فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر: عندما تجف الأنهار

مصر: عندما تجف الأنهار

Suez Canal
صورة تم التقاطها يوم ٥ مايو ٢٠١٩ للرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي مع عددٍ من الوزراء والدبلوماسيين أثناء افتتاح نفقٍ تم تشييده تحت قناة السويس في مدينة الإسماعيلية شرق القاهرة. المصدر: AFP / KHALED DESOUK. ©AFP ⁃ Khaled DESOUKI

نشر موقع “OpenDemocracy” مقالةً سلطت الضوء على ما تتبعه الحكومة المصرية من سياساتٍ تقشفية أدت مؤخراً إلى خروج الاحتجاجات في مصر بعد دعوة الممثل والمقاول محمد علي لها. ويحاول صاحب المقالة ماجد مندور، وهو محللٌ سياسي وباحثٌ حاصل على شهادة الماجستير في العلاقات الدولية من جامعة كامبردج، توضيح وضع الاقتصاد المصري واستعراض إحصائيات تتعلق بهذا الوضع وتكشف ما وصلت إليه مصر من مستويات فقر وبطالة وعجز تجاري ومعدلات ديون. ويرى مندور أن التحسن الضئيل الذي شهده الاقتصاد يعود بصفةٍ أساسية إلى هوس الجيش بقطاع البناء، وهو ما كان على حساب الفقراء والطبقات الدنيا من المجتمع، لافتاً في الوقت نفسه إلى أن هذا الهوس لا يعدو عن كونه فقاعة ستنفجر عاجلاً أم آجلاً.

ويبدأ مندور مقالته بالإشارة إلى ما بات يتمتع به المقاول والممثل السينمائي المتواضع محمد علي من شهرة في مصر، إذا بات اسم المقاول مألوفاً للكثيرين في مصر. وكشف الرجل المتورط بشكلٍ كبير في النظام الرأسمالي المصري عبر سلسلةٍ من مقاطع الفيديو عمّا شعر به الكثير من المصريين وعرفوه من فساد المؤسسة العسكرية، وسياسة النظام المالية والاقتصادية التي تتعمد إفقار عموم المصريين وإثراء النخب العسكرية.

وباعتباره مقاولاً عمل مع المؤسسة العسكرية على مدار خمسة عشر عاماً، فقد تمكن محمد علي من تقديم معلومات عن الدور الاقتصادي للجيش وتأثيره على القطاع الخاص، معتمداً في ذلك على ما يتمتع به من خبرةٍ شخصية على هذا المستوى. وأدت مقاطع الفيديو التي نشرها مباشرةً إلى احتجاجاتٍ نادرة ضد الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي، رغم قمع الحكومة الوحشي.

ومع ذلك، يجب وضع مقاطع الفيديو تلك في سياقٍ يوضح أداء الاقتصاد المصري وبما يكفل استيعاب ما يحمله دور الجيش من أثر على مستوى التنمية الاقتصادية وزيادة الفقر في البلاد.

وشهد شهر مايو من عام ٢٠١٩ قيام المركز المصري للتعبئة والإحصاء، وهو أحد المراكز التابعة للحكومة، بإصدار تقرير عن “الدخل والإنفاق والاستهلاك”. وتشير نتائج التقرير إلى ارتفاعٍ حاد في مستويات الفقر النسبي والمدقع مقارنةً بما كان عليه الحال في عام 2015. وارتفعت معدلات الفقر النسبي من 27.8% إلى 32.5% في عام 2018، بينما ارتفع مستوى الفقر المدقع من 5.3% إلى 6.2% في الفترة نفسها.

وتُحدد معدلات الفقر على أساس معايير الاستهلاك المحلية. ويُحدد مستوى الفقر النسبي بنحو 735.6 جنيهاً مصرياً للاستهلاك الشخصي الشهري، ومستوى الفقر المدقع بنحو 490.86 جنيهاً. أي ما يعادل 44.6 و29.7 دولاراً أمريكياً على التوالي. ويترافق الارتفاع المذكور أعلاه على مستوى الفقر مع انخفاضٍ في مستوى استهلاك الأسرة بنسبة 9.7%، وذلك باستخدام أسعار عام 2015. وكان الانخفاض أكثر حدة في المناطق الحضرية، حيث تم تسجيل انخفاض بنسبة 13.7% في تلك المناطق مقارنة بـ 5.1% في المناطق الريفية.

ويعني ذلك ببساطة أن المصريين يزدادون فقراً، وأن الملايين يتراجعون إلى حد الفقر. ولا تؤدي الزيادة في معدلات الفقر إلى زيادة في مستوى الحرمان الاجتماعي فحسب، بل أنها تؤثر أيضاً سلباً على نمو القطاع الخاص والنمو الاقتصادي العام لأنّ الدخل المتاح للمصريين في تناقصٍ مستمر.

ولم تقابل انخفاض مستوى الاستهلاك زيادة في مستوى الصادرات من السلع والخدمات. وهو ما يظهر في تراجع قيمة الصادرات المصرية التي وصلت إلى 47.45 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2018، أي أنها انخفضت بقدر 1.66 مليار دولار مقارنة بعام 2013. وتعكس المؤشرات الأخرى أيضاً تدهور الوضع التنافسي الدولي. وعلى سبيل المثال، ارتفع العجز التجاري من -6.34% في عام 2013 إلى -10.45% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في عام 2018. ويأتي هذا الامر رغم تعويم الجنيه المصري في نوفمبر 2016. وكان من المفترض أن تؤدي هذه الخطوة بشكلٍ نظري إلى زيادة القدرة التنافسية للصادرات المصرية وتحسين الميزان التجاري.

Christ Cathedral Nativity
صورة تم التقاطها يوم ٧ مارس ٢٠١٩ لكاتدرائية ميلاد المسيح التي تم بناؤها في العاصمة الإدارية الجديدة على بعد حوالي ٥٠ كيلومتراً شرق العاصمة القاهرة. المصدر: PEDRO COSTA GOMES / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ PEDRO COSTA GOMES

كما يشير التركيب الهيكلي للصادرات المصرية إلى ضعف قطاع الصناعات التحويلية المصري وضعف الصادرات بصفةٍ عامة. وبحسب بيانات البنك المركزي، فإن 41.1% من قيمة صادرات السلع المسجلة في عام ٢٠١٨ تعود على سبيل المثال إلى النفط الخام والمنتجات المرتبطة به. ويعني هذا الأمر اعتماد أداء الصادرات المصرية بدرجةٍ كبيرة على تغيّر أسعار النفط بدلاً من الاعتماد على القدرة التنافسية لقطاع التصنيع. وبحسب مندور، فإن هذا النقص في القدرة التنافسية وانخفاض مستوى الاستهلاك المحلي وارتفاع معدلات الفقر يضعف كثيراً قدرة القطاع الخاص على التطور وإمكانية تحويل الاستثمارات إلى أنشطة ذات قيمة مضافة عالية كالتصنيع. وتظهر قلة الاستثمارات في قطاع الصناعات التحويلية على حجم هذا القطاع من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، إذ لم يزد حجم هذا القطاع عن 16.61% في عام 2013، علماً بأنه انخفض بصورةٍ طفيفة في عام ٢٠١٧ ليصل إلى 16.44% من الناتج الإجمالي المحلي. وبعبارةٍ أخرى، فإن النظام لم يستثمر في تطوير قطاع الصناعات التحويلية ولم يضع الأساس للنمو الاقتصادي المستدام طويل الأجل.

أما على مستوى عدم المساواة في الدخل، فقد ظل معامل “جيني” لقياس توزيع الثروة مستقراً في الفترة من 2015 إلى 2018، مع تسجيل انخفاض طفيف في هذه الفترة من 0.30 إلى 0.29. ويشير هذا الأمر عدم قدرة السياسة الاقتصادية التي اتبعها النظام على زيادة ثروات طبقة الـ١٠% الأغنى مقارنةً مع الفئات السكانية الأخرى. وأثر انخفاض مستوى الاستهلاك على شرائح المجتمع كلها، بما في ذلك الأثرياء نسبياً. ويتسق ذلك مع فكرة أن الانكماش في السوق المحلية، إلى جانب ضعف الصادرات، أثرا سلباً على مراكمة الثروة عند معظم المصريين بغض النظر عن الطبقة.

ورغم أن بعض المؤشرات الأخرى تبشّر بتحقيق جوانب إيجابية على مستوى أداء الاقتصاد المصري، فإنه يتضح بعد مزيدٍ من التدقيق أن هذه المؤشرات تعبّر عن الاختلالات الهيكلية الاقتصادية، والدور البارز الذي يلعبه الجيش. ويكمن المؤشر الأول في معدل نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، حيث بلغ معدّل النمو ٥.٦٪ للسنة المالية 2018/19، رغم نمو القطاع الخاص خلال خمسة أشهر فقط من السنوات الثلاث الماضية.

ويعزى نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في المقام الأول إلى الإنفاق الحكومي على مشاريع البنية التحتية الضخمة (التي يقودها الجيش)، مما أدى إلى طفرة في قطاع البناء. ويموّل الإنفاق الحكومي من خلال الدين العام المتضخم، والذي تتحمل شرائح المجتمع الأدنى العبء الأكبر منه.

وفي مؤشرٍ على حجم انخراط الجيش في الاقتصاد، ذكر المتحدث باسم القوات المسلحة في سبتمبر 2019 أن الجيش يدير حالياً 2300 مشروع على مستوى البلاد ويوظف مباشرةً 5 ملايين مدني. وبما أن إجمالي القوى العاملة في مصر يبلغ نحو 26 مليون عامل، فإن الجيش يوظف 19.2% من القوى العاملة، ما يجعل الجيش ثاني أكبر مشغل في البلاد بعد القطاع العام الذي يوظف ٥.٦ مليون شخص.

وحظيت مشروعات البنية التحتية الضخمة بدعاية كبيرة رغم التشكيك في جدواها الاقتصادية، ومن أبرز هذه المشاريع العاصمة الإدارية الجديدة. ولعب قطاع البناء، المرتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بالمشروعات التي يقودها الجيش، دوراً مهماً في النمو الاقتصادي، إذ تشير التقديرات في عام 2018 إلى نمو هذا القطاع بنسبة ٨.٩٪، مما يجعله المساهم الأول في نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي.

وحاكى هذا الأمر وزير الإسكان مصطفى مدبولي في تصريحٍ أدلى به في نوفمبر 2017، إذ اعتبر قطاع البناء القوة الدافعة الرئيسية للنمو الاقتصادي في السنوات الثلاث الماضية. وأكد الوزير مسؤولية قطاع البناء عن خلق نحو 3 إلى 4 ملايين وظيفة.

لذلك، فإن نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لا ينتج عن قطاع خاص فعال، ولكن بصفةٍ أساسية عن طريق هوس البناء الذي يقوده الجيش، ومشاريع البنية التحتية الضخمة التي لها تأثيرٌ إيجابي ضئيل على زيادة القدرة التنافسية للاقتصاد المصري. ويجري تمويل الإنفاق الحكومي عن طريق الدين العام المتضخم. وارتفع الدين الخارجي ليبلغ 106.2 مليار دولار أمريكي في الربع الثالث من 2018/19. وارتفع الدين المحلي إلى 4.2 تريليون جنيه في نهاية مارس 2019، مرتفعاً من 3.5 تريليون جنيه في العام السابق. ويدعم ذلك التأكيدات التي تحدث عنها محمد علي في فيديوهاته حول الدور البارز لمشاريع البناء العبثية، بما في ذلك القصور الرئاسية ومشاريع الفنادق الفخمة غير المدروسة في قيادة قطاع البناء ونمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، وهو نموٌّ غير مستدام لأنه لا يعتمد على قطاعٍ خاص نشيط، بل على الفساد والمحسوبية.

ويعرّج مندور في القسم المتبقي من مقالته على مؤشرٍ أخير وهو معدل البطالة الذي بلغ ٨.١٪ بحلول الربع الأول من عام 2019، وهو أدنى معدل تم تسجيله في آخر 10 سنوات. ويرى صاحب المقالة أن هذا الانخفاض تنقصه بعض التفاصيل، إذ انخفض معدل الاستخدام الذي يقيس عدد العمال الموظّفين لمدة ساعة واحدة على الأقل في الأسبوع بالنسبة المئوية من السكان من 44.5% إلى 39%. ويترافق هذا الأمر مع تسجيل انخفاضٍ في مستوى مشاركة القوى العاملة من 46.4% إلى 41.6%، ما يشير إلى انخفاض مستوى الباحثين عن عمل، وليس إلى زيادة عدد الوظائف المتاحة. لذلك، لا بد وأن يعزى انخفاض مستوى البطالة إلى فقدان الأمل، وليس إلى تحسن الظروف الاقتصادية.

ويتحمل الفقراء وأبناء الطبقات الدنيا عبء هذه الاختلالات الهيكلية، بما في ذلك الاعتماد المفرط على الديون. وتعتزم الحكومة تخفيض الدين العام إلى إجمالي الناتج المحلي إلى ٧٧.٥٪ بحلول نهاية يونيو 2022. وتبلغ النسبة حالياً ٩٠.٥٪ بحسب. الأرقام المسجلة في شهر يونيو 2019. وتتضمن السياسة المالية المتبعة في هذا الصدد خفض الإنفاق الاجتماعي والاعتماد على الضرائب التنازلية، وهي التدابير التي تؤثر سلباً على مستوى معيشة معظم المصريين.

وتواصل الحكومة سياسة تخفيض الدعم، وتمثل أحدث الأمثلة على ممارسات هذه السياسة في خفض دعم الوقود في يوليو 2019. وتقدّر قيمة الدعم المخطط للوقود في ميزانية 2019/20 بمبلغ 52.96 مليار جنيه، في حين كان الرقم 89.07 مليار جنيه في العام السابق، أي أن الدعم انخفض بنسبة 40.5%. ويتجسّد أحد الأمثلة الأخرى الموجودة في ميزانية 2019/20 في تحصيل 42.6% من إيرادات الضرائب المقترحة عن طريق ضرائب القيمة المضافة، ما يعتبر شكلاً تنازلياً للضرائب يضع أعباء أكبر على الفقراء. من ناحية أخرى، فإن أرباح الأعمال التجارية المملوكة للقوات المسلحة معفاة من الضرائب بموجب القانون رقم 96 (2015). ويعني هذا الأمر أن الحكومة تضع الأعباء على أكتاف الفقراء، فهم يمولون هوس البناء العسكري، وهو ما يتم بدوره استخدامه لإثراء النخب العسكرية وغيرهم من بطانة النظام.

ويختم مندور مقالته بالتالي: “ستواجه السياسة الحالية للحكومة المصرية عقباتٍ هيكلية كبرى في المستقبل. وإن عجزت الحكومة عن إنعاش القطاع الخاص عبر تحفيز الطلب المحلي، فإن سياسة الاعتماد الحالية على مشاريع البنية التحتية الضخمة ستفشل. كما أن جوهر سياسة استمرار مراكمة الديون يتمثل في مواصلة الضغط على الفقراء، إذ ستواصل الحكومة تخفيض الإنفاق الاجتماعي، وهو ما سيقلل من مستوى الطلب المحلي الفعال، ما سيؤدي بدوره إلى مزيدٍ من الضغط على القطاع الخاص. وإذا ما استمر هوس البناء إلى جانب ما سبق ذكره، فإن احتمالية تعزيز زخم وطاقة رأس المال المستثمر في قطاع البناء ستبرز بشكلٍ أكبر. إلا أن هذا الهوس لا يعدو عن كونه فقاعة لا بد وأن تنفجر”.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Khaled DESOUKI | ©AFP ⁃ PEDRO COSTA GOMES

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • أوروبا وخيارات التعامل مع أزمة معتقلي تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" المقيمين في المخيّمات السورية

    يبقى خيار إعادة الأجانب إلى بلادهم هو الأفضل لأنه يعني إغلاق هذا الملف سريعاً. ومع ذلك، ستبقى الأسئلة عما يجب القيام به مع المواطنين العراقيين والسوريين، ناهيك عن الدور الذي ينبغي على الغرب القيام به لحل أوضاعهم. وهنا لا بد من الإشارة إلى وجوب تجنّب القوى الأوروبية للخيار الثالث الذي اتبعته حتى اللحظة ألا وهو السكوت والانتظار إلى حين تغيّر الظروف.
  • المقاتلات الكرديات: من قتال تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" إلى مواجهة الهجوم التركي

    تقاتل نساء كردستان من أجل حياتهن وحريتهن في منطقةٍ تحيط بها التهديدات من كلّ حدبٍ وصوب، ابتداءً بهجمات تركيا، ومروراً بإرهاب تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية ووصولاً إلى السلطة الأبوية الموجودة في الوطن. وبطبيعة الحال، فإن التكلفة مخاضٌ صعب وخطير.
  • الحركات الاحتجاجية في العراق في عصر "مجتمعٍ مدني جديد"

    إذا كان بالإمكان اعتبار حركة 2015 من سمات “المجتمع المدني الجديد”، فإن خصوصيات السياق العراقي المبني على العنف السياسي والطائفي تجعل رفض سياسات الهوية أمراً محورياً، لا سيما الهوية الطائفية والدين. وتعتبر الحرية الفردية عند المتظاهرين العراقيين، لا سيما حرية عدم الانتماء لجماعة دينية وطائفية، ضرورية شأنها في ذلك شأن المساواة الاقتصادية.

Fanack Home / Egypt: when the rivers run dry

Egypt: when the rivers run dry

Suez Canal
A picture taken on May 5, 2019, shows Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi (C) posing with ministers and some diplomats during the inauguration of a tunnel which runs under the Suez Canal in Ismailia city east of Cairo. Photo: Khaled DESOUKI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Khaled DESOUKI

Mohamed Ali’s videos exposed the corruption of the Egyptian regime, but the economic data tell an even darker story.

By: Maged Mandour

Mohamed Ali, a contractor and a mediocre film star, is now a household name in Egypt. A man that is deeply enmeshed in Egypt`s crony capitalist system, has revealed, through a series of online videos, what many Egyptians already felt and knew: Namely, the corruption of the military institution, and the regime’s deliberate economic and fiscal policy that is leading to the impoverishment of the mass of Egyptians, while enriching the military elites.

A contractor that has worked with the military establishment for the past 15 years, Ali was able to provide first-hand knowledge of the economic role of the military and its impact on the private sector. His series of videos directly led to rare protests against President Abdel Fattah El Sissi, in-spite of the government’s draconian record of repression.

These videos, however, must be placed within the context of the performance of the Egyptian economy in order to understand the extent of the military’s role in hindering economic development and increasing poverty in the country.

In May 2019, the Egyptian Center for Mobilization and Statistics, a government agency, issued a report on “Income, Expenditures, and consumption”. The findings of the report indicate a sharp rise in the levels of relative and absolute poverty, compared to 2015. Relative poverty rates rose from 27.8% to 32.5% in 2018, and the level of absolute poverty rose from 5.3% to 6.2% for the same period.

Poverty rates are determined based on local standards of consumption. The relative poverty level is defined to be 735.6 Egyptian pounds of monthly personal consumption, and the level of absolute poverty is fixed at 490.86 EGP. The equivalent of 44.6 USD and 29.7 USD, respectively. The aforementioned rise in the level of poverty is accompanied by a drop in the level of family consumption by 9.7%, using 2015 prices. The drop was sharper in the urban areas, reaching 13.7%, compared to 5.1% in the rural areas.

This, simply, means that Egyptians are getting poorer, with millions dropping into poverty. The increase in poverty rates, does not only lead to an increase in the level of social deprivation, however, it also means that Egyptians have less disposable income, negatively affecting the growth of the private sector and overall economic growth.

The decline in the level of consumption was not counteracted by an increase in the level of exports in goods and services. This is reflected in the value of Egyptian exports, which reached 47.45 billion USD in 2018, a decrease of 1.66 billion USD compared to 2013. Other indicators also reflect a worsening international competitive position. For example, the trade deficit ballooned from -6.34% of the GDP in 2013 to -10.45% of the GDP in 2018. This is, in-spit of floating the Egyptian pound, in November 2016. Theoretically, this should have led to an increase in the competitiveness of Egyptian exports, and an improved trade balance.

Christ Cathedral Nativity
View of the Christ Cathedral Nativity in the new administrative capital on March 7, 2019, some 50 km east of the capital Cairo. Photo: PEDRO COSTA GOMES / AFP ©AFP ⁃ PEDRO COSTA GOMES

The structural composition of Egyptian exports also indicates a weakness of the Egyptian manufacturing sector, and the lack of robustness of exports. For example in 2018, based on the data of the central bank, 41.1 % of the value of good exports is derived from crude oil and related products. This means that the performance of Egyptian exports is highly dependent on changes in oil price, rather than competitiveness of its manufacturing sector. This lack of competitiveness, combined with the lower level of domestic consumption and the rise of poverty rates places significant pressures on the ability of the private sector to evolve, and for investments to be diverted to more high value added activities, like manufacturing. The lack of investments in the manufacturing sector is reflected in its size as part of the GDP, which was 16.61% in 2013, slightly decreasing to 16.44% in 2017. In other words, the regime did not invest in the development of the manufacturing sector, and it did not lay down the foundation for sustainable, long-term economic growth.

In terms of income inequality, the Gini coefficient, a measure of wealth distribution, has remained stable from 2015 to 2018, with a slight decrease from 0.30 to 0.29. This indicates that the economic policy followed by the regime has not led to an increase in the wealth of the top 10%, relative to the rest of the populace. The reduction in the level of consumption has affected all segments of society, including the relatively wealthy. This is consistent with the notion that the shrinkage in the domestic market, combined with poor export performance has negatively affected wealth accumulation for most Egyptians, regardless of class.

Other indicators shed a more positive light on the performance of the Egyptian economy. However, upon further scrutiny, these figures reflect structural economic imbalances, and the prominent role that the military plays. The first indicator is the GDP growth rate, which reached 5.6% for the fiscal year 2018/19, in spite of a private sector that has shown growth during, only, five month of the past three years.

The growth of the GDP is primarily driven by government spending on mega infrastructure projects (spearheaded by the military), leading to a boom in the construction sector. Government spending is financed by a bloated public debt, the burden of which is disproportionality shouldered by the lower segments of society.

In an indicator of the size of the military’s involvement in the economy, the Armed Forces spokesperson stated, in September 2019, that the military is currently administering 2300 projects nationwide that directly employ 5 million civilians. Taking into account that the total labour force in Egypt is around 26 million workers, then the military directly employs 19.2% of the labour force. This makes the military the second largest employer in the country, after the public sector that employs 5.6 million.

The projects include much-publicised mega infrastructure projects, with dubious economic benefit, the most notable of which is the new administrative capital. The construction sector, which is closely connected to the military led projects, played an important role in generating economic growth. In 2018, it is estimated to have grown by 8.9%, making it the number one contributor to the GDP growth..

This was echoed in a statement made by the Housing Minister, Mostafa Madbouly, in November 2017, where he credited the construction sector as the major driving force for economic growth in the past three years. The minister stated that the construction sector is responsible for the creation of 3-4 million jobs.

Thus, the growth of the GDP is not driven by a dynamic private sector, but mainly by a massive military led construction spree, and mega-infrastructure projects that have little positive impact on increasing the competitiveness of the Egyptian economy. The government spending is financed by a bloated public debt. The external debt has increased to reach 106.2 billion USD as of the third quarter 2018/19, and the domestic debt has risen to 4.2 trillion pounds at the end of March 2019, up from 3.5 trillion pounds a year earlier. This supports the assertions made by Mohamed Ali in his videos, of the prominent role frivolous construction projects, including Presidential palaces and ill-conceived luxury hotels in driving the construction sector and GDP growth. A growth that is not sustainable since it is not based on a dynamic private sector, but rather corruption and graft

The final indicator to be examined is the unemployment rate, which reached 8.1% by the first quarter of 2019, the lowest in 10 years. This drop in the level of unemployment, however, requires some additional qualification. The rate of utilization, which measures the number of workers employed for at least one hour per week as a percentage of the population, has dropped from 44.5% to 39%. This is also accompanied by a reduction in the level of workforce participation from 46.4% to 41.6%, indicating a reduction in the level of those seeking work, rather than an increase in the number of available jobs. Loss of hope should be credited with the drop in the level of unemployment, not improved economic conditions.

The burden of theses structural imbalances, including the over reliance on debt is shouldered by the poor and the lower classes. The government is targeting a reduction of public debt to GDP to 77.5% by the end of June 2022. It currently stands at 90.5%, as of June 2019. The fiscal policy pursued in this regards includes slashing social spending and reliance on regressive taxation, measure negatively affecting the living standard of the mass of Egyptians.

For example, the government is continuing its policy of subsidy cuts, the latest of which was in July 2019, when fuel subsidies were slashed. The planned fuel subsidy for the 2019/20 budget is estimated to be 52.96 billion EGP, compared to 89.07 billion for the previous year, a cut of 40.5%. Another example in the 2019/20 budget is that 42.6% of the proposed tax revenue is to be collected from value added taxes, a regressive form of taxation that places higher burdens on the poor. On the other hand, profits generated from business owned by the armed forces are exempt from taxation, under law 96 (2015). This means that the government is shifting the burden on the shoulders of the poor, as they finance the military construction spree, which in-turn is used to enrich the military elites and other regime insiders.

In essence, the current policy of the Egyptian government will face major structural hurdles, in the future. If the government is not able to revive the private sector, through the stimulation of domestic demand, then the current policy of reliance on mega infrastructure projects is doomed to fail. In essence, as debt continues to pile up, the pressure on the poor will continue to rise, as the government continues to cut social spending. This will reduce the level of effective local demand, leading to greater pressure on the private sector. In addition, if the construction spree continues, the possibility of overcapacity and over-accumulation of capital in the construction sector becomes more prominent. In essence, a bubble that is bound to burst.

Remark: This article was originally published by https://www.opendemocracy.net/ in September 25, 2019.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Khaled DESOUKI | ©AFP ⁃ Khaled DESOUKI | ©AFP ⁃ PEDRO COSTA GOMES

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • The decline of Erdoğanist authoritarianism: a new chance for “democratization” in Turkey?

    On the flip side of the picture, ironically, the making of Erdoğanist authoritarianism has generated ample opportunities for a radical liberalization of the Turkish political system. Scrapping institutional discipline, liquidating the bureaucratic guardians, disposing of the ‘traditional’ cadre structure and confusing the ideological compass that defined the ‘old’ imperious state apparatus, without effectively replacing them with ‘new’ ones, presents a historic moment for a comprehensive and thorough transformation.
  • Western states must repatriate IS fighters and their families before more break free from Syrian camps

    The first, still best, option – repatriation of foreign nationals – is arguably a quickly closing window. Even then, questions would remain about what should happen to Iraqi and Syrian nationals, and what role the West should play in resolving their situation. But European powers must avoid taking the third option they’d been exercising by default – doing nothing, and waiting for circumstances to change.