فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / الاقتصاد / مصر: شركات الجيش “تُضر” بالاقتصاد

مصر: شركات الجيش “تُضر” بالاقتصاد

Egyptian military
جنود مصريون يقفون على أهبة الاستعداد خلال جولة تم تنظيمها للدبلوماسيين للاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية المائة والخمسين لتدشين قناة السويس، في مدينة الإسماعيلية الشمالية الشرقية في 17 نوفمبر 2019. Photo: Khaled DESOUKI / AFP

أثار الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي الكثير من علامات الاستفهام في أوائل نوفمبر 2019 عندما اقترح طرح شركات الجيش في البورصة المصرية. تمثل الفكرة أحدث خطوةٍ في بناء اقتصادٍ عسكري يعود إلى حقبة حكم ناصر، الذي توسع تدريجياً بمرور الوقت وخطى خطواتٍ كبيرة منذ تولى السيسي منصبه في عام 2014.

فقد شرعت مصر في برنامج إصلاحٍ اقتصادي واسع النطاق كشرطٍ للحصول على قرض من صندوق النقد الدولي في عام 2016، إذ تمثل الهدف في تحسين الوضع المالي والنمو الاقتصادي في مصر، وذلك بشكل رئيسي عن طريق خفض الدعم عن الوقود والكهرباء والمياه، وتخفيض قيمة الجنيه المصري، والإصلاح الهيكلي للاقتصاد من خلال تطبيق مرونة القوانين والحد من عبء الروتين لدعم القطاع الخاص، وجذب الاستثمارات الأجنبية، وزيادة الصادرات وتقليل الاعتماد على الواردات.

حقق الجزء الأول من الإصلاحات نجاحاً، إذ نما الاقتصاد المصري بنسبة 5,5% في عام 2018، مما زاد احتياطياتها من العملات الأجنبية بشكلٍ كبير وانخفض العجز في الميزانية. بيد أن هذه المكاسب كان لها كُلفتها، إذ ارتفعت معدلات الفقر وأصبحت القوة الشرائية الإجمالية في مصر متأثرة بتخفيض قيمة العملة والتضخم. كان الوعد أن هذا سيتحسن على المدى المتوسط إلى المدى الطويل حيث أن تحسينات الاقتصاد الكلي سيشعر بها المواطنين العاديين، والتي سيسهلها تطوير القطاع الخاص والاستثمارات.

ومع ذلك، لم يتحقق الجزء الثاني من الإصلاحات حتى الآن، إذ إن نشاط القطاع الخاص، بحسب مؤشر مديري المشتريات، يتقلص في الغالب، ولا يزال الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر غير النفطي يشهد انخفاضاً مستمراً، بل آخذٌ في التقلص.

وفي هذا السياق، هناك العديد من الجناة المحتملين، داخل وخارج مصر، إذ يلقي البعض باللوم على تباطؤ الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر العالمي، والبعض الآخر يوجه أصابع الاتهام للروتين والتحديات التنظيمية التي لا تزال تواجهها الشركات في مصر. ومع ذلك، تشير أصابع الإتهام أكثر فأكثر إلى الدور المتزايد للجيش المصري في الاقتصاد.

فقد كتب الباحث تيموثي كالداس، في افتتاحية بلومبرغ، إن “النشاط الاقتصادي للقوات المسلحة” من خلال شبكة موسعة من المؤسسات العسكرية، يعدّ عنصراً أساسياً في الأداء الهيكلي طويل الأجل لمصر وفشلها في الاستفادة على نحوٍ صحيح من الإصلاحات الصعبة والهامة التي قامت بها في السنوات القليلة الماضية.

علاوةً على ذلك، سبق وقال الخبير الاقتصادي كريم عبد الباري لنا في فَنَك إن أنشطة الجيش تُعيق “بالتأكيد” تنمية القطاع الخاص. حتى إن نجيب ساويرس، أحد أكثر رجال الأعمال ثراءً في مصر وأكثرهم نفوذاً، والذي أيّد السيسي بقوة عندما وصل إلى السلطة، قال في مقابلةٍ تلفزيونية إن الدور الاقتصادي للجيش يردع المستثمرين.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الجيش يشارك في مجموعة واسعة من القطاعات. بدأ ذلك في عهد الرئيس جمال عبد الناصر (1956-70)، عندما بدأ الجيش في إنتاج لوازمه الخاصة التي تتراوح من الشاحنات إلى المواد الغذائية. ومع سياسات التحرير لخلف ناصر، أنور السادات، وقعت شركات الجيش عقوداً مع القطاع الخاص. وبعد توقيع معاهدة السلام مع إسرائيل في عام 1979، أدى عدم وجود تهديدٍ عسكري وشيك إلى عدم الحاجة أيضاً لجيش كبير. ومع ذلك، أصبح الجيش بالفعل أكثر قوةً، إذ بات من الصعب تحجيم دوره والنأي به عن السياسة. ولإرضاء قيادة الجيش، منح السادات وحسني مبارك لاحقاً الشركات العسكرية حريةً أكبر لتنمية مصالحها التجارية، مما مكنها من أن تظل عاملاً مهماً في هيكل السلطة في مصر، وفقاً لما قاله باحث مصري طلب عدم ذكر اسمه لفَنَك.

ومع ذلك، تراجع دور الجيش السياسي في عهد مبارك لصالح الشرطة ورجال الأعمال المقربين من مبارك وابنيه. وبالتالي، عندما اندلعت الاحتجاجات ضد مبارك في يناير 2011، لم يتدخل الجيش وسمح بالإطاحة به.

وعندما استولى الجنرال السيسي على السلطة من جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، التي حكمت لفترة قصيرة من 2012-2013، عاد الجيش إلى قمة السلسلة الغذائية. وبحسب ما قاله الباحث “ما نراه مؤخراً هو نمو تكتل الجيش.” بل إن الجيش يفعل ذلك بطريقة أكثر انفتاحاً من ذي قبل.

علاوةً على ذلك، تفتخر وزارة الإنتاج الحربي باستراتيجيتها لتوسيع مصانعها، وإدخال خطوط إنتاج جديدة مثل الألواح الشمسية، وتوقيع اتفاقيات تعاون مع شركات أجنبية وبدء تصدير منتجاتها. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، انضمت الوزارة إلى وفدٍ رفيع المستوى في زيارته إلى ألمانيا ووقعت مذكرة تفاهم مع الشركة الألمانية دي إم جي موري لإنشاء مصانع “ذكية” للمنتجات الطبية في مصر. وفي الفترة 2018-2019، تجاوزت إيرادات الوزارة 804 مليون دولار، وفقاً لوزير الإنتاج الحربي محمد العصار، وهو ما يقرب من خمسة أضعاف ما كان عليه في 2013-2014.

وقال الباحث إن الجيش يريد أن يعرف الناس أنه يقوم ببناء الطرق والجسور. كما تلعب الهيئة الهندسية للقوات المسلحة – التي كان يرأسها في السابق وزير النقل اليوم- دوراً رائداً في مشاريع السيسي الوطنية مثل توسعة قناة السويس وبناء العاصمة الإدارية الجديدة في الصحراء شرق القاهرة. يغذي هذا روايةً قومية مفادها أن الجيش القوي دعامةٌ لمصر قوية ومزدهرة، سواء كان ذلك من خلال محاربة أعدائها، أو بناء بنية تحتية جديدة أو توفير سلع غذائية رخيصة للسوق، وفقاً للباحث.

كما توسع الجيش نحو نطاقٍ جديد، إذ دخلت الاستخبارات العسكرية المشهد الإعلامي في مصر عندما اشترت قناة دي إم سي التلفزيونية الرئيسية، التي تستضيف العديد من البرامج الحوارية المؤيدة للحكومة والمسلسلات الرمضانية الشهيرة. ومن خلال القيام بذلك، يسيطر الجيش على جزءٍ كبير من المعلومات التي تصل إلى غرف المعيشة المصرية، إلى جانب المخابرات العامة، التي تملك مجموعة إعلامية رئيسية أخرى.

ومن خلال المزايا الضريبية، وقلة القيود التنظيمية، والأراضي المجانية والوصول إلى العمالة الرخيصة من خلال المجندين – الذين يتم إرسالهم في كثير من الأحيان للعمل في المصانع التي يديرها الجيش وغيرها من محطات الوقود والمزارع – تتمتع شركات الجيش بميزة تنافسية قوية على الشركات الخاصة. وفي هذا الصدد، قال الباحث: “يديرون بشكلٍ أساسي اقتصاداً مبنياً على العبيد، حيث يُدفع للمجندين 200-250 جنيه مصري [حوالي 12-15دورلاً] شهرياً.”

وفيما يتعلق بمشاريع البنية التحتية والبناء، فقد مُنح الجيش العديد من العقود المباشرة، وعادةً ما يستأجر مقاولين ثانويين لعملية البناء الفعلية بينما يحتفظ بحصة له. من جهته، وصف السيسي هذا بتعبيرٍ مُلطف بقوله إن الجيش “يشرف” على المشاريع ويتعاون بدلاً من التنافس مع القطاع الخاص. كما تُعفى الفنادق التي يديرها الجيش ومراكز المؤتمرات وقاعات حفلات الزفاف من ضريبة القيمة المضافة البالغة 14%، والتي تم تنفيذها في عام 2016 كجزء من برنامج الإصلاح الاقتصادي الذي فوضه صندوق النقد الدولي.

إن الحصة الفعلية للجيش من الاقتصاد المدني غير معروفة، ويرجع ذلك في الغالب إلى أن أجزاء من ميزانية الجيش تبقى بعيدةً عن ميزانية الدولة الرسمية، كما لا يتمتع البرلمان بأي رقابةٍ أو حتى فرصة التطرق لميزانية الجيش. وقال الباحث: “كل شخص يخبرك بمدى ضخامة مصالح الجيد كاذب،” حتى وإن كانت شركات الجيش منتجة وتعمل بكفاءة، فإنها لا تزال توجه الأموال من الاقتصاد النظامي إلى ميزانية الجيش. وأضاف “من يعرف أين ينتهي هذا المال؟ ماذا وإن ذهبت لمشتريات المعدات الثقيلة للجيش من الخارج والبالغة مليار دولار؟”.

فمنذ عام 2014، تضاعفت واردات مصر من الأسلحة ثلاثة أضعاف، مما يجعلها ثالث أكبر مستورد للأسلحة في العالم. وشملت عمليات الشراء الرئيسية طائراتٍ مقاتلة من فرنسا وروسيا وغواصات من ألمانيا.

على صعيدٍ آخر، يعدّ افتتاح مصنعٍ كبير للأسمنت في وقت مبكر من عام 2019 من الأمثلة على كيفية قيام الجيش بتعطيل السوق الخاص، إذ كان سوق الأسمنت يواجه بالفعل زيادةً في المعروض، وبعد أن بدأ المصنع الذي يديره الجيش بالعمل، أُجبرت عدة مصانع أخرى إما على إغلاق أبوابها أو خفض إنتاجهم وتسريح الموظفين.

وأيضاً هذا العام، أنشأ الجيش شركةً للتنقيب عن النفط والغاز. فقد صرح مصدر في القطاع لـفَنَك أن هذه الشركة حصلت على العديد من الامتيازات التي استبعدت من المناقصات العادية لشركات النفط العالمية.

بل إن مشاركة الجيش آخذةٌ في التغلغل أكثر من العام الماضي، حيث إن المتحدث الرسمي السابق باسم الجيش يدير اليوم تطبيق دوبسي، المنافس المحتمل لتطبيق النقل الذكي الشهير على مستوى العالم، أوبر. فقد عجت القاهرة باللوحات الإعلانية واللافتات التي تروج لـدوبسي، على الرغم من أن التطبيق لم يعمل بعد. كما أعلن الجيش أيضاً عن إطلاق خدمةٍ مشابه لنتفلكس، على الرغم من أن هذه الخدمة لم تعمل بعد أيضاً.

ومع اكتساب الأعمال التجارية للجيش وضوحاً أكبر، أصبح الجيش عرضةً للنقد على نحوٍ متزايد، مما يشكل خطراً على السرد المتعارف عليه بكون الجيش حامي الدولة. بل إن الاحتجاجات التي اندلعت في 20 سبتمبر والتي أشعلتها مقاطع الفيديو التي نشرها المقاول والممثل محمد علي، والتي اتهم فيها الجيش بالفساد وإهدار الأموال العامة، أكدت هذا الخطر. ويبدو أن بعض المطلعين يدركون هذا. من جهته، نفى الجيش امتلاكه لتطبيق دوبسي، كما نفى امتلاك سلسلة من الصيدليات، متهماً قنوات التواصل الاجتماعي “المعادية” بنشر “الشائعات.”

وفي الوقت نفسه، أعرب المقرضون الدوليون، مثل صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي، عن مخاوفهم بشأن ما يبدو أنه توّسع بالأعمال التجارية للجيش. وقال صندوق النقد الدولي على موقعه على الإنترنت: ” يتعين التوسع في الإصلاحات الهيكلية وتعميقها بغية… تعزيز المنافسة وتحسين المساءلة والشفافية في المؤسسات المملوكة للدولة وتقليص دور الدولة ومعالجة الفساد.” وفي تقريره الصادر في أبريل 2019، أشار البنك الدولي، إلى إن “هناك مخاوف من أن هذا الدور المتنامي للدولة قد يكون مزاحماُ للقطاع الخاص الذي لا يتمتع بعلاقاتٍ سياسية.”

يؤمن الباحث بقوة أن دور الجيش المتنامي غير مستدام، إذ قال “هذا يضر بالاقتصاد.” وأخيراً، بعد سنواتٍ من الأزمة الاقتصادية والمصاعب، هذا آخر ما تحتاجه مصر حالياً.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Khaled DESOUKI ©AFP | Khaled DESOUKI ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Egypt / Economy / In Egypt, Military Companies ‘Detrimental’ for Economy

In Egypt, Military Companies ‘Detrimental’ for Economy

Egyptian military
Egyptian soldiers stand guard during an organized tour for diplomats to mark the 150th anniversary of the inauguration of the Suez Canal, in the northeastern city of Ismailia on November 17, 2019. Photo: Khaled DESOUKI / AFP

Egypt’s President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi raised eyebrows in early November 2019 when he suggested that military companies be listed on the Egyptian stock exchange. The idea marks the latest step in the building of a military economy that dates back to the Nasser era, has gradually expanded over time and taken a leap since al-Sisi assumed office in 2014.

Egypt embarked on an extensive economic reform programme as a condition of a loan from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in 2016. The goal was to improve Egypt’s fiscal position and economic growth, mainly by cutting subsidies on fuel, electricity and water, devaluing the Egyptian pound (EGP) and structurally reforming the economy by smoothing regulations and limiting red tape to bolster the private sector, attract foreign investment, increase exports and decrease the dependency on imports.

The first part of the reforms was successful. Egypt’s economy grew by 5.5 per cent in 2018, its foreign currency reserves increased greatly and its budget deficit declined. The gains came at a cost, however. Poverty has increased and Egyptian’s overall purchasing power has been hammered by the devaluation and inflation. The promise was and is that this should even out in the mid- to long term as the macroeconomic improvements trickle down to ordinary citizens, facilitated by private sector development and investments.

However, the second part of the reforms has not materialized so far. Private sector activity, as measured by the Purchasing Managers’ Index, is mostly contracting, and non-oil foreign direct investment remains consistently low or is even shrinking.

There are several possible culprits, in and outside Egypt. Some blame slowing global foreign direct investment, others the red tape and regulatory challenges businesses still face in Egypt. Yet more and more fingers are pointing to the increasing role of Egypt’s army in the economy.

‘The armed forces’ economic activity through an expanding network of military enterprises is central to Egypt’s long-term structural underperformance and its failure to properly benefit from the difficult and important reforms it has undertaken in the past few years,’ researcher Timothy Kaldas wrote in a Bloomberg op-ed.

Army activities “definitely” hinder private sector development, political economist Kareem AbdelBary told Fanack previously. Even one of Egypt’s richest and most influential business tycoons, Naguib Sawiris, who strongly supported al-Sisi when he came to power, said in a TV interview that the economic role of the army deters investors.

The army is involved in a wide array of sectors. This started under President Gamal Abdel Nasser (1956-70), when the army began to produce its own supplies ranging from trucks to food. With the liberalization policies of Nasser’s successor, Anwar Sadat, army companies signed contracts with private sector parties. After peace was established with Israel in 1979, the lack of an imminent military threat removed the necessity to maintain a large military. However, the army had already become too powerful to be simply scaled down and made politically irrelevant. To appease the army leadership, Sadat and later Hosni Mubarak granted military companies more freedom to grow their business interests, enabling them to remain an important factor in Egypt’s power structure, an Egyptian researcher who asked to remain anonymous told Fanack.

Nevertheless, the army’s political role did decline under Mubarak in favour of the police, Mubarak’s business cronies and his sons. Hence, when protests broke out against Mubarak in January 2011, the army did not step in and allowed him to be forced out.

When general-turned-president al-Sisi seized power from the Muslim Brotherhood, who briefly ruled from 2012-2013, the military returned to the top of the food chain. “What we see recently is that the army conglomerate is growing,” the researcher said. And it is doing so more openly than before.

The Ministry of Military Production is proud of its strategy to expand its factories, enter new production lines such as solar panels, sign cooperation agreements with foreign companies and start exporting its products. Most recently, the ministry joined a high-level visit to Germany and signed a memorandum of understanding with German company DMG Mori to set up ‘smart’ factories for medical products in Egypt. In 2018-2019, the ministry’s revenues exceeded $804 million, according to Minister of Military Production Mohamed al-Assar, almost five times higher than in 2013-2014.

The army wants the people to know it is them building roads and bridges, the researcher said. The Engineering Authority of the Armed Forces – whose former head is now minister of transport – also plays a lead role in al-Sisi’s national projects such as the extension of the Suez Canal and construction of a new administrative capital in the desert east of Cairo. This feeds into a nationalist narrative that a strong army is the pillar of a strong and prosperous Egypt, whether it is through fighting its enemies, building new infrastructure or supplying cheap food commodities to the market, according to the researcher.

The army is also expanding into new territory. The Military Intelligence Service entered Egypt’s media landscape when it bought the major DMC TV channel, which hosts many of the pro-government talk shows and popular Ramadan soap operas. By doing so, the army is in control of a large part of the information that reaches Egyptian living rooms, together with the General Intelligence Service, which owns another major media group.

Through tax benefits, fewer regulatory restrictions, land for free and access to cheap labour through conscripts – who are often dispatched to work at army-run factories, gas stations and farms – army firms have a strong competitive advantage over private ones. “They are basically running a slave economy, with conscripts paid 200-250 EGP [around $12-15] per month,” the researcher said.

When it comes to infrastructure and construction projects, the army has been granted several no-bid contracts, and usually hires subcontractors for the actual building while taking a cut for itself. Al-Sisi has described this euphemistically as the army ‘supervising’ projects and cooperating rather than competing with the private sector. Army-run hotels and conference or wedding centres are exempted from the 14 per cent value-added tax, which was implemented in 2016 as part of the IMF-mandated economic reform programme.

The army’s actual share of the civilian economy is unknown, mostly because parts of the army budget are kept out of the official state budget. Parliament has no oversight over or say in the military budget. “Everybody who tells you how big the army interests are is lying,” the researcher said. Even if the army companies are productive and run efficiently, they still channel money out of the regular economy into the army’s budget. “And who knows where this money ends? What if it is the billion-dollar purchases of heavy military from abroad?”

Since 2014, Egypt’s arms imports have tripled, making it the world’s third largest arms importer. Major purchases have included fighter jets from France and Russia and submarines from Germany.

An example of how the army disrupts the private market was its opening of a large cement factory earlier in 2019. The cement market was already facing an oversupply, and after the army-run factory started operating, several other factories were either forced to close their doors or to cut their production and lay off staff.

Also this year, the military established an oil and gas exploration company. A source in the sector told Fanack that this company was awarded multiple concessions that were kept out of the regular tenders for international oil companies.

Army involvement has started to run even deeper in the past year, with the former army spokesperson managing Dubci, a would-be competitor of the international ride-hailing company Uber. Cairo was plastered with billboards and banners promoting Dubci, although the app is not yet operational. The army also announced the launch of a Netflix-type service, although this is not yet operational either.

As its businesses gain visibility, the army is becoming increasingly susceptible to criticism, which poses a risk to the narrative of the army as guardian of the state. The protests on 20 September that were sparked by videos posted by subcontractor and actor Mohamed Ali, in which he accused the army of corruption and wasting public money, underlined this risk. Some insiders seem to realize this. The army denied that it owned Dubci. It also denied having a chain of pharmacies, accusing ‘hostile’ social media channels of spreading ‘rumours’.

Meanwhile, international lenders such as the IMF and World Bank have voiced concerns about what appears to be expanding army businesses. ‘Structural reforms need to be broadened and deepened to … strengthen competition, improve accountability and transparency of state-owned enterprises, reduce the role of the state and tackle corruption,’ the IMF said on its website. In its April 2019 review, the World Bank noted, ‘There is a concern that this growing role of the state may be crowding out the unconnected private sector.’

The researcher strongly believes the army’s growing role is not sustainable. “It’s detrimental for the economy,” he said. After years of economic crisis and hardship, this is the last thing Egypt needs.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Khaled DESOUKI ©AFP | Khaled DESOUKI ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!