فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / وُجوه / أمل سليمان: مأذونة التاريخ التي هزمت العادات

أمل سليمان: مأذونة التاريخ التي هزمت العادات

Egypt- Amal suleiman
Photo: www.aljazeera.net ©Getty Images

في القاهرة، مدينةٌ لا تزال تُعاني الموروثات الاجتماعية والتقاليد المُكبلة للمرأة، تحدت إمرأة مصرية المعايير الاجتماعية سعياً لتحقيق حلم لطالما راودها. وبفعل ذلك، حركت المياه الراكدة، وأقحمت النساء في مجال عملٍ أقتصر على الرجال فقط.

في 1998، لم تكتفِ أمل سليمان بالحصول على شهادة المحاماة من جامعة الزقازيق، فحصلت على دبلومتي القانون العام والجنائي في عام 2005، قبل أن تسعى دون نجاح للعمل كمدرسة لمادة الشريعة في أحد المعاهد الأزهرية.

انتظرت أمل على مدار عامين كاملين قبل أن تلعب الصدفة دوراً في تغيير مسار حياتها: حيث توفي المأذون الشرعي لمدينة القنايات بمحافظة الشرقية، لتقرر التقدم رسمياً بأوراقها لشغل المنصب الشاغر ودخول عالم “المأذونية.”

تقول أمل إن أبرز الصعوبات التي واجهتها في سبيل الالتحاق بمهنة المأذون الشرعي تمثلت في تعنت موظفي الحكومة ورفضهم قبول الأوراق رغم صحتها. وأضافت أن الأمر وصل لاتهماها من قبل أحد الموظفين بمخالفة الشريعة الإسلامية، مما دفعها لاستفتاء رأي علماء الأزهر الشريف، الذين أكدوا أن عمل المرأة بمهنة المأذون وظيفة إدارية ولا غبار عليها شرعاً.

للوهلة الأولى، اعتقدت أمل أن اعتمادها مأذوناً شرعياً لا يتطلب سوى شهادتي التخرج والميلاد وصورة بطاقة الهوية الشخصية، إلا أنها تفاجئت بشروط أكثر تعقيداً من بينها ضرورة تصديق 10 رجال على موافقتهم بالعمل باعتبارها شهادة حسن السير والسلوك. ووفقاً لسليمان، تمكنت بصعوبةٍ بالغة من الحصول على الموافقات المطلوبة واستيفاء الأوراق ثم التقدم إلى محكمة الأسرة لاعتمادها رسمياً. وعلى الرغم من تقدم عدد من الرجال لشغل المنصب ذاته، إلا أنها نجحت في اقتناصه لحيازتها شهادات علمية أكثر قيمة.

رغبة أمل في شغل منصب المأذون الشرعية لمدينة القنايات دفعها للبحث في الأمور الشرعية المتعلقة بتعارض طبيعة عملها الجديدة مع الفقه الإسلامي، لتتأكد أن الأعذار الشرعية للمرأة لا تمنع من عقد القران أو إشهار الطلاق. في النهاية، استندت أمل في قرارها للعمل كمأذونة لرأيٍ شرعي من الدكتور علي جمعة، مفتي الديار المصرية السابق، يؤكد فيه جواز امتهان النساء مهنة المأذون الشرعي.

وحتى يونيو 2018، وثقت أمل ما يقرب من 3 آلاف حالة زواج و200 حالة طلاق في محافظة الشرقية. وترى أن معظم حالات الطلاق تقع بسبب استخدام الأزواج لتطبيقات الهاتف وعلى رأسها “فيسبوك” و”واتس آب،” فضلًا عن بعض براجع التجسس التي يلجأ إليها أزواجٌ للتغلب على عدم الثقة والشك والغيرة، بالإضافة إلى الأسباب الأخرى المعلومة منها ما هو مادي ومنها بسبب الإنجاب.

وأيضاً وفقاً لأمل، يعتبر بعض الرجال عمل المرأة تقويضاً لكرامتهم، وبالتالي يصرون على اشتراط عدم عمل الزوجة المستقبلية. ونظراً لهذا وغيرها من مصادر الخلاف الأخرى، تؤكد أمل أن ثمة زوجات يرغبن في تثبيت شروطهن نصاً أثناء كتابة العقد، من حيث المؤخر وقائمة المنقولات، مما يؤدي إلى مشادات قوية بين الطرفين. تفعل هؤلاء النساء هذا لأن توثيق جميع الشروط في عقد الزواج يحميهن أثناء إجراءات التقاضي لاحقاً في حال شرع الزوج بها في المستقبل.

وفي ظل استمرار ظاهرة زواج القاصرات في بعض القرى والمحافظات المصرية، تقول أمل في حوار صحفي سابق، أنها تواجه تقريباً 4 حالات لزواج القاصرات شهرياً. وأشارت إلى أنه على الرغم من قبول أغلب الأهالي بمبدأ زواج القاصرات، إلا أنها تُصر على رفض إتمام الزيجة للإناث الأقل من 18 عاماً، بالإضافة لتوعية الأهالي بالمخاطر الناتجة عن تلك الحالات، سواءً على المستوى الصحي أو النفسي أو ضعف الموقف القانوني للفتاه ومولودها مستقبلاً. كما ترفض حالات الزواج المريبة خوفاً من استخدام الأزواج لمبدأ “المُحلل” (الزواج الذي يهدف إلى التحايل على الشريعة الإسلامية التي تقتضي زواج المرأة المطلقة ثلاثاً من رجلٍ آخر حتى تتمكن من العودة إلى زوجها السابق بعقدٍ شرعي جديد)، بالإضافة لامتناعها عن إتمام الزواج دون علم الأهل.

هذه الوظيفة لأمل سليمان، الشابة التي ولدت في محافظة الشرقية، وإصرارها على اقتحام عالمٍ كان حتى ذلك الحين حكراً على الرجال دفع الحكومة المصرية إلى تكريمها. فقد كرست وزارة التعليم المصرية فقرة في منهج الدراسات الاجتماعية لتعريف طلاب المدارس الابتدائية بأمل. وبالإضافةٍ إلى ذلك، تم تسمية أحد شوارع مدينة القنايات باسم “المأذونة” تكريماً لها.

شجعت تجربة أمل كمأذونة شرعية في مصر والعالم العربي حتى الآن خمس نساء مصرياتٍ أخريات على أن يحذون حذوها ويتولينّ منصب المأذونة. كما تم تخصيص تغطية إعلامية واسعة لأول عقد زواج وثقته في 25 أكتوبر 2008، خاصة بعد اقتضاء عدد من الدول العربية بالتجربة المصرية في تعيين إمرأة في وظيفة المأذون الشرعي من بينها الإمارات وفلسطين.

وعلى الرغم من التكريم الذي حظيت به، لا يزال هناك حلمٌ واحدٌ يراود أمل سليمان: تكريم محافظة الشرقية لها، كأول مأذونة شرعية- على أمل ألا تكون الأخيرة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Getty Images

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Faces / Amal Suleiman: An Historic Female Ma’dhun Who Has Conquered Old Habits

Amal Suleiman: An Historic Female Ma’dhun Who Has Conquered Old Habits

Egypt- Amal suleiman
Photo: www.aljazeera.net

In Cairo, a city that today remains influenced by social legacies and traditions that place restrictions on women, one Egyptian woman has defied societal norms and pursued a long-held dream. In doing so, she has stirred stagnant waters and allowed women to enter a field of work that has so far been exclusively available to men.

In 1998, Amal Suleiman obtained a law degree from Zagazig University and in 2005, she obtained a diploma of general and criminal law before unsuccessfully seeking to work as a teacher of sharia (Islamic law) at one of Al Azhar’s institutes.

Amal waited for two full years before chance played a role in changing the course of her life: the sharia ma’dhun (an official with authority to perform civil marriages) of the city of Al Kanayat in the Ash Sharqiyah governorate died, so Amal decided to officially submit the necessary paperwork to fill the vacant post. In doing so, she was able to become a female ma’dhun, or ma’dhunah.

Amal said the main difficulty she faced in becoming a sharia ma’dhunah was the intransigence of the government employees she dealt with and their refusal to accept her papers even though they were properly authenticated. She added that she was even accused by one employee of violating sharia; this prompted her to seek the opinion of Al Azhar scholars, who confirmed to her that a woman’s ma’dhun duties are classified as administrative work, which is admissible according to Islam.

At first glance, Amal thought that approving her as a sharia ma’dhunah only required her to present graduation and birth certificates and a copy of her identification card. However, she was surprised to learn the terms and requirements were much more stringent, including the requirement that no fewer than ten men should endorse the approval of her working as a ma’dhunah; their endorsement was tantamount to a certificate of good conduct. According to Suleiman, she managed with extreme difficulty to obtain the required approvals and completed the paperwork before she submitted them to the Family Court for official approval. Although a number of men applied for filling the same vacant post, Amal was awarded the position because of her valuable education certificates.

Amal’s desire to become a sharia ma’dhunah in Al Kanayat motivated her to conduct research on sharia-related matters to see if her new job actually contradicted with the principles of Islamic jurisprudence. She wanted to ensure that the sharia-based excuses given to Muslim women would not, for example, prevent her from issuing marriage contracts or divorces. In the end, Amal based her decision to work as a female ma’dhun on the religious opinion of Dr. Ali Jumaa, former grand mufti of Egypt, who confirmed that women may indeed undertake the profession of a sharia ma’dhunah.

As of June 2018, Amal had documented nearly 3,000 marriages and 200 divorce cases in the Ash Sharqiyah Governorate. She believes that most cases of divorce are caused by the spouses’ use of mobile applications, namely Facebook and WhatsApp, in addition to some spyware programs used by the spouses to act out their feelings of jealousy or mistrust of the other. Other reasons for divorce include those related to reproduction and more material reasons.

According to Amal, some men consider the concept of their spouse working as undermining their dignity and therefore insist on the condition that the would-be wife does not work. Due to this and other potential sources of friction, Amal has revealed that some wives now insist on documenting the conditions under which the marriage contract is written, both in terms of the dowry and the list of properties and conditions, which sometimes leads to heated arguments between the spouses. These women are doing so because documenting all such issues in the marriage contract would protect them during any potential litigation procedures initiated by the husband in the future.

As for the phenomenon of underage marriage prevalent in some Egyptian villages and governorates, Amal has said in previous press interviews that she comes across almost four cases of underage marriage every month. She notes that although most parents accept the principle of underage marriage, she refuses to draw up marriage contracts for females under the age of 18 and tries to raise awareness among parents on the risks resulting from such marriages, whether on their physical or psychological health or in view of the weak legal position of underage girls and their future children. She also refuses to perform marriages she deems suspicious, for fear that the spouses are using the principle of “tahallul” (a sham marriage intended to circumvent the Islamic law that a woman divorced by the same husband three times must marry another man first in order to be able to lawfully re-marry her previous husband), and refuses to perform marriages without the knowledge of the parents.

This position of Amal Suleiman, the young lady who was born in the Ash Sharqiyah Governorate, and her insistence on breaking into a world that had up until then been confined to men has prompted the Egyptian Government to honour her. The Egyptian Ministry of Education has dedicated a paragraph in the curriculum of social studies to introduce Amal to elementary school students. In addition, one of the streets of the city of Al Kanayat has been named as “Al Ma’dhunah” (female ma’dhun) in her honour.

Amal’s experience as a sharia ma’dhunah in Egypt and the Arab world has so far encouraged five other Egyptian women to follow suit and assume the position of a ma’dhunah. Extensive media coverage has also been dedicated to the first marriage contract documented by Amal on 25 October 2008, especially after a number of Arab countries, including the UAE and Palestine, replicated the Egyptian experience and appointed women as sharia ma’dhunahs.

But despite the honours already bestowed upon her, one dream remains for Amal Suleiman: to be honoured by Ash Sharqiyah Governorate, where she is the first sharia ma’dhunah—but hopefully not the last.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.