فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / وُجوه / مصر: الصحفي المسجون شوكان يحصل على جائزة اليونسكو الدولية لحرية الصحافة

مصر: الصحفي المسجون شوكان يحصل على جائزة اليونسكو الدولية لحرية الصحافة

Egypt- Mahmoud Abu Zeid
Photo AFP

تم إطلاق سراح المصور الصحفي المصري محمود أبو زيد، المعروف أيضاً باسم شوكان، في 4 مارس 2019 بعد أن أمضى أكثر من خمس سنوات في السجون المصرية، بحسب تغريدةٍ له على تويتر. أفرجت السلطات المصرية عن شوكان تحت “المراقبة الشرطية” لمدة خمس سنوات، حيث يتوجب عليه التواجد في مركز الشرطة يومياً عند مغيب الشمس.

حصل المصور الصحفي محمود أبو زيد (30 عاماً) على جائزة اليونسكو/غييرمو كانو العالمية لحرية الصحافة لعام 2018 في الثاني من مايو، الذي يُصادف اليوم العالمي لحرية الصحافة، بيد أن الحكومة المصرية لم يسرها ذلك.

وقالت رئيسة لجنة تحكيم اليونسكو ماريا ريسا في بيانٍ لها “إن اختيار محمود أبو زيد جاء نتيجة شجاعته ومقاومته والتزامه بحرية التعبير”.

وفي خضم عمله كمصورٍ حر مع منافذ دولية مثل مجلة تايم، وصحيفة دي تسايت، ووكالة تصوير ديموتكس، كان شوكان في القاهرة لتغطية اعتصام رابعة الداعم لرئيس الإخوان المسلمين المخلوع محمد مرسي عندما تم فض الاعتصام بالقوة من قبل قوات الأمن في 14 أغسطس 2013. وبالرغم من الأرقام المتفاوتة، إلا أنه من المرجح أن ما يصل إلى ألف متظاهر قتلوا في حين اعتقل المئات، حيث كان شوكان واحداً منهم.

وفي رسالة كتبها من السجن في عام 2014، يذكر شوكان كيف تم اعتقاله مع صحفيين أجنبيين سرعان ما تم الإفراج عنهما. وبدلاً من ذلك، احتجز في مركزٍ للشرطة لينقل بعدها إلى سجن أبو زعبل. وكتب شوكان قائلاً: “كان خمسة ضباط ينهالون عليَّ ضرباً في الوقت نفسه بحزام وبقبضات أيديهم، ويركلونني بأحذيتهم.”

وبعد احتجازه لمدة تزيد عن العامين على ذمة التحقيق، في انتهاكٍ للقانون المصري، وُجهت إليه التهم في سبتمبر 2015، في قضيةٍ مع 738 متهماً آخرين، في قضيةٍ تعرف باسم قضية “فض اعتصام رابعة.” وعليه، تراوحت التهم بين حيازة الأسلحة والتجمع غير القانوني والتخريب والقتل إلى الإنضام لعضوية جماعة محظورة (جماعة الإخوان المسلمين). عقدت الجلسة الأولى للمحكمة في ديسمبر 2015، ولا زال شوكان ينتظر صدور الحكم. وبحسب ما ذكرته وسائل إعلام محلية في مارس 2018، طلب المدعي العام إنزال عقوبة الإعدام عليه وعلى جميع المتهمين الآخرين في القضية.

وهو محتجز حالياً في سجن طرة شديد الحراسة في القاهرة، والذي يشتهر بمعاملته السيئة مع السجناء. فقد تدهورت صحته، بعد أن تم تشخيص حالته بالإصابة بالتهاب الكبد الوبائي سي في عام 2016، فضلاً عن كونه يعاني من سوء التغذية وفقر الدم. ووفقاً لما كتب “معي 12 سجيناً سياسياً في الزنزانة التي لا يزيد طولها عن أربعة أمتار وعرضها عن ثلاثة أمتار. حتى الحيوانات لا تستطيع أن تعيش في هذه الظروف. أنامُ على أرض شديدة الرطوبة. كل يوم يشبه الآخر.”

أصبح شوكان رمزاً لإضطهاد الصحفيين في مصر، إذ تحتل البلاد المرتبة 161 من أصل 180 في مؤشر منظمة مراسلون بلا حدود (RSF) العالمي لحرية الصحافة، وتعد ثالث أسوأ دولة في العالم في سجن الصحفيين. وقضيته ملفتة للنظر على وجه الخصوص بسبب طول مدة سجنه دون إدانة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يحاكم شوكان مع العديد من قادة الإخوان المسلمين وأعضائها ومؤيديها الذين كانوا أيضاً في اعتصام رابعة، في حين أنه هو نفسه لا ينتمي إلى جماعة الإخوان وكان يقوم فقط بعمله عندما تم اعتقاله.

وقال شوكان بلسانه للقاضي خلال جلسة استماعٍ للمحكمة في نوفمبر 2016: “أنا مصور صحفي دون أي انتماءاتٍ من أي نوع.” وقد وصفت منظمات حقوق الإنسان الدولية شوكان بالسجين السياسي أو سجين الرأي. فقد منح نادي الصحافة الوطني الذي يتخذ من الولايات المتحدة مقراً له، شوكان جائزة جون أوبوشون لحرية الصحافة في يونيو 2016، ومنحته لجنة حماية الصحفيين جائزة حرية الصحافة الدولية في نفس العام.

كما بدأت منظمة مراسلون بلا حدود حملة لشوكان في أبريل 2018 تحت وسم #MyPicforShawkan (صورتي لشوكان) للفت الانتباه إلى قضيته وممارسة الضغط على السلطات المصرية لإطلاق سراحه.

وقال يحيى الشربيني، وهو صديق شوكان والذي أنشأ صفحة على الفيسبوك حملت عنوان “الحرية لشوكان“، لنا في فَنَك: “لخمس سنوات، تساءلنا عن سبب احتجازه ولمَ لا يزال حتى الآن في السجن.” وأضاف “كان يريد حقاً مغادرة مرسي لمنصبه،” مفنداً انتمائه المزعوم إلى جماعة الإخوان المسلمين بحسب الشربيني.

وأوضح الشربيني سبب منحه لقب شوكان، إذ قال أن شوكان هو اسم عائلة قديم وباتت تتم مناداته به كلقبٍ له عندما كان طفلاً. تنحدر عائلته من مدينة سوهاج في صعيد مصر وعاش العديد من سنواته في الكويت حيث ترعرع. درس التصوير الصحفي في أكاديمية أخبار اليوم، وهي صحيفة محلية. وقال الشربيني عن صديقه “إنه صحفي موهوبٌ ومحترفٌ جداً كان يحب التقاط الصور.”

وفي رسائل أخرى من السجن، ناشد شوكان الصحفيين مواصلة العمل بالرغم من التحديات، إذ قال في رسالةٍ أخرى، “تمسكوا بأحلامكم، قاتلوا من أجل الصورة… لا تتخلوا عن كاميراتكم أياً كان ما يتطلبه الأمر.” وقال أيضاً في رسالةٍ أخرى “واصلوا اسماع صوتكم، الصحافة ليست جريمة.”

ووفقاً للشربيني، فإن جائزة اليونسكو هي تشجيعٌ مرحبٌ به، لأسباب ليس أقلها أموال الجائزة التي تبلغ 25 ألف دولار، وبحسب قوله “أنفقت عائلته الكثير أثناء احتجازه ومحاكمته.”

وأضاف “نحاول تشجيعه، ولكن في النهاية هو لا يريد جائزة، بل يريد الحرية.”

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، أثار ترشيح شوكان للجائزة رد فعلٍ غاضب من مصر. فقد قال علي عبد العال، رئيس البرلمان، “لا ينبغي أن تزج اليونسكو نفسها في أمورٍ سياسية،” مضيفاً أنه لا يجوز منح شخص يواجه تهماً جنائية أي جائزة. وأعرب المتحدث باسم وزارة الخارجية عن “أسفه العميق” لترشيح شوكان، محذراً من “تبعات تسييس اليونسكو” التي ستجر المنظمة إلى “جدول أعمال بعض البلدان.”

ومع ذلك، أشاد الناشط المصري وائل اسكندر بالترشيح، حيث قال: “شكراً لكل شخص من داخل اليونسكو حاول أن يردع الظلم ضد المصور الصحفي شوكان بمنحه جائزة حرية الصحافة. طريقة بسيطة لمحاربة الظلم الكبير الذي تعرض له.”

فقد خضعت مصر في بعض الأحيان لضغوطٍ دولية لإطلاق سراح الصحفيين الذين يحملون جنسياتٍ أجنبية، تماماً كما حصل مع الصحفيين السابقين في قناة الجزيرة، بيتر غريست (أسترالي) ومحمد فهمي (كندي- مصري). وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك العديد من الحالات التي شهدت طرد صحفيين أجانب من مصر أو منعهم من الدخول عند وصولهم، مثل ريكارد غونزاليز (إسبانيا)، وريمي بيغاليو (فرنسا)، وآخرهم بيل تيرو (بريطاني). وعادةً ما يكون الصحفيون المصريون أقل حظاً، كونهم يقبعون تحت رحمة الشرطة المحلية والنظام القضائي، حيث يتعرضون لخطر السجن أو الاحتجاز المطول على الأقل قبل وأثناء المحاكمة.

ومع ذلك، لا يزال الشربيني يحذوه الأمل، “سيطلقون سراحه لأنه لا يوجد أي دليلٍ ضده على الإطلاق.” ومع اعتراض محامي شوكان على التهم الموجهة له، يتوقع الشربيني صدور حكمٍ بالبراءة خلال الأشهر الثلاثة أو الأربعة القادمة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: KHALED DESOUKI ©AFP | KHALED DESOUKI ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Egypt / Faces / In Egypt, Jailed Photojournalist Shawkan Receives UNESCO Free Press Award

In Egypt, Jailed Photojournalist Shawkan Receives UNESCO Free Press Award

Egypt- Mahmoud Abu Zeid
Photo AFP

Imprisoned photojournalist (30), also known as ‘Shawkan’, received the 2018 UNESCO/Guillero Cano Press Freedom Prize on 2 May 2018, World Press Freedom Day. The Egyptian government was not amused.

“The choice of Mahmoud Abu Zeid pays tribute to his courage, resistance and commitment to freedom of expression,” Maria Ressa, president of the jury, said in a statement.

As a freelance photographer working for international outlets such as TIME magazine, Die Zeit and photo agency Demotix, Shawkan was in Cairo covering the Rabaa sit-in supporting deposed Muslim Brotherhood President Mohamed Morsi when it was violently dispersed by security forces on 14 August 2013. While accounts differ, it is likely that up to a thousand protesters were killed and hundreds arrested. Shawkan was one of them.

In a letter he wrote from prison in 2014, Shawkan recalled how he was arrested with two foreign journalists who were soon released. He was instead held in a police station and then transferred to Abu Zaabal prison. ‘Five officers beat me at the same time with a belt and their fists, and kicked me with their boots,’ Shawkan wrote.

After being held in pre-trial detention for over two years, in violation of Egypt’s own law, charges were pressed in September 2015, in a case with 738 other defendants, known as the ‘Rabaa sit-in dispersal’ case. The charges ranged from weapons possession, illegal assembly, vandalism and murder to membership of a banned group (the Muslim Brotherhood). The first court session took place in December 2015. Shawkan is still waiting for a verdict. The public prosecutor requested the death penalty for him and all other defendants in the case, local media reported in March 2018.

He is currently being held in the high-security Tora prison in Cairo, which is notorious for its poor treatment of prisoners. His health has deteriorated. He was diagnosed with hepatitis C in 2016, and suffers from malnourishment and anemia. ‘I want to tell you about the cell I share with 12 political prisoners … We live in a small cell of 3 x 4 metres, which is not even suitable to be a cage for animals. I sleep on the floor. Every day is the same,’ he wrote from prison.

Shawkan has become a symbol of the oppression of journalists in Egypt. The country ranks 161 out of 180 in Reporters Without Borders’ (RSF) World Press Freedom Index, and is the world’s third worst in imprisoning journalists. His case is particularly striking because of the length of his imprisonment without conviction. In addition, he is on trial with many Muslim Brotherhood leaders, members and supporters who were also at the Rabaa sit-in, while he himself has no affiliation with the Brotherhood and was merely doing his job when he was arrested.

“I’m a photojournalist with no affiliations whatsoever,” Shawkan himself told the judge during a court hearing in November 2016. International human rights organizations have dubbed Shawkan a political prisoner or prisoner of conscience. The US-based National Press Club awarded Shawkan the John Aubuchon Press Freedom Award in June 2016, and the Committee to Protect Journalists awarded him the International Press Freedom Award the same year.

RSF started a campaign for Shakwan in April 2018 under the hashtag #MyPicforShawkan to draw attention to his case and put pressure on the Egyptian authorities to release him.

“For five years, we have wondered why he was and is still being held,” Yehia el-Sherbini, a friend of Shawkan’s who created the Facebook page Freedom for Shawkan, told Fanack Chronicle. “He actually wanted Morsi to leave,” el-Sherbini refuted his alleged affiliation with the Brotherhood.

El-Sherbini also explained his alias, saying Shawkan is an old family name that was given to him as a nickname when he was a child. His family is from Sohag in Upper Egypt and lived for many years in Kuwait when he was growing up. He studied photojournalism at the academy of Akhbar al-Youm, a local state newspaper. “He is a very talented, professional journalist who loved to take pictures,” el-Sherbini said of his friend.

In other letters from prison, Shawkan appealed to photojournalists to continue their work despite the challenges. ‘Hold on to the dream, fight for the photo … don’t put down the cameras no matter what it takes,’ read one. ‘Keep shouting, journalism is not a crime,’ read another.

According to el-Sherbini, the UNESCO award is a welcome encouragement, not least because of the $25,000 prize money that is involved. “His family spent a lot during his detention and trial.” He added: “We try to motivate him, but in the end [he] does not want a prize, he wants to be free.”

Shawkan’s nomination for the award sparked an angry reaction from Egypt. “UNESCO shouldn’t be involved in any political matters,” said parliamentary speaker Ali Abdel Aal, adding that someone who faces criminal charges should not be awarded. The spokesperson for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs expressed “deepest regret” over Shawkan’s nomination, warning of the “consequences of the politicization of UNESCO” that would drag the organization “into the agenda of certain countries”.

However, Egyptian activist Wael Eskandar lauded the nomination, tweeting: ‘Thank you for whoever inside UNESCO tried to fight back the injustice against photojournalist Shawkan by granting him the press freedom award. A small way to fight against the incredible injustice done to him.’

Egypt has at times given in to international pressure to release journalists with a foreign nationality, as in the case of the former al-Jazeera journalists Peter Greste (Australian) and Mohamed Fahmy (Canadian-Egyptian). In addition, there are numerous cases of foreign journalists who were effectively expelled from Egypt or denied entry upon arrival, such as Ricard Gonzalez (Spain), Remy Pigaglio (France) and most recently Bel Trew (British). Egyptian journalists are usually less fortunate. Being at the mercy of the local police and judicial system, they risk prison terms or at least lengthy detentions before and during trial.

Yet el-Sherbini remains hopeful. “They will release him because there is no evidence whatsoever against him.” As Shawkan’s lawyers contest the charges, el-Sherbini expects a non-guilty ruling within the next three or four months.

image_pdfimage_print