تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

خوف مصر من ندرة المياه يدفعها إلى طلب العون من المجتمع الدولي

أزمة المياه مصر
مزارعون مصريون يزودون أراضيهم الزراعية بالمياه من إحدى القنوات التي يغذيها نهر النيل في قرية بهرمس على مشارف محافظة الجيزة في مصر، شمال غرب العاصمة القاهرة، في الأول من ديسمبر 2019. Photo: Khaled DESOUKI / AFP

مات ناشد

يواجه الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي صعوباتٍ جمة لإخراج المصريين من فقرٍ مائي، إذ وفقاً للأمم المتحدة، لا ينبغي أن تقل حصة الفرد السنوية، بحسب خط الفقر المائي، عن 1000 متر مكعب، إلا أن نصيب مصر أقل من 600 متر مكعب سنوياً للفرد الواحد.

يمكن القول إن أزمة المياه تُشكل أكبر مصدر قلقٍ لنظام السيسي، إذ يُمثل قطاع الزراعة حوالي ربع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للبلاد. وللحفاظ على هذا القطاع، تشجع الحكومة المزارعين على توفير المياه من خلال اعتماد أساليب الري بالتنقيط. ويقول الخبراء والمسؤولون إن أسلوب الري المذكور أكثر استدامةً من الري بالغمر، وهي طريقة قديمة تعتمد على ري سطح الحقل بالكامل. ومع ذلك، يمثل إقناع المزارعين بإجراء هذا التغيير تحدياً متواصلاً.

وفي هذا الصدد، قال علاء عزوز، مدير الإرشاد الزراعي في وزارة الزراعة المصرية: “نعلم أنهم يريدون رؤية نماذج تنفيذ ناجحة وزيادة الإيرادات التي يقدمونها.”

علاوةً على ذلك، يعدّ معدل المواليد المرتفع قضيةً رئيسية أخرى تتعلق بالأمن المائي. ففي مصر، ينمو عدد السكان بنسبة 2% سنوياً، بينما يهدد تغير المناخ بتقليل كمية المياه المتدفقة من نهر النيل، إذ يمكن لهذه المعادلة أن تزعزع استقرار البلاد وتؤدي إلى الاضطرابات. فقد حذر السيسي الشهر الماضي بالقول، “لن نشعر بتأثير الإنفاق العام على المشاريع الوطنية والبنية التحتية ما لم يتم خفض النمو السكاني السنوي من 2,4 مليون إلى 400 ألف.”

بيد أن القلق الأكبر الذي يُساور السيسي هو التأثير السلبي لسد النهضة الإثيوبي على حصة مصر من مياه النيل. تعتمد إثيوبيا على سد النهضة في إنتاج أكثر من ضعف إنتاجها الحالي من الكهرباء، وهو أمرٌ ضروري لانتشال مواطنيها من براثن الفقر ولتصبح لاعباً اقتصادياً رئيسياً في القرن الأفريقي.

وبعد معارضة بناء السد بدايةً، تقبلت مصر الأمر في نهاية المطاف كونه أمراً لا مفر منه. ومع ذلك، لا تريد القاهرة أن يمتلئ الخزان بسرعة كبيرة لضمان تدفق كمية كافية من المياه في اتجاه مجرى النهر، حيث يرغب السيسي في ملء السد تدريجياً على مدار 12 إلى 21 عاماً، مع إمكانية تمديد المدة إذا واجهت مصر موجات جفاف متتالية. ومع ذلك، تصر إثيوبيا على ملء الخزان في السنوات الست المقبلة.

وعلى الرغم من المخاطر العالية التي تلوح في الأفق لكلا البلدين، إلا أن بعض الدراسات تتوقع أن ملء الخزان بسرعةٍ كبيرة قد يخفض إمدادات المياه في مصر إلى النصف.

ومع تصاعد التوترات، حاولت مصر وإثيوبيا والسودان – التي ستتأثر أيضاً بالسد – التوصل إلى حلٍ وسط، حيث حصل تقدمٌ واضح عندما وقّع البلدان الثلاث إعلان المبادئ في مارس 2015. وعليه، نصت الاتفاقية على أن الخبراء سيجرون تقييماً للأثر البيئي والاجتماعي، الذي يفرضه القانون الدولي لأي مشروع بهذا الحجم. ومع ذلك، ادعت إثيوبيا في وقتٍ لاحق أن إعلان المبادئ انتهك سيادتها وألغت الاتفاقية.

آنذاك، ناشدت مصر الولايات المتحدة للحصول على المساعدة، إذ حذر الرئيس الأمريكي السابق دونالد ترمب من أن القاهرة قد تقصف السد في حال لم تقبل إثيوبيا بالتسوية، حيث انتقد الخبراء التهديد الذي ينذر بتفاقم التوترات بين البلدين.

ومع ذلك، يبدو نهج بايدن أكثر ملاءمةً لإثيوبيا، فقد أعلنت إدارته أن استئناف برامج المساعدات لإثيوبيا لن يكون مرتبطاً بالنزاع حول سد النيل. وعليه، قد يقنع نهج بايدن التصالحي إثيوبيا بأن واشنطن وسيطٌ محايد.

وفي كلتا الحالتين، تبحث مصر عن شركاء عالميين لتنويع إمدادات المياه، حيث لجأت إلى موسكو، التي تتعاون مع الهيئة العربية للتصنيع والقوات المسلحة المصرية، لتعزيز تحلية مياه البحر. من جهته، صرح رئيس الهيئة العربية للتصنيع، الفريق عبد المنعم التراس، أن الهدف من التعاون مع موسكو هو ضمان امتلاك مصر للأدوات اللازمة لبناء محطةٍ لتحلية مياه البحر، كما ستستفيد روسيا أيضاً من تعزيز شراكتها مع الأنظمة العربية من خلال مساعدتها على معالجة القضايا ذات الأهمية الوجودية.

وفي حديثه للمونيتور، قال أسامة سلام، الخبير الدولي في الموارد المائية في هيئة البيئة في أبو ظبي، إنه ينبغي الإشادة بمصر لاستثمارها في موارد مائية غير تقليدية، وأضاف “سيكون إنجازاً عظيماً إذا تمكنت مصر من تحلية مياه البحر لتلبية احتياجات المحافظات الساحلية وتغطية الطلب المستقبلي على مياه الشرب.”

لتحقيق هذا المسعى، طلبت مصر أيضاً المساعدة من الكويت. ففي سبتمبر 2019، أصدر السيسي المرسوم رقم 83 للحصول على قرض بقيمة 49,5 مليون دولار من الدولة الخليجية الصغيرة، حيث ستستخدم مصر الأموال لبناء أربع محطات لتحلية مياه البحر في محافظة جنوب سيناء.

ورغم هذه المشاريع الواعدة، قال محمد نصر الدين علام، وزير الموارد المائية والري المصري الأسبق، للصحافيين إن تحلية المياه لن تعالج العجز المائي في البلاد، إذ ستوفر، في أحسن الأحوال، مياه الشرب للسكان الذين يعيشون في المدن المشيدة حديثاً أو على طول الساحل.

وبالتالي فإن التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ حول النيل حقيقةٌ مُلّحة، إذ طلبت مصر والسودان مؤخراً مساعدة المجتمع الدولي لإحياء المحادثات مع إثيوبيا، التي تعتزم ملء السد بمزيدٍ من المياه هذا العام. وعليه، ستتخذ الوساطة الدولية شكل رباعي يضم جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، التي ترأس حالياً الاتحاد الأفريقي، والأمم المتحدة والولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي.

ومع ذلك، قد تلجأ القاهرة إلى القوة في حال فشلت الدبلوماسية. وبالفعل، أجرى الجيش المصري مناوراتٍ مشتركة مع القوات المسلحة السودانية، كما حذر السيسي إثيوبيا من “بسط سيطرتها على النيل من خلال إجراءات أحادية الجانب.” وفي ظل انخراط إثيوبيا في حربٍ أهلية، قد يضطر الرئيس آبي أحمد إلى الانصياع للضغط الإقليمي والتوقف عن ملء السد، أو لربما سيضاعف الرهان من خلال إثارة المشاعر القومية بين شعبه المنقسم.

الزمن وحده كفيلٌ في إثبات ما إذا كان النزاع على المياه سيريق الدماء.

في هذه المقالة: مصر | الاقتصاد | شؤون الساعة

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa
All

Egypt Fears Water Scarcity, Looks to Global Community for Help

Water Egypt
Egyptian farmers supply their farmland with water from a canal, fed by the Nile river, in the village of Baharmis on the outskirts of Egypt’s Giza province, northwest of the capital Cairo, on December 1, 2019. Photo: Khaled DESOUKI / AFP

By: Mat Nashed

President Abdel Fatah Al Sisi is struggling to pull Egyptians out of water poverty. According to the U.N, the standard poverty line is an annual share of less than 1,000 cubic meters per person. However, Egypt has a share of less than 600 cubic meters per person.

The water crisis is arguably the largest concern for Sisi’s regime. The agriculture sector, after all, composes about a quarter of the country’s gross domestic product. To preserve that sector, the government is encouraging farmers to save water by adopting to drip irrigation methods. Experts and officials say that method of farming is more sustainable than irrigation by inundation, an old-fashioned method that consists of watering the entire surface of the field. Convincing farmers to make the switch is an ongoing challenge.

“We know that they need to see successful models of implementation and the increased revenue they provide,” said Alaa Azouz, Egypt’s outreach at the agriculture ministry.

The high birth rate is another major issue related to water security. In Egypt, the population is growing by two percent per year, while climate change threatens to reduce the amount of water streaming down from the Nile. That equation could destabilize the country and lead to unrest. “We won’t feel the impact of public spending on national projects and infrastructure unless annual population growth is cut from 2.4 million to 400,000,” Sisi warned last month.

But Sisi’s biggest concern is that Ethiopia’s Grand Renaissance Dam (GERD) will negatively impact Egypt’s share of Nile water. Ethiopia is counting on the GERD to produce more than twice as much as its current electricity output, which is necessary to raise its citizens out of poverty and become a major economic player in the horn of Africa.

After first opposing the dam, Egypt eventually accepted its inevitability. However, Cairo doesn’t want the reservoir to fill too quickly to ensure enough water flows downstream. Sisi wants to see the dam gradually filled over a period of 12 to 21 years, with a possible extension if Egypt faces consecutive droughts. However, Ethiopia insists to fill the reservoir in the next six years.

The stakes are high for both countries, yet some studies predict that filling the reservoir too fast could cut Egypt’s water supply in half.

As tensions build, Egypt, Ethiopia, and Sudan – which will also be impacted by the dam – have tried to reach a compromise. There was an apparent breakthrough when they signed the Declaration of Principles in March 2015. The agreement stipulated that experts would conduct an environment and social impact assessment (ESIA), which international law mandates for any project of this magnitude. However, Ethiopia later claimed that the DoP infringed on its sovereignty and canceled the agreement.

Egypt has since appealed to the U.S for help. Former U.S President Donald Trump warned that Cairo could bomb the dam if Ethiopia didn’t compromise. Experts criticized the threat for exacerbating tensions between the two nations.

Biden’s approach appears more favourable to Ethiopia. His administration announced that the resumption of aid programs to Ethiopia wouldn’t be linked to the Nile dam dispute. Biden’s conciliatory approach could convince Ethiopia that Washington is a neutral mediator.

Either way, Egypt is looking for global partners to diversify its water supply. Enter Moscow, which is cooperating with the Arab Organization for Industrialization and Egypt’s armed forces to promote seawater desalination. The head of the AOI, Abdul Menhem al-Toras, stated that the aim of the cooperation with Moscow is to ensure that Egypt has the necessary tools to build a seawater desalination plant. Russia also stands to gain by strengthening its partnership with Arab regimes by helping them address issues of existential importance.

Osama Salam, a water expert at the Environment Agency in Abu Dhabi, told Al-Monitor that Egypt should be commended for investing in unconventional water resources. “It would be a great achievement if Egypt can manage to desalinate seawater to cater to the needs of the coastal governorates and cover the future demand for drinking water,” he said.

To achieve that quest, Egypt is also soliciting help from Kuwait. In September 2019, Sisi issued Decree No. 83 to acquire a $49.5 million loan from the tiny Gulf nation. Egypt will use the money to build four seawater desalination stations in the south Sinai governorate.

Despite these promising projects, Mohammed Nasreddin Allam, a former Egyptian minister of water resources and irrigation, told reporters that desalination won’t remedy the country’s water deficit. At best, they will provide drinking water to residents living in newly built cities or along the coast.

An agreement on the Nile is thus imperative. Egypt and Sudan recently requested assistance from the global community to revive talks with Ethiopia, which intends to fill the dam with more water this year. International mediation would take the form of a quartet that includes the Democratic Republic of Congo, which currently heads the African Union, the U.N, U.S and EU.

Cairo could resort to force if diplomacy fails. Egypt’s military has already conducted joint exercises with the Sudanese Armed Forces. Sisi has also warned Ethiopia against “extending control over the Nile through unilateral action.” With Ethiopia entrenched in a civil war, President Abiy may have to bend to regional pressure and pause filling the dam. He could also double down by arousing nationalist sentiment among his divided population.

Time will tell if the water dispute spills blood.

In this article: Egypt | Economy | Current