فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البحرين / المجتمع ووسائل الإعلام والثقافة / نظرة عامة على المشهد الإعلامي في البحرين

نظرة عامة على المشهد الإعلامي في البحرين

bahrain-media-new-media-chapters-bahraini-protest-for-rajab-fanack-hh1024px
متظاهرون مناهضون للحكومة يرفعون صوراً للناشط الحقوقي المسجون نبيل رجب خلال مظاهرة تضامنية معه أمام منزله في منطقة بني جمرة، البحرين، 14 مايو 2015. Photo AP/Hasan Jamali

المحتويات

حرية التعبير
التلفزيون
الإذاعة
الصحافة
وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي
المنشورات على الانترنت

على مر التاريخ، ظلت وسائل الإعلام البحرينية، بالكامل تقريباً، تحت رعاية النخبة السُنية الحاكمة. ويعني هيكل السُلطة والتركيبة السكانية في البلاد- حيث تحكم وتدير سلالة سُنية أغلبية شيعية- أن الحكومة وضعت تركيزها، على نحوٍ تقليدي، على وسائل الإعلام كأداةٍ للدعاية، وسعت إلى التقليل من شأن الأصوات الشيعية قدر المستطاع من خلال مراقبتها الوثيقة للقطاع.

فقد أسست أول صحيفة، جريدة البحرين، عام 1939 (أوقفت عام 1944)، وجاء أول بثٍ إذاعي في البلاد بعد عامٍ من ذلك، على الرغم من أن البيئة الإعلامية الحديثة قد بدأت بالفعل عقب الاستقلال عام 1971. تم تأسيس الهيئة التنظيمية، تلفزيون البحرين (BRTC) في نفس العام، وبدأ البث التلفزيوني عام 1973. وفي عام 1976، تم تأسيس أقدم صحيفة قائمة فعلياً في البلاد، أخبار الخليج، إلى جانب وكالة أنباء البحرين.
وكما هو حال باقي دول الشرق الأوسط، تأثرت بيئة التلفزيون البحريني بشكلٍ كبير بانتشار البث الفضائي في المنطقة في ثمانينيات وتسعينيات القرن الماضي. فقد استضافت العاصمة المنامة، شركة إتصالات أوربت، وهي شبكة تلفزيونية فضائية مملوكة للمملكة العربية السعودية، بين عامي 1994 و2009. وقد قُدر تغلغل الفضائيات في المملكة عام 2010 بما نسبته 51%.

وحتى عام 2002، لم يكن هناك سوى صحيفتين قائمتين فعلياً (بالإضافة إلى نسختيهما باللغة الانجليزية)، وكلاهما كانتا تعملان تحت مظلة ما كان يُسمى وزارة الإعلام آنذاك. وفي عام 2010، تم استبدال وزارة الإعلام بهيئة شؤون الإعلام، بهدف تنظيم الصحافة في المملكة والسيطرة على تلفزيون البحرين. قاد دستور عام 2002، ظاهرياً، عهداً جديداً للمؤسسة الصحفية في المملكة، واعتباراُ من عام 2014، أدرجت هيئة شؤون الإعلام 7 منشوراتٍ يومية و15 أسبوعية قائمة فعلياً.

تعتبر البحرين من أعلى الدول انتشاراً للإنترنت (92,7% في عام 2016) في الشرق الأوسط، حيث غيرّت هذه الدرجة من الاتصال عبر الانترنت المشهد الإعلامي إلى حدٍ كبير. فقد منحت الشبكات الاجتماعية مثل فيسبوك وتويتر، إلى جانب منصات مشاركة الفيديو، مثل يوتيوب، بدايةً، جماعات المعارضة داخل المملكة وسيلةً غير مسبوقة للتعبير عن رأيهم، على الرغم من أن الحكومة ردت بقسوة من خلال إغلاق المواقع الالكترونية واعتقال المدونيين الذين يتكلمون صراحةً.

حرية التعبير

تعتبر البيئة الإعلامية في البحرين واحدة من الأكثر قمعاً في الشرق الأوسط. وتنص المادة (23) من دستور 2002 على أن “حریة الرأي والبحث العلمي مكفولة، ولكل إنسان حق التعبير عن رأيه ونشره بالقول أو الكتابة أو غيرهما.” ومع ذلك، فإن قانون الصحافة الصادر في العام نفسه ينفي بشكلٍ فعال هذا النص الدستوري، ويفرض عقوبة السجن لمدة خمس سنوات على أولئك الذين قد يعتبرون أهانوا الإسلام أو الملك، أو حرضوا على أعمال منافية لأمن الدولة، أو دعوا للتغيير في الحكومة. وفي عام 2014، تم تحديث القانون ورفع مدة السجن لسبع سنوات بتهمة إهانة الملك، وفي عام 2015، أدرج السجن لمدة عامين بتهمة “إهانة” مؤسسات الدولة مثل البرلمان وقوات الأمن.

وفي أعقاب قمع الاحتجاجات واسعة النطاق التي اندلعت عام 2011 وإعلان حالة الطوارىء في البلاد فيما بعد، أصبحت المملكة بيئة أكثر عدائية للصحفيين. فقد بدأت السلطات باعتقال الكتاب لتعبيرهم علناً عن مظالم الحكومة، وتم طرد 95 صحفياً دون أي مبررات في أعقاب الانتفاضة. وما بعد 2011، تزايدت إدانة الصحفيين بتهم المشاركة في المظاهرات أو بموجب قانون مكافحة الإرهاب، الأمر الذي قد يؤدي إلى عقوبة السجن مدى الحياة.

وفي عام 2015، أغلقت الحكومة مؤقتاً الصحيفة المستقلة الوحيدة في البحرين، صحيفة الوسط، على أساس “نشر معلوماتٍ متكررة تؤثر على الوحدة الوطنية وعلاقة المملكة مع الدول الأخرى.” توفي المؤسس المشارك للصحيفة، كريم فخراوي، أثناء احتجازه من قِبل الدولة في عام 2011.

ويعتبر هيكل السُلطة والتركيبة السكانية في البحرين أن الحكومة وضعت تركيزها، على نحوٍ تقليدي، على وسائل الإعلام كأداةٍ للدعاية، وسعت إلى التقليل من شأن الأصوات الشيعية قدر المستطاع من خلال مراقبتها الوثيقة للقطاع.
ويعتبر هيكل السُلطة والتركيبة السكانية في البحرين أن الحكومة وضعت تركيزها، على نحوٍ تقليدي، على وسائل الإعلام كأداةٍ للدعاية، وسعت إلى التقليل من شأن الأصوات الشيعية قدر المستطاع من خلال مراقبتها الوثيقة للقطاع.
ويعتبر هيكل السُلطة والتركيبة السكانية في البحرين أن الحكومة وضعت تركيزها، على نحوٍ تقليدي، على وسائل الإعلام كأداةٍ للدعاية، وسعت إلى التقليل من شأن الأصوات الشيعية قدر المستطاع من خلال مراقبتها الوثيقة للقطاع.
ويعتبر هيكل السُلطة والتركيبة السكانية في البحرين أن الحكومة وضعت تركيزها، على نحوٍ تقليدي، على وسائل الإعلام كأداةٍ للدعاية، وسعت إلى التقليل من شأن الأصوات الشيعية قدر المستطاع من خلال مراقبتها الوثيقة للقطاع.

وفي عام 2016، تم إغلاق جمعية التصوير في البحرين من قِبل السُلطات الحكومية، التي إدعت أن أعضائها يتصرفون “بما يعارض القانون والنظام العام.” وفي عام 2015، اتهم المصور المستقل، سيد أحمد الموسوي، بموجب قوانين مكافحة الإرهاب وحكم عليه بالسجن عشر سنوات لتصويره مظاهرات مناهضة للحكومة.

كما أن البحرين تعتمد أيضاً ساسية عدم التسامح مطلقاً تجاه انتقاد حلفائها في المنطقة. ففي غضون العامين الماضيين (2015-2016)، تم سجن مدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان ومعلقين سياسيين للتشكيك في الشرعية الدولية للحملة العسكرية التي تقودها المملكة العربية السعودية في اليمن.

التلفزيون

تخضع جميع القنوات المحلية للتلفزيون البحريني، ولا يتم منح تراخيص البث الخاص. يُشغل التلفزيون البحريني خمس شبكاتٍ تلفزيونية أرضية.

تتمتع القنوات الفضائية بشعبية كبيرة، وتشكل قناة الجزيرة والعربية المصدر الرئيسي لبث الأخبار في البلاد، ومع ذلك، تحتفظ الحكومة برقابة شديدة على القنوات الفضائية المتاحة. وفي عام 2011، قامت السلطات البحرينية بالتشويش على إشارة الأقمار الصناعية لقناة اللؤلؤة الموالية للمعارضة ومقرها العاصمة لندن، قبل إطلاقها، وعمدت إلى منع بثها المباشر على الانترنت داخل المملكة.

وفي عام 2015، بدأت قناة العرب، وهي قناة فضائية عربية سعودية مملوكة للملياردير السعودي الوليد بن طلال، بثها من العاصمة المنامة. أغلقت القناة بعد ساعاتٍ فقط من إنطلاقتها، بحجة عدم منحها “التصاريح المطلوبة.” أحد أول ضيوف القناة كان خليل مرزوق، وهو شخصية معارضة بحرينية بارزة.

الإذاعة


أسست أول محطة إذاعية بحرينية عام 1955، وتم إنشاء محطة باللغة الانجليزية عام 1977. وفي الوقت الحالي، يُشغل تلفزيون البحرين خمس محطاتٍ وطنية ويتمتع بشبه احتكار على البث الإذاعي. ومع ذلك، في عام 2006، تم منح رخصة لشركة خاصة لتشغيل محطة Voice FM، وهي محطة إذاعية تستهدف المُقيمن الهنود.

الصحافة

جميع الصحف الرئيسية في البحرين مملوكة للقطاع الخاص، إلا أن الحكومة تتمتع بنفوذ قوي وتعيّن بفعالية مجالس إدارتها لعدة منشورات رئيسية. صحيفة الوسط، هي الصحيفة الوحيدة التي تعمل جزئياً خارج سيطرة الدولة. كما أن موقعيّ الصحف الناطقة باللغة الانجليزية الرئيسيتين في البحرين أيضاً تنشر محتوىً مصمم خصيصاً لأكبر مجتمع من المغتربين في المملكة، من شبه القارة الهندية. الصحف التالية هي الأكثر شعبية في البحرين:

  • أخبارالخليج – أسست عام 1976، وتعتبر أقدم صحيفة قائمة فعلياً في البحرين. تُعرف بمسارها الموالي للحكومة والوحدة العربية، والميل القومي. Gulf Daily News إصدارها باللغة الانجليزية.

  • الأيام- – أسست عام 1989، يملكها مستشار للملك وتعتبر الناطق بلسان الحكومة. Daily Tribune إصدارها باللغة الانجليزية.

  • الوطن- – أسست عام 2005. صحيفة يومية موالية للحكومة وتتمع بصلات قوية مع المملكة العربية السعودية. نشرت مؤخراً مقالاتٍ تنتقد السكان الشيعة في البحرين وتربطهم بإيران.

الصحيفةمعدل التداول
أخبار الخليج40,000
الأيام36,000
الوسط30,000
الوطن30,000
البلاد25,000
الوقت20,000
Bahrain Tribune10,000

الجدول رقم (1): الصحف الأكثر شعبية حسب التداول (2009). المصدر: مجلس الشورى البحريني.

  • الوسط- – أسست عام 2002، بعد أن منحت السُلطات الحكومية زعيم المعارضة السابق، منصور الجمري، رخصةً لإنشاء صحيفة مستقلة في محاولةٍ لإثبات تنامي حرية الصحافة في المملكة. انتقدت الصحيفة الحكومة البحرية، وبخاصة خلال انتفاضة 2011، مما أدى إلى إغلاق مكاتبها بشكلٍ مؤقت (مرة أخرى عام 2015).

وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

تتمتع وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بشعبية كبيرة في البحرين، مع ما يُقدر بـ800 ألف مستخدم مسجل في موقع فيسبوك (58% من السكان) عام 2016. كما بلغ عدد مستخدمي تويتر النشطين 62 ألفاً في مارس 2014، في انخفاضٍ ملحوظ عن السنوات السابقة، ومن المحتمل أن هذا يعود إلى الحملة الأمنية ما بعد عام 2011 على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

يتم استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في البحرين كوسيلة لتبادل المعلومات التي يمكن أن تخضع لقوانين النشر في المملكة. وعلى وجه الخصوص، يستخدم الشيعة في البحرين الشبكات الاجتماعية بشكلٍ مكثف لتنظيم، وعرض، وتوثيق الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة، والذي يتم غالباً بالتعاون مع جماعات المعارضة الشيعية في المملكة العربية السعودية.

ومع ذلك، ونتيجةً لانتفاضة عام 2011، والدور الملاحظ الذي لعبته شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي في السماح لجماعات المعارضة الشيعية بالتنظيم والتواصل، شنت السلطات البحرينية منذ ذلك الحين حملةً تستهدف شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي. دفعت هذه الحملة العديد من مستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لاستخدام أسماء مستعارة أو ممارسة الرقابة الذاتية عند النشر على الانترنت، ومع ذلك لا تزال الاعتقالات شائعة. أحد أبرز الحالات، نبيل الرجبي، مؤسس مركز البحرين، غير الحكومي، لحقوق الإنسان، الذي يتم سجنه بشكلٍ متقطع منذ عام 2011. وفي عام 2015، قضى شهرين وراء القضبان من الحكم الصار بحقه بالحبس ستة أشهر بتهمة “الإساءة إلى المؤسسات الوطنية” على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. وفي عام 2016، أعيد إعتقاله ولا يزال بانتظار محاكمته حول المزيد من الانتهاكات على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، بما في ذلك انتقاد الحملة العسكرية السعودية على اليمن.

وعلى الرغم من أن قضية الرجبي قد حظيت بتغطيةٍ دولية، إلا أن البحرين تواصل فرض نهج عدم التسامح مطلقاً مع المعارضة على شبكة الانترنت. ففي أوائل عام 2016، أعلنت وزارة الداخلية اعتقال العديد من المواطنين بتهمٍ غامضة منها “سوء استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي” وصولاً إلى “تحريض الناس أو دفع الناس للإساءة إلى الآخرين.”

المنشورات على الانترنت

لا تزال بيئة الانترنت في البحرين تخضع لرقابةٍ لصيقة، دون وجود أي حرية حقيقة للتعبير. فقد وجدت دراسة أجرتها جامعة نورث وسترن عام 2013 أن 38% فقط من المستجيبين في البحرين اتفقوا مع عبارة: “على الانترنت، من الآمن أن يعبر المرء عما يجول في خاطره فيما يتعلق بالشؤون السياسية.”

وتحدد المنظمة الحقوقية الأمريكية، فريدوم هاوس، العديد من الطرق التي تستخدمها الحكومة البحرينية للحفاظ على قبضةٍ من حديد على الانترنت. فقد خفضت الحكومة من سرعة الانترنت في المملكة أثناء المناسبات والأحداث المهمة، في حين أن بإمكان السلطات الحكومية حجب المواقع الالكترونية دون أمرٍ من المحكمة. وقي عام 2010، ذكرت منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش أن الحكومة أغلقت ما لا يقل عن ألف موقع إلكتروني ومدونة وصفحة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. كما وثقت فريدوم هاوس أيضاً استخدام الحكومة لشركات العلاقات العامة و”الجيوش الالكترونية،” في محاولةٍ لتحريف النقاشات على شبكة الانترنت، وتحويلها لصالح الحكومة، وتشويه سمعة المعارضين.

فقد ولّد الاستخدام الغزير للانترنت من قِبل البحرينيين العديد من المنشورات على الانترنت، ومواقع إخبارية تعكس وجهات نظر المعارضة، مثل مرآة البحرين وملتقى البحرين، فضلاً عن منظمات حقوق الإنسان مثل مركز البحرين لحقوق الإنسان. وعلى الرغم من أن هذه المواقع لطالما كانت محجوبة من قِبل مزودي خدمة الانترنت في البحرين، إلا أن باستطاعة المواطنين الدخول إليها باستخدام الخوادم الوسطية أو الشبكات الخاصة الإفتراضية (VPNs).

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: HASAN JAMALI ©Hollandse Hoogte | HASAN JAMALI ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Home / Bahrain / Society, Media & Culture / Bahrain’s Media Landscape: An Overview

Bahrain’s Media Landscape: An Overview

bahrain-media-new-media-chapters-bahraini-protest-for-rajab-fanack-hh1024px
Anti-government protesters hold up images of jailed human rights activist Nabeel Rajab during a solidarity protest outside his home in Bani Jamra, Bahrain, 14 May 2015. Photo AP/Hasan Jamali

Throughout its history, Bahrain’s media has remained almost entirely under the auspices of the ruling Sunni elite. The country’s power structure and demographics – a Sunni dynasty reigning over a Shiite majority – mean that the government has traditionally placed particular emphasis on the media as a propaganda tool, and has sought to minimize dissident Shiite voices as much as possible through its close control of the sector.

The kingdom’s first newspaper, Jaridat al-Bahrain, was established in 1939 (ceasing publication in 1944), and the country’s first radio broadcast followed the year after, although the modern media environment truly began following independence in 1971. The regulatory body Bahrain Radio and Television Corporation (BRTC) was established in the same year, and television broadcasting began in 1973. In 1976, the country’s oldest active newspaper, Akhbar al-Khaleej, was set up, along with the Bahraini news agency.

As with the rest of the Middle East, Bahrain’s television environment has been heavily influenced by the rise of satellite broadcasting in the region in the 1980s and 1990s. The capital Manama was host to the Orbit Communications Company, a Saudi-owned satellite TV network, between 1994 and 2009. Satellite TV penetration in the kingdom was estimated at 51 per cent in 2010.

Until 2002, there were only two active newspapers (in addition to their English-language sister publications), both of which operated under the then Ministry of Information. In 2010, the Ministry of Information was replaced by the Information Affairs Authority (IAA), with the remit of regulating the kingdom’s press and controlling the BRTC. The 2002 constitution ostensibly ushered in a new era of press establishment in the kingdom, and as of 2014, the IAA listed seven daily and 15 weekly active publications.

Bahrain has one of the highest internet penetration rates (92.7 per cent in 2016) in the Middle East, and this degree of online connectivity has altered its media landscape considerably. Social networks such as Facebook and Twitter, along with video-sharing platforms such as YouTube, initially gave opposition groups inside the kingdom an unprecedented means to express their opinion, although the government responded harshly by shutting down websites and arresting outspoken bloggers.

Freedom of Expression

Bahrain’s media environment is one of the most repressive in the Middle East. Article 23 of the 2002 constitution stipulates that ‘every person has the right to express his or her view or opinion either orally or in writing or through other means’. However, a press law enacted in the same year effectively negates this constitutional provision, imposing up to five years’ imprisonment upon those deemed to have insulted Islam or the king, incited actions contrary to the security of the state or called for change in government. In 2014, the law was updated to increase the maximum prison term to seven years for insulting the king, and in 2015, a two-year prison term was introduced for ‘insulting‘ state institutions such as the parliament and security forces.

Click to enlarge. ©Fanack
Click to enlarge. ©Fanack
Click to enlarge. ©Fanack
Click to enlarge. ©Fanack

Following the quelled mass protests of 2011 and subsequent state of emergency, the kingdom became a more hostile environment for journalists. Authorities began arresting writers for publicly airing grievances against the government, and 95 journalists were fired without explanation in the immediate aftermath of the uprising. Post 2011, journalists are increasingly being convicted on charges of participating in demonstrations or under anti-terror legislation, which can result in life sentences.

In 2015, the government temporarily closed down Bahrain’s only independent newspaper al-Wasat on the grounds of ‘repeated dissemination of information that affects national unity and the kingdom’s relationship with other countries’. The newspaper’s co-founder, Karim Fakhrawi, died in state custody in 2011.

In 2016, Bahrain’s Photographic Society was shut down by government authorities, who claimed its members were acting ‘contrary to the law and public order’. In November 2015, freelance photographer Sayed Ahmed al-Mousawi was charged under anti-terror laws and given a ten-year jail sentence for photographing anti-government demonstrations.

Bahrain also has a zero-tolerance policy toward criticism of its regional allies. In the last two years 2015 and 2016, human rights defenders and political commentators have been jailed for questioning the international legality of Saudi Arabia’s military campaign in Yemen.

Television

All domestic channels are regulated by the BRTC, and private broadcasting licenses are not granted. The BRTC operates five terrestrial television networks. Satellite television is popular and al-Jazeera and al-Arabiya constitute the main sources of broadcast news in the country, yet the government maintains tight control over which satellite channels are available. In 2011, the authorities jammed the satellite signal of London-based pro-opposition outlet LuaLua TV prior to its launch, and also proceeded to block its internet livestream within the kingdom.

In 2015, al-Arab TV, a new Saudi pan-Arab satellite channel owned by Saudi billionaire businessman al-Walid bin Talal, began broadcasting from Manama. The channel was closed by Bahraini authorities hours after it began broadcasting, on the grounds that it had not been granted ‘the necessary permits’. One of the channel’s first guests had been Khalil Marzuk, a notable Bahraini opposition figure.

Radio


Bahrain’s first radio station was established in 1955, and an English-language station was created in 1977. At present, BRTC operates five national stations and holds a near-monopoly on radio broadcasting. However, in 2006 a license was granted to a private company to run Voice FM, a radio station catering to Indian expats.

Press

All of Bahrain’s major newspapers are privately owned, however the government wields strong influence and actively appoints the boards of directors for several major publications. Al-Wasat is the only newspaper that operates partially outside of state control. The websites of Bahrain’s two major English-language newspapers also publish content tailored specifically to the kingdom’s largest expat community, from the Indian subcontinent. The following newspapers are popular in Bahrain:

  • Akhbar al-Khaleej – Established in 1976, Bahrain’s oldest active newspaper. Known for its pro-government line and pan-Arab, nationalist slant. It has an English-language sister paper, the Gulf Daily News.

  • Al-Ayam – Established in 1989, owned by an advisor to the king and considered to be the government’s mouthpiece. It has an English-language sister paper, the Daily Tribune.

  • Al-Bilad – Established in 2008, strongly aligned with the government.

NewspaperAverage Circulation
Akhbar al-Khaleej40,000
Al-Ayam36,000
Al-Wasat30,000
Al-Watan30,000
Al-Bilad25,000
Al-Waqt20,000
Bahrain Tribune10,000

Table 1. Most popular newspapers by circulation (2009). Source: Bahrain Shura Council.

  • Al-Watan – Established in 2005. Pro-government daily with strong links to Saudi Arabia. Has recently published articles criticizing Bahrain’s Shiite population and linking them with Iran.

  • Al-Wasat – Established in 2002, after the ruling authorities granted permission for a former opposition leader, Mansoor al-Jamri, to create an independent newspaper in an attempt to demonstrate the kingdom’s growing press freedom. The newspaper has been critical of the Bahraini government, particularly during the 2011 uprising, which led to its offices being temporarily shut down (and again in 2015).

Social Media

Social media is hugely popular in Bahrain, with an estimated 800,000 registered Facebook users (58 per cent of the population) in 2016. The number of active Twitter users stood at 62,000 in March 2014, a marked decline on previous years, likely owing to the post-2011 security crackdown on social media.

Social media in Bahrain has been used as a means of sharing information that would otherwise have fallen foul of the kingdom’s publication laws. In particular, Bahrain’s Shiites have made extensive use of social networks to organize, stage and document anti-government protests, often in collaboration with Shiite opposition groups in Saudi Arabia.

However, as a result of the 2011 uprising, and the perceived role played by social media networks in allowing Shiite opposition groups to organize and communicate, the Bahraini authorities have since launched a targeted campaign against social networks. This crackdown has prompted many social media users to use pseudonyms or exercise self-censorship when posting online, but arrests are still common. One of the most prominent cases is that of Nabeel Rajab, founder of the NGO Bahrain Center for Human Rights, who has been imprisoned intermittently since 2011. In 2015, he served two months of a six-month sentence for ‘offending national institutions‘ on social media. In 2016, he was re-arrested and is still awaiting trial for further social media infringements, including criticizing Saudi Arabia’s military campaign in Yemen.

Although Rajab’s case has received international coverage, Bahrain continues to enforce its zero-tolerance approach to online dissent. Earlier in 2016, the Interior Ministry announced the arrest of several citizens on the vague charge of ‘misusing social media‘ to ‘incite people or instigate people to abuse others’.

Online Publications

The online environment in Bahrain remains closely controlled, without true freedom of expression. A 2013 survey conducted by North Western University found that only 38 per cent of Bahraini respondents agree with the statement: ‘On the Internet, it is safe to say whatever one thinks about political affairs’.

The American human rights organization Freedom House outlines several ways in which the Bahraini government maintains control over the internet. The government has reduced nationwide internet speeds during significant anniversaries and events, whereas state authorities can block websites without a court order. In 2010, Human Rights Watch reported that the government had shut down at least 1,000 websites, blogs and social media pages. Freedom House has also documented the state’s use of public relations firms and ‘cyber armies‘ in an attempt to skew online discussions and trending topics in favour of the government, and discredit opponents.

Bahrainis’ prolific internet use has spawned various online publications and news websites catering to opposition views, such as Bahrain Mirror and Bahrain Online, as well as human rights organizations such as The Bahrain Center for Human Rights. Although such websites have long been banned by Bahraini internet service providers, local citizens are able to access them using proxy servers and VPNs.