فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / الاقتصاد / مصر: الإصلاحات الاقتصادية جيدة نظرياً إلا أن معدلات الفقر في ارتفاع

مصر: الإصلاحات الاقتصادية جيدة نظرياً إلا أن معدلات الفقر في ارتفاع

Egypt- Povery egypt
صورة لعزبة النخل، وهي مدينة للأكواخ تقع شمال العاصمة المصرية القاهرة. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mohamed el-Shahed

“تحسن وضع الاقتصاد الكلي في مصر بشكلٍ ملحوظ منذ بدء برنامج إصلاح السلطات في نوفمبر 2016،” كتب صندوق النقد الدولي في مراجعته الرابعة لبرنامج الإصلاح نفسه، والذي كان جزءاً من اتفاقية قرضٍ بقيمة 12 مليار دولار لتخفيف أزمة الدولار في مصر في عام 2016.

كما أجرى البنك الدولي تقييماً مماثلاً في تقرير مستجدات الحالة الاقتصادية لمصر في أبريل 2019، إذ ذكر إن “النمو الاقتصادي كان قوياً” – حيث بلغ متوسطه 5,3% في السنة المالية 2017/2018 والربع الأول من السنة المالية 2018/2019 – و”من المتوقع أن يصل إلى 6% على المدى المتوسط.”

ومع ذلك، يختلف بعض المعلقين مع ما ذكر، فقد جادل يحيى حامد، وزير الاستثمار السابق، في مقالٍ على موقع فورين بوليسي على الإنترنت بأن الاقتصاد المصري في الواقع “ينهار” وليس “مزدهراً،” في حين أن الاقتصادي عبد الحافظ الصاوي صاغ تحليلاً بعنوان “الاقتصاد المصري- تراجع لا تعافي.” ومع ذلك، فإن لكل من حامد والصاوي ميول سياسية معينة، ذلك أنهما مرتبطان بالإخوان المسلمين. فقد تم عزل الجماعة الإسلامية بعنفٍ من السلطة من قبل الرئيس الحالي عبد الفتاح السيسي في عام 2013 وتعرضت لقمعٍ كبير منذ ذلك الحين، وبالتالي، رفضت وزارة الخارجية تحليل فورن بوليسي باعتباره غير دقيق ومُسيّس.

إذاً، إلى أي مدى أثمر برنامج الإصلاح الذي تضمن بشكلٍ خاص تعويم الجنيه المصري وفرض ضريبة القيمة المضافة وإلغاء الدعم الحكومي عن الكهرباء؟

مؤشرات الاقتصاد الكلي، مثل زيادة احتياطيات مصر من العملات الأجنبية، وتقلص العجز المالي والنمو الاقتصادي الواعد، إيجابية إلى حدٍ كبير. لا يرجع الفضل في ذلك فحسب إلى برنامج إصلاح صندوق النقد الدولي ولكن أيضاً بفضل اكتشافات حقل الغاز الرئيسي وتعافي السياحة اللذان كان لهما تأثيرٌ إيجابي على ميزانية الدولة. ومع ذلك، لا يزال نشاط القطاع الخاص غير النفطي والاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر يعاني الأمرّين، وهي قضيةٌ سيتم تناولها أدناه.

الحقيقة الساطعة الجلية، التي تجاهلتها وزارة الخارجية عملياً في ردها على مقال فورين بوليسي هي الفقر.

فقد سلط مقالٌ قصير نُشر في جريدة البورصة التجارية المحلية في مايو 2019 الضوء على حساسية الأمر، إذ أشار إلى أن الحكومة أجلت نشر تقريرٍ عن الفقر في مصر، لأن النتائج “لا تعكس إنجازات الدولة.” تم استدعاء واضعي التقرير المدعوم من الحكومة من قبل كبار المسؤولين لإعادة كتابة النتائج التي توصلوا إليها، مرة في فبراير ومرة أخرى في مايو.

ووجد التقرير، الذي جمعه الجهاز المركزي للتعبئة العامة والإحصاء، أن نسبة المصريين الذين يعيشون في فقر قد ارتفعت إلى 30,2% مقارنة بـ 27,8% في عام 2015. وتم تحديد خط الفقر في التقرير بـ800 جنيه مصري شهرياً، وهو رقم أقل بكثير من الـ950 جنيه في الشهر الذي حدده البنك الدولي. كما ارتفع معدل الفقر في عام 2015 عن ما كان عليه منذ عام 2011، عندما بلغ معدل الفقر 25,2%، بحسب الجهاز المركزي للتعبئة العامة والإحصاء.

كما أشار البنك الدولي في بيانٍ صحفي صدر في مايو والذي أعلن فيه تمديد برنامج الإصلاح لمدة عامين أن “حوالي 60% من سكان مصر إما فقراء أو عرضة له، كما أن عدم المساواة آخذ في الازدياد”. وحث مصر على بذل المزيد من الجهد لـ”تسريع الاحتواء الاقتصادي واستيعاب القوى العاملة المتنامية.”

فقد أظهرت الحكومة في السابق أنها لا تريد نشر أخبارٍ سيئة تتعلق بمستويات المعيشة. ففي عام 2017، تم إيقاف عرض إعلان خيري في شهر رمضان يسلط الضوء على عدم توفر مياه الشرب النظيفة في صعيد مصر ذلك أنه قوّض جهود الدولة لتحسين نوعية المياه. وفي أكتوبر 2018، اعتُقل الخبير الاقتصادي عبد الخالق فاروق لفترة وجيزة لقيامه بنشر أخبار كاذبة، بعد أن قال في كتابه الأخير أن الفقر في مصر كان نتيجة فشل السياسات الحكومية والفساد.

وبالفعل، تقوم الحكومة بعرض “جهودها” فيما يتعلق بالأهداف الواعدة، مثل هدف الحد من الفقر بمقدار النصف بحلول عام 2020 والقضاء عليه بالكامل بحلول عام 2030.

في حين أن الدعم الغذائي لأكثر الفئات عرضةً للفقر لا يزال قائماً، إلا أن الإصلاحات الأخرى أصابت الفقراء بشدة. فقد ارتفع التضخم بنحو 30% في العام بعد تعويم الجنيه وظل مرتفعاً (> 10%) منذ ذلك الحين. فعلى سبيل المثال، تبلغ تكلفة وجبة تتكون من ربع دجاجة في مطعم عادي في القاهرة 10 جنيهات في عام 2014، في حين تبلغ تكلفتها اليوم حوالي 25 جنيهاً. كما ارتفعت أسعار المترو من جنيه إلى ما بين 3 جنيهات و10 جنيهات. وفي يوليو 2019، ستتم إزالة آخر أشكال الدعم المتبقية على الوقود والكهرباء، مما سيؤدي إلى ارتفاع فواتير الكهرباء وتكاليف النقل، مثل أسعار الحافلات وسيارات الأجرة، على المصريين.

ووفقاً لأسامة دياب، وهو زميل غير مقيم يركز على قضايا التنمية والقضايا الاقتصادية في معهد دراسات الشرق الأوسط في معهد التحرير، في زاوية سؤالٍ وجواب في عام 2018 “سيؤثر ارتفاع الأسعار بالتأكيد على الناس الأكثر فقراً.” وأضاف “المترو هو في الغالب منفعة عامة للفقراء، لأن الأثرياء في مصر يتنقلون في أغلب الأحيان في سياراتهم الخاصة أو في سيارات الأجرة. أيضاً، كان الارتفاع الأخير في أسعار الكهرباء ارتدادي؛ حيث بلغت الزيادة على أقل شريحة استهلاك حوالي 70%، بينما وصلت إلى حوالي 7,4% لأعلى استهلاك.”

الفكرة وراء الإصلاحات الاقتصادية هي أنه عندما يستقر وضع الاقتصاد الكلي في مصر، سيكون لهذا تأثير انسيابي على المدى المتوسط، مما سيخلق ظروف معيشية أفضل للجميع. ومع ذلك، فقد أثيرت شكوكٌ حول حقيقة هذا السيناريو.

وبحسب ما قاله السياسي الاقتصادي كريم عبد الباري “أعتقد أنه لا ينبغي أن نتوقع حصول أي انسيابٍ تدريجي.” وأضاف “على العكس، ستصل مستويات الفقر إلى ذروتها.”

وتابع: “برأيي، يعود هذا إلى طبيعة برنامج الإصلاح نفسه، والذي يؤكد على تراجع الدولة عن توفير الخدمات الأساسية كما كانت عليه، بالإضافة إلى خفض إنفاقها العام على البرامج الاجتماعية والاقتصادية.”

كما أعرب البنك الدولي عن مخاوفه أيضاً، إذ ذكر في المراجعة التي أجراها في أبريل الماضي: “من المتوقع أن تظل خدمة الديون عبئاً على الميزانية، مما يعيق الإنفاق الاجتماعي الكبير، لا سيما على الصحة والتعليم.”

علاوةً على ذلك، يتقلص نشاط القطاع الخاص كل شهر تقريباً منذ سبتمبر 2018. ووفقاً للبنك الدولي، فإن نشاط القطاع الخاص غير النفطي يعوقه “بيئة الأعمال الصعبة،” ونتيجةً لذلك، لا يزال خلق الوظائف “متواضعاً.” كما تحاول الحكومة تحفيز القطاع الخاص من خلال، على سبيل المثال، إزالة الحواجز القانونية وبرامج الخصخصة وإنشاء مناطق تجارة حرة.

علاوةً على ذلك، انخفض الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر في عام 2018 (8,2%) للسنة الثانية على التوالي. وفي حين أن بعض رجال الأعمال أعزو ذلك إلى تدهور الأسواق العالمية، إلا أن الأمر لا زال يبعث على القلق ذلك أن غالبية الاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة ذهبت إلى قطاع النفط والغاز، الذي لا يولد عموماً العديد من الوظائف الجديدة.

وفي هذا الصدد، يقول عبد الباري، “تركز الاستثمارات المستمرة للنظام على البنية التحتية أملاً في جذب المزيد من الاستثمارات الأجنبية. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا التوقع بأن البنية التحتية الأكثر تقدماً ستساعد في تدفق الاستثمارات الأجنبية أمر غير منطقي.” كما يجادل إن تكلفة العمالة في مصر، على الرغم من انخفاض قيمة العملة، لا تزال مرتفعة نسبياً مقارنة بشرق آسيا، وأن عدم الاستقرار الاجتماعي السائد “يجعل من غير الجذاب الاستثمار هنا.”

إلى جانب ذلك، ترتبط المشاكل في القطاع الخاص غير النفطي أيضاً بمشاركة الجيش المتزايدة في الاقتصاد، إذ تتمتع شركات الجيش بمزايا تنافسية على القطاع الخاص من حيث التسهيلات الضريبية، والوصول إلى العمالة الرخيصة من خلال التجنيد والسيطرة على مساحات شاسعة من الأراضي. هذه الشركات مهيمنة بشكلٍ خاص على مشاريع البنية التحتية.

وعليه، يتجنب المستثمرون منافسة الجيش أو الدخول في مشاريع مشتركة مع الشركة التابعة للجيش، وهو نموذجٌ تسعى إليه مصر بشكلٍ متزايد. كما قال عبد الباري إن أنشطة الجيش “بالتأكيد” تعيق تنمية القطاع الخاص.

فقد عالج الرئيس السيسي، الجنرال في الجيش، المخاوف بشأن الأنشطة الاقتصادية للجيش في شهر مايو، قائلاً إن للجيش “دورٌ إشرافي وإداري” فحسب. ومع ذلك، في يونيو، أخبر وزير الإنتاج الحربي الصحافة المحلية أن وزارته تسعى بنشاط إلى إقامة شراكاتٍ دولية وتهدف إلى التوسع على الصعيدين المحلي والدولي. وقال إنه من المقرر أن تفتتح الوزارة مصنعاً جديداً في أكتوبر 2019 لتوفير المصاعد والسلالم المتحركة لمشاريع الجيش في العاصمة الإدارية الجديدة قيد الإنشاء حالياً خارج القاهرة، وهو بيانٌ يبدو أنه يتعارض مع إدعاءات السيسي “الإشرافية.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mohamed el-Shahed

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Economy / In Egypt, Economic Reforms Look Good on Paper but Poverty on the Rise

In Egypt, Economic Reforms Look Good on Paper but Poverty on the Rise

Egypt- Povery egypt
A general view of Ezbet al-Nakhl, a shanty town north of the Egyptian capital Cairo. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mohamed el-Shahed

‘Egypt’s macroeconomic situation has improved markedly since the initiation of the authorities’ reform programme in November 2016,’ the International Monetary Fund (IMF) wrote in its fourth review of that same reform programme, which was part of a $12 billion loan agreement to ease Egypt’s dollar crisis in 2016.

The World Bank made a similar assessment in its April 2019 economic update for Egypt, saying ‘economic growth has been robust’ – averaging 5.3 per cent in the 2017/2018 fiscal year and the first quarter of the 2018/2019 fiscal year – and is ‘expected to reach 6 per cent in the medium term’.

Some commentators disagree. Yehia Hamed, former investment minster, argued an article on the Foreign Policy website that Egypt’s economy is in fact ‘collapsing’ rather than ‘booming’, whereas economist Abdelhafez Alsawy penned an analysis titled ‘Egyptian Economy: Declining Not Recovering’. However, both Hamed and Alsawy have a certain political bias, as they are affiliated with the Muslim Brotherhood. The Islamist group was violently removed from power by current President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi in 2013 and has been subject to a major crackdown since. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has hence dismissed the Foreign Policy analysis as inaccurate and politicized.

To what extent, then, has the reform programme, which notably included the floating of the Egyptian pound (EGP), introducing a value-added tax and removing subsidies on fuel and electricity, borne fruit?

Macroeconomic indicators, such as Egypt’s increasing foreign currency reserves, shrinking fiscal deficit and promising economic growth, are largely positive. This is not only due to the IMF reform programme but also because major gas field discoveries and tourism recovery had a positive impact on the state’s budget. Non-oil private sector activity and foreign direct investment continue to struggle, however, an issue that will be addressed below.

A major elephant in the room, one that the Foreign Ministry conveniently ignored in its response to the Foreign Policy piece, is poverty.

A short article published in the local business newspaper al-Borsa in May 2019 shed light on the sensitivity of the matter. It noted that the government suspended the publication of a report on poverty in Egypt, as the results did ‘not reflect the achievements of the state’. The authors of the government-backed report were summoned by senior officials to rewrite their findings, once in February and again in May.

The report, compiled by the state’s statistics agency CAPMAS, found that Egyptians living in poverty had risen to 30.2 per cent compared to 27.8 per cent in 2015. And the poverty line used in the report was set at 800 EGP per month, which is significantly lower than the World Bank’s 950 EGP per month. The poverty rate in 2015 had itself increased since 2011, when poverty stood at 25.2 per cent, according to CAPMAS.

The World Bank also noted in a May press release announcing a two-year extension of the reform programme that ‘some 60 per cent of Egypt’s population is either poor or vulnerable, and inequality is on the rise’. It urged Egypt to do more to ‘accelerate economic inclusion and absorb a growing labour force’.

The government has shown before that it does not want bad news concerning living standards to spread. In 2017, a Ramadan charity ad highlighting the lack of access to clean drinking water in Upper Egypt was taken off air as it undermined the efforts of the state to improve water quality. In October 2018, economist Abdel-Khalek Farouk was briefly detained for allegedly publishing false news, after he argued in his latest book that poverty in Egypt was a result of failing government policies and corruption.

The government does communicate its ‘efforts’ in terms of promising targets, such as the aim to reduce poverty by half by 2020 and eradicate it completely by 2030.

While food subsidies for the most vulnerable remain in place, the other reforms have hit the poor hard. Inflation soared towards 30 per cent in the year after the currency float and has remained high (>10 per cent) since. To give an example, a quarter chicken meal at a basic street restaurant in Cairo cost 10 EGP in 2014 and now costs around 25 EGP. Metro prices have increased from 1 EGP to between 3 EGP and 10 EGP. In July 2019, the last remaining subsidies on fuel and electricity will be removed, leaving Egyptians with higher electricity bills and transport costs, such as bus and taxi fares.

“The price hikes for sure affect the poorest most,” said Osama Diab, a non-resident fellow at the Tahrir Institute for Middle East Policy, in a Q&A in 2018. “The metro is mostly a public utility of the poor, because the well-off in Egypt will more often than not transport in their own private vehicles or in taxis. Also, the more recent hike in electricity prices was regressive; the increase for the lowest consumption bracket was about 70 per cent, whereas for the highest it was a mere 7.4 per cent.”

The idea behind the economic reforms is that when Egypt’s macroeconomic situation has stabilized, this will have a trickle-down effect in the medium term, creating better living conditions for all. However, doubts have been raised about the reality of this scenario.

“I believe that we should not expect any trickle down to happen,” political economist Kareem AbdelBary told Fanack in an email. “On the contrary, poverty rates are going to peak even further.”

He continued: “In my opinion, this goes back to the nature of the reform programme itself, which emphasizes the retreat of the state from providing the basic services as it used to, in addition to decreasing its public spending on socioeconomic programmes.”

The World Bank has voiced concerns as well. ‘Debt servicing is expected to remain a burden on the budget, therefore hindering larger social spending, notably on health and education,’ it said in its April review.

Moreover, private sector activity has been contracting nearly every month since September 2018. According to the World Bank, non-oil private sector activity is hampered ‘by the cumbersome business environment’, and as a result job creation ‘remains modest’. The government is trying to stimulate the private sector through, for instance, removing legal barriers, privatization programs and establishing free trade zones.

Furthermore, foreign direct investment fell 2018 (8.2 per cent) for the second year in a row. While some business people put this down to declining international markets, it remains worrisome that the majority of foreign direct investment went to the oil and gas sector, which generally does not generate many new jobs.

“The ongoing investments by the regime focus on infrastructure in hope of attracting more foreign investments. Yet this projection that more advanced infrastructure will aid the influx of foreign investments is nonsensical,” AbdelBary said. He argues that the cost of labour in Egypt is, despite the currency devaluation, still relatively high compared to East Asia, and that prevailing social instability “makes it unappealing to invest here”.

Problems in the non-oil private sector are also linked to the army’s growing involvement in the economy. Army companies have competitive advantages over the private sector in terms of tax benefits, access to cheap labour via conscription and control over large swathes of land. These companies are especially dominant in infrastructure projects.

Investors shy away from either competing with the army or entering a joint venture with an army company, a model Egypt is increasingly pushing for. AbdelBary also said that army activities “definitely” hinder private sector development.

President al-Sisi, himself an army general, addressed concerns over the army’s economic activities in May, saying it only has a “supervisory and management role”. However, in June, the minister of military production told local press that his ministry is actively seeking international partnerships and aims to expand both locally and internationally. He said the ministry is due to open a new factory in October 2019 to provide elevators and escalators for army projects in the New Administrative Capital currently under construction outside Cairo, a statement that seems to contradict al-Sisi’s ‘supervisory’ claim.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mohamed el-Shahed | ©AFP ⁃ Mohamed el-Shahed

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.