فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / وُجوه / المخرجة المصرية ندى ثابت: التنوير يولد على خشبة المسرح

المخرجة المصرية ندى ثابت: التنوير يولد على خشبة المسرح

Egypt- Nada sabet
المصدر: ندى ثابت / مؤسسة شومان

ترى المخرجة المصرية ندى ثابت (37 عاماً) أن عباءة الفن تتسع لتشمل الترفيه والاستمتاع، إلى جانب فتح أبواب الحوار في مختلف الموضوعات ورفع الوعي والتعليم وغيرها من الأدوار التنويرية. وإيماناً بهذه القناعات أسست مع مجموعة من أصدقائها شركة “نون للإبداع” عام 2011.

بدأ شغف ندى بالمسرح منذ الطفولة حين كانت تشارك في المسرح المدرسي، وقررت وقتها أنها ستستمر في هذا المجال، وعليه درست مسرح وعلم نفس في الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة، وأكملت دراسة الماجسيتر في ريادة الأعمال الإبداعية في المملكة المتحدة.

جاء قرار تأسيسها نون للإبداع بالتزامن مع دراستها الماجسيتر، إذ قالت “جزء من حصولي على الشهادة تطلب عمل كافة الإجراءات المطلوبة لتأسيس شركة، واستغليت الفرصة وأسست نون.”

قدمت “نون للإبداع” خلال السنوات الثماني الماضية مئات العروض المسرحية وورش العمل والمؤتمرات داخل مصر وخارجها، وطورت شراكاتٍ مع منظمات حكومية وغير حكومية محلية ودولية.

تناولت العروض موضوعات متنوعة وشائكة مثل الختان والتحرش الجنسي، وأطفال الشوارع، والأحلام، والمشاركة المدنية للشباب، والبيئة، والعنصرية، والهجرة، وتصوير المرأة في الإعلام والقانون في مصر.

وبحسب ندى، “من التحديات التي قابلتها تقديم عروض في قرى ليست مجهزة لاستقبال عروض مسرحية، ولكن بمساعدة المتعاونيين المحليين والجهات المانحة تم التغلب على هذه العقبات،” وهو من الأمور التي تفخر بها ندى كونهم وصلوا إلى أغلب المحافظات والقرى المصرية فيما عدا سيناء بسبب الأوضاع الأمنية.

كما تفخر بمخاطبتهم لمختلف الشرائح العمرية والاجتماعية، حيث تتنوع العروض بين عروض للشباب والبالغين ومسرح عرائس للأطفال والناشئين، إضافة لانتشار عروضهم في بلدان عربية مثل الأردن والبحرين والمغرب وتونس.

ومن أهم العروض التي قدمتها نون عرض “تاء ساكنة” في عام 2017، والذي شارك في مهرجانات إقليمية مثل مهرجان البحرين الدولي. بناءً على قصص واقعية لـ12 أم، يتحدث”تاء ساكنة” عن عقبات رحلة الأمومة في المجتمع المصري والمتمثلة في الاكتئاب ومشاكل الصحة العقلية والنفسية.

Egypt- Nada sabet
المصدر:  نون للابداع

تختلف استجابات الجمهور المتلقي للعروض التي تقدمها نون، لا سيما التي تتناول قضايا جدلية كالطلاق والختان. وترى المخرجة ندى ثابت أن الفن لا يملك عصا سحرية لوقف ظاهرة كالختان على سبيل المثال عن طريق عرض مسرحي واحد، إلا أن مثل هذه العروض يمكن أن تفتح الباب للحوار والتفكير والتساؤل عن ماهية الختان. قد ينتج من خلال هذا الحوار تغيير في الوعي والسلوك، وهو ما لا يحدث غالباً في سياق اليوم العادي.

كما تُصّر على أن الجمهور يمكنه الاستمتاع بعروضهم حتى المختلف معهم فكرياً، لأنهم يحرصون على أن تقدم العروض بشكل مسلي وجذاب. وتشير إلى أن عرض الختان كان من العروض الشائكة على وجه الخصوص، نظراً لترسخ الظاهرة في المجتمع المصري. ففي أحد مرات عرضه غادرت سيدة من المسرح اعتراضاً، ولكن رغم ذلك عادت بعد انتهائه وطرحت بعد الأسئلة بدافع الفضول وهذا في حد ذاته أمر جيد وخطوة في طريق التنوير، بحسب ندى.

تتذكر موقفاً آخر حين قدموا عرض الختان في مركز شباب بقرية صغيرة في محافظة أسيوط، حيث أبلغهم مدير المركز بعد انتهاء العرض أنه على الرغم من قناعته بضرورة ختان الفتيات لكنه أعجب بالعرض وعرض عليهم تقديمه مرة ثانية لمجموعة جديدة من الفتيات.

وتشير إلى أن وجود متعاونين محليين يسهل عليهم مهمة إقناع الجمهور بالمشاركة في العروض، ففي القرى الصغيرة الجميع يعرفون بعضهم البعض وحين يشارك في التنظيم أحد أهالي القرية يجعل الأمر محل ثقة بالنسبة للبقية.

تعتز ندى بجميع عروض نون ومنها حارة تي في، و45، وسمع هس، ومن أنتم، وريشة العصفور. تتعامل ندى معهم جميعاً كأبناءها، ولكنها تشير إلى الابن المدلل فيهم وهو عرض “مغامرات نوسة” الذي يعرض حالياً؛ وذلك لأنها قامت بتأليفه بنفسها إلى جانب الإخراج، ويتضمن مغامرات للطفلة نوسة مع كلب بلدي وحل الألغاز لاكتشاف ما حصل لصديقهم بمساعدة الجمهور.

وتخطط ندى ثابت لإنتاج سلسلة من المغامرات على نفس النهج لتشجيع الأطفال أن يكون لديهم شغف وحب استطلاع وتزويدهم بمعلومات عن البيئة والتاريخ.

عبر أحد المواطنين لفَنَك، أحمد حلمي، عن إعجابه بعروض نون التي تقام في محافظته أسيوط، قائلاً إن نون من المؤسسات التي تعمل بتفانٍ بعيداً عن صخب الشهرة لتوصيل رسالة هادفة عن طريق المسرح بأنواعه، ويتحملون في سبيل ذلك معاناة السفر والترحال كل عام بفكر جديد ورسالة جديدة.

فيما قالت الناشطة رضوى محمد، إن المسرح التفاعلي لنون من أكثر العروض امتاعاً وإثارة لأنه يجعل الجمهور يشارك في العرض عن طريق طرح أسئلة وأفكار تشغل ذهن المشاهد، وتجعله يشعر بأنه جزء من العرض حتى وإن كان ما يقدم مخالف لقناعاته. وأضافت أنها تستمتع بعروض نون لأنها تعبر عنها وعن مشاكل المرأة المصرية.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Faces / Egyptian Theatre Director Nada Sabet: Enlightenment is Born on Stage

Egyptian Theatre Director Nada Sabet: Enlightenment is Born on Stage

Egypt- Nada sabet
Photo: Nada Sabet / Shoman Foundation

Egyptian theatre director Nada Sabet (37) believes that art should offer entertainment and joy, as well as open the doors of dialogue, raise awareness, educate and play other enlightening roles. This conviction led her to co-found the performing arts company Noon Creative Enterprise in 2011.

Her passion for the theatre began when she joined the school drama club as a child. She went on to study theatre and psychology at the American University in Cairo, followed by a master’s degree in creative entrepreneurship in the United Kingdom.

She decided to found Noon Creative Enterprise while doing her master’s. “Part of the requirement of my certificate was to take all measures needed to establish a company, and I took the opportunity and established Noon Creative Enterprise.”

In the intervening eight years, the company has given hundreds of performances, workshops and conferences in Egypt and abroad, and developed partnerships with local and international governmental and non-governmental organizations.

The performances deal with diverse and often controversial topics such as circumcision, sexual harassment, street children, dreams, civic participation of youth, the environment, racism, migration and the portrayal of women in the media and law.

“One of the challenges I faced was doing performances in villages that were not equipped [to hold them]. However, with the help of local collaborators and donors, these obstacles were overcome,” said Sabet, who has taken her shows to several governorates and villages in Egypt except Sinai because of the security situation.

She also noted with pride that her company targets and involves different age groups and social strata, from puppet shows for children to performances relevant to young people and adults. Moreover, she has taken her shown to Arab countries such as Jordan, Bahrain, Morocco and Tunisia.

One of the company’s most important shows to date was 2017’s Ta Sakena, which was selected for several regional festivals such as the Bahrain International Festival. Based on the real-life stories of 12 mothers, the piece addresses the challenges of caring for children with mental and physical illnesses and disabilities.

Egypt- nada sabet
Photo: noonenterprise

Audience reactions to the performances have been mixed, especially those dealing with controversial issues such as divorce and female circumcision. Sabet does not believe that theatre has the power to stop a phenomenon like circumcision in one show, but rather that such shows can open the door for dialogue about and questioning of the practice. Through this dialogue, these shows can affect a change in consciousness and behaviours, something that does not happen overnight.

She is also adamant that her performances can be enjoyed even if the audience disagrees with the content because they are presented in an entertaining and appealing way. The subject of circumcision was particularly complicated, she said, because it is deeply rooted in Egyptian society. During one performance, a lady walked out in protest. However, she later returned to ask questions, which was good in itself and one step in the direction of enlightenment, Sabet said.

She recalled another instance when the show was performed at a youth centre in a village in Asyut Governorate. The centre’s director said afterwards that, although he was convinced of the need to circumcise girls, he liked the show and suggested hosting a second performance for another group of girls.

Local collaborators are essential for convincing the public to participate in the plays, Sabet said. In villages, everyone knows each other, so when one village member helps to organize a show, it becomes easier to convince other residents to get involved.

Sabet is proud of all her company’s plays, including Hara TV (‘Neighbourhood TV’), 45, Sama Huss (‘Listen Up Everyone’), Man Antum (‘Who Are You?’) and Rishat al-Asfur (‘Feather of Bird’). She treats them all as if they were her children, but she says her current show, The Adventures of Noussa, is her favourite. This is because she both wrote and directed the piece, in which a girl named Noussa and her dog embark on an adventure to find out what happened to their friend, with the help of the audience.

Sabet is planning to produce a series of similar interactive adventures to encourage children to use their imaginations and to teach them about the environment and history.

Ahmad Hilmi praised Noon Creative Enterprise and its work in his governorate, Asyut, saying that the company is dedicated to delivering a meaningful message through different types of theatre, away from the bright lights of fame, and recognized that the group has to travel and move from place to place every year with new thinking and new messages.

For her part, activist Radwa Mohamed said that the company’s interactive theatre is one of the most enjoyable and exciting because it encourages the audience to ask questions and initiate ideas. It also makes viewers feel that they are part of the show even if the content goes against their convictions. She added that she enjoys Noon Creative Enterprise’s performances because they deal with the challenges facing her and other Egyptian women.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.