الصفحة الرئيسية / التعليم في الشرق الأوسط / سوريا: مليوني طفل خارج المدارس

سوريا: مليوني طفل خارج المدارس

Specials- Education Syria
أطفال سوريون يلعبون خارج مدرستهم المدمرة في حماة ، في 18 فبراير 2018. Photo AFP

وفقاً لهيومن رايتس ووتش، بات ما يقرب من مليوني طفل سوري اليوم خارج صفوف الدراسة، إلى جانب تعرض ثلث مدراس البلاد للتدمير أو التلف أو استخدامها لأغراض عسكرية أو غيرها من الأغراض كاستخدامها على سبيل المثال كملاجىء.

يعتبر الأطفال في الغوطة الشرقية آخر الأمثلة على ما وصفته الأمم المتحدة بـ”الأزمة.” ففي مارس 2018، عندما تعرضت المنطقة التي يسيطر عليها المتمردون خارج دمشق لهجومٍ عنيفٍ من قِبل الجيش السوري، أغلقت المدارس أبوابها لأسباب تتعلق بالسلامة وتم افتتاح مدارس غير رسمية. ومع ذلك، تم قصف هذه أيضاً. وفي الأسبوع الأخير من شهر مارس، أسفرت غارة جوية عن مقتل حوالي 15 طفلاً وشخصين بالغين كانوا يحتمون في إحدى هذه المدارس.

فقد قال محمد نزار عربش، وهو أحد سكان مدينة دوما، لـABC الإخبارية: “القصف الذي لا يتوقف على الإطلاق وعدم الاستقرار وعدم توافر الإنترنت والكهرباء، ماذا أكثر من هذا، مصيرك، مصيرك المجهول الذي لا تعرف عنه شيء- جميع هذه الأمور مجتمعة تجعل من الدراسة أمراً مستحيلاً.”

ففي ظل هذه الظروف، من الصعب الذهاب إلى المدرسة أو حتى الحفاظ على وصولٍ آمن للتعليم. فقد قدر مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية (أوتشا) أنه اعتباراً من 17 سبتمبر 2017، كان هناك 319 ألف معلم/معلمة وموظف في مجال التعليم، فضلاً عن 5,77 مليون طفل تتراوح أعمارهم ما بين 5 و17 عاماً بحاجة إلى مساعدة تعليمية.

أولى الضحايا هم الفتيات، اللواتي من المرجح انقطاعهن عن المدارس لأسباب تتعلق بالسلامة أو لأسباب مالية. وفي الوقت الذي لا يوجد فيه أي تفريقٍ بين الجنسين في الالتحاق الحالي بالمدراس في سوريا، فإن “الفتيات أكثر عرضة مرتين ونصف تقريباً لعدم إكمال دراستهن” في مناطق النزاع، وفقاً لتقرير اليونسكو الصادر في يونيو 2015.

وقالت شابة تدعى وتين إن تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” منع الفتيات في مدينتها من الذهاب إلى المدراس. فقد أجبرها هذا، إلى جانب القصف العنيف، على السفر إلى تركيا لاستكمال تعليمها.

وعليه، طورت منظماتٌ محلية ودولية أساليب مختلفة لمواصلة إتاحة التعليم. فعلى سبيل المثال، تعاونت مؤسسة كرم، وهي منظمة غير حكومية مقرها شيكاغو، مع المنظمة غير الحكومية السورية تعليم، لإعادة بناء المدارس التي تضررت من البراميل المتفجرة والضربات الجوية ودعم المدارس التي يتم أنشاؤها تحت الأرض.

وقالت ليلى خوجة، منسق برنامج التعليم العالي في مؤسسة كرم، لفَنَك، “التعليم الذي ندعمه في سوريا هو في المقام الأول التعليم في المدراس الإبتدائية وفي جميع أنحاء سوريا، إلا أننا نركز في الغالب على شمال البلاد.”

وتابعت القول: “يريد الناس أن يذهب أبناؤهم إلى المدراس. سواء كانوا داخل سوريا أو نازحين داخل تركيا أو الأردن، فهم يريدون أن يذهب أطفالهم إلى المدرسة. وبالنسبة للأهل، تتمثل أكبر المخاوف بسلامة أطفالهم داخل هذه المدراس. كان هناك الكثير من الهجمات والغارات الجوية على المدراس منذ عام 2011، مما دفع بالأهل إلى التساؤل، وهو أمرٌ مشروع، عما إذا كان أطفالهم سيكونون أفضل حالاً في منازلهم مع عائلاتهم. وفي ظل هذه الظروف باتت المدراس التي يتم إنشاؤها تحت الأرض ناجحة. فالذهاب إلى المدرسة تصرفٌ طبيعي. يضمن التعليم أن يكون هؤلاء الأطفال قادرين على أن يكونوا بالضبط: أطفالاً، في بيئةٍ تريد لهم الإزدهار والتطور.”

عندما اندلعت الحرب في عام 2011، كان يذهب ما يقدر بنحو 97% من الأطفال في سن الدراسة الابتدائية إلى المدرسة، وكذلك هو حال 67% من الأطفال في سن الدراسة الثانوية، وفقاً لليونيسف. فقد كانت معدلات محو الأمية في جميع أنحاء البلاد مرتفعة، والتي تخطت ما نسبته 90% لكلٍ من الرجال والنساء. وعلاوة على ذلك، كان الاستثمار الوطني السوري في التعليم مرتفعاً باطراد، فقد ازدادت ميزانية التعليم الحكومية من 15% إلى 19% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بين عامي 2004 و2009. كما كان التعليم مجانياً وإجبارياً حتى الصف التاسع. وكدولةٍ عربية، كان المنهج صارماً ويميل نحو أيديولوجية قومية للغاية.

فقد أخبرت مونيكا بوليجر فَنَك، وهي صحفية أجرت أبحاثًا حول كتب التاريخ السورية قبل الحرب، “كان على الأطفال حفظ العديد من الأمور عن ظهر قلب، مثل الشعارات، واللحظات التاريخية، ولم يتم تشجيعهم على طرح الأسئلة.” وأضافت “أتذكر طفلاً في الـ14 من عمره عرفت أنه كان يعاني من مشاكل في امتحانه لأنه حاول الإجابة باستخدام كلماته الخاصة بدلاً من نسخه الكلمات المذكورة في الكتاب المدرسي. كان العديد من الأطفال يسخرون من الشعارات الأيديولوجية التي أجبروا على حفظها عن ظهر قلب، إذ لم تكن ذات صلة بواقعهم.”

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، يوجد حوالي 2,5 مليون طفل سوري من النازحين بسبب الحرب ممن يعيشون في كلٍ من تركيا ولبنان والأردن والعراق ومصر. فقد اتخذت هذه البلدان المُضيفة خطواتٍ لرفع نسب الإلتحاق في المدراس، مثل تقديم التعليم الحكومي المجاني وإدخال نظام “الفترة الثانية” ما بعد الظهيرة لاستيعاب المزيد من الأطفال في المدراس. ومع ذلك، فإن حواجز مثل متطلبات التوثيق المرهقة، والصعوبات اللغوية، وعدم توفر وسائل نقل بأسعار مناسبة، تواصل بالدفع بالأطفال خارج أسوار المدارس، وذلك وفقاً لمنظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش. حتى أن الأطفال الذين وصلوا إلى أوروبا لم يحصلوا دائماً على إمكانية الوصول المستمر إلى التعليم الرسمي.

على الرغم من المخاوف المتزايدة بشأن “جيلٍ ضائع،” فإن تجارب الأطفال المتنوعة هذه بالإضافة إلى تجربتهم في بلدانٍ مختلفة وأنظمة تعليم مختلفة قد تؤدي في الواقع إلى رؤية جديدة للتعليم وأساليب التعليم، على أمل أن تكون آمنة، لأجيالٍ قادمة.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Education in the Middle East and North Africa / In Syria, 2 Million Children No Longer Attending School

In Syria, 2 Million Children No Longer Attending School

Specials- Education Syria
Syrian children play outside their destroyed school in Hama, on February 18, 2018. Photo AFP

Nearly 2 million Syrian children are no longer attending school, and a third of the country’s schools have been destroyed, damaged or are being used for military or other purposes such as shelters, according to Human Rights Watch (HRW)

Children in Eastern Ghouta are the most recent example of what the United Nations has described as a ‘crisis’. In March 2018, when the rebel-held region outside Damascus came under heavy attack from the Syrian army, schools were closed for safety reasons and informal schools were opened. However, these were bombed as well. In the last week of March, an air strike killed around 15 children and two adults who were sheltering in one of these schools.

Muhammad Nizar Arbash, a resident of the city of Douma, told ABC News, “The shelling that is not stopping at all and the lack of stability and lack of availability of internet and electricity, and what’s more than that, your fate, your unknown fate that you know nothing about – all these things make studying impossible.”

Under these conditions, it is hard to go to school or maintain safe access to education. The United Nations Office for the Coordination of Human Affairs (UNOCHA) estimated that as of 17 September 2017, there were 319,000 teachers and education personnel as well as 5.77 million children between 5 and 17 in need of education assistance.

The first victims are girls, who are most likely to drop out of school for safety or financial reasons. While there is no gender breakdown of current enrollment in Syria, ‘girls are almost two and a half times more likely to be out of school’ in conflict zones, according to a UNESCO report published in June 2015.

A young woman called Wateen said that that Islamic State prevented girls in her town from going to schools. That, coupled with heavy bombings, forced her to travel to Turkey to pursue her education.

Local and international organizations have developed various ways to continue making education accessible. For example, Karam Foundation, a Chicago-based NGO, has collaborated with the Syrian NGO Taalim to rebuild schools that were damaged by barrel bombs and air strikes and supports underground schools.

“The education that we support in Syria is primarily primary school education and all over Syria but mostly in the northern part,” Lilah Khoja, Karam’s higher education program coordinator, told Fanack Chronicle.

She continued: “People want their kids to go to school. Whether they’re in Syria or they’ve been displaced to Turkey or Jordan, they want their kids to go to school. For parents, the biggest concern is the safety of their children at these schools. There have been too many attacks and air strikes on schools since 2011, and that rightfully causes some parents to wonder whether their children would be better off at home with their families. It’s in these situations that underground schools have been successful. Going to school is an act of normalcy. Education ensures that these children are able to be exactly that: children, in an environment that wants them to thrive and blossom.”

When the war broke out in 2011, an estimated 97 per cent of primary school-aged children were attending school, as were 67 per cent of secondary school-aged children, according to UNICEF. Literacy rates country-wide were high, at over 90 per cent for both men and women. Syria’s national investment in education had also been rising steadily. The government’s education budget increased from 15 per cent to 19 per cent of GDP between 2004 and 2009. Education was free of charge and obligatory until the ninth grade. As an Arab republic, the curriculum was strict and tended towards a very nationalistic ideology.

“The children had to learn a lot of things by heart, slogans, history moments, and were not encouraged to ask questions,” Monika Bolliger, a journalist who conducted research on Syrian history textbooks before the war, told Fanack Chronicle. “I remember a 14-year-old kid I knew had problems with his exam because he tried to answer in his own words instead of repeating word for word from the textbook. A lot of kids would make fun of the ideological slogans they were made to learn by heart. It didn’t really connect to their reality.”

There are around 2.5 million Syrian children displaced by the war living in Turkey, Lebanon, Jordan, Iraq and Egypt. Host countries have taken steps to increase school enrollment, such as offering free public education and introducing ‘second shifts’ in the afternoons to accommodate more children. Yet barriers such as onerous documentation requirements, language difficulties and a lack of affordable transportation are continuing to keep children out of the classroom, according to HRW. Even the children who have reached Europe have not always had  a continuous access to a formal education.

Despite growing concerns about a ‘‘lost generation’, these children’s varied experiences as well as their experience of different countries and educational systems might in fact result in a new view of education and ways of learning, hopefully in safety, for generations to come.

image_pdfimage_print