فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / أمن الخليج: توقعٌ صيني ببقاء المنطقة رهن الهيمنة العسكرية الأمريكية

أمن الخليج: توقعٌ صيني ببقاء المنطقة رهن الهيمنة العسكرية الأمريكية

Chinese navy
صورة التقطتها وكالة الأنباء الإيرانية “إرنا” وتظهر فيها مدمرة تابعة للبحرية الصينية أثناء تواجدها في ميناء بندر عبّاس الإيراني على الخليج يوم ٢٠ سبتمبر ٢٠١٤. ووصلت مدمرتان صينيتان في زيارةٍ غير مسبوقة إلى ميناء بندر عبّاس، ما اعتبرته وسائل الإعلام الإيرانية دليلاً على تقاربٍ جديد بين البلدين. المصدر: NADER NASSERI / IRNA / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ NADER NASSERI / IRNA

نشر الكاتب جميس دورسي على مدونته في موقع “The Turbulent World of Middle East Soccer” مقالةً سلط فيها الضوء على رؤية الصين لأمن الخليج وموقفها من السياسة الأمنية التعددية في ظل التطورات الحاصلة في هذه المنطقة ومستجدات السياسة الخارجية الصينية. ويقوم الباحث المختص في كلية راجاراتنام بسنغافورة بتحليل هذا الرؤية الصينية عقب مشاركة الصين في تدريبات بحرية مشتركة مع روسيا وإيران.

وبحسب دورسي، فإن إجراء التدريبات البحرية التي تعتبر الأولى من نوعها بين الصين وروسيا وإيران لا يعني أن توثيق بكين لعلاقاتها مع عددٍ من دول الشرق الأوسط ينطوي بالضرورة على تحقيق تطلعات الصين الرامية إلى لعب دورٍ أكبر في المستقبل القريب على مستوى الامن الإقليمي.

ومع ذلك، فإن هذه التدريبات تحمل في طياتها جانبين. ويكمن الجانب الأول في رغبة الصين بدعم سياسة أمنية متعددة الأطراف في منطقة الخليج. أما الجانب الثاني فيتمثل في توقع الصين استمرار الهيمنة الأمريكية على أمن الخليج رغم التنافس الشديد بين أكبر قوتين اقتصاديتين في العالم.

وهذه هي الرسالة التي ترسلها الصين عبر تقليلها من أهمية التدريبات البحرية، وإشارتها إلى أنها لن تساهم إلا بقواتٍ غير قتالية.

وعوضاً عن إرسال وحدات من جيش التحرير الشعبي للمشاركة في هذه التدريبات، فمن المتوقع أن تقصر الصين مشاركتها في التدريبات بأسطول مكافحة القرصنة التابع لها والموجود بالفعل في المياه الصومالية لحماية السفن التجارية، ناهيك عن عناصر حفظ السلام والعاملين في مجال الإغاثة الإنسانية.

ورغم تبني الصين لرؤيةٍ تعددية لأمن الخليج، يبدو أنها تفضل استمرار قيادة الولايات المتحدة لهذا الملف، وهو ما اتضح بجلاء في بداية عام ٢٠١٩ عندما أعلنت استعدادها للمشاركة في التحالف البحري الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة لحراسة السفن التجارية في الخليج وتأمين خطوط النقل البحري، علماً بأن هذا التحالف أُنشأ رداً على الهجمات المتكررة على ناقلات النفط في خليج عمان.

وحتى الآن، انضم إلى التحالف الذي بدأ عملياته الشهر الماضي كلٌّ من الإمارات، والسعودية، والبحرين وبريطانيا وأستراليا.

ورغم تفضيلها بقاء القيادة الأمريكية الحالية، فإن الصين تنظر إلى توسيع الترتيبات الأمنية لتشمل دول أخرى تحت مظلة الدفاع الأمريكية في الخليج بدلاً من استبدالها بالكامل كوسيلة لتخفيف حدة التوترات الإقليمية.

كما ترى الصين أن ترتيباً متعدد الأطراف سيسمح لها بمواصلة سياستها الواضحة في عدم الانخراط في الصراعات والنزاعات في الشرق الأوسط، لا سيما التنافس السعودي الإيراني.

كما أن مثل هذا الترتيب التعددي الذي يحفظ للولايات المتحدة دورها كلاعبٍ عسكري رئيسي يتوافق مع مخططات الصين التدريجية للخروج على الساحة العالمية وبما يتجاوز نطاق قوتها العسكرية المتنامية.

وباستثناء القاعدة العسكرية في جيبوتي، تبدو مخططات الصين أقل اعتماداً على القوة الصلبة كلما ابتعدنا عن حدود الجمهورية الشعبية.

وقد تنسجم المقترحات الخاصة برؤيةٍ أمنية تعددية مع توجه الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب المعتمد على تقاسم الأعباء.

إلا أن الكلام يبقى أسهل من الفعل.

فإذا كانت المظلة الأمنية الأمريكية تهدف لمواجهة إيران، فإن الرؤية التعددية لابد أن تشمل إيران نفسها.

ويمكن لمثل هذا الانخراط الحدوث على أساس اتفاقٍ من عدم الاعتداء المشترك، وهو ما اقترحته إيران وأشارت له روسيا بشكلٍ ضمني في دعوتها لعقد مؤتمرٍ للأمن الإقليمي على غرار منظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا (OSCE).

Chinese navy
صورة تم التقاطها من الفرقاطة الفرنسية طلو فلوريال” للمدمرة هايكو “DDG-171″، وهي إحدى السفن الحربية التابعة للبحرية الصينية، وهي تخفر سواحل خليج عدن يوم ١٩ يناير ٢٠٠٩. وتعد هذه السفينة من ثلاث سفنٍ صينية تم نشرها لإجراء عمليات مكافحة القرصنة بعيداً عن ساحل الصومال. وصوّت مجلس الأمن يوم ١٦ يناير ٢٠٠٩ لتأجيل إصدار قرار حتى حزيران ينطوي عن تشكيل حملة لإحلال السلام في الصومال التي مزقها النزاع، وذلك بهدف تولي المسؤولية الملقاة في هذا الجانب على القوات الأفريقية التي فشلت في تحقيق هذا الأمر. المصدر: STEPHANE DE SAKUTIN / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ STEPHANE DE SAKUTIN

وحتى يتحقق هذا الأمر، سيكون على الولايات المتحدة والسعودية الحد من التوتر مع إيران، ما يعني التأكيد على عدم وجود نوايا لإطاحة النظام الإيراني أو زعزعة استقراره، وحلّ الأزمة التي خلقها انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من الاتفاق الدولي النووي لعام 2015 الذي حجّم البرنامج الإيراني النووي.

ويرى دورسي أن هذا الأمر بعيد المنال رغم عدم إغلاق السعودية أو إيران باب التواصل لتخفيف حدة التوتر القائم بينهما.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الدعم الصيني للمقترح الروسي الذي يدعو الولايات المتحدة وروسيا والصين والهند للتوجه نحو رؤية تعددية افتقر حتى هذه اللحظة للحماس اللازم.

وأبدى المتحدث باسم وزارة الخارجية الصينية جينغ شوانغ تأييده للمقترح الروسي بصفةٍ عامة، إلا أنه لم يخصّه بدعمٍ محدد، إذ رحب “بكل المقترحات والجهود الدبلوماسية التي تؤدي إلى الحد من التصعيد في منطقة الخليج”.

ويعود إحجام الصين عن تقديم دعم حقيقي للمقترح الروسي إلى الاختلاف بين الصين وروسيا حول السياسة الأمنية التعددية بصفةٍ عامة، والتحالفات بصفة خاصة. وتنأى الصين بنفسها عن التحالفات التي تركز على الجغرافيا الاقتصادية أكثر من الجغرافيا السياسية، بينما تتحرك روسيا في إطار التحالفات.

وتلوح لنا في خلفية التحليل النهائي حقيقة أن الصين ترى ارتباطاً بين الأمن في جنوب ووسط آسيا وأمن الخليج، ما يثير التساؤلات حول مدى استدامة النهج الأمني الصيني.

ولا تظهر أهمية المستويات الجغرافية في الرؤية الصينية بجلاءٍ شديد في الموقف الصيني القوي في بحر الصين الجنوبي فحسب، ولكن أيضاً في دول من طينة طاجيكستان وأفغانستان.

وشهدت الآونة الأخيرة إحراز الصين لتقدم على مستوى بناء طريق يخترق ممر واخان الأفغاني ليحقق أهدافاً جيوسياسية متعددة.

ومن شأن هذا الطريق تسهيل مرور القوات وتشييد قاعدة عسكرية في طاجيكستان لإجراء عمليات صينية عابرة للحدود في الممر.

ويكمن السؤال هنا فيما إذا كانت التحركات الصينية ستهدد تقسيم العمل المفترض ضمنياً بينها وبين روسيا، والذي تتحمل روسيا بمقتضاه المسؤولية الأمنية في وسط آسيا، بينما تركز الصين على التنمية الاقتصادية. وإذا ما حصل ذلك، فإن التساؤل سيمتد ليصل إلى معرفة مدى الأثر الذي سيحمله هذا الخلاف على مستوى اعتماد الصين على دورٍ روسي محتمل في منطقة الخليج.

ما من شك في أن منطقة الخليج تنتقل بصورةٍ تدريجية من ترتيب أمني أحادي إلى ترتيب أمني تعددي، وهو ما يحظى بدعم التخوفات الخليجية التي أعقبت هجمات سبتمبر على المنشآت النفطية السعودية، ورد الفعل الأمريكي الذي أعاد الشكوك حول جدية الضمانات الأمنية الأمريكية.

ويغذّي هذه الشكوك توجه السياسة الأمريكية، ابتداءً من إدارة أوباما وصولاً إلى إدارة ترامب التي تقترح إعادة تقييم مصالح الأمن القومي الأمريكي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط.

وبما أن الصين تؤمن بأن حل الخلافات يكمن في الاقتصاد لا الجغرافية السياسية، فإن هذا الاعتقاد سمح لها بالبقاء دون خدوش، إلا أن هذا الاعتقاد بحاجة لأن يثبت استدامته على المدى الطويل.

ويرى دورسي أن هذا التوجه لن يقي الصين من ولع الشرق الأوسط بأن يكون في قلب اهتمامات القوى الخارجية العظمى.

ويختم دورسي مقالته بالتالي: “هذا التحليل يؤكده شيانغ شودونغ، وهو باحثٌ مختص في شؤون الشرق الأوسط ضمن أكاديمية شنغهاي للعلوم الاجتماعية، حيث يرى شودونغ أن الاستثمار الاقتصادي لن يحل كل المشاكل الأخرى عندما يتعلق الأمر بصراعات دينية وإثنية”.

“الآراء الواردة في هذه المقالة تعبّر عن وجهة نظر الكاتب ولا تعبّر بالضرورة عن وجهة نظر فنك”.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ NADER NASSERI / IRNA | ©AFP ⁃ NADER NASSERI / IRNA | ©AFP ⁃ STEPHANE DE SAKUTIN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • آن الأوان لإنهاء نظام المحاصصة الطائفية مع استمرار الاحتجاجات

    تحتاج مؤسسات تقاسم السلطة إلى تفكيك ما يعيشه لبنان من حالة تفسيرٍ ضيّقة للنص. وتمثّل هذه الاحتجاجات لحظة مفصلية لبدء حوارٍ وطني عن كيفية توسيع أسس احتواء الجميع في الحياة السياسية اللبنانية. المحتجون استطاعوا حتى هذه اللحظة التضامن مع بعضهم البعض، متجاوزين بذلك حدود الطائفية والطبقية والجندرية وهو ما كان مستحيلاً في السابق. وقد يكون هذا التضامن طريق العبور إلى مستقبل ما بعد طائفي، سواءً أكان ذلك بنظامٍ يكفل تقاسم السلطة أو بدونه.
  • مقتل قاسم سليماني والتصعيد الخطير في سياسة الاغتيال الأمريكية

    ترفض إدارة ترامب حتى هذه اللحظة شرح وتبرير سياستها في الاستهداف بالقتل، إلا أن هذه العملية الأخيرة تقوّض أهم القواعد الدولية والأمريكية المطبقة على مستوى كبح عمليات الاغتيال، بل إنها تضع سوابق دولية أخطر في عمليات الاستهداف بالقتل.
  • أمن الخليج: توقعٌ صيني ببقاء المنطقة رهن الهيمنة العسكرية الأمريكية

    رغم تبني الصين لرؤيةٍ تعددية لأمن الخليج، يبدو أنها تفضل استمرار قيادة الولايات المتحدة لهذا الملف، وهو ما اتضح بجلاء في بداية عام ٢٠١٩ عندما أعلنت استعدادها للمشاركة في التحالف البحري الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة لحراسة السفن التجارية في الخليج وتأمين خطوط النقل البحري، علماً بأن هذا التحالف أُنشأ رداً على الهجمات المتكررة على ناقلات النفط في خليج عمان.

Fanack Home / Gulf security: China envisions continued US military lead

Gulf security: China envisions continued US military lead

Chinese navy
A handout photo provided by the Iranian news agency IRNA shows a Chinese navy destroyer making a landfall at the Iranian port of Bandar Abbas on the Gulf on September 20, 2014. Two Chinese destroyers arrived for an unprecedented visit to the Iranian port of Bandar Abbas on the Gulf, attesting to a new rapprochement between the two countries, according to Iranian media. Photo: NADER NASSERI / IRNA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ NADER NASSERI / IRNA

By: By James M. Dorsey

Based on remarks at The Belt and Road Initiative: China-Middle East Cooperation in an Age of Geopolitical Turbulence workshop organized by Brookings Doha Center and the Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences

A podcast version of this story is available on Soundcloud, Itunes, Spotify, Stitcher, TuneIn, Spreaker, Pocket Casts, Tumblr, Podbean, Audecibel, Patreon and Castbox.

A first-ever joint Chinese-Russian-Iranian naval exercise signals that closer Chinese military ties with a host of Middle Eastern nations does not translate into Chinese aspirations for a greater role in regional security any time soon.

If anything, the exercise, coupled with notional Chinese support for proposals for a multilateral security approach in the Gulf, suggests that China envisions a continued US lead in Gulf security despite mounting rivalry between the world’s two largest economies.

That is the message China is sending by playing down the significance of the exercise and hinting that it would only contribute non-combat forces.

China’s participation is expected to involve its anti-piracy fleet that is already in Somali waters to protect commercial vessels as well as peacekeeping and humanitarian relief personnel rather than specially dispatched units of the People’s Liberation Army.

China’s preference for a continued US lead in maintaining Gulf security, even if it favours a more multilateral approach, was evident earlier this year in its willingness to consider participating in the US-led maritime alliance that escorts commercial vessels in the Gulf and seeks to secure shipping lanes and was created in response to several attacks on tankers in the Gulf of Oman.

So far, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Britain and Australia have joined the alliance that started operations last month.

Despite favouring a continued US lead, China sees a broadening of security arrangements that would embed rather than replace the US defense umbrella in the Gulf as a way to reduce regional tensions.

China also believes that a multilateral arrangement would allow it to continue steering clear of being sucked into conflicts and disputes in the Middle East, particularly the Saudi-Iranian rivalry.

A multilateral arrangement in which the US would remain the key military player would fit the pattern of China’s gradual projection beyond its borders of its growing military power.

With the exception of a military facility in Djibouti, China’s projection becomes less hard core the further away one gets from the People’s Republic borders.

Proposals for a multilateral security architecture could also cater to US President Donald J. Trump’s ransactionalism as well as his insistence on burden sharing.

Getting from A to B is however easier said than done.

If the US security umbrella was geared towards defense again Iran, a multi-lateral approach would have to involve Iran.

Such involvement could be based on some kind of agreement on non-aggression, a proposal put forward by Iran and implicit in Russia’s call for a regional security conference along the lines of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, the OSCE.

Chinese navy warship
Chinese navy warship, the DDG-171 Haikou destroyer, is seen from French Frigate “Le Floreal”, as it patrols the waters of the Gulf of Aden on January 19, 2009. The ship is one of three Chinese vessels deployed on anti-piracy operations off the coast of Somalia. The UN Security Council voted January 16, 2009 to postpone until June a decision on whether to set up a UN peacekeeping operation in strife-torn Somalia to take over from struggling African troops. Photo: STEPHANE DE SAKUTIN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ STEPHANE DE SAKUTIN

To get there however the United States and Saudi Arabia would have to reduce tensions with Iran, credibly signal that they have no intention of toppling or destabilizing the Iranian regime, and resolve the crisis stemming from the US withdrawal from the 2015 international agreement that curbed Iran’s nuclear program.

That would seem a tall order even if Saudi Arabia and Iran have not closed the door on stalled contacts aimed at dialling down tensions.

Chinese support has, moreover, so far lacked enthusiasm for a Russian proposal that calls the United States, Russia, China and India to be involved in a multilateral approach.

While backing Russia’s proposal in general terms, Chinese foreign ministry spokesman Geng Shuang stopped short of specifically endorsing it. Mr. Geng welcomed “all proposals and diplomatic efforts conducive to de-escalating the situation in the Gulf region.”

China’s refraining to more wholeheartedly endorse the Russian proposal is rooted in differing approaches towards multilateralism in general and alliances in particular. China shies away from alliances emphasizing geo-economics rather than geopolitics while Russia still operates in terms of alliances.

Looming in the background is the fact that in the ultimate analysis China is likely to view security in South and Central Asia as interlinked with security in the Gulf, which in turn raises questions about the sustainability of the Chinese security approach.

The geographic layering of China’s approach is evident not only in China’s robust posture in the South China Sea, but also in countries like Tajikistan and Afghanistan.

China has recently made progress on the construction of a road through Afghanistan’s Wakhan Corridor. The road serves multiple geo-political goals.

It will facilitate the movement of troops, together with a military base in Tajikistan and Chinese cross border operations in the corridor.

The question is whether the Chinese moves will jeopardize the presumed division of labour between Russia and China under which Russia shoulders responsibility for security in Central Asia while China concentrates on economic development and if it does what impact that would have on Chinese reliance on a potential Russian role in the Gulf.

There is little doubt that the Gulf is gradually moving from a unilateral security arrangement to a multilateral one driven by Gulf concerns following the September attacks on Saudi oil facilities and a US response that has reinforced nagging doubts about the reliability of US security guarantees.

The doubts are further fed by the direction of US policy starting with the Obama administration and now with the Trump administration that suggests a re-evaluation of US national security interests in the Middle East.

China’s belief that economics rather than geopolitics is the key to solving disputes has so far allowed it to remain above the breach but has yet to prove its sustainability.

China’s approach is unlikely to shield it from the Middle East’s penchant of ensuring that it is at the heart of concerns of major external parties.

Said Jiang Xudong, a Middle East scholar at the Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences: “Economic investment will not solve all other problems when there are religious and ethnic conflicts.”

Remark: This article was originally published by https://mideastsoccer.blogspot.com/ in December 20, 2019.

“The views expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not necessarily express Fanack’s views.”

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ NADER NASSERI / IRNA | ©AFP ⁃ NADER NASSERI / IRNA | ©AFP ⁃ STEPHANE DE SAKUTIN

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • As protests continue, Lebanon’s sectarian power-sharing stalemate must end

    Power-sharing institutions need not be as narrowly prescribed as they currently are in Lebanon. These protests are a critical moment for the start of a national conversation on how to expand the basis of inclusion in Lebanese political life. So far, protesters have joined up across sect, class and gender in a way previously considered impossible. It is this solidarity that may yet serve as the pathway towards a post-sectarian future, with or without power-sharing.
  • Qassem Suleimani air strike: why this is a dangerous escalation of US assassination policy

    The Trump administration has, so far, refused to explain and justify its policy of targeted killing, but this latest operation further undermines international and US domestic norms against assassination is certain to set more dangerous international precedents for targeted killings.
  • Gulf security: China envisions continued US military lead

    China’s preference for a continued US lead in maintaining Gulf security, even if it favours a more multilateral approach, was evident earlier this year in its willingness to consider participating in the US-led maritime alliance that escorts commercial vessels in the Gulf and seeks to secure shipping lanes and was created in response to several attacks on tankers in the Gulf of Oman.