فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / الاقتصاد / الفوائد الاقتصادية من قناة السويس الجديدة

الفوائد الاقتصادية من قناة السويس الجديدة

inauguration of the new suez canal
مراسم افتتاح قناة السويس الجديدة، الإسماعيلية، مصر , 6 أغسطس 2015. Photo Zuma Press ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Egyptian President Office

بعد الإطاحة بالرئيس المصري محمد مرسي في شهر تموز 2013 والفوز الساحق الذي حققه عبد الفتاح السيسي في شهر أيار 2014، تعهد الرئيس المنتخب بأن يولوي اهتمامه الأكبر إلى تحسين اقتصاد البلاد المتعثر منذ ثورة 2011.

حيث تم الإعلان عن محور خطة الرئيس الاقتصادية في خضم ضجة إعلامية كبيرة بعد بضعة أشهر فقط من توليه الرئاسة. فكان أن أطلق المشروع الضخم الهادف إلى توسعة قناة السويس مما يتيح لحركة المرور في اتجاهين على طول الممر المائي الأكثر استراتيجية في المنطقة والذي يعتبر أقصر طريق للشحن البحري يصل بين قارتي أوروبا وآسيا. فكان المنطق أن تساعد توسعة القناة في تقليص فترات الانتظار وزيادة عدد السفن القادرة على عبور القناة وبالتالي مضاعفة دخل قناة السويس المادي.

قدرت تكلفة المشروع بنحو 8.2 مليار دولار أمريكي، شكلت في معظمها قيمة سندات صادرة حصرا للمواطنين المصريين. كما شملت التكلفة أيضا على أعمال البناء حفر ممر مائي مواز بطول 35 كيلومتر وتوسيع وتعميق 37 كيلومترا للسماح من المجاري الجانبية للسماح بمرور سفن أكبر حجما.

كان من المفترض في البداية أن يستغرق المشروع ثلاث سنوات ليكتمل إنجازه، لكن السيسى أصدر تعليماته بأن تكون توسعة القناة جاهزة خلال سنة واحدة فقط. ووفقا لبعض التقارير، فقد تم توظيف 75٪ من كراكات (جرافات) العالم للمساعدة في انجاز المشروع في الوقت المنشود.

“كان ذلك قرارا سياسيا بامتياز، وقد زاد من تكلفة الحفر والتجريف من المبلغ المخصص وقدره 2.9 مليار دولار أمريكي لتصل التكلفة الاجمالية إلى 3.83 مليار دولار أمريكي. وذلك يعني أيضا أن مليارات الدولارات قد دفعت إلى دول أجنبية عندما كنا بحاجة ماسة إلى تلك الأموال،” حسبما يقول هشام خليل المحلل الاقتصادي والعضو البارز في الحزب الديمقراطي الاجتماعي في مصر.

وتم افتتاح الممر المائي الجديد خلال حفل كبير بتاريخ 6 آب 2015، حيث تزامن ذلك مع أحداث جسيمة في جميع أنحاء البلاد بما في ذلك أحداث ميدان التحرير الشهير في القاهرة.

هذا وقد أفاد رئيس هيئة قناة السويس مهاب مميش خلال مؤتمر صحفي بتاريخ 29 تموز أن الممر المائي الجديد من شأنه أن يرفع الأرباح السنوية لقناة السويس من 5.3 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2014 إلى 13.23 مليار دولار أمريكي بحلول عام 2023.

إلا أن الخبراء يتشككون في حقيقة هذه التوقعات. حيث يقول هشام خليل: “قبل القيام بمشروع التوسعة، كان الاستيعاب الفعلي لقناة السويس 78 سفينة يوميا. وحتى تتحقق الزيادة في الدخل المالي من الممر المائي الجديد، يجب أن يفوق عدد السفن المارة عبره العدد الحالي. في المقابل فإن الزيادة المتوقعة في التجارة العالمية على مدى السنوات العشر القادمة تبلغ 3.8 في المائة سنويا، مما يعني أن الأمر سيستغرق 11 سنة ليصل العدد إلى 78 سفينة يوميا.”

ومع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أنه قد تم إنفاق 3.83 مليار دولار أمريكي على الحفر والتجريف وما يقارب 2.81 مليار دولار أمريكي – أي ما مجموعه 6.64 مليار دولار أمريكي. وإذا ما قارنا ذلك بالزيادة المتوقعة والتي تبلغ حوالي 400 مليون دولار أمريكي خلال 11 عاما، فإننا نرى بأن العوائد المادية يالكاد تتجاوز تكلفة المشروع، حسبما يضيف المحلل خليل.
في المقابل، رحبت شركة ميرسك لاين، أكبر شركة شحن للحاويات في العالم، بمشروع التوسعة وأفادت بانه سيقلص أوقات العبور المائي مما سيعود بالفائدة على التجارة العالمية ككل. ومع ذلك، تذكر الشركة لرويترز أنها لن ترسل المزيد من السفن للعبور من قناة السويس في العام المقبل.

من ناحية أخرى أصدرت وكالة التصنيف الائتماني “موديز” هي الأخرى تصريحا عقب افتتاح الممر الجديد قائلة أنه من المرجح أن تزيد عوائد قناة السويس بسبب زيادة رسوم العبور المائي والضرائب على المدى الطويل، ولكن بوتيرة أبطأ بكثير مما تتوقعها الحكومة. في المقابل يتوقع للقناة الجديدة أن يكون لها “آثار إيجابية محدودة على التصنيف الائتماني” لمصر في السنة المالية الحالية، حسبما يصف تقرير الوكالة.

أفضل النتائج الاقتصادية للمشروع وفقا لخليل هو أنه حفز المصريين العاديين على الاستثمار، فضخوا مليارات الدولارات من أموالهم الخاصة إلى السوق المحلية المصرية. كما بثت عمليات الحفر والبناء النشاط في السوق المصري لأن معظم المتعاقدين كانوا من القطاع الخاص في مصر، مع أن الأثر الاقتصادي كان مؤقتا إلى حد كبير.

ويضيف خليل قائلا: “لو أن المشروع ركز بدلا من ذلك على تطوير منطقة قناة السويس لتكون مركزا صناعيا عن طريق إنشاء الصناعات وتقديم الخدمات اللوجستية ومرافق التخزين الضرورية، لأمكن للمشروع أن يجني فوائد ومعدلات نمو مستدامة على المدى الطويل من خلال زيادة الاستثمارات الأجنبية والدخل الناتج عن العملة الأجنبية ونقل التكنولوجيا الضرورية.” في هذا السياق، ذكرت الحكومة بأن هذه ستكون المرحلة التالية من المشروع بعد أن اكتمل إنجاز الممر المائي الجديد.

كما تضمن المشروع حفر ستة أنفاق تحت القناة لضمان الاتصال الجغرافي بين شبه جزيرة سيناء وبقية الأراضي المصرية. وبرأي خليل فإنه “إذا ما تحقق بناء هذه الأنفاق، فأنها ستكون طوق نجاة في سبيل تطور ونمو أراضي سيناء. وسيكون ذلك أهم جزء في المشروع، كما أنه سيعمل حقا على تحسين الأمن القومي.”

ومنذ وصول الرئيس السيسي إلى السلطة، اتخذت حكومته خطوات جريئة لحل المشاكل الاقتصادية في البلاد. وكان الاجراء الأكثر جدلا هو خفض الدعم على الوقود بنحو الثلث، وهو ما تردد في عمله سلفه محمد مرسي خوفا من ردود الفعل الشعبية المتوقعة. ومن خلال فرض ضرائب جديدة، خصوصا على السجائر والكحول، تمكنت حكومة السيسى أيضا من خفض عجز الميزانية من 12 في المائة إلى ما دون 10 في المائة من الناتج الإجمالي المحلي.

وفي المحصلة، أدى خفض الدعم الحكومي إلى ارتفاع شديد في أسعار الوقود والغذاء ووسائط النقل العام وغيرها من الخدمات. إلا إن السيسي دافع عن سياسة خفض الدعم الحكومي في خطاب متلفز له في شهر تموز من عام 2014، واصفا تلك الخطوة بأنها “الدواء المر” اللازم لبدء عملية إصلاح النظام المترهل في مصر. كما أنه حث المصريين على تحمل إجراءات التقشف الضرورية في نظره لانعاش اقتصاد البلاد. في هذه الأثناء أشاد العديد من الخبراء الاقتصاديين بتلك التدابير كخطوة أولى إيجابية في سبيل وضع حد للعجز المتزايد في الميزانية وتحسين ثقة المستثمرين في بيئة مصر للاستثمار.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Egyptian President Office

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Economy / The Economic Benefits of the New Suez Canal

The Economic Benefits of the New Suez Canal

inauguration of the new suez canal
The inauguration ceremony of the new Suez Canal, in Ismailia, Egypt, 6 August 2015. Photo Zuma Press

Following the July 2013 ouster of Egyptian President Mohamed Morsi and the landslide election victory of Abdel Fattah el-Sisi in May 2014, the newly elected leader vowed to prioritize the country’s economy, which has been ailing since the 2011 revolution.

The centrepiece of his economic plan was announced with much fanfare a few months later: a mega project to expand the Suez Canal, allowing two-way traffic along most of the strategic waterway, which is the shortest shipping route between Europe and Asia. The logic was that the extra lane would reduce waiting times and increase the number of ships able to transit the canal, thereby almost doubling its income.

The cost of the project was estimated at $8.2 billion, the majority of which was raised in the form of bonds issued exclusively to Egyptian citizens. Construction included digging a 35km parallel waterway and deepening another 37km of the existing canal to allow the passage of larger vessels.

The project was initially supposed to take three years to complete, but el-Sisi ordered it to be ready in one year. According to some accounts, 75% of the world’s dredgers were employed to help meet the ambitious deadline.

“This was a completely political decision, and it increased the cost of digging and dredging from the allocated $2.49 billion to $3.83 billion. It also meant that billions of dollars were paid to foreign countries when we badly needed it,” says Hisham Khalil, an economics analyst and a senior member of Egypt’s Social Democratic Party.

The new waterway was opened in an elaborate ceremony on 6 August 2015, with events taking place around the country including Cairo’s iconic Tahrir Square.

Mohab Mamish, chairman of the Suez Canal Authority, said in a press conference on 29 July that the new waterway would increase annual profits from the Suez Canal from $5.3 billion in 2014 to $13.23 billion by 2023.

Experts are sceptical, however. “Before the expansion, the Suez Canal could already accommodate 78 ships daily. In order to increase income from the new waterway, the number of ships passing through it must surpass that. The expected increase in world trade over the next ten years is 3.8 per cent annually, which means it will take 11 years to reach 78 ships daily,” explains Khalil.

Taking into account the $3.83 billion spent on digging and dredging as well as around $2.81 billion – a total of $6.64 billion – and comparing this to the expected increase of around $400 million after 11 years, the return may barely outweigh the cost, adds Khalil.

Maersk Line, the world’s largest container shipping company, has welcomed the expansion, saying it would reduce transit times and benefit world trade as a whole. However, it told Reuters that it will not send more ships through the canal next year.

Credit-rating agency Moody’s also released a statement following the opening of the new lane saying it will likely boost income from the Suez Canal through increased transit fees and taxes in the long run, but at a much slower rate than the government projects. The new canal will likely have “limited credit-positive effects” in the current fiscal year, says the report.

The best economic effect of the project, says Khalil, is that it encouraged ordinary Egyptians to invest, bringing billions of dollars of private money into the official market. The digging and construction work also invigorated the market because most of the contractors were from Egypt’s private sector, although the impact was largely temporary.

“If the project had instead focused on the development of the Suez Canal area to form an industrial hub – by creating industries and offering logistical services and storage facilities – it would have produced long-term sustainable benefits and growth by increasing foreign investments, foreign currency income and technology transfer,” says Khalil. The government has stated that this will be the next phase of the project now that the new waterway is complete.

The project also included digging six tunnels underneath the canal to connect mainland Egypt to the Sinai Peninsula. “If these tunnels are realised, they will be a lifeline for the development and growth of Sinai. This will be the most important part of the project and will really improve national security,” adds Khalil.

Since coming to power, el-Sisi’s government has taken bold steps to solve the country’s economic woes. The most controversial of these was cutting fuel subsidies by about a third, a move that his predecessor Morsi had been reluctant to take out of fear of the expected backlash. By introducing new taxes, especially on cigarettes and alcohol, el-Sisi’s government has also been able to decrease the budget deficit from 12 per cent to slightly less than 10 per cent of GDP.

The subsidy cuts have sent the price of fuel, food, public transportation and other services skyrocketing. El-Sisi defended the cuts in a televised speech in July 2014, calling them a “bitter pill” to start reforming an ineffective system and urging Egyptians to bear austerity measures that were necessary to revive the country’s economy. Many economic experts have hailed these measures as a welcome first step to curbing the growing budget deficit and improving investor trust.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.