فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / وُجوه / الإمام الأكبر أحمد الطيب: لاعبٌ رئيسي في مصر بعد الثورة

الإمام الأكبر أحمد الطيب: لاعبٌ رئيسي في مصر بعد الثورة

Egypt- Ahmed el-Tayeb
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ PATRICK KOVARIK

أشعلت ثورة 25 يناير 2011 في مصر تتابعاً متسارعاً في القادة السياسيين، بدءاً من الرؤساء إلى مجلس الوزراء ووصولاً إلى القادة العسكريين. بيد أن شخصيةً قوية وذات تأثيرٍ كبير صمدت في وجه سنوات الإضطراب محافظاً على مكانته دون أي منازع: الدكتور أحمد محمد أحمد الطيب، الإمام الأكبر لأهم سلطةٍ دينية في مصر، الأزهر الشريف.

ولد الطيب في 6 يناير 1946 في قرية القرنة بالقرب من الأقصر في صعيد مصر، ودرس الفلسفة والعقيدة في جامعة الأزهر في القاهرة، ويحمل درجة الدكتوراه في الفلسفة الإسلامية، من الأزهر أيضاً، كما أمضى ستة أشهر في جامعة السوربون في باريس. وبعد عدة مناصب كأستاذ مساعد وعميد جامعات في وقتٍ لاحق في قنا وأسوان والقاهرة، تم تعيينه رئيساً لجامعة الأزهر عام 2003، ثم شيخاً للأزهر (الإمام الأكبر) في عام 2010.

تأسس الأزهر كمسجدٍ في عام 972 من قبل الفاطميين الشيعة وتوسع إلى جامعة عندما بدأ بجذب العلماء من جميع أنحاء العالم الإسلامي. ويعتبر الآن أرفع مقامٍ في العالم للتعاليم السُنية.

يُقال أن الطيب ينحدر من أسرةٍ صوفية، ولكن من غير الواضح كيف أثرت عليه الصوفية على وجه التحديد. وبالرغم من تواصلنا في فَنَك مع المتحدث باسم الأزهر للاستفسار حول الصوفية، إلا أننا لم نتلقى أي إجابة. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن شقيق الطيب، محمد الطيب، يقود جماعةً صوفية، إلا أنه أخبر الصحافة المحلية أن لا الإمام الأكبر ولا الأزهر على علاقةٍ بجماعته.

ودائماً ما يبقى أقارب الطيب خارج دائرة الضوء، وبالكاد يأتِ على ذكرهم علانية. وبحسب ما ورد، فهو متزوج من ابنة عمه، سكينة، من قريته في الأقصر، حيث لا تزال تعيش هناك، ولديهما ابن وابنة وحفيدين على الأقل. وفي إحدى المقابلات النادرة، تحدث الطيب بالتفصيل عن نشأته القاسية عندما كان طفلاً وكيف أثر هذا عليه كأب.

شخصية قوية

تكلم أسامة، وهو مهندس في مجال النفط في الستينات من عمره، بشكلٍ إيجابي عن الطيب: “يتمتع بشخصيةٍ قوية فضلاً عن كونه ذكي،” وأضاف لنا في فَنَك، “يختار كلماته بعناية.”

يقود الطيب جهود الأزهر لمواجهة الفكر المتطرف في الإسلام، كما قال الأستاذ المساعد في الأزهر، السيد زكريا، لفَنَك سابقاً. وتتضمن هذه الجهود قسم بث الرسائل المضادة، الذي أنشأه الطيب، والذي يدحض رواية جماعاتٍ مثل تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) وتنظيم القاعدة.

هذا وتتناسب مكافحة التطرف مع جدول أعمال الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي، الذي دعا مراراً إلى “تجديد الخطاب الديني” ويرى أن الأزهر أداةً هامة لهذا التجديد.

من ناحيةٍ تاريخية، لطالما كانت علاقة الأزهر بالدولة وثيقة، بل إن الطريقة التي يستوفي فيها الطيب هذا الدور- وبخاصة خلال السنوات المضطربة بعد ثورة 2011- أمرٌ يستحق إلقاء نظرةٍ عن قرب.

قُربه من الجيش

قبل توليه منصب الإمام الأكبر، كان الطيب عضواً في الحزب الوطني الديمقراطي الذي كان يتزعمه الرئيس السابق حسني مبارك، والذي تم حله بعد إسقاطه خلال الثورة.

وعندما أعلن الجنرال السيسي الإطاحة بمحمد مرسي رئيس الإخوان المسلمين في عام 2013، آنذاك، وقف الطيب مع البابا تاوضروس الثاني أثناء البث التلفزيوني المباشر. وخلال شهر رمضان في عام 2018، ظهر الطيب في إعلانٍ تلفزيوني قائلاً إن التبرع بالمال إلى صندوق الحكومة “تحيا مصر” من الطرق المشروعة لإخراج الزكاة (إعطاء المال للفقراء، وتعدّ أحد أركان الإسلام الخمسة). ويستخدم صندوق تحيا مصر بشكلٍ عام لتمويل المشاريع الضخمة الوطنية مثل توسعة قناة السويس في عام 2016 وبناء عاصمة إدارية جديدة.

ويعتقد أسامة أن الطيب يحافظ على علاقةٍ وثيقة بالدولة لكنه لا يمثل صوت الحكومة بشكلٍ كامل. وقال أسامة “في هذا الصدد، هو أفضل بكثير من سلفه [محمد سيد] طنطاوي، الذي كان موالٍ للدولة 100%.” فعلى سبيل المثال، نادراً ما يتحدث الطيب عن جماعة الإخوان المسلمين المحظورة في العلن، في حين أن شيوخ آخرين يتبعون خط الحكومة المعادي للإخوان بشكلٍ عنيفٍ أكثر، بحسب أسامة.

من جهته، يعتقد عمرو عزت، الباحث في المعهد المصري للحقوق الشخصية، خلاف ذلك، إذ كتب لنا في بريدٍ إلكتروني “لا أعتقد أن أداء أحمد الطيب يمكن وصفه بأنه مستقل أو أكثر استقلالية،” وأضاف ” على العكس من ذلك، من بين جميع الشيوخ الآخرين، هو الأكثر مشاركةً في السياسة، ويدعم السلطة في توجهها العام ومواقفها السياسية الحاسمة.”

بعيداً عن الإخوان

فقد قال عزت أن الطيب خلال الثورة، دعم نظام مبارك وعارض الثورة، وأضاف أنه بعد سقوط مبارك، دعم الطيب المجلس الأعلى للقوات المسلحة الذي كان يحكم في وقتٍ سابق، مما عزز منصبه في الأزهر.

وفي الفترة الأولى ما بعد الثورة (2011-2012)، صدر قانونٌ جديد لتغيير طريقة اختيار شيخ الأزهر. ووفقاً للقانون الجديد، يقوم مجلس كبار العلماء في الأزهر بدلاً من الرئيس بتعيين الإمام الأكبر. من هنا، تأكد الطيب من أن رئيس الإخوان المسلمين لن يتمكن من استبداله. وقال عزت: “بعد الثورة، منع التغييرات الجذرية في الأزهر وتأكد من أنه لن يخضع لسيطرة الإخوان المسلمين.”

وعلاوة على ذلك، يعتقد عزت أن الطيب عمل مع الجيش لمنع التغيير الفعلي في البلاد كما طالبت به القوى الثورية، وذلك على على سبيل المثال بتعيين كبار العلماء المقربين من الدولة، والحفاظ على علاقاتٍ قوية مع أجهزة المخابرات وإقالة العلماء الذين تربطهم علاقاتٌ مع الإخوان المسلمين أو غيرهم ممن يملكون وجهات نظر معارضة بشدة للدولة.

الوصي على الإسلام

ومع ذلك، يبدو أن الطيب اتخذ، فيما يخص بعض القضايا، موقفاً أكثر استقلالية. فقد نأى بنفسه عن الفض العنيف لاعتصام رابعة عام 2013، إذ قال إنه لم يعلم عن الأمر سوى “من وسائل الإعلام.”

وفي وقتٍ لاحق، في عام 2017، رفض الأزهر دعوة السيسي تعديل مفهوم “الطلاق الشفوي” في الإسلام. فقد سبق وقال الباحث إتش إيه هيلير في هذا الصدد لفَنَك، “لن يدعم الأزهر ذلك لأنه يرى في اقتراح السيسي تدخلاً في مجاله.” رد السيسي علانيةً على الطيب إذ قال له بالعامية “تعبتني يا فضيلة الإمام.”

وعلاوة على ذلك، قاوم الأزهر برنامج الدولة لتوحيد خطبة الجمعة في المساجد في جميع أنحاء مصر، على النحو المنصوص عليه من قِبل وزارة الأوقاف.

يعترف عزت بأن الطيب استغل فتح باب النقاش العام لمعارضة المجلس العسكري حول بعض القضايا، إذ قال “الطيب ليس مطيعاً مثل وزير الأوقاف، على سبيل المثال.” وأضاف بهذه الطريقة، “حافظ الطيب على صورته كوصي على الإسلام، وفي رأيي، الوصاية على الإسلام تطغى على السياسات الرسمية.” وكما كتبت فَنَك في وقتٍ سابق، لم تصبح سياسات الدولة في مصر أكثر علمانية منذ الإطاحة بالإخوان المسلمين، بل على العكس من ذلك، تتزايد قضايا التكفير في المحاكم ويتواصل العنف ضد الطوائف المسيحية في صعيد مصر.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لم يتبع الأزهر دعوة السيسي لتجديد الخطاب الديني دون قيدٍ أو شرط. فبالنسبة للطيب، يبدو أن الخطاب الإسلامي لا يحتاج إلى التجديد، بل أن يتم تعليمه على نحوٍ أفضل لمنع الناس من استخدام الدين لتبرير العنف والتطرف. وفي مؤتمر عقد في مكة في فبراير 2015، شدد الطيب على أهمية إصلاح التعليم، لأن التطرف هو نتيجة “تفسيرٍ خاطىء للقرآن والسنة.”

وفي ردٍ مباشر على رواية الجماعات المتطرفة، قال الطيب: “ما لم نحكم السيطرة التعليمية والتربوية في مدارسنا وجامعاتنا على فوضى اللجوء إلى الحكم بالكفر والفسق على المسلمين، فإنه لا أمل في أن تستعيد هذه الأمة قوتها ووحدتها وأخوتها وقدرتها على التحضير ومواكبة الأمم المتقدمة”.

وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن علاقته الوثيقة بالدولة تضر بسمعة الأزهر باعتباره سلطة دينية بين الحركات الإسلامية، كما قال الباحث زياد عقل لفَنَك سابقاً. وبحسب عقل، ترى جماعة الإخوان المسلمين والجماعات السلفية أن الأزهر هو الهيئة الدينية للدولة ورجال الأزهر مسؤولين في الدولة بدلاً من كونهم علماء دين.

كما يعارض الأزهر وصف جماعاتٍ أو أفراد معينين بالمرتدين، حتى تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” ويمارس في هذا الصدد ما يعظ به. ففي مايو 2018، تمت إقالة رئيس جامعة الأزهر، أحمد حسني، الذي وصف المذيع التلفزيوني إسلام البحيري، الذي غالباً ما يعبر عن انتقاده لبعض التعاليم الإسلامية والأزهر كمؤسسة، بالمرتد.

أدوار غامضة

في تفاعلاته مع ممثلين آخرين، يبدو أن الطيب يختار كلماته بعناية، ويعدلها بما يتناسب مع الجمهور. ففي مناسباتٍ عدة، ألقى باللوم في مشاكل الشرق الأوسط على “الاستعمار الجديد” والصهيونية، التي يتردد صداها في أجزاء كبيرة بين السكان العرب، في حين أنه عندما تحدث مع قادةٍ في الغرب، سلط الضوء على الحاجة إلى فتح أبواب الحوار والتعايش السلمي.

كما انتقد القرار الأمريكي بنقل سفارتها من تل أبيب إلى القدس، قائلاً إن هذا يُغذي الإرهاب، وألغى على نحوٍ مفاجىء اجتماعاً مع نائب الرئيس الأمريكي مايك بنس رداً على نقل السفارة.

كما أن علاقة الطيب مع المملكة العربية السعودية غامضةٌ بعض الشيء، فقد التقى ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان في مارس 2018 للحديث عن التعاون بين الأزهر والمملكة فيما يتعلق بمكافحة الإرهاب.

ومع ذلك، وخلال مؤتمرٍ دولي لعلماء السُنة عقد في الشيشان- روسيا في عام 2016، استبعد الطيب الوهابية، وهي النسخة السعودية المتشددة من السلفية، من الإسلام السني السائد، مما أثار غضب رجال الدين السعوديين. قد لا يكون هذا مفاجئاً نظراً لخلفية الطيب الصوفية المفترضة. وكما ورد في صحيفة ذا أتلانتك، فإن الوهابية والصوفية تتعارضان مع بعضهما البعض، حيث أن الوهابية لا تتسامح مع الصوفية الأكثر شمولية.

كما أن نهج الطيب تجاه المسيحيين في مصر يظهر لنا جانبين كذلك. فقد بدأ الطيب مبادرة بيت العائلة، وهي اجتماعٌ دوري بينه وبين قادة الكنائس المختلفة في البلاد، وتتضمن أنشطةً لتعزيز الحوار بين الأديان، وتركز على الوحدة و”المصرية” المشتركة لجميع الأديان.

من ناحيةٍ أخرى، اعترض الطيب على قانونٍ موحد جديد لأماكن العبادة و”رفض المساواة تماماً بين الكنيسة والمسجد،” بحسب عزت. فقد كان اعتراضه ناجحاً، ففي عام 2016، أصدرت مصر قانون بناء الكنائس المستقل الذي يضمن بالاسم الحق في بناء كنيسة، إلا أنه من الناحية العملية يفرض قيوداً عليها تحت سلطة الأجهزة الأمنية.

نجح الطيب، خلال الاضطرابات السياسية في السنوات السبع الماضية، في الحفاظ على دورٍ رئيسي للأزهر في ديناميكيات السلطة المصرية، من خلال دعم النظام والجيش بقوة، ومنع التغييرات الداخلية الكبرى في الأزهر، وضمان احتفاظ الإسلام بدورٍ مركزي في السياسات العامة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ PATRICK KOVARIK

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Faces / Grand Imam Ahmed el-Tayeb: A Key Player in Post-Revolution Egypt

Grand Imam Ahmed el-Tayeb: A Key Player in Post-Revolution Egypt

Egypt- Ahmed el-Tayeb
Photo AFP

Egypt’s 25 January revolution in 2011 ignited a fast-changing succession of political leaders, from presidents to cabinets to army leaders. Yet one powerful and highly influential figure withstood the years of unrest and remained in place virtually unchallenged: Dr Ahmed Muhammad Ahmed el-Tayeb, the grand imam of Egypt’s most important religious authority, al-Azhar.

El-Tayeb was born on 6 January 1946 in the village of Qurna, near Luxor in Upper Egypt. He studied philosophy and doctrine at al-Azhar University in Cairo, and holds a PhD in Islamic philosophy, also from al-Azhar. He spent six months at the Sorbonne University in Paris. Following several positions as (assistant) professor and later dean of universities in Qena, Aswan and Cairo, he was appointed president of al-Azhar University in 2003, then grand imam in 2010.

Al-Azhar was founded as a mosque in 972 by the Shiite Fatimids and grew into a university when it started to attract scholars from all over the Islamic world. It is now considered the world’s highest seat for Sunni learning.

El-Tayeb is said to be from a Sufi family, but how Sufism precisely influences him is unclear. Fanack approached al-Azhar’s spokesperson on the question of Sufism but received no reply. El-Tayeb’s brother, Muhammad el-Tayeb, leads a Sufi order, but he has told local press that neither the grand imam nor al-Azhar has any connection to the order.

El-Tayeb’s relatives consistently stay out of the spotlight, and he hardly ever talks about them in public. He reportedly married his cousin Sakina from his village in Luxor, where she still lives. They have a son and a daughter and at least two grandchildren. In one rare interview, el-Tayeb elaborated on the harsh upbringing he endured as a child and how that influenced him as a father.

Strong Personality

Usama, a petrol engineer in his 60s, is positive about el-Tayeb. “He has a strong personality and is smart,” he told Fanack. “He carefully chooses his words.”

El-Tayeb leads al-Azhar’s efforts to counter extremist thought in Islam, as assistant professor of al-Azhar Sayed Zakaria told Fanack previously. These efforts include a counter-messaging department, initiated by el-Tayeb, which refutes the narrative of groups such as the Islamic State (IS) and al-Qaeda.

Countering extremism fits the agenda of President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, who has frequently called for a “renewing of religious discourse” and sees al-Azhar as an important vehicle for this renewal.

The relationship between al-Azhar and the state has historically been close. How el-Tayeb fulfils that role – especially during the turbulent years after the 2011 revolution – deserves a closer look.

Close to the Military

Before assuming his position as grand imam, el-Tayeb was a member of former President Hosni Mubarak’s National Democratic Party (NDP), which was disbanded after he was toppled during the revolution.

When then-army general al-Sisi announced the ouster of Muslim Brotherhood President Mohamed Morsi in 2013, el-Tayeb stood together with Pope Tawadros II during the live television broadcast. During Ramadan in 2018, el-Tayeb appeared in a television ad saying that donating money to the government fund Long Live Egypt is a valid way to follow zakat (giving money to the poor, one of the five pillars of Islam). The Long Live Egypt Fund is generally used to fund national mega-projects such as the extension of the Suez Canal in 2016 and the construction of a new administrative capital.

Usama believes el-Tayeb maintains a close relationship with the state but does not fully represent the voice of the government. “In this regard he is much better than his predecessor [Muhammad Sayyid] Tantawi, who was 100% with the state,” Usama said. For instance, el-Tayeb rarely talks about the banned Muslim Brotherhood in public, whereas other sheikhs follow the government’s anti-Brotherhood line much more fiercely, Usama said.

Amr Ezzat, a researcher at the Egyptian Institute for Personal Rights, believes otherwise. “I do not think Ahmed el-Tayeb’s performance can be described as independent or more independent,” he wrote to Fanack in an email. “On the contrary, out of all the other sheikhs, he is the most involved in politics, supporting the authority in its general direction and crucial political positions.”

Out of Brotherhood Hands

During the revolution, el-Tayeb supported the Mubarak regime and opposed the revolution, Ezzat said. After Mubarak’s fall, el-Tayeb supported the then-ruling Supreme Council of Armed Forces (SCAF), strengthening his position in al-Azhar, he added.

In the initial post-revolution period (2011-2012), a new law was issued to change the way al-Azhar’s leader is chosen. According to the new law, al-Azhar’s Council of Senior Scholars instead of the president appoints a new grand imam. Hence, el-Tayeb made sure that a Muslim Brotherhood president would not be able to replace him. “After the revolution, he prevented radical changes in al-Azhar and ensured it did not come under the control of the Muslim Brotherhood,” Ezzat said.

Moreover, Ezzat believes that el-Tayeb worked with the military to prevent actual change in the country as demanded by revolutionary forces, for instance by appointing senior scholars who were close to the state, maintaining strong relations with the intelligence services and firing scholars with pro-Muslim Brotherhood or otherwise strong opposing views.

Guardian of Islam

On certain issues, however, el-Tayeb seems to take a more independent stance. He distanced himself from the violent dispersal of the Rabaa sit-in in 2013, saying he only learnt about it “from the media”.

Later, in 2017, al-Azhar rejected a call by al-Sisi to amend the concept of ‘verbal divorce’ in Islam. “Al-Azhar would not go along with it as in its view al-Sisi’s proposal was an interference in its domain,” researcher H.A. Hellyer told Fanack previously. Al-Sisi said publicly in response that el-Tayeb was giving him “a hard time”.

Furthermore, al-Azhar has resisted the state’s programme to unify Friday sermons in mosques across Egypt, as prescribed by the Ministry of Religious Endowments.

Ezzat acknowledges that el-Tayeb used the opening of public debate to disagree with the SCAF on certain issues. “He is not as obedient as, for instance, the minister of religious endowments.” In this way, el-Tayeb “preserved his image as a preacher of Islam, and in my opinion, guardian for Islamic dominance over official policies,” Ezzat said. As Fanack wrote earlier, state policies in Egypt have not become more secular since the ouster of the Muslim Brotherhood. On the contrary, court cases over blasphemy are on the rise and violence against Christian communities in Upper Egypt persists.

In addition, al-Azhar did not follow al-Sisi’s call to renew religious discourse unconditionally. For el-Tayeb, it seems Islamic discourse does not need to be renewed, it needs to be taught better in order to prevent people from using the religion to justify violence and extremism. At a conference in Mecca in February 2015, el-Tayeb stressed the importance of education reform, because extremism is the result of a “wrong interpretation of the Koran and Sunna”.

In a direct response to the narrative of extremist groups, el-Tayeb said: “The only hope for the Muslim nation to recover unity is to tackle in our schools and universities this tendency to accuse Muslims of being unbelievers.”

At the same time, its close relationship with the state discredits al-Azhar as a religious authority among Islamist movements, researcher Ziad Akl told Fanack previously. The Muslim Brotherhood and Salafist groups view al-Azhar as the state’s religious body, and its clerics as state officials instead of religious scholars, according to Akl.

Al-Azhar opposes declaring certain groups or individuals as apostates, even IS, and in this regard practices what it preaches. In May 2018, the head of al-Azhar University, Ahmed Hosny, was replaced. Hosny had declared TV presenter Islam el-Beheiry, who often voices criticism of certain Islamic teachings and al-Azhar as an institution, an apostate.

Ambiguous Roles

In his interactions with other actors el-Tayeb also appears to choose his statements carefully, adjusting them to suit the audience. On several occasions, he blamed problems in the Middle East on ‘new colonialism’ and Zionism, which resonates with a large part of the Arab population, whereas when speaking with leaders in the West he highlighted the need to open dialogue and peacefully coexist.

He criticized the US’ decision to move its embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem (al-Quds), saying it feeds terrorism, and abruptly called off a meeting with US Vice-President Mike Pence in response to the embassy move.

El-Tayeb’s relationship with Saudi-Arabia is also somewhat ambiguous. He met Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman in March 2018 to talk about cooperation between al-Azhar and the kingdom regarding counterterrorism.

However, in 2016, during an international conference of Sunni scholars held in Chechnya, Russia, el-Tayeb excluded Wahhabism, the ultraconservative Saudi version of Salafism, from mainstream Sunni Islam, angering Saudi clerics. This may not be surprising considering el-Tayeb’s supposed Sufi background. As argued in The Atlantic, Wahhabism and Sufism are at odds with each other, with Wahhabism being intolerant towards the more inclusive Sufism.

El-Tayeb’s approach towards Christians in Egypt shows two sides as well. El-Tayeb started the Family Home initiative, a regular meeting between himself and the leaders of the different churches in the country, and activities to promote interfaith dialogue, which focus on unity and the common ‘Egyptianness’ of all the faiths.

On the other hand, el-Tayeb objected to a new unified law for places of worship and “completely rejected equality between church and mosque”, Ezzat said. His objection was successful. In 2016, Egypt issued a separate church building law that in name guarantees the right to build a church, but in practice puts restrictions on it under the authority of the security services.

Throughout the political upheaval of the past seven years, el-Tayeb has succeeded in maintaining al-Azhar’s key role in Egypt’s power dynamics, by strongly supporting the regime and the army, preventing major internal changes at al-Azhar and ensuring Islam retains a central role in public policies.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.