فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مقاطعة المنتجات الفرنسية: مَن يُعاقِب مَن

مقاطعة المنتجات الفرنسية: مَن يُعاقِب مَن

مقاطعة المنتجات الفرنسية
صورة تظهر رفاً خاوياً من العطور ومواد التجميل الفرنسية يوم ٢٨ أكتوبر ٢٠٢٠ في مدينة الكويت، وذلك في إطار مقاطعة البضائع الفرنسية التي تم إطلاقها احتجاجاً على نشر وسائل الإعلام الفرنسية للرسوم الكاريكاتيرية المسيئة للرسول محمد (ص). المصدر: YASSER AL-ZAYYAT/ AFP.

بقلم: عادل مجاهد

(باحث مختص في التخطيط الاقتصادي والتعاون الدولي)

لمجرد تصريح، للرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون، انتزع من سياقه، اشتعلت منطقة الشرق الأوسط، مؤخراً، بعاصفة لم تهدأ من الدعوات لمقاطعة المنتجات الفرنسية. وفي حين كان ماكرون يدافع عما تشكل قيمةً عليا لعصب الديمقراطية في بلاده، وهي حرية الرأي والتعبير، استغلت قوى إقليمية وجماعات الإسلام السياسي تلك التصريحات لتصب الزيت على النار.

فتركيا في مسعاها لاستعادة ما تدّعي بأنها امبراطوريتها المفقودة، تواجه حملات عربية واسعة لمقاطعة منتجاتها بسبب تدخلاتها العسكرية في غير بلدٍ عربي، واحتضانها لبعض تيارات الإسلام السني الرديكالية، وتقديم الدعم اللوجستي لبعضها الآخر. و”الوريثة العثمانية” التي تتعرض، أيضاً، لانتقاداتٍ دوليةٍ وتململٍ، على وقع تحرشاتها في شرق المتوسط، وتدخلاتها في تغذية الصراع بين أذربيجان وأرمنيا مؤخراً، قد وجدت في تصريحات رئيس الإليزيه الفرصة لدحرجة كرة نار المقاطعة الشرق أوسطية باتجاه فرنسا.

ربما كان من سوء طالع الفرنسيين، أن جاءت تصريحات رئيسهم بشأن الرسوم المسيئة للرسول الكريم محمد (ص)، على خلفية جريمة مقتل المدرس الفرنسي، مترافقة مع اقتراب ذكرى المولد النبوي، وفي أجواء التحضير للاحتفالات السنوية عند المسلمين، حيث المزاج العام مشحون ازاء ما يعتري دين الغالبية من تحامل وخوف أو ما يسمى بـ “الإسلاموفوبيا”. ما حذا بالأجنحة السياسية للتيارات الرديكالية الإسلاموية أن تطلق دعوات موازية لمقاطعة المنتجات الفرنسية، مغتنمةً المزاج الشعبي السائد.

لكن فيضاً من الأسئلة يقفز إلى الذهن، على رأسها: هل ستنجح دعوات المقاطعة الشرق الأوسطية للمنتجات الفرنسية، في ظل الرصانة والحكمة التي تتعامل بها المؤسسات الدينية، والوعي الحكومي لمعظم دول المنطقة؟ فقد اكتفت كلا المؤسستين الدينيتين الرئيسيتين، مؤسسة الأزهر الشريف، ودار الإفتاء السعودية، بالإدانة لإصرار السلطات الفرنسية على التشبث بنشر الرسوم المسيئة للنبي محمد (ص)، دون أن تشجع على مقاطعة المنتجات الفرنسية. كما دعت معظم حكومات المنطقة إلى وقف دعوات المقاطعة، وعدم الانسياق وراء ما تصدره الأقلية الرديكالية، مدركة لمآلات هذه الدعوات من أثرٍ على اقتصاداتها، ومدى تأثير المقاطعة على فقدان الميزات النسبية التي تتمتع بها المنتجات الفرنسية وفي مقدمتها صناعة النفط والطائرات والمنتجات الاستراتيجية الأخرى.

وقد شهدت المنطقة واحدة من أطول حملات المقاطعة عبر تاريخها، مدعومة بالتوافق شبه الكامل على المستوى الشعبي والحكومي، تلك التي اتُخذت إزاء المنتجات الإسرائيلية، غير أنه لا يمكن الحسم بنجاحها المطلق. ففي حين استندت مثل هذه الدعوات إلى تاريخ طويل من الصراع العربي الإسرائيلي، والانتهاكات الإسرائيلية المتكررة تجاه الشعب الفلسطيني، والتوسع في سياسات الاستيطان، والتغول على حقوق الفلسطينيين، استطاعت المنتجات الإسرائيلية العبور إلى المنطقة العربية في غير ثوب، أبرزها منتجات المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة في كل من الأردن ومصر والتي تتضمن نسبة مكون إسرائيلي لا تقل عن 8% وتصل إلى 17%، وفقاً لاتفاقيات الكويز التفضيلية، بين الولايات المتحدة وكلا البلدين.

ولا شك أن الأمر مختلف اليوم بشأن التبادل التجاري بين فرنسا ودول الشرق الأوسط، إنْ من جهة عدم التوافق الشامل على المستوى الشعبي، أو من جهة رفض حكومات المنطقة لهذه السياسات تجاه بلد كفرنسا، تربطها علاقات تجارية هامة وتاريخية على حدٍ سواء.

فقد قدرت الصادرات الفرنسية إلى الدول العربية مجتمعة وفقاً لمصادر تابعة للأمم المتحدة بنحو 30 مليار دولار في عام 2019م، من بينها 7 دول استحوذت على نحو 29 مليار دولار، في مقدمتهم الجزائر والمغرب وقطر. كما قدرت الواردات التركية من فرنسا بنحو 7 مليار دولار في العام ذاته. وبالمقارنة مع الواردات الفرنسية من هذه الدول فقد مالت جُلّ الموازين التجارية في غير صالح دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا.

إذا كان الأمر كذلك، كيف ستنجح إذن دعوات المقاطعة المزعومة للمنتجات الفرنسية؟ وإذا افترضنا جدلا نجاحها، فمَن سيكون حينها قد عاقب مَن؟.

ملاحظة

الأفكار الواردة في هذه التدوينة هي آراء المدوّن الخاص بنا ولا تعبّر بالضرورة عن آراء أو وجهات نظر فنك أو مجلس تحريرها.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP | YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Boycott of French Products: Who Punishes Whom?

Boycott of French Products: Who Punishes Whom?

Boycott of France products and goods my regional parties in the middle east and north africa
A picture shows an empty French cosmetics and perfume stand in Kuwait City on October 28, 2020, as part of a boycott of French products in protest of cartoons depicting Islam’s Prophet Mohamed published in the French media. Source: YASSER AL-ZAYYAT/ AFP.

Adel Mojahed

A statement that has been taken out of context from a speech made by the French President Emmanuel Macron was enough to set recently a storm of calls in the Middle East to boycott French products. Macron was defending what he considers a vital value for his country’s democracy; namely freedom of opinion and expression. Yet the regional powers and the political Islam groups have taken advantage of these statements to exacerbate the situation.

In line with the efforts exerted to regain its “lost empire”, Turkey faces widespread Arab campaigns to boycott its products. These campaigns have been formulated due to Turkey’s military interventions in many Arab countries, in addition to sponsoring some radical trends of Sunni Islam and providing a logistic support for other trends. Turkey has been subjected to international criticism and restlessness due to its harassment in the eastern Mediterranean. The same applies to its recent interference to escalate the conflict between Azerbaijan and Armenia. Nevertheless, the “heir of the Ottoman empire” used the French president’s statements to push the Middle East towards boycotting France.

It might be a misfortune for the French that their president’s statements regarding the offensive cartoons and the murder of the French teacher coincided with the approaching anniversary of Prophet Mohammad’s birthday. During preparing for the annual celebrations among Muslims, the general mood is fraught with prejudice and fear of “Islamophobia”. This has prompted the political wings of radical Islamist trends to launch parallel calls to boycott French products, taking by this advantage of the prevailing popular mood.

Nevertheless, many questions come in mind. One of them is the following: Will the calls for a Middle Eastern boycott of French products succeed? This question should be dealt with while keeping in mind the prudent and wise manner with which the religious and the governmental institutions deal with such a situation in the region. For example, the two main religious institutions in the region – Al-Azhar Al-Sharif Foundation and the Saudi Dar Al-Ifta – condemned the insistence of the French authorities on publishing the offensive cartoons. However, this action has not been accompanied with encouraging a boycott of French products. In addition, most of the region’s governments called for stopping boycott calls; asking people not to be led by what the radical minority says. This stance is based on the negative impact that such calls might come with on the economies of the region’s countries. Furthermore, it is based on the fact that the boycott will lead to losing the relative advantages afforded with the French products, especially in the oil industry, aircraft and other strategic products.

The region has witnessed one of the longest boycott campaigns in its history, supported by almost a complete consensus at the popular and governmental levels when it came to the Israeli products. However, the absolute success of these campaigns cannot be dealt with as if it is a constructive fact. It is true that such calls were based on a long history of the Arab-Israeli conflict, in addition to the repeated Israeli violations against the Palestinian people, the policies of settlements’ expansion and the intrusion on the rights of the Palestinians. Yet the Israeli products have been able to cross into the Arab region through different ways. Most notably the products were provided by the qualified industrial zones in both Jordan and Egypt. According to the Qualified Industrial Zones agreement that United States signed with both Arab countries, products made in these zones must include Israeli components whose percentage range between 8% and 17% of each product.

Of course, the current situation of trade exchange between France and the Middle Eastern countries is different, either due to the lack of a consensus to boycott at the popular level, or due to the reluctance of the region´s governments to follow such policies towards a country like France; given that these countries have important and historical trade relations with the European country.

According to United Nations sources, the collective French exports to Arab countries were estimated at 30 billion US dollars in 2019. 7 countries acquired about 29 billion dollars of these exports, including Algeria, Morocco and Qatar. Turkish imports from France were estimated at US 7 billion dollars in the same year. Compared to the French imports from these countries, most of the trade scales were tipped against the interests of the countries of the Middle East and North Africa.

After coming with these numbers, questions should pop out about how the alleged boycott calls for French products will work. And even if we assume that these calls will succeed, another question should immediately come into our mind: who is in this case punishing the other?

Disclaimer

The opinions expressed in this publication are those of our bloggers. They do not purport to reflect the opinions or views of Fanack or its Board of Editors.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP | YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!