فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / وُجوه / باسم يوسف: الكوميدي المنبوذ

باسم يوسف: الكوميدي المنبوذ

باسم يوسف.
باسم يوسف. Photo Hollandse Hoogte. ©Hollandse Hoogte

مع إندلاع الثورة في مصر في 25 يناير 2011، عمّت موجة الإبداع جميع أنحاء البلاد، مع تحول الفنانيين المستقلين إلى وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ليصلوا إلى شريحة أكبر من الجماهير بشكلٍ مباشر، متجاوزين سيطرة الناشرين والمنتجين. ولكن، لم يحظى أحدٌ منهم بإشادة أكبر من النقاد كالتي حظيّ بها باسم يوسف، الذي أصبح في غضون سنتين الفنان الأكثر شهرة في العالم العربي، وخلق ظاهرة حاول الكثيرون تقليدها، ولكن دون جدوى.

يوسف الشاب، الذي يتمتع بالكاريزما (مواليد 1974) كان جرّاح قلب عندما اندلعت الثورة، فعندما خرجت مسيراتٌ شعبية إلى ميدان التحرير ضد حكم الدكتاتور المستبد منذ فترة طويلة، حسني مبارك، انضم يوسف إلى الحركة التي أطاحت في نهاية المطاف بالرئيس في فبراير 2011، حيث كان يُساعد في رعاية الجرحى من المتظاهرين.

كانت هذه بداية المرحلة التالية في حياة يوسف، لتقديم عرض سياسي ساخر لم يسبق رؤيته إطلاقاً في العالم العربي. وباعتباره أحد المعجبين، منذ زمنٍ طويل، بجون ستيورات وبرنامج “ذا ديلي شو“، توجه إلى اليوتيوب لعرض برنامجه بعد فترة قصيرة من الثورة، عرضٌ يبعده عن قيود الرقابة والإشراف من قِبل منتجي البرامج.

حقق برنامجه على شبكة الانترنت، الذي أطلق عليه اسم “B+” نجاحاً مذهلاً بين عشيةٍ وضحاها. سخر البرنامج، الذي أنتجه بميزانية متواضعة جداً، من عالم السياسة، مستخدماً الحد الأدنى من المؤثرات البصرية وصوراً وفيديوهات تم جمعها وتصميمها من قِبل جمهوره. وسرعان ما جذب مئات الآلاف من المشاهدين، الذين انتظروا بفارغ الصبر نشر الحلقات الجديدة، مستمتعين بحريتهم المكتسبة حديثاً. وحالما كان يتم نشر حلقة جديدة، كانت تتم مشاركتها وإعادة مشاركتها فوراً من قِبل الآلاف عبر صفحات موقعيّ الفيسبوك وتويتر. وسرعان ما جذب أنظار وسائل الإعلام الشهيرة، الذين أدركوا القيمة التي قد يُضيفها لقائمة برامجهم.

يوسف، الذي أصبح يُعرف بجون ستيورات العرب، وقّع أول صفقاته مع قناة أون تي في مصر لعرض برنامجه “البرنامج“، ليصبح برنامجه أول برنامجٍ يقفز من اليوتيوب إلى قنوات التلفزيون السائدة في الشرق الأوسط. وبوجود ميزانيةٍ أكبر، وظهور العديد من ضيوف الشرف، والحرية المطلقة، حقق البرنامج نجاحاً ساحقاً للقناة. تهكم يوسف وسخر من مختلف الفئات، من مقدميّ البرامج إلى مرشحي الرئاسة أمثال محمد البرادعي، وأحمد شفيق، والمرشح آنذاك، الذي كسب سباق الانتخابات، محمد مرسي، حيث قاد عهداً جديداً من حرية التعبير لم يسبق له مثيل في الشرق الأوسط.

ومع استنزاف شهرته الحديثة للمزيد من وقته، حاول باسم يوسف التوفيق، لبعض الوقت، ما بين حياته ككوميدي وحياته كجراح قلب. فقبل اندلاع الثورة، كان يوسف قد حصل على شهادة الزمالة في أمراض القلب للأطفال من كليفلاند كلينك المرموقة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، حيث اعتبرها آنذاك تذكرة “الخروج” من البلاد. وعلى الرغم من أنه استثمر أكثر من 20 عاماً في ممارسة الطب، إلا أنه تخلى عنه للتركيز على برنامجه.

بعد تقديمه 104 حلقات ناجحة منذ بداية شهر رمضان لعام 2011، انتقل الموسم الثاني من البرنامج إلى قناة جديدة وبدأت مرحلة جديدة من حياة يوسف كمقدم برامج. انتقل من أصغر استوديو في قناة أون تي في إلى مسرح راديو القاهرة بوسط البلد الذي تم تجديده حديثاً، حيث تضمن العرض وجود جماهير في المسرح يصل عددهم إلى 220 شخص كل أسبوع. بثت أولى الحلقات في شهر نوفمبر 2012 على القناة المصرية سي بي سي، وأصبح أول برنامج يستضيف جمهوراً على أرض الواقع في الشرق الأوسط.

بُث الموسم الثاني خلال رئاسة محمد مرسي التابع لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين، التي بدأت في يونيو 2012. وبناءً على حرية التعبير التي تمتع بها في السابق، سارع يوسف إلى انتقاد الحكومة الجديدة علناً، وكان كثيراً ما يسخر من خُطب الرئيس ومظهره. وبعد عرضين فقط من الموسم، وجهت إليه دعاوى قضائية متعددة بتهمة إهانة رئيس الجمهورية، وإهانة الإسلام، ونشر الشائعات لزعزعة السلم العام.

أصدر النائب العام أمراً بالقبض على يوسف في أوائل عام 2013، وبعد تحقيقات مطولة أطلق سراحه بكفالة. ومع تضاعف أعداد متابعيه، أصبح من أكثر البرامج مشاهدةً في تاريخ التلفزيون العربي، فقد تخطى برنامجه على موقع اليوتيوب وحده، أكثر من 100 مليون مشاهدة.

وبعد أن قام الجيش المصري بانقلاب عسكري مدعوم من الشعب للإطاحة بمرسي بعد عامٍ واحدٍ فقط من توليه الرئاسة في يوليو 2013، أوقف برنامج يوسف لعدة أشهر. وقد واجه انتقاداتٍ واتهاماتٍ بفرضه رقابةً ذاتية على نفسه وعدم سخريته من وزير الدفاع عبد الفتاح السيسي (قائد الانقلاب) كما كان يفعل في عهد مرسي.

ولكن بعد عرض برنامجه مجدداً بعد انقطاعٍ دام نحو أربعة أشهر، تغير مناخ حرية التعبير في مصر بشكلٍ كبير. بدأ بالسخرية من كيفية عبادة الناس للسيسي، إلا أن الرياح لم تجري بما تشتهي السفن بالنسبة للكوميدي. أصدرت قناة سي بي سي بياناً تنأى بنفسها عن المواقف السياسية ليوسف، وسرعان ما أوقف البرنامج من العرض، لعدم التزامه بالعقد كما ورد عن القناة. تفجر غضب المشاهدين الذين كانوا من أشد المؤيدين للبرنامج في وجه يوسف، متهمينه بأنه أداة في يد جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، الذين كان غالباً ما ينتقدهم في السابق.

وفي فبراير 2014، خطى خطوة ثالثة لقناة جديدة. عُرض الموسم الثالث من البرنامج على قناة إم بي سي مصر، كعرضٍ أول، وأعيد بثه على القناة الألمانية دويتشه فيله. كان المشاهدون ينتظرون بث الحلقات بفارغ الصبر، كما حقق البرنامج أرقاماً قياسية جديدة بأعداد المشاهدين، إلا أن يوسف وجد نفسه غارقاً بالدعاوى القضائية بتهمة إهانة الجيش “رمز مصر،” والحكومة، وتهديد السلم العام.

وبعد 11 حلقة فقط، أوقفت القناة عرض البرنامج خلال فترة الانتخابات الرئاسية “لمنعه من التأثير على الناخبين.” وبعد أن حقق عبد الفتاح السيسي انتصاراً ساحقاً في الانتخابات الرئاسية بنسبة 93% من الأصوات في مايو 2014، أعلن يوسف في مؤتمر صحفي إلغاء برنامجه المحبوب، بسبب الضغوطات الهائلة التي تعرض لها هو وعائلته والقناة.

وصرّح بأنه وفريق عمله اتخذوا قرار إلغاء البرنامج عوضاً عن التخفيف من لهجته وفقدانه بريقه. “لن يسمح للبرنامج في شكله الحالي العودة على أي قناة مصرية أو عربية. البيئة التي نعيش فيها غير مناسبة للبرنامج، وأنا متعب، كما لم نعد قادرين على تحمل المزيد،” هذا ما صرّح به للصحفيين. “لأولئك المسرورين من إلغاء البرنامج، أقول لهم أن إلغاء البرنامج انتصارٌ لنا.”

وفي مقابلةٍ له مع برنامج “Fresh Air” على الإذاعة الوطنية العامة في الولايات المتحدة، قال يوسف إن النيابة العامة تمتلك في النهاية حوالي 400 تهمة موجه ضده تحت التصرف، ليستخدمها النظام كلما شعر بضرورةٍ لذلك.

في نهاية المطاف، انتقل يوسف مع عائلته إلى دبي، بعد أن تم إيقاف برنامجه من العرض. كما رفض عرضه على قناة غير عربية، قائلاً أن ذلك سيلحق الضرر بمصداقيته. وفي عام 2015، انتقل إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وفي يناير 2015 بالتحديد، أصبح زميل مقيم في معهد السياسة في جامعة هارفارد.

وعلى الرغم من أنه لم يعد يظهر على شاشة التلفزيون، إلا أن يوسف لم يختفي عن أعين الجماهير، فلا زال له تأثير على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، حيث له ملايين المتابعين من جميع أنحاء العالم. ويعود له الفضل في إيقاف أحد البرامج عن العرض بعد أن شنّ حملة شعبية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ضد رهام سعيد، مقدمة احد البرامج. فضلاً عن ذلك، فقد ورد اسمه ضمن لائحة “أكثر 100 شخصية مؤثرة في العالم،” التي تصدرها مجلة تايم في عام 2013.

بالنسبة لباسم يوسف، الكوميديا أداة لتثقيف الناس، وتشجيعهم على التفكير النقدي أثناء استمتاعهم بالعرض، ورفع مستوى الوعي حول القضايا الراهنة، وتحدي الحكام.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Faces / Bassem Youssef: the Shunned Comedian

Bassem Youssef: the Shunned Comedian

Bassem Youssef
Bassem Youssef. Photo: Hollandse Hoogte

With the revolution in Egypt on 25 January 2011, creativity surged across the country, with independent artists turning to social media to reach their audiences directly, bypassing the control of publishers and producers. None received greater critical acclaim than Bassem Youssef, who, within two years, became the most famous artist in the Arab world and originated a phenomenon that many tried to replicate, unsuccessfully.

The charismatic young Youssef (born 1974) was a cardiac surgeon when the revolution began. When the masses protested in Tahrir Square against long-time autocrat Mubarak, Youssef joined the movement that eventually overthrew the president in February 2011, helping to care for injured protesters.

This started Youssef on his next stage in life, to create a political satirical show unlike anything seen before in the Arab world. A long-time fan of Jon Stewart and The Daily Show, he turned to YouTube to create the show shortly after the revolution, a show in which he would be free from censorship and oversight by TV programme producers.

His show, called “B+” became an online hit overnight. Produced with a very modest budget, the show made fun of politics, using minimal visual effects, and videos and photos collected and curated by supporters. It soon drew hundreds of thousands of viewers, who eagerly awaited the release of each new episode, savouring their newfound freedom. As each new episode came out, it was immediately shared and re-shared across thousands of Facebook and Twitter pages. He quickly attracted the attention of mainstream media outlets, who recognized what he could add to their programming.

Youssef, who became known as the Jon Stewart of the Arab world, signed his first deal with ONTV channel in Egypt to host the show “El-Barnameg” (The Programme), making his show the first to make the move from YouTube to mainstream television in the Middle East. With a bigger budget, numerous guest appearances, and unrestricted freedom, the show was a huge hit for the channel. Youssef parodied and poked fun at various people, from TV presenters to presidential candidates such as Mohamed El-Baradei, Ahmed Shafik, and the eventual winner, Mohamed Morsi, and ushered in a new era of freedom of speech previously unknown in the Middle East.

With his newfound fame taking up more of his time, for a while Bassem Youssef juggled his life as a comedian with that as a cardiac surgeon. Before the revolution began, Youssef had secured a pediatric cardiology fellowship at the prestigious Cleveland Clinic in the United States and saw it as his ticket to “get out.” Even though he had invested more than 20 years in his pursuit of medicine, he gave it up to concentrate on his show.

After a successful 104-episode run beginning in Ramadan 2011, season two of the show moved to a new home and started a new phase for Youssef as a TV host. He moved from ONTV’s smallest studio to the newly renovated Radio Cinema and Theatre, where the show hosted a live audience of 220 people every week. It first aired in November 2012 on the Egyptian TV channel CBC and became the first show with a live audience in the Middle East.

The second season aired during the presidency of the Muslim Brotherhood’s Mohamed Morsi, which began in June 2012. Building on the freedom of speech he had previously enjoyed, Youssef was quick to criticize the new government openly. He often lampooned the president for his speeches and appearances. Only two shows into the season, he was faced with multiple lawsuits for insulting the president, insulting Islam, and spreading rumours to disturb public peace.

The public prosecutor issued an arrest warrant for Youssef in early 2013 and after a long interrogation he was released on bail. Its audience snowballing, it was becoming the most viewed show in the history of Arab TV. On YouTube alone, the show had over 100 million views.

When a popularly backed coup by the Egyptian army overthrew Morsi after one year in office in July 2013, Youssef’s show was put on hold for several months. He faced criticism and accusations of self-censorship and failure to make fun of then defense minister Abdel Fatah El-Sisi (who led the coup) in the way he had done with Morsi before him.

But when he did return to air almost four months later, the climate for freedom of speech had changed drastically in Egypt. He began to poke fun at how people idolized El-Sisi, and it did not go well for the comedian. CBC issued a statement distancing itself from Youssef’s political stance and quickly pulled the show off the air, citing a violation of his contract. Viewers who had been staunch supporters of the show became angry at Youssef, accusing him of being a tool of the Muslim Brotherhood, which he had previously so often criticized.

In February 2014 he made his third move to a new channel. The third season of his show premiered on MBC Misr and was rebroadcast on German channel Deutsche Welle. The show was eagerly awaited and set new viewership records, but Youssef quickly found himself barraged with lawsuits for insulting the army, the “symbols of Egypt,” and the government, and threatening public peace.

After just 11 episodes, the channel suspended the show during the presidential elections “to prevent it from influencing voters.” After El-Sisi won a landslide victory in May 2014 with 93 percent of the vote, Youssef announced in a press conference that he would cancel his popular show, because the immense pressure on him, his family, and the channel had become too large.

He said that he and his team took the decision to cancel the show rather than tone it down and ruin it. “The show in its current form will not be allowed to return on any Egyptian or Arab channel. The environment that we live in is not suitable for the show, and I am tired, and we are at the end of our tether,” he told reporters. “To those who are happy the show has been cancelled, I tell them that the cancellation is a victory for us.”

In an interview with “Fresh Air” on National Public Radio in the United States, Youssef said that the public prosecutor eventually had about 400 accusations against him at his disposal, to use whenever the regime felt it necessary.

Eventually, Youssef had to move to Dubai with his family, after his show was pulled off air. He refused to host it on a non-Arab channel, saying that doing so would damage its credibility. In 2015 he moved to the United States and, in January 2015, he became a resident fellow at the Institute of Politics at Harvard University.

Although he is no longer on TV, Youssef has far from disappeared from the public eye. He remains influential on social media, with millions of followers from around the world. He is credited with taking a show off the air after he mounted a popular campaign through social media against its host, Reham Saed. He was named one of the “100 most influential people in the world” by TIME magazine in 2013.

To Bassem Youssef, comedy is a tool to educate people, to encourage them to think critically while being entertained, to raise awareness about current issues, and to challenge rulers.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.