فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / التعليم في الشرق الأوسط / التعليم يتعرض للهجوم في ظل الحرب الليبية

التعليم يتعرض للهجوم في ظل الحرب الليبية

Specials- Benghazi University
طلاب من قسم الهندسة الكيميائية بجامعة بنغازي يرمون أرواب التخرج في الهواء احتفالاً بتخرجهم في 24 أكتوبر 2016، أمام مبنى الجامعة الذي تم تدميره بسبب القتال. Photo AFP

كان الكتاب الأخضر الركن الأساسي للتعليم في ليبيا لعقودٍ من الزمان تحت حكم الديكتاتور السابق معمر القذافي. يمزج الكتاب، الذي ألّفه القذافي، بين النظرية الماركسية والفوضوية التقليدية، بينما يعرض في بعض الأحيان انعكاساتٍ غير منطقية عن الاختلافات بين الرجل والمرأة.

ومنذ سن الثامنة، يبدأ تلقين أطفال المدارس تعاليم الكتاب الأخضر لساعتين في الأسبوع. فقد تعلموا كيف يحبون “الأخ القائد”- وهو لقبٌ أطلقه القذافي على نفسه- بالإضافة إلى آرائه حول الرضاعة الطبيعية والرياضة، وكراهيته للديمقراطية على النمط الغربي.

ولكن، بعد وقتٍ قصيرٍ من أسر القذافي واغتياله في 20 أكتوبر 2011، أصبح الكتاب طي الأدراج، ليجتمع بعد ذلك فريقٌ مكون من 160 خبيراً لتطهير جميع المناهج الدراسية من تأثير القذافي، الذين تعهدوا باستبداله بمنهاجٍ دراسي يشجع على التفكير النقدي.

وبينما لا يزال التعليم مجانياً في ليبيا، إلا أن انعدام الأمن يؤدي إلى إعاقة وصول آلاف الطلاب إلى المدارس. فقد عطل العنف المستمر للميليشيات الحصص المدرسية، كما يخشى العديد من التلاميذ على حياتهم.

ففي فبراير 2014، أصابت قنبلةٌ يدوية مدرسةً خاصة في بنغازي، مما أسفر عن إصابة 12 طفلاً. وبحلول ذلك الصيف، كانت البلاد تنحدر بشكل أكبر إلى حالةٍ من الفوضى. ومع غرقها في حربٍ أهلية عنيفة، انهارت معظم مؤسسات الدولة، كما تحالفت الحكومات المتنافسة – واحدة في الشرق والأخرى في الغرب- مع ميليشياتٍ متنافسة في صراعٍ على الشرعية.

أجبرت الحرب الأهلية مئات المدارس والجامعات على إغلاق أبوابها، فخلال معركة بنغازي، أصدر مسؤولو التعليم تقريراً كشف أن الصراع منع 63 ألف طفل و8,500 معلم من ارتياد مدارسهم.

وفي سبتمبر 2014، استولى تحالف مجموعة ميليشيات إسلامية معروفة باسم فجر ليبيا على مقصف مدرسة في مدينة الزاوية وجعلوا منه مطبخاً لهم. وعليه، حاول مدراء المدرسة إلحاق الطلاب في صفوف مسائية في أماكن أخرى إلا أنهم فشلوا في ذلك.

كما كتب مصطفى الفيتوري، وهو صحفي وأكاديمي ليبي، أن 250 مدرسة في سرت، مسقط رأس القذافي، باتت مهجورةً في أعقاب حملةٍ لتغيير مسار تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” بعيداً عن المدينة في عام 2016.

ومع ذلك، لا يزال الوصول إلى التعليم محفوفاً بالمخاطر بالنسبة للأطفال الليبيين بعد مرور أربع سنوات. فقد كشفت منظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (اليونيسيف) أن 489 مدرسة قد تأثرت بالعنف في الأشهر السبعة الأولى من عام 2018. وقد واجه 260 ألف طالبٍ على الأقل عقباتٍ في الوصول إلى التعليم نتيجة لذلك.

وعلى الرغم من الصراع، لا تزال معدلات معرفة القراءة والكتابة مرتفعة في ليبيا، حيث بلغت حوالي 91% اعتباراً من عام 2015. ومع ذلك، قد لا يكون هذا الرقم دقيقاً بسبب صعوبة إجراء إحصاءٍ وطني.

وقال عثمان عبد الجليل، وزير التعليم بحكومة الوفاق الوطني المدعومة من الأمم المتحدة، لصحيفة أراب ويكلي في مارس 2018 إن النقص العام في التمويل وتدريب المعلمين يعوّق أيضاً تقدم التعليم. واعترف أن تصاعد العنف هو الشاغل الرئيسي، لا سيما في الجنوب والشرق.

إذ قال، “الظروف في المدارس والجامعات في جنوب ليبيا والمدن الشرقية أسوأ بكثير من تلك الموجودة في المناطق الغربية من البلاد.” وأضاف “إن تزايد العنف في تلك المناطق يجعل استمرار العملية التعليمية مستحيلاً. بل إن ذهاب المعلمين إلى العمل وحضور الطلاب للصفوف المدرسية يعد مهمةً بطولية.”

على الرغم من الحرب، والتحديات الهائلة التي تواجه قطاع التعليم، احتفل عبد الجليل بتحقيق توحيد المناهج في شرق وغرب وجنوب ليبيا. وشدد على أن جميع الجامعات في البلاد ينبغي أن تعمل في إطار المناهج الدراسية على الصعيد الوطني، حتى لو كان البلد لا يزال منقسماً.

وقال إن أضرار البنية التحتية ليست قضيةً كبيرة بالمقارنة مع الآثار النفسية التي تحدثها الحرب على التلاميذ الصغار، إذ يخشى أن يعاني الشباب الليبيون من صدمةٍ طويلة، مما سيؤثر على الجيل القادم.

ظروف العمل السيئة والخطيرة للمدرسين هي أيضاً من القضايا الرئيسية، ففي أكتوبر 2017، أجلت نقابة المعلمين في بنغازي السنة الدراسية إلى أجلٍ غير مسمى إلى أن وافقت الوزارة على قائمةٍ من المطالب.

طالبت النقابة بمضاعفة رواتب المعلمين وتزويدهم بالتأمين الصحي الكامل. كما طالبت بتوفير الأمن الكافي لمنع اندلاع الصراعات بالقرب من المدارس. وافق عبد الجليل على منح المعلمين التأمين الصحي، إلا أنه رفض مضاعفة رواتبهم، وهي تسويةٌ رفضتها نقابة المعلمين. وقال طالبٌ جامعي من بنغازي أن المواجهة استمرت إلى أن قرر المعلمون أخيراً فتح المدارس الابتدائية في أواخر نوفمبر.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، عمل عبد الجليل مع مجموعات الإغاثة لمنح بعض الأطفال بصيص أمل. فقد أفادت اليونيسف أن أكثر من 370 ألف عائلة ليبية نازحة عادوا إلى ديارهم في مايو ويونيو 2018. وأشارت معظم العائلات إلى أن الحصول على التعليم أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لعودتهم.

فقد أتاحت العودة إلى المدارس للأطفال الذين تم إجبارهم في السابق على ترك مدارسهم بيئة أكثر أمناً في البلد الذي مزقته الحرب. وتعتبر أمينة الزنتاني، البالغة 12 عاماً من مدينة أوباري الجنوبية، مثالاً على ذلك، حيث عادت مؤخراً إلى مدرستها التي تم إصلاحها، مما سمح لها باستئناف الدراسة وجمع شملها بأصدقائها. وقالت أمينة لمنظمة Theirworld، “إنه شعورٌ رائع أن أعود إلى أصدقائي مجدداً. الناس وهذا المكان يعنيان لي الكثير.”

وبالطبع، لا يزال آلاف الأطفال يبحثون عن مظهرٍ من مظاهر الحياة الطبيعية التي توفرها المدرسة. كما قال المدير الإقليمي لليونيسيف لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا خيرت كابالاري لمنظمة Theirworld أن 26 ألف طالب أجبروا على تغيير مدارسهم في الأجزاء الجنوبية والشرقية من البلاد بسبب تصاعد العنف.

وفي الوقت نفسه، يعتبر التعليم أقل من المستوى في المدن التي لا زال الطلاب فيها يرتادون المدارس. فالغرف الصفية مكتظة في العاصمة طرابلس، حيث يبلغ متوسط عدد الطلاب فيها أربعون، ولم يحصل أي منهم على كتبٍ مدرسية. وتعتبر هذه المشكلة بسيطة مقارنةً بالظروف الصحية السيئة في المدارس، فبعض المدارس لا تحتوي على دورات مياه، بينما تعاني مدارس أخرى من تلوث المياه.

من الواضح أن الحرب وسوء الخدمات لهما تأثيرٌ خطير على بيئة تعليم الأطفال الليبيين، ويبدو أن وقف العنف وإنهاء الشلل السياسي هو السبيل الوحيد لمعالجة المشكلة من جذورها، وعندئذ فقط يمكن لوزارة التعليم توفير الأمن والاستثمار اللازمين لحماية الجيل القادم.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Education in the Middle East and North Africa / Education Under Attack in Libya’s War

Education Under Attack in Libya’s War

Specials- Benghazi University
Students from the chemical engineering department of Benghazi University throw their academic robes in the air as they celebrate on October 24, 2016, during their graduation ceremony in front of a building of the university that was destroyed due to fighting. Photo AFP

The Green Book was the cornerstone of Libya’s education for decades under former dictator Muammar Qaddafi. The book, authored by Qaddafi, blended Marxist theory with traditional anarchy, while offering sometimes ridiculous reflections on the differences between men and women.

From the age of eight, schoolchildren were indoctrinated in the Green Book’s teachings for two hours a week. They learned how to love the ‘Brother Leader’ – Qaddafi’s self-given nickname – as well as his views on breastfeeding and sports, and his distaste for Western-style democracy.

The book became obsolete shortly after Qaddafi’s capture and assassination on 20 October 2011. Afterwards, a team of 160 experts came together to purge the school curriculum of all of Qaddafi’s influence, vowing to replace it with a curriculum that encourages critical thought.

While education remains free in Libya, the lack of security is derailing thousands of children’s access to schooling. Ongoing militia violence has disrupted school sessions, and many pupils fear for their lives.

In February 2014, a grenade hit a private school in Benghazi, injuring 12 children. By that summer, the country was descending deeper into turmoil. As it became entrenched in a volatile civil war, most state institutions collapsed. Competing governments – one in the east, the other in the west – allied with rival militias that vied for legitimacy.

The civil war forced hundreds of schools and universities to close. During the battle for Benghazi, education officials released a report that revealed that the conflict was stopping 63,000 children and 8,500 teachers from going to school.

In September 2014, a militia allied with the broad coalition of Islamists known as Libyan Dawn took over a school cafeteria in Zawiya and made it into their kitchen. The school’s administrators tried but failed to enrol students in evening classes elsewhere.

Mustafa Fetouri, a Libyan journalist and academic, wrote that 250 schools in Sirte – Qaddafi’s birthplace – had been abandoned following the campaign to route the Islamic State (IS) from the city in 2016.

Access to education remains just as perilous for Libyan children four years later. The UN Children’s Fund (UNICEF) revealed that 489 schools were affected by violence in the first seven months of 2018. At least 260,000 students experienced obstacles to accessing an education as a result.

Despite the conflict, literacy rates remain high in Libya, standing at nearly 91 per cent as of 2015. However, this figure might not be accurate due to the difficulty in conducting a nationwide census.

Osman Abdel Jalil, the education minister of the UN-backed Government of National Accord (GNA), told the Arab Weekly in March 2018 that a general lack of funding and teacher training are also hindering the progress of education. Yet escalating violence, he acknowledged, was the main concern, especially in the south and east.

“The conditions in the schools and the universities in southern Libya and eastern cities are far worse than those in areas in the western parts of the country,” Jalil said. “A rising pitch of violence in those areas makes continuing the educational process impossible. Going to work for teachers and attending classes for students is a heroic mission.”

Despite the war, and the overwhelming challenges facing the education sector, Jalil celebrated the achievement of unifying the curriculum in eastern, western and southern Libya. He stressed that all universities in the country need to operate under a nationwide curriculum, even if the country remains fractured.

The infrastructural damage, he argued, is not a big issue compared to the psychological affects that the war is having on young pupils. He fears that young Libyans could suffer lingering trauma, impacting the next generation.

The poor and dangerous working conditions for teachers are also major concerns. In October 2017, the teachers union in Benghazi postponed the school year indefinitely until the ministry conceded to a list of demands.

The union demanded that teachers have their salaries doubled and be given full health insurance. They also demanded adequate security to prevent conflicts erupting near schools. Jalil agreed to give the teachers health insurance but not to double their pay, a compromise that the teacher’s union refused. One university student from Benghazi said that the standoff continued until teachers finally decided to open primary schools in late November.

Since then, Jalil has worked with aid groups to give some children a glimmer of hope. UNICEF reported that more than 370,000 displaced Libyan families returned to their homes in May and June 2018. Most families cited access to education as a major reason for their return.

Returning to school has offered previously uprooted children a safer environment in the ruptured country. Twelve-year old Amina Zintani, from the southern town of Ubari, is one example. She recently came back to her rehabilitated school, allowing her to resume classes and reunite with friends.

“It feels great being with my friends again. The people and this place mean a lot to me,” she told Theirworld.

Of course, thousands of children are still searching for the semblance of normality that school provides. Geert Cappelare, UNICEF’s regional director for the Middle East and North Africa, told Theirworld that 26,000 students were forced to change schools in the southern and eastern parts of the country due to escalating violence.

Meanwhile, education is subpar in cities where children are still going to school. In the capital Tripoli, classes are overcrowded, with an average class size of 40 children, none of whom have been given text books. That issue pales in comparison to the poor health standards in schools. Some do not have a toilet, while many have contaminated water.

The war and poor service provision are clearly having a serious impact on the learning environment of young Libyan children. Ceasing the violence and ending the political paralysis appear to be the only ways to address the root of the problem. Only then can the education ministry provide the security and investment needed to safeguard the next generation.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.