فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مواليد العنف الجنسي في مناطق سيطرة “الدولة الإسلامية” بحاجة لاستجابة فاعلة من المجتمع الدولي

مواليد العنف الجنسي في مناطق سيطرة “الدولة الإسلامية” بحاجة لاستجابة فاعلة من المجتمع الدولي

Iraq- Zainab Bengura
زينب بانغورة، الممثلة الخاصة للأمم المتحدة المعنية بمكافحة العنف الجنسي في حالات النزاع. Photo AFP

نشر موقع “The Conversationمقالة سلط فيها الضوء على ما يواجهه الأطفال المولودين نتيجة العنف الجنسي الذي مارسه مقاتلو تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” من مصاعب قانونية ومجتمعية. وتشير صاحبة المقالة إثني داودز، المحاضرة المتخصصة في القانون الجنائي الدولي بجامعة كوينز بلفاست، إلى ضرورة التفكير بالخطوات المقبلة التي ينبغي اتخاذها بعد انهيار “دولة الخلافة” وبما يكفل التخفيف من وطأة ما عاناه الناس من ممارسات هذا التنظيم.

وبحسب داودز فإنه من الصعوبة بمكان تحديد العدد الدقيق للأطفال الذين ولدوا في “دولة الخلافة” نتيجة تعرّض أمهاتهم للعنف الجنسي، مشيرةً إلى أن عدد النساء اللواتي كنّ حوامل في مناطق سيطرة تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية بلغ 31 ألف إمرأة في مارس 2016. وفي الوقت الذي يعتري فيه الغموض الظروف المصاحبة لحالات الحمل المذكورة، فقد تم تسليط الضوء في أحد التقارير الأخيرة المرتبطة باستخدام الرق الجنسي ضمن مناطق سيطرة “الدولة الإسلامية” على الأبعاد الاقتصادية التي تحملها حالات الحمل المذكورة. وكان التنظيم يدفع 35 دولار أمريكي إضافية لكل طفل يولد لإمرأة تم احتجازها كـ”أَمَة جنسية”.

وتواجه هذه الفئة من الأطفال تحديات فريدة من نوعها. فعلى الرغم من حصولهم على شهادات ميلاد من تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية”، إلا أنه لم يتم التعامل مع هذا التنظيم كجهة حكومية، وهو ما جعل هؤلاء الأطفال على أرض الواقع بمثابة عديمي الجنسية. وبحسب داودز، فإن مقاتلي تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” ينظرون إلى هؤلاء الأطفال باعتبارهم مشاريع مقاتلين أفضل وأكثر فتكاً بفضل اعتيادهم على العنف وتشربهم لعقيدة متطرفة منذ ولادتهم.

وتفرض هذه العوامل تحديات بالغة الأهمية أمام الأطفال الذين نجوا من براثن تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية”. فهؤلاء الأطفال لا يحظوا بجنسية معترف بها، كما أنهم يواجهون مشكلات متعددة من وزن التمييز والحرمان من التعليم والرعاية الصحية. ويزداد الأمر سوءاً في ظل تعامل الآخرين معهم باعتبارهم تهديداً أمنياً. وترى داودز أن الناس يتعاملون مع أطفال تنظيم الدولة باعتبارهم “مذنبين بالمشاركة” عوضاً عن التعامل بوصفهم ضحايا بحاجة للدعم. وفي مايو 2017، تم نعت بعض هؤلاء الأطفال وأمهاتهم بـ”الداعشيين” لدى دخول أحد مخيمات اللاجئين شمال الرقة، حيث تعامل معهم المقيمون في المخيم باعتبارهم عائلات تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية”، وهو ما أدى إلى رفضهم وعزلهم.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الأطفال الذين ولدوا نتيجة العنف الجنسي أثناء النزاعات، ومن ضمنهم أطفال تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية”، يعانون من ـ”فجوة مساءلة” بحسب ما وصفه الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة على هامش اجتماعات مكتب مكافحة العنف الجنسي في حالات النزاع. وفي الوقت الذي أقرت فيه لجان الحقيقة والتشريعات الوطنية في مناطق مماثلة لتيمور ليتشي وبيرو وسيراليون بأن الأطفال الذين ولدوا نتيجة العنف الجنسي ضحايا مؤهلين للحصول على تعويضات، إلا أن ذلك لم يلغي وجود المعايير الصارمة المرتبطة، على سبيل المثال، بكون الأم عازبة. ويضاف إلى ذلك إهمال محاكمات العدالة الجنائية التي تم وضعها للتعامل مع الفظائع الجماعية لهؤلاء الأطفال.

وترى الكاتبة أن المجتمع الدولي مطالبٌ بالتعامل مع هذه القضية الإشكالية وفق حل يعتمد على عاملين أساسيين. ويكمن العامل الأول في ضرورة لعب المجتمع الدولي لدورٍ في مساعدة هؤلاء الأطفال على بناء حياتهم من جديد. ويكمن العامل الثاني، بحسب صاحبة المقالة، في ضرورة النظر بكيفية إدانة المحكمة الجنائية الدولية، التي تدمج بين آليات العدالة القائمة على الإنصاف والتعويض، لأعضاء تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” على ما اقترفوه من عنف جنسي وعلى التعامل مع الأطفال الذين ولدوا نتيجة هذا العنف كضحايا يستحقون التعويض.

إعادة بناء حياة الأطفال من جديد

في بداية المطاف، يحتاج هؤلاء الأطفال إلى وثائق مشروعة. وعلى هذا النحو، ينبغي على الحكومات الاستجابة لمطالبات الأمم المتحدة بمنح الجنسية للأطفال الذين ولدوا في المناطق التي كان يسيطر عليها تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية”. وترى داودز أن الأمر قد يكون معقداً في بعض الحالات، خاصةً في ظل تواجد حالاتٍ ولد فيها الطفل لوالد أو والدين أجانب، أو تعود فيه جنسية الأم إلى دولة تفرض قوانين تمييزية تحرم النساء من حقهن في منح جنسيتهن لأطفالهن؛ أو في حالة كان الطفل يتيماً. وبحسب الكاتبة، فإن المجتمع الدولي مطالبٌ بوضع آليات للتعاون والتنسيق بما يكفل التعامل مع مثل هذه النوع من الحالات وضمان احترام المصالح العليا للطفل.

كما يجب تأسيس شبكات داعمة لتنسيق الاندماج في المجتمعات وضمان دخول هؤلاء الأطفال ضمن المنظومات التعليمية في الدول الوطنية.

وترى داودز أن لمكافحة وسم أطفال الحرب بالعار دورٌ أساسي في هذه المعادلة. وينبغي على الحكومات تبني استراتيجيات وطنية لمواجهة مثل هذا النوع من الممارسات بالتزامن مع طرح برامج خاصة لدعم الأمهات والأطفال الذين ولدوا نتيجة العنف الجنسي، وعلى النحو الموصى به في المبادئ الجديدة التي وضعتها المملكة المتحدة في هذا الخصوص.

الملاحقة الجنائية

Iraq- Daesh
مظاهرة في العراق ضد الانتهاكات والاعتداءات الجنسية التي يقوم بها مقاتلو تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” ضد النساء. Photo AFP

لسد فجوة المساءلة، يجب محاكمة أعضاء تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” المسؤولين عن جرائم العنف الجنسي والتعامل مع الأطفال الناتجين عن مثل هذا العنف كضحايا. وعلى الرغم من التقارير التي أشارت إلى محاكمة بعض أعضاء تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” الضالعين في مثل هذا النوع من الجرائم في المحاكم المحلية، إلا أنه من الضرورة بمكان أن تلعب المحكمة الجنائية الدولية دوراً في هذا الجانب بحسب ما تراه داودز.

وقامت الأمم المتحدة مؤخراً بدعوة المحكمة الجنائية الدولية لممارسة سلطتها القضائية على مستوى الجرائم التي قام بها تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” في العراق. إلا أن محاكمة تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” على جرائم دولية يواجه مجموعة من التحديات، بما في ذلك القضايا المتعلقة الاختصاص القضائي والسلطة القضائية، فضلاً عن عدم وجود قضايا سابقة مماثلة لمثل هذا النوع من القضايا.

وفي حال تمت محاكمة أعضاء التنظيم في المحكمة الجنائية الدولية، فإن الأطفال المولودين نتيجة العنف الجنسي قد يتم احتجازهم في إطار تهمة “الحمل القسري”، وهي جريمة دولية يمكن اعتبار الأشخاص مسؤولين عنها جنائياً بموجب نظام روما الأساسي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية. إلا أن العنصر الأساسي في هذه الجريمة يرتبط بحبس الأم، أكثر من ارتباطه بالإقرار بالعنف الجنسي الذي نتج عن الحمل وولادة طفل.

وفي حقيقة الأمر، لا توجد هناك أية جريمة محددة في أن تكون أباً لطفل نتج عن العنف الجنسي. وتم تحديد هذه الفجوة الموجودة في الإطار القانوني من قبل باتريسيا سيللر وماكسين ماركوس، خبيرتا القانون الجنائي الدولي، باعتبارها من الجوانب الذي ينبغي على التشريعات المستقبلية الخاصة بالمحاكمات الجنائية الدولية تداركها.

تطورات في المحكمة الجنائية الدولية

على الرغم من عدم الاعتراف بصورةٍ رسمية بالأطفال الناتجين عن العنف الجنسي في الأطر القانونية الحالية، إلا أن هؤلاء الأطفال كان لهم نصيب في قضايا المحكمة الجنائية الدولية.

وفي القضية الجارية حالياً ضد القيادي البارز في جيش الرب الأوغندي دومينيك أونغوين، والذي تم اتهامه بالحمل القسري من بين جرائم أخرى في مارس 2016، قامت فاتو بنسودة، المدعي العام للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية، بلفت الانتباه إلى “فئةٍ كاملة من الضحايا الآخرين وهم الأطفال المولودين أثناء الأسر والناتجين عن مثل هذا النوع من الزيجات القسرية، والذين يواجهون في بعض الأوقات حالة من العداء والتهكم نتيجة نسبهم إلى آبائهم”.

ويشير تصريح بنسودة إلى إمكانية توجيه الاهتمام إلى الأطفال الذين ولدوا نتيجة العنف الجنسي في هذه القضية، وربما في مرحلة التعويضات، وبما يكفل معالجة الأضرار التي لحقت بهؤلاء الأطفال.

وبالطبع، ترى داودز أن هناك بعض الحدود والمعوقات التي تواجه المحاكمات الجنائية الدولية. إلا أن السعي لتطوير تخصص قانوني يتيح الاعتراف بالأطفال ضمن العملية القضائية بات أمراً مشجعاً، وذلك في حال تمت محاكمة مقاتلي تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية”.

وتختم داودز مقالتها بتأكيد إثارة الأطفال المولودين في عهد تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” لمجموعة من القضايا القانونية والاجتماعية التي تتطلب استجابة حساسة ومنسقة من قبل المجتمع الدولي. وتشدد صاحبة المقالة على ضرورة عدم وسم هؤلاء الأطفال بالعار لجريمة لم يقوموا بارتكابها، بالتزامن مع إزالة الشكوك المحيطة بهم، وبما يكفل دعم سعيهم للمضي قدماً في حياتهم عوضاً عن معاقبتهم على الحياة التي ولدوا فيها.

The Conversation

  • الأسلحة وتأثيرها على قضية خاشقجي

    "لقد قام الرئيس ترامب بتشجيع المملكة العربية السعودية عبر الاعتماد على دبلوماسيته الشخصية والتركيز على الوظائف أكثر من التركيز على المصالح أو المثل الأمريكية الأوسع. وإذا ما تمكن السعوديون من إبقاء الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية خارج نطاق قضية خاشقجي، فإن ترامب يفتح الباب أمام فرض المزيد من القيود على النفوذ الأمريكي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط".
  • مسؤولية أكبر تقع على عاتق وسائل الإعلام الغربي للتمييز بين الإسلام والإرهاب الإسلاموي

    أكدت دراسة أجرتها جامعة فيينا في عام ٢٠١٧، فإن التغطية الإعلامية التي لا تميز بشكلٍ صريح بين المسلمين والإرهابيين الإسلامويين تغذي المواقف العدائية تجاه السكان المسلمين بصفةٍ عامة. ومع تزايد الوعي بأثر هذا النوع من الأخبار والتقارير، فقد حاولت بعض المنافذ الإعلامية المماثلة لقناة “سي إن إن” التمييز بين “الإسلام المعتدل” و”الإسلام المتطرف”، وبين “الإسلام” و”التطرف الإسلامي”.
  • كيف تتجنب مصر انعدام المساواة والفصل الطبقي في عاصمتها الجديدة

    إذا ما قُدِّر للعاصمة المصرية النجاح، فإنه يتوجب عليها الالتزام بمبادئ المدن الشاملة التي تسفح المجال لجميع المواطنين بالتجمّع فيها والتشارك بها وبفرصها. وكان هذا الجانب أهم مبادئ التصميم التي اعتمدت عليها كوستا. إلا أن تصميم المهندس المعماري البرازيلي لم يصمد في برازيليا الجميلة التي قام بتصميمها بسبب عدم وجود السياسات الجادة والداعمة للسكان من ذوي الدخل المحدود.

Fanack Home / Children born of sexual violence under Islamic State need support

Children born of sexual violence under Islamic State need support

Iraq- Zainab Bengura
Zainab Bengura, United Nations Special Representative on Sexual Violence in Conflict. Photo AFP

by: Eithne Dowds

With the collapse of Islamic State’s (IS) “caliphate” in Iraq and Syria, it is time to think about the next steps for those who have suffered under them. In particular, the children who have been born as a result of sexual violence perpetrated by IS fighters.

The precise number of children born within IS as a result of this violence is difficult to establish. But in March 2016 it was estimated that there were 31,000 pregnant women living within the caliphate. While the circumstances surrounding these pregnancies is unclear, a recent report on the use of sexual slavery within IS highlighted an economic dimension. This includes the payment of an additional US$35 for each child born to a woman held as a sex slave.

These children suffer unique challenges. They are issued birth certificates, but as Islamic State is a non-state actor, they are effectively stateless. Indoctrinated with extreme ideology from birth, current IS fighters consider these children to be potentially better and more lethal fighters due to the normalisation of violence.

These factors pose significant challenges for children who escape IS. These children lack a recognised nationality, bringing problems such as discrimination and lack of access to education and healthcare. They are also often viewed as a threat to security. Rather than being recognised as victims in need of support, children of IS are frequently seen as “guilty by association”. When entering a refugee camp north of Raqqa in May 2017, some of these children and their mothers were labelled “the Daeshis”, meaning Islamic State families, and shunned by others in the camp.

Further, children born of sexual violence in conflict, which includes children of IS, exist in what the the Secretary-General on Sexual Violence in Conflict has previously termed an “accountability gap”. While children born of sexual violence have been recognised as victims eligible for reparations as a result of truth commissions or national legislation in places such as Timor Leste, Chile, Peru and Sierra Leone, there are often strict criteria such as the mother being single. Further, these children have been neglected within the criminal justice processes developed in response to mass atrocities.

So, how should the international community respond? My tentative answer contains two elements. Firstly, the international community has a role to play in helping these children rebuild their lives. Secondly, consideration should be given to how the International Criminal Court (ICC), which integrates retributive and reparative justice mechanisms, can hold IS members responsible for sexual violence and recognise children born of this violence as victims entitled to reparations.

Rebuilding Lives

Firstly, these children will require legitimate documentation. Governments should therefore respond to calls by the United Nations to grant citizenship to children born under IS. Some cases may be complex. There may be cases where the child is born of one or two foreign parents; where the mother’s home country enforces discriminatory laws denying women the right to transmit their nationality to their children; or where the child is orphaned. The international community must establish cooperation and coordination mechanisms to deal with such cases and ensure the best interests of the child are respected.

Support networks should also be established to coordinate integration into communities and entry into the education systems of national states.

Combating stigma of children born of war is key. Governments should adopt national stigma strategies with specific programmes to support mothers and children born from sexual violence, as recommended in the UK’s new principles on this subject.

Criminal Prosecution

Iraq- Daesh
Iraqi women and girls hold placards during a demonstration to denounce abuse against women by jihadists from the radical Islamic State group Photo AFP

Then, in order to close the accountability gap, it is imperative that IS members responsible for crimes of sexual violence are prosecuted and that children born of this violence are recognised as victims. While it has been reported that some IS members have been tried in domestic courts, the ICC has yet to play a role.

The UN has recently called for the ICC to exercise its jurisdiction with respect to crimes committed by IS in Iraq. But of course, prosecuting IS for international crimes raises a host of challenges, including jurisdictional issues and lack of precedence.

Should members ever face prosecution at the ICC, children born of sexual violence may be captured within the definition of forced pregnancy, an international crime for which individuals can be held criminally responsible under the Rome Statute. But the main element of this crime is confinement of the mother, rather than the recognition of sexual violence that has resulted in the pregnancy and birth of a child.

Indeed, there is no specific crime of fathering a child through sexual violence. This gap in the legal framework has been identified by international criminal legal experts Patricia Seller and Maxine Marcus as something for future jurisprudence at international criminal tribunals.

Developments at the ICC

Despite the lack of formal recognition of children born of sexual violence in current legal frameworks, such children have featured in cases at the ICC.

For instance, in the ongoing case against Dominic Ongwen, who was charged with forced pregnancy, amongst other crimes in March 2016, ICC chief prosecutor, Fatou Bensouda, drew attention to “a whole category of other victims: the children born in captivity resulting from these forced marriages, who sometimes face hostility and taunts as a result of their parentage”.

Bensouda’s statement suggests that attention will be paid to children born of sexual violence within this case, perhaps at the reparations stage, where the harms suffered by these children could be addressed.

There are of course limits to international criminal prosecutions. But it is encouraging to see that, should IS fighters ever face trial, jurisprudence is being developed which may allow children born under their reign to be recognised within the process.

Children born under IS raise a host legal and social issues that require a sensitive and coordinated response from the international community. Rather than being punished for the life they have been born into, the cloak of stigma and suspicion surrounding these children should be removed – and they should be supported in moving forward with their lives.

Remark: This article was originally published by www.theconversation.com in November 28, 2017.

The Conversation

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • Heritage as Resistance: Young People in Occupied Palestinian Territory are using their Past to protect their Future

    Cultural heritage can strengthen communities and their ties to the land they live on. The researchers repeatedly talked about putting their villages on the map, and making them part of a wider Bedouin community which extends through both time (to previous and future generations) and space. They have become visible to local, national and international audiences. Cultural heritage, and the actions taken to protect it, become a resource both to encourage equality and to share a different vision of what life could be in these embattled communities.
  • Israel-Gaza Brinkmanship Slips over the Brink

    For the time being, Israel and Gaza have resumed their shaky ceasefire. But absent some miracle, the violent instability seems likely to continue, leaving the two sides only one incident away from war.
  • Iran: How US Sanctions are strengthening China’s Global Power

    As a result of these developments, China has become one of the wild cards of the Middle East, challenging and changing the established system there. While the sanctions were seen as an attempt to preserve American dominance in the region, they will have consequences that will indirectly challenge this. This is one US play that could badly misfire.