فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / وُجوه / الناشطة المصرية ماهينور المصري: ثمن المثابرة

الناشطة المصرية ماهينور المصري: ثمن المثابرة

Mahienour el-Massry
Photo: Gigi Ibrahim / Flickr ©Flickr ⁃ Gigi Ibrahim

قُبض على المحامية المدافعة عن حقوق الإنسان والناشطة ماهينور المصري، 33 عاماً، في 22 سبتمبر 2019 في القاهرة، بعد يومين من اندلاع احتجاجاتٍ نادرة ضد نظام الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي، ووسط موجة غير مسبوقة من اعتقالات المحتجين والمعارضين المحتملين أو المفترضين.

المصري محتجزة على ذمة قضيةٍ بتهمة مساعدة منظمة إرهابية ونشر أخبار كاذبة- وهي اتهامات شائعة في عمليات الاعتقال ذات الدوافع السياسية – في قضية أُعيد إحياءها تتعلق باحتجاجات حادث القطار المميت في فبراير 2019 في محطة القاهرة المركزية.

هذه ليست المرة الأولى التي يتم فيها سجن المصري، حيث تم احتجازها للمرة الأولى في عام 2008 في مركز للشرطة في مسقط رأسها، مدينة الإسكندرية. انخرطت ماهينور بالسياسة في سنٍ مبكرة، وشاركت في الاحتجاجات الطلابية في المدرسة والجامعة في الإسكندرية قبل الانضمام إلى حركة كفاية ضد الرئيس السابق حسني مبارك في عام 2005.

في مايو 2014، حكم عليها بالسجن لمدة عامين لتنظيمها مظاهرة غير مصرح بها أثناء إعادة محاكمة ضباط الشرطة المسؤولين عن وفاة السجين خالد سعيد. تم تخفيض العقوبة إلى ستة أشهر فيما بعد وتم تعليقها في سبتمبر من ذلك العام، وبعد ذلك تم إطلاق سراحها.

أثناء احتجازها، كتبت خطاباً مفتوحاً بعنوان “مستمرين،” متعهدةً بمواصلة القتال حتى يتم إلغاء قانون الاحتجاج المثير للجدل الصادر في نوفمبر 2013 – والذي ألغى فعلياً حق الاحتجاج. كما أشارت في رسالتها أيضاً إلى الاختلافات الطبقية التي تحدد معاملة الفرد حتى في السجن، لتنهي رسالتها بالقول: “فليسقط هذا المجتمع الطبقي.”

حازت على جائزة لودوفيك تراريو لحقوق الإنسان في عام 2014، وهي لا تزال في السجن.

بعد أقل من عام، تم سجنها مرة أخرى، عندما حكمت عليها محكمة في الإسكندرية بالسجن لمدة 15 شهراً في مايو 2015 بتهمة “اقتحام” مركز للشرطة في الإسكندرية في عام 2013، حيث شاركت في اعتصامٍ خارج المركز. وبعد قضاء مدة العقوبة، تم إطلاق سراحها في أغسطس 2016.

في مقابلة مع المونيتور، وصفت ظروف احتجازها حيث ذكرت بالتفصيل العنبر الصغير الذي لم يحتوي أي أسرة وتتقاسمه 18 سجينة، والافتقار إلى النظافة والرعاية الطبية والتهوية وانقطاع المياه بشكل متكرر، وبحسب قولها “لا تسير الأمور في السجن وفق القانون، بل وفقاً لممارسات آمر السجن.”

تم اعتقالها مجدداً في نوفمبر 2017 بعد احتجاجها في الإسكندرية ضد نقل مُلكية الجزيرتين على البحر الأحمر إلى المملكة العربية السعودية. تلقت في البداية حكماً بالسجن لمدة عامين، بيد أن محكمة الاستئناف ألغت الحكم وبرأتها في يناير 2018.

ومع ذلك، يبدو أن دوافعها إنسانية وليست سياسية بالدرجة الأولى، فقد دأبت على مساعدة اللاجئين السوريين المحتجزين بعد الإطاحة بمحمد مرسي في عام 2013، ودفعت الكفالة للمحتجزين من جيبها الخاص.

وهي عضو في حركة الاشتراكيين الثوريين، وهي جماعة معارضة يسارية متطرفة نشأت في التسعينيات وبقيت حركة سرية إلى حدٍ كبير حتى عام 2011. لعبت دوراً مهماً في حشد المتظاهرين للاحتجاجات التي أطاحت بمبارك في يناير 2011، ولكن – كحال العديد من الحركات السياسية الليبرالية واليسارية الأخرى – تم تهميشها بشكلٍ كبير في عهد السيسي.

وفي مقابلةٍ لها مع موقع أوبن ديموكراسي، وصفت المصري ثورة 2011 بأنها “واحدة من أفضل اللحظات التي عاشها الشعب المصري قط.”

ومن بين الأعضاء البارزين في حركة الاشتراكيين الثوريين المحامي هيثم محمدين، الذي تعرض للاعتقال عدة مرات ويقبع حالياً خلف القضبان، وكذلك كمال خليل، حيث تم اعتقال الأخير في سبتمبر، قبل أيامٍ من اعتقال المصري، ويُحاكم في نفس القضية.

حصل آخر إعتقالٍ للمصري أمام محكمةٍ في القاهرة، حيث كان من المقرر أن تقدم الدعم القانوني للأشخاص الذين قُبض عليهم في أعقاب الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة في 20 سبتمبر. ردت قوات الأمن بشدة على هذه الاحتجاجات الصغيرة ولكن المهمة، التي وقعت في مدنٍ مختلفة بما في ذلك القاهرة والسويس والمحلة والإسكندرية.

فقد قالت منظمة العفو الدولية إنه تم إلقاء القبض على حوالي 3000 شخص على مدار ثلاثة أسابيع، وفقاً للمركز المصري للحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية، من أجل منع المزيد من الاحتجاجات، بما في ذلك أكثر من 100 قاصر. يُشكل هذا أكبر حملة اعتقالات منذ تولي السيسي الرئاسة في يونيو 2014، حيث تجري الشرطة عمليات تفتيش في وسط القاهرة، وخاصة على الشباب، لتفتيش هواتفهم بحثاً عن محتوى سياسي حساس. وشاهد شهود عيان أشخاصاً يُقبض عليهم أثناء عمليات التفتيش هذه.

تعتبر المصري أول من يتم اعتقالها من بين عددٍ من النشطاء البارزين والمحامين والمعارضين الذين تعرضوا للاعتقال منذ الاحتجاجات. ومن بين هؤلاء زعيم حزب الكرامة عبد العزيز الحسيني؛ وعضو في حزب الدستور والصحافي خالد داود؛ والأساتذة في جامعة القاهرة حسن نافعة وحازم حسني، حيث عمل الأخير كمتحدثٍ باسم المرشح الرئاسي المعتقل سامي عنان في عام 2018؛ والناشط المخضرم علاء عبد الفتاح، الذي كان تحت المراقبة بعد أن قضى عقوبة بالسجن لمدة خمس سنوات بتهمة الاحتجاج غير القانوني؛ ومحاميه محمد الباقر، الذي اعتقل عندما كان ينتظر في مكتب المدعي العام لحضور استجواب موكله.

كان آخر الناشطين البارزين الذين تم اعتقالهم يومي 12 و13 أكتوبر، المؤسسة المشاركة لحركة شباب 6 أبريل، إسراء عبد الفتاح ومسؤول حزب العيش والحرية عبد الله السعيد.

وعلى الرغم من تقلص مساحة المعارضة السياسية في مصر واعتقالاتها السابقة، ظلت المصري نشطة سياسياً وواصلت دعم المعتقلين (السياسيين) بصفتها محامية.

وقالت إحدى صديقاتها لنا في فَنَك، “ماهينور واحدة من أقوى الأشخاص الذين قابلتهم وأكثرهم مثابرةً، تحمل قلباً كبيراً يدفعها إلى فعل المناسب لها وللآخرين.”

في الفترة التي سبقت الانتخابات الرئاسية لعام 2018، شاركت المصري بحملة خالد علي الإنتخابية كمرشحٍ للرئاسة، بيد أنه انسحب من السباق الرئاسي متحدثاً عن مخاوفه بشأن سلامة فريقه والمنافسة غير العادلة. تم إلقاء القبض على العديد من المرشحين المحتملين الآخرين أو تخويفهم بالانسحاب، ولم يتبق سوى مؤيد قوي للسيسي لخوض الانتخابات ضد الرئيس باعتباره مجرد دُمية.

وبحسب ما قالته المصري لموقع أوبن ديموكراسيفي مقابلةٍ عام 2018، “لا يمكن تسمية هذا بالانتخابات، بل استفتاء. لهذا السبب سأقاطعها. لا يوجد مرشح آخر سوى السيسي.”

وفي نفس المقابلة، اعترفت بالأخطاء التي ارتكبت في ثورة 2011، إذ قالت “نجح الشعب المصري بشكلٍ رائع في التعبئة، ولكن بعد التفكير بما توجب فعله فيما بعد، كان الناس تائهون. لم يكن لدينا رؤية واحدة واضحة: كنا منقسمين.”

كما تنبأت بحدوث شيء مماثل للاحتجاجات الأخيرة وحملة القمع اللاحقة، “سئم [الشعب] من النظام. يريدون المضي قدماً،” مضيفة أنه عندما يتحرك الشعب، “سيكون رد فعل الدولة، دون أدنى شك، عنيفاً ووحشياً.”

واختتمت حديثها بالأمل في أن التغيير السياسي يمكن أن يحدث وسيحدث، إلا أن تحقيق ذلك سيكون مُكلفاً: “سندفع حياتنا دفاعاً عن الأشياء التي نؤمن بها. مجتمعٌ جديد ببُنية اجتماعية جديدة آتٍ.”

وكما تقول صديقتها: “أولئك المثابرون سيتعرضون للاضطهاد باستمرار.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr ⁃ Gigi Ibrahim

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Faces / Egyptian Activist Mahienour el-Massry: The Cost of Persistence

Egyptian Activist Mahienour el-Massry: The Cost of Persistence

Mahienour el-Massry
Photo: Gigi Ibrahim / Flickr ©Flickr ⁃ Gigi Ibrahim

Human rights lawyer and activist Mahienour el-Massry, 33, was arrested on 22 September 2019 in Cairo, two days after rare protests erupted against President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi’s regime, and amid an unprecedented wave of arrests of potential or presumed protesters and opposition members.

El-Massry is being held in pre-trial detention on charges of aiding a terrorist organization and spreading false news – common charges in politically motivated arrests – in a revived case related to protests over the deadly train accident in February 2019 in Cairo’s central station.

It is not the first time el-Massry has been imprisoned. She was first held in 2008 in a police station in her hometown Alexandria. She became politically engaged at a young age, participating in student protests at school and university in Alexandria before joining the Kefaya movement against former President Hosni Mubarak in 2005.

In May 2014, she was handed a two-year sentence for organizing an unauthorized protest during the retrial against the police officers responsible for the death of inmate Khaled Said. Her sentence was later reduced to six months and suspended in September that year, after which she was released.

During her detention, she wrote an open letter titled ‘We shall continue’, vowing to keep on fighting until the controversial Protest Law issued in November 2013 – which effectively annihilated the right to protest – was abolished. She also pointed to class differences that determine one’s treatment even in prison, ending her letter with the call: ‘Down with this classist society’.

She was awarded the Ludovic Trarieux Human Rights Prize in 2014, while still in prison.

Barely a year later, she was imprisoned again, when an Alexandria court sentenced her to 15 months in May 2015 for ‘storming’ a police station in Alexandria in 2013. She had taken part in a sit-in outside the station. After serving her sentence, she was released in August 2016.

In an interview with al-Monitor, she described her detention, detailing a small cell without beds shared with 18 female prisoners, a lack of hygiene, medical care and ventilation and frequent water cuts. “Things in prison don’t go according to the law. Rather, they go according to the practice of the prison commissioner,” she said.

She was arrested again in November 2017 for protesting in Alexandria against the transfer of two Red Sea islands to Saudi Arabia. She initially received a two-year sentence, but the appeal court overturned the verdict and acquitted her in January 2018.

Her motivation appears to be primarily humanitarian rather than political. She has persistently aided Syrian refugees detained after the ouster of Mohamed Morsi in 2013, and has paid the bail for detainees out of her own pocket.

She is a member of the Revolutionary Socialists, a far-left opposition group that originated in the 1990s and remained largely underground until 2011. It played an important role in mobilizing demonstrators for the protests that toppled Mubarak in January 2011, but – like many other liberal and leftist political groups – has been heavily marginalized under al-Sisi.

In an interview with Open Democracy, el-Massry described the 2011 revolution as “one of the best moments that ever happened to the Egyptian people”.

Other prominent members of the Revolutionary Socialists include lawyer Haitham Mohamedeen, who has faced arrest multiple times and is currently in prison as well, and Kamal Khalil. The latter was arrested in September, several days before el-Massry, and is a defendant in the same case.

El-Massry’s latest arrest took place in front of a court in Cairo, where she was due to provide legal support to people arrested in the aftermath of anti-government protests on 20 September. Security forces responded fiercely to these small but significant protests, which took place in various cities including Cairo, Suez, Mahalla and Alexandria.

Almost 3,000 people were arrested over the course of three weeks, according to the Egyptian Center for Economic and Social Rights, in order to prevent further protests, including over 100 minors, Amnesty International said. It constitutes the largest arrest campaign since al-Sisi assumed the presidency in June 2014. Police have been conducting checks in central Cairo, particularly on young men, to search their phones for sensitive political content. Eyewitnesses saw people being arrested during such checks.

El-Massry was the first of a number of high-profile activists, lawyers and opposition members to be arrested since the protests. Other include the leader of the al-Karama Party, Abdel Aziz el-Husseini; al-Dostour Party member and journalist Khaled Dawoud; Cairo University professors Hassan Nafaa and Hazem Hosny, the latter having served as spokesperson for the arrested presidential hopeful Sami Anan in 2018; veteran activist Alaa Abd el-Fattah, who was on probation after having served a five-year sentence for illegal protesting; and his lawyer Mohamed el-Baqar, who was arrested when he was waiting at the prosecutor’s office to attend the interrogation of his client.

The latest prominent activists to be arrested on 12 and 13 October were April 6 Youth Movement co-founder Esraa Abdel Fattah and Bread and Freedom party official Abdallah Said.

Despite the shrinking space for political opposition in Egypt and her previous arrests, el-Massry has remained politically active and continued to support (political) detainees in her capacity as a lawyer.

“Mahienour is one of the strongest and most determined people I’ve met, with a heart so big that it keeps her doing what’s right for herself and others,” a friend told Fanack.

In the run-up to the 2018 presidential elections, el-Massry campaigned for presidential hopeful Khaled Ali, but he withdrew from the race citing safety concerns for his team and unfair competition. Several other potential candidates were either arrested or intimidated into withdrawing, leaving only a staunch al-Sisi supporter to run against the president as a puppet candidate.

“You cannot call this an election; it is a referendum. This is why I will boycott it. There is no other candidate except al-Sisi,” el-Massry said in the Open Democracy interview in 2018.

In the same interview, she acknowledged mistakes made in the 2011 revolution. “The Egyptian people were great at mobilizing, but when you consider what should have been done afterwards, the people were at sea. We did not have one clear vision: we were divided,” she said.

She also predicted that something like the recent protests and subsequent crackdown would happen. “[People] are also fed up with the regime. They want to move on,” she said, adding that when the people move, “the state’s reaction will inevitably be violent and brutal”.

She concluded the interview hopeful that political change can and will happen but realizing this would come at cost: “We will pay with our lives defending the things we believe in. A new society with a new social structure is coming.”

As her friend put it: “Those who are consistent will consistently be persecuted.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr ⁃ Gigi Ibrahim | ©Flickr ⁃ Gigi Ibrahim

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.