعمليات الإعدام التعسفي المزعومة.

قُبض على العرب والملالي في 9 فبراير 2017 بزعم مشاركتهم باقتحامٍ لأحد السجون وقتل ضابط شرطة. وتقول جماعات حقوق الإنسان إن الرجلين تعرضا للضرب والتعذيب بالصدمات الكهربائية، كما انتُزعت أظافر محمد العرب وأجبر الرجلان على التوقيع على اعترافاتٍ استخدمت كدليل في المحكمة. وقد أدينوا غيابياً في محاكمةٍ جماعية إلى جانب 58 آخرين بتهم من بينها “تشكيل جماعة إرهابية والانضمام إليها” و”التدرب على استخدام الأسلحة والمتفجرات” و”القتل ومحاولة قتل ضباط الشرطة.”

أيدت محكمة الاستئناف إداناتهم، وكذلك أحكام الإعدام التي رفض الملك تخفيفها، وهي سلطةٌ يتمتع بها بموجب القانون البحريني. كانت عمليات الإعدام هذه الأولى من نوعها التي تمت في البلاد منذ 15 يناير 2017، عندما أوردت تقارير إعلامية أن إعدام ثلاثة رجال كان أول حدثٍ من نوعه منذ عام 2010.

وبموجب القانون الدولي، يتضمن الحق في محاكمة عادلة الحق في عدم الإجبار على الشهادة ضد نفسه أو الاعتراف بالذنب، وهو ما التزمت به البحرين كموقعٍ على الاتفاقيات الناظمة.

دافعت البحرين عن إجراءاتها في بيانٍ صدر عن طريق سفارتها في لندن، مؤكدةً أن المملكة نادراً ما تنفذ عقوبة الإعدام، التي تحتفظ بها في “الحالات الأكثر خطورة،” وأنها فعلت ذلك “وفقاً للقانون الدولي ومعايير حقوق الإنسان.” ومع ذلك، قال مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان إن النتيجة تعزز المخاوف من أن عقوبة الإعدام ستصبح ممارسةً عادية وسط تعذيبٍ روتيني ونظام قضائي معيب.

فقد تعرضت البحرين، على الرغم من عدد من المحاولات لتقديم نفسها كدولةٍ تقدمية، مثل استضافة مؤتمراتٍ عالمية لتعزيز التعاون والأمن، للهجوم بسبب تصرفاتها ضد المتظاهرين والمعارضين الحكوميين. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن حكام البلاد هم من السُنة في حين أن غالبية السكان من الشيعة. وفي عام 2011، اندلعت احتجاجاتٌ شعبية في الوقت الذي سعى فيه المواطنون إلى “مشاركةٍ سياسية أكثر جدوى،” وفقاً لجوشوا كولانجيلو برايان، أحد المستشارين في هيومن رايتس ووتش.

في مارس من ذلك العام، تم قمع الاحتجاجات، وأعلنت حالة الطوارىء وجلب الملك قوات درع الجزيرة، الجناح العسكري لمجلس التعاون الخليجي. كما ظهرت مزاعم حديثة بأن البحرين استخدمت متشددي تنظيم القاعدة لاستهداف الشيعة خلال الاضطرابات. اكتسبت الأعمال الانتقامية ضد النقاد زخماً، وتم تصنيف العديد من المحتجين على أنهم إرهابيين.

بعد ثلاثة أشهر، أنشأت الحكومة اللجنة البحرينية المستقلة لتقصي الحقائق، التي تضمنت لجنةً من خبراء حقوق الإنسان الدوليين لتقييم تصرفات الحكومة خلال الاحتجاجات وخرجت بـ26 توصية. في حين تؤكد الحكومة أنها نفذت هذه التوصيات تنفيذاً كاملاً، تقول جماعات المجتمع المدني إنه تم تنفيذ توصيتين فقط.

تعمق الخلاف الطائفي في عام 2016 بعد أن أعدمت المملكة العربية السعودية، الحليف الرئيسي للبحرين، رجل الدين الشيعي نمر النمر، مما دفع البحرين إلى قطع علاقاتها مع إيران. لطالما كان يُنظر إلى إيران على أنها تهديدٌ مشترك بين دول الخليج وغالباً ما تتهم بالتدخل في شؤونها الداخلية.

تسارعت الحملة ضد ما يسمى بالمعارضين، بمن فيهم المدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان والصحفيون وأعضاء المجتمع المدني والسياسيون، في عام 2019، وفقاً للأرقام التي جمعتها جماعات حقوق الإنسان. تم سحب الجنسية من أسماء بارزة من المعارضة، وقالت الحكومة إنه حتى نشر التغريدات الناقدة أو متابعة منتقدي الحكومة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي سيشكل عملاً “لإلحاق الضرر بالسلام المدني والنسيج الاجتماعي.” ومنذ عام 2012، تم سحب الجنسية من أكثر من 900 شخص، على الرغم من أن الملك أعاد الجنسية لـ551 منهم في أبريل 2019.

وأشار جواد فيروز، رئيس منظمة سلام للديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان ومقره لندن، إلى أن توصيات اللجنة البحرينية المستقلة لتقصي الحقائق تشمل إعادة محاكمة المحتجزين. فقد تمت إعادة محاكمة بعض من تمت محاكمتهم في المحاكم العسكرية – وهي خطوة أدانتها مجموعات حقوق الإنسان – في محاكم مدنية وتم تحويل أحكام الإعدام الصادرة بحقهم إلى عقوبة السجن المؤبد، وتم العفو عن بعض الأحكام المؤبدة. وهذا، كما قال فيروز، يظهر عيوباً لدى النظام.

وقال فيروز لفَنَك: “البرلمان بالكامل في يد الأسرة الحاكمة.” وتابع “تتلاعب الحكومة و[الأسرة الحاكمة] بالتشريعات بطريقةٍ تعزز قوة الأسرة الحاكمة.” وأضاف أن هذا يبعد الحكومة عن أي شكلٍ من أشكال الحقوق المدنية والسياسية، وقيم ومبادىء حقوق الإنسان، المكرسة في كلٍ من الدستور البحريني والاتفاقيات الدولية.

وقال فيروز إن قانون مكافحة الإرهاب يستخدم لاستهداف النشطاء السياسيين وإضفاء الشرعية على إلغاء جنسيتهم، مضيفاً أن هيئات حقوق الإنسان المستقلة والمقررين الخاصين يُمنعون من إجراء تحقيقات لتقصي الحقائق في البلاد.

فقد تم حث المجتمع الدولي على ممارسة الضغط على البحرين لاحترام حرية التعبير. ومع ذلك، يعتقد الكثيرون أن الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة لم تفعل ما يكفي لانتقاد الحكومة البحرينية، التي لا تزال حليفاً رئيسياً، ومواصلة الموافقة على مبيعات الأسلحة إلى البلاد. وفي الوقت نفسه، أشارت السفارة البحرينية في واشنطن إلى استخدام أمريكا لعقوبة الإعدام، ورأى المحللون أن استئناف عمليات الإعدام الفيدرالية من قبل الولايات المتحدة كان بمثابة ضوء أخضر بحكم الواقع بالنسبة للبحرين.

وقال فيروز: “لن تجرؤ الحكومة البحرينية أبداً على المضي قُدماً وتنفيذ مثل هذه الأنواع المروعة من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان دون التأكد من أنها لن تُدان بشدة من قبل هاتين الإدارتين أو الحكومتين.”

فقد قدمت المملكة المتحدة في السابق 2,1 مليون جنيه إسترليني (2,5 مليون دولار) إلى البحرين كمساعدةٍ لإصلاح قطاع الأمن. وقال فيروز أن من الواضح أن هذا لم ينجح ويسلط الضوء على التوصيات 26 في تقرير لجنة تقصي الحقائق. وبحسب قوله “إذا ما نفذت الحكومة هذه التوصيات الـ26 وأكدت نشرها بشكلٍ مباشر، أعتقد أنه سيكون لدينا ظروف مختلفة عما نواجهه الآن.”

وبالتالي، يمكن اعتبار عمليات الإعدام الأخيرة تتويجاً لانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان المستمرة لمنع انتقاد النظام وسط انعدام الإرادة السياسية الدولية لتنفيذ الإصلاحات.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Bahrain / Human Rights in Bahrain / International Community Turns Blind Eye to Executions in Bahrain

International Community Turns Blind Eye to Executions in Bahrain

bahrain- Excutions bahrain
Bahraini protesters take part in a demonstration against the arrest of Sheikh Ali Salman (shown on the placards), head of the Shiite opposition movement al-Wefaq, on January 30, 2015. Photo: MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH / AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH

Hours after an international appeal to halt the executions of two Bahraini men convicted on terror charges, Ali Mohamed Hakeem al-Arab (25) and Ahmed Isa al-Malali (24) were killed by firing squad on 27 July 2019.

The cases attracted worldwide attention and condemnation for the alleged torture of the two men and a disregard for due process while being carried out amid a wider crackdown on dissidents, in particular Shia dissidents, in the Gulf state. Efforts by the predominantly Sunni government to suppress opposition have accelerated since the 2011 uprisings, and critics say powerful Western allies are fostering conditions that allow the alleged arbitrary executions to take place.

Al-Arab and al-Malali were arrested on 9 February 2017 for allegedly taking part in a jail break and killing a police officer. Human rights groups say the two men were beaten and tortured with electric shocks, al-Arab’s toenails were pulled out and both men were forced to sign confessions that were used as evidence in court. They were convicted in absentia in a mass trial alongside 58 others on charges that included ‘forming and joining a terrorist group’, ‘training on the use of weapons and explosives’ and ‘murder and attempted murder of police officers’.

Their convictions were upheld by an appellate court, as were their death sentences, which the king declined to commute, a power he has under Bahraini law. The executions were the first to take place in the country since 15 January 2017, when the execution of three men were reportedly the first to have taken place since 2010.

Under international law, the right to a fair trial constitutes the right not to be compelled to testify against oneself or to confess guilt, which Bahrain has committed to as a signatory of the governing conventions.

Bahrain defended its actions in a statement issued through its embassy in London, stressing that the kingdom rarely implements the death penalty, which it reserves for the most ‘serious cases’, and that it did so ‘in accordance with international law and human rights standards’. However, the Gulf Centre for Human Rights said the outcome reinforces fears that capital punishment will become standard practice amid routine torture and a flawed justice system.

Bahrain, despite a number of attempts to present itself as a progressive state, such as hosting global conferences to promote cooperation and security, has come under attack for its actions against protesters and government opponents. The country’s rulers are largely Sunni whereas the majority of the population is Shia. In 2011, popular protests erupted as citizens sought ‘‘more meaningful political participation’, according to Joshua Colangelo-Bryan, a consultant for Human Rights Watch.

In March that year, the protests were suppressed, a state of emergency was declared and the king brought in the Peninsula Shield Force, the military wing of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC). Recent allegations have also surfaced that Bahrain used al-Qaeda militants to target Shias during the unrest. Reprisals against critics gained pace, and many protestors were labelled terrorists.

Three months later, the government established the Bahrain Independent Commission of Inquiry (BICI). It comprised a panel of international human rights experts to assess the government’s actions during the protests and concluded with 26 recommendations. While the government maintains it has fully implemented these recommendations, civil society groups say only two have actually been carried out.

The sectarian rift deepened in 2016 after Saudi Arabia, a key ally of Bahrain, executed Shia cleric Nimr al-Nimr, pushing Bahrain to cut ties with Iran. Iran has long been perceived as a mutual threat among Gulf nations and is often accused of interfering in their internal affairs.

The crackdown against so-called dissidents, which include human rights defenders, journalists, civil society members and politicians, has accelerated in 2019, according to numbers collected by human rights groups. Prominent members of the opposition have had their citizenship revoked, and the government has said that even publishing critical tweets or following government critics on social media will constitute an act to ‘harm civil peace and the social fabric’. Since 2012, over 900 people have had their nationality revoked, although the king reinstated the nationality of 551 of these in April 2019.

London-based Jawad Fairooz, chairman of human rights organization SALAM for Democracy and Human Rights, pointed out that the BICI recommendations include the retrial of detainees. Some of those tried in military courts – a move condemned by human rights groups – were in fact retried in the civil courts and their death sentences were converted to life sentences, and some life sentences were pardoned. This, he said, shows the flaws in the system.

“The parliament is entirely in the hands of the ruling family,” Fairooz told Fanack. “The government and [the ruling family] are manipulating legislation in a way that strengthens the power of the ruling family.” He added that this moves the government further away from any form of civil and political rights, human rights values and principles, which are enshrined in both the Bahrain constitution and international conventions.

Anti-terrorism law is used to target political activists and legitimize the revocation of their nationality, said Fairooz, adding that independent human rights bodies and special rapporteurs are prevented from conducting fact-finding investigations in the country.

The international community has been urged to put pressure on Bahrain to respect freedom of expression. However, many believe that the United States (US) and United Kingdom (UK) have not done enough to criticize the Bahraini government, which remains a key ally, and continue to approve arms sales to the country. At the same time, the Bahraini embassy in Washington noted the America’s use of capital punishment, and analysts saw the resumption of federal executions by the US as a de facto green light for Bahrain.

“Never, ever will the Bahraini government dare to go and implement such horrific types of human rights violations without being sure that it will not be strongly condemned by these two administrations or governments,” said Fairooz.

The UK previously provided £2.1 million ($2.5 million) to Bahrain to the security sector. Fairooz said that this clearly did not work and highlights the 26 recommendations in the BICI report. “If the government implements these 26 recommendations and assures their direct dissemination, I think we could have different conditions from what we are facing now.”

The recent executions can, therefore, be seen as a culmination of ongoing human rights abuses to prevent criticism of the regime amid a lack of international political will to see reforms implemented.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.