فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / الاقتصاد / التحديات الاقتصادية في عهد الرئيس السيسي

التحديات الاقتصادية في عهد الرئيس السيسي

Luz Photo Agency/ HH
Luz Photo Agency/ HH

منذ ثورة 2011 في مصر، يعاني إقتصاد أكثر الدول العربية اكتظاظاً بالسكان من الإضطرابات، إذ يعتمد البلد اعتماداً كبيراً على السياحة كمصدر رئيسي للعملة الأجنبية، حيث تمت خسارة ما نسبته الثلث خلال عام 2011 فقط. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، شهدت الأسواق انسحاب العديد من المستثمرين الأجانب وسط مخاوف بشأن حالة عدم التيقّن السياسي التي لم تُظهر أي دلائل على اتحاد الآراء.

كانت المشاكل الاقتصادية التي تُثقل كاهل الفقراء أحد العوامل الرئيسية التي دفعت الناس إلى الخروج إلى الشوارع ضد محمد مرسي، أول رئيس منتخب بحرية في مصر، بعد أقل من عام على توليه منصبه. شكّل هذا ضغطاً هائلاً على خليفته، عبدالفتاح السيسي، وزير الدفاع السابق الذي قاد انقلاباً مدعوماً بسلطة الشعب الذي أطاح بالرئيس عام 2013، يستدعي السرعة في التخفيف من بعض المشاكل التي يواجهها الشعب.

لم تكن خطط السيسي الإقتصادية واضحةً قط، ويُعزى ذلك إلى التصريحات المتضاربة التي غالباً ما صرّح بها سواء في خطاباته أو في المناسبات العامة أو حتى عبر التسجيلات المسربة. كان بعضها يدعم بقوة السوق الحرة، كما هو الحال عندما اقترح دفع ضرائب على مكالمات الهاتف المحمول في حال إجراء أو تلقيّ المكالمات، بينما اتخذ بعضها منحنى أكثر اشتراكية، عندما دعا لعكس اتجاه الخصخصة الذي بدأ في عهد مبارك.

خلال حملته الانتخابية لرئاسة الجمهورية، تعرّض السيسي في كثير من الأحيان لإنتقادات حادة من المعارضين والناشطين لفشله في تقديم برنامج رئاسي يتضمن خطة اقتصادية واضحة. وعندما سئل عن ذلك في مختلف لقائاته التلفزيونية أثناء فترة الترشح، تجنب دوماً إعطاء إجابات واضحة، مما أثار العديد من المخاوف. ومع اقتراب السباق الرئاسي على نهايته، أصدر مكتب حملته أخيراً برنامجاً موجزاً على شبكة الانترنت، يذكر بعض الحلول الممكنة التي تتضمن رفع الضرائب وإعادة توزيع الدعم لخدمة من هم في أمس الحاجة إليه، ولكن دون تقديم أي تفاصيل حول خطط تحقيق ذلك.

ومع ذلك، فإن عدم وجود رؤية واضحة، وبعض التصريحات التي أدلى بها السيسي، مثل اقتراحه توفير الناس للمال عن طريق المشي أو ركوب الدراجات الهوائية عند التوجه إلى العمل أو الجامعة لتوفير المال للبلاد، أثار السخرية على مواقع التواصل الإجتماعي بسبب عرضه حلولاً محدودة للغاية. كما أدت تعليقات أخرى، مثل تلك التي تحث الشباب على اعتماد تدابير تقشفية صارمة “للمساعدة في بناء مصر” إلى شعور الشباب الذين كانوا يعانون بالفعل من ارتفاع معدل البطالة والإنحدار السريع في نوعية الحياة  إلى الشعور بالإحباط.

وبعد عام من الإطاحة بمرسي، كان الشيء الوحيد الذي ساعد الاقتصاد المصري على مواصلة الوقوف على قدميه، التبرعات السخية، التي بلغ مجموعها 12 مليار دولار أمريكي من قِبل دول الخليج الغنية من مؤيدي الانقلاب، ولكن في نهاية المطاف، توقفت هذه التبرعات. طالبت حكومات هذه البلدان الحصول على ضمانات من السيسي، بعد أن أصبح رئيسا، بالعمل على تحسين الاقتصاد، مقابل دعمها المستمر.

الرئيس السيسي

خلال فترة ترشحه للإنتخابات الرئاسية، وعد السيسي بأنه لن يعمد إلى رفع أسعار المواد الغذائية أو الوقود، متعهداً بزيادة الدخل و”جعل الناس أكثر ثراءً” قبل خفض الدعم، لكنه تراجع عن هذا الوعد في غضون أشهر قليلة.

بعد فوزه بالرئاسة، واجه السيسي التحدي المتمثل في محاولة تلبية مطالب ملايين الشباب المحرومين الذين عانوا منذ ثورة 2011. وعندما حاولت حكومته تمرير الميزانية السنوية مع وجود عجز بنسبة 12 في المئة، رفض الموافقة عليها؛ مما أدى إلى سلسلة من القرارات التي لم تحظى بشعبية والتي تهدف إلى إعادة الميزانية تحت السيطرة.

شملت هذه التدابير رفع بعض الدعم على الوقود، مما أدى إلى رفع سعر البنزين والديزل بنسبة تصل إلى 78%. كما أعلنت الحكومة عن خطط لزيادة أسعار الوقود بشكل منتظم على مدى السنوات القليلة المقبلة، بهدف رفع الدعم بشكل كليّ عن الوقود في غضون خمس سنوات.

وارتفعت أسعار الكهرباء والغاز بشكل حاد، فضلاً عن فرض ضرائب مبيعات جديدة على الكحول والسجائر. أدى ارتفاع الوقود إلى تبعات اقتصادية أخرى القت بظلالها على كل شيء بدءاً من المواد الغذائية وصولاً إلى وسائل النقل، مما أثقل كاهل الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض. وفي حين وعدت الحكومة في الحفاظ على الأسعار تحت السيطرة، إلا أنها كانت ولا تزال غير قادرة على ذلك إلى حدٍ كبير.

دافع بعض الإقتصاديين بحجة أنّ هذه التدابير ضرورية للحفاظ على العجز في حدوده الدُنيا، في حين أدانها البعض الآخر لأنها تؤثر على الفقراء أكثر من الأغنياء.

وفي ظهور تلفزيوني، وعد السيسي بالتبرع بنصف ثروته ونصف راتبه لصندوق دعم مصر. ومن ثم دعا رجال الأعمال فعل الشيء ذاته، وطلب من المصريين شد أحزمتهم واعتماد تدابير تقشفية لخفض الإنفاق الحكومي.

الحاجة إلى الإصلاح

تحت ضغط من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، التي تشعر بالقلق حيال كيفية استخدام القيادة المصرية للمساعدات التي تتلقاها من الجهات المانحة لغايات النمو الاقتصادي المستدام، توجهت الحكومة إلى طلب المساعدة من مستشارين غربيين في محاولة لوضع خطة اقتصادية من شأنها درء الأضرار التي لحقت بها منذ عام 2011.

اقترح هؤلاء الخبراء أن البلاد بحاجة إلى ما لا يقل عن 60 مليار دولار في مجال الاستثمار لتصل إلى نمو بنسبة 5 % من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بحلول عام 2018 و60 مليار دولار إضافية لتعزيز احتياطي العملات الأجنبية، والتي قد تتضاءل إلى ما يقرب نصف ما تم التحفظ عليه قبل ثورة 2011.

ووفقاً للعديد من الإقتصاديين، يعدّ قرار رفع الدعم، الذي لم يحظى بقبول شعبي، إحدى توصيات المستشارين. وتأمل الحكومة المصرية  أن يساعدها هذا على استئناف المحادثات مع صندوق النقد الدولي (IMF)، والتي توقفت في وقت سابق خلال رئاسة مرسي. يمكن لهذا أن يزيد ثقة المستثمرين، بعد سنوات من الاضطرابات السياسية والاستراتيجيات الاقتصادية المبهمة بعد خلع مبارك.

وقال رجل الأعمال والملياردير المصري سميح ساويرس، أنه وبالرغم من ذلك، لن يستثمر في بلده في الوقت الراهن، مشيراً إلى القمع السياسي، وفشل الحكومة في اتخاذ قرارات اقتصادية جريئة، والنظام القانوني الذي لا يحمي المستثمرين.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Economy / Economic Challenges Under President al-Sisi

Economic Challenges Under President al-Sisi

Luz Photo Agency / HH

Since the 2011 revolution in Egypt, the economy of the most populous Arab state has been in turmoil. The country depends heavily on tourism for foreign-currency income, and a third of that was lost during 2011 alone. Additionally, many foreign investors pulled out of the market amid fears over the political uncertainty that showed no sign of resolution.

The economic woes of poor people were one of the main factors that drove people into the streets against Mohamed Morsi, the first freely elected president of Egypt, after less than a year in office. This put tremendous pressure on his successor, Abdel Fattah al-Sisi—the ex–defense minister who led a popularly backed coup that overthrew the president in 2013—to alleviate quickly some of the problems people were facing.

Al-Sisi’s economic plans were never clear, thanks to contradictory statements that he often made in speeches, public appearances, and leaked recordings. Some of them were strongly in support of a free market, as when he suggested that people receiving, as well as placing, mobile phone calls should be made to pay, while others had a more socialist bent, as when he called for reversing the privatization begun during the Mubarak era.

During his campaign for the presidency, al-Sisi was often sharply criticized by opponents and activists for failing to present a presidential program with a clear economic plan. When asked about it on various TV appearances while running for office, he always avoided giving clear answers, which raised concerns. Near the end of the presidential race, his campaign finally released a summary program online that suggested, as possible solutions, raising taxes and reallocating subsidies to serve those most in need, but without providing details of how he planned to achieve that.

However, the lack of a clear vision, and some statements made by al-Sisi—such as his suggestion that people should save money by walking or biking to work or university in order to save money for the country—sparked ridicule on social media because of the extremely limited solutions they offered. Other comments, such as those urging young people to adopt tough austerity measures “to help and build Egypt” frustrated younger people who were already suffering from high unemployment and a rapidly declining quality of life.

A year after the overthrow of Morsi, the only thing that was keeping Egypt’s economy afloat was the generous donations, totaling US $12 billion, by rich Gulf countries who supported the coup, but these donations eventually ceased. The governments in these countries demanded assurances from al-Sisi that, after becoming president, he would work to improve the economy, in return for their continuing support.

President al-Sisi

While running for the presidency, al-Sisi promised he would not raise food and fuel prices, promising to increase income and “make people wealthier” before cutting subsidies, but he reneged on this promise in a few months.

After winning the presidency, al-Sisi faced the challenge of trying to fulfill the demands of the millions of disenfranchised young people who have suffered since the 2011 revolution. When his cabinet tried to pass an annual budget with a 12 percent deficit, he refused to approve it; this led to a series of unpopular decisions aimed at bringing the budget under control.

These measures included removing some of the subsidies on fuel, which raised the price of gasoline and diesel by up to 78 percent. The government announced plans to increase fuel prices regularly over the next few years, with the intention of removing all fuel subsidies within five years.

Electricity and gas prices were also increased sharply, and new sales taxes were introduced, on alcohol and cigarettes.  The fuel hike sent ripples through the economy, affecting everything from food to transportation, causing the greatest strain on lower-income families. While the government promised to keep prices under control, it has been largely unable to do so.

Most economists argued that these measures were necessary to keep the national deficit to a minimum, but some condemned them as affecting poor people more than the rich.

In an ad hoc TV appearance, al-Sisi promised to donate half his wealth and half his salary to a fund to support Egypt. He then called on rich businessmen to do the same and asked Egyptians to tighten their belts and adopt austerity measures to decrease government spending.

Reform needed

Under pressure from the United Arab Emirates, which was concerned about how the Egyptian leadership would use the aid it receives from donors for sustainable economic growth, the government turned to Western consultants to try to create an economic plan that would stave off the damage done since 2011.These experts suggested that the country needs at least US $60 billion in investment if it is to reach a healthy 5 percent growth in GDP by 2018 and another US $60 billion to bolster foreign-currency reserves, which had dwindled to nearly half what was maintained before the 2011 revolution.Several economists say the unpopular decision to remove some of the subsidies was one of the recommendations of the consultants. The Egypt government hopes this will help restart talks with the International Monetary Fund (IMF), which stalled earlier, during Morsi’s presidency. This could increase investor confidence, after years of political turmoil and uncertain economic strategies following the removal of Mubarak.Egyptian billionaire businessman Samih Sawaris said, however, that he would not invest in his country at this time, citing political oppression, the failure of the government to make bold economic decisions, and a legal system that does not protect investors.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.