فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / وُجوه / وائل غنيم: رمز الثورة المصرية ورمزية فشلها

وائل غنيم: رمز الثورة المصرية ورمزية فشلها

Wael Ghonim speaks at TEDGlobal Geneva - December 8, 2015, Bâtiment des Forces Motrices, Geneva, Switzerland. Photo: James Duncan Davidson/TED
وائل غنيم, Photo Flickr ©Flickr

“لغرض  تحقيق رؤيتك فانك بحاجة الى اصدقاء وقنوات اتصال أكثر مما تحتاج الى خطط،” هذا ما كتبه الناشط المصري والرائد في مجال التكنولوجيا، وائل غنيم، في كتابه الثورة 2.0.

برز اسم غنيم كأحد مدراء صفحة “كلنا خالد سعيد،” على الفيسبوك، التي لعبت دوراً أساسياً في إطلاق شرارة الاحتجاجات التي أدت إلى ثورة 25 يناير 2011. أدى ذلك إلى تنحي الرئيس حسني مبارك بعد 18 يوماً من الاحتجاجات.

فقد تعرض خالد سعيد، البالغ من العمر 28 ربيعاً، إلى التعذيب حتى الموت في أحد السجون. أنشأت الصفحة تضامناً معه ومعارضةً لوحشية الشرطة.

ومع بداية الاحتجاجات، اعتقل غنيم لمدة 11 يوماً. وبعد إطلاق سراحه، ظهر على شاشة التلفزيون وخاطب الحشود المحتجة في ميدان التحرير، وسرعان ما أصبح رمزاً للثورة.

يمتلك غنيم، المولود في القاهرة عام 1980، خلفيةً في علوم الحاسوب وماجستير في التسويق والتمويل من الجامعة الأمريكية في القاهرة. بعد تخرجه في عام 2004، أسس أولاً بوابة معلومات مباشر (Mubasher) المتخصصة في مجال أسواق المال، وانضم في وقتٍ لاحق لشركة جوجل الشرق الأوسط كمديرٍ للتسويق. وهو يعيش حالياً في الولايات المتحدة مع زوجته وأولاده.

انخرط في عالم السياسة عبر صفحة السياسي الليبرالي محمد البرادعي على موقع فيبسوك. فقد وصف البرادعي، غنيم في سيرة ذاتية مختصرة لمجلة التايم ضمن قائمة أكثر مائة شخص تأثيراً في العالم لعام 2011، باعتباره تجسيداً لـ”الشباب الذين يشكلون غالبية المجتمع المصري.”

تجاوز غنيم كونه رمزاً للثورة المصرية، بل بات رمزاً لما يُسمى “ثورة الانترنت،” أو “ثورة مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي،” في إشارةٍ للاستخدام واسع النطاق لموقعي فيبسوك وتويتر لحشد الاحتجاجات طوال فترة الربيع العربي.

تناول غنيم الثورة بقوة من منظور الانترنت، مؤمناً بقدرته على حشد الجماهير لتحدي النظام. وفي مقابلةٍ له بعد فترةٍ وجيزة من الثورة، قال: “ثورتنا مثل ويكيبيديا، يساهم الجميع في كتابة محتواها، [ولكن]، أنت لا تعرف أسماء الأشخاص المساهمين في كتابة هذا المحتوى. هذا بالضبط ما حصل في [مصر]. ساهم الجميع بقطعٍ صغيرة، أجزاء وقطع. وضعنا معاً الصورة الكاملة للثورة.”

ولكن، أياً كان الدور الكبير الذي لعبه بعد وخلال الاحتجاجات التي استمرت 18 يوماً، إلا أنه لم يتمكن من الحفاظ على تأثيره هذا.

“انتهى دوره بعد الثورة،” هذا ما قاله لنا الصحفي المصري أدهم يوسف. وأضاف، “كحال الكثيرين، من نشطاء وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، لعب دوراً غاية في الأهمية في خلق الوعي وتعبئة الناس ضد وحشية الشرطة، إلا أنه بعد ذلك اختفى من العملية السياسية.”

وقال يوسف أنه بعد الإطاحة بمبارك، لم يلعب غنيم ونشطاء آخرون، مثل إسراء عبد الفتاح، وأحمد ماهر، وجيجي إبراهيم، دوراً في صناعة القرار على المستوى السياسي، ليتراجع تأثيرهم على الجمهور.

بل ألقي القبض على ماهر في احتجاجات عام 2013، ويقضي حالياً حكماً بالسجن لمدة ثلاث سنوات. “حظوا باهتمامٍ دولي كبير، من برنامج جون ستيورات إلى ظهورهم على أغلفة مجلة التايم، إلا أنهم لم يؤثروا بصورة مباشرة على وعي الشعب داخل مصر كما كان الحال من قبل.”

وبعد سقوط مبارك، اتضح أن الأصدقاء وقنوات الاتصال لم تكن كافيةً لإحداث تغييرٍ سياسي. برزت الحاجة إلى خطة، ولم يكن هذا موجوداً.

كان أحد أوجه القصور الرئيسية في الثورة المصرية فشلها في توفير بديل. فبعد سنواتٍ من الاستقطاب والاضطرابات الاجتماعية، عادت مصر مرةً أخر ليرأسها زعيمٌ عسكري، الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي، فضلاً عن تسليط الضوء بشكلٍ متزايد على الحقوق المدنية وحقوق الإنسان، كما أن التقدم الديمقراطي بالكاد يُذكر، هذا إن وجد.

وفي السنوات التالية، تحدث غنيم في مناسباتٍ محدودة، على سبيل المثال في يناير 2016 ضد اختطاف وقتل الطالب الايطالي جوليو ريجيني، والتي ربطها بقوات الأمن. ومع ذلك، لم يصل تأثيره حتى لما حققه من خلال صفحة خالد سعيد.

حتى أن غنيم نفسه يُقرّ بأوجه القصور للثورة التي كانت يوماً ما واعدةً. فقد صرح غنيم على منصة Parlio التي أسسها “قلت ذات مرة، إذا ما أردت تحرير مجتمعٍ ما، كل ما تحتاج إليه هو الانترنت. لقد كنت مخطئاً. ذكرت هذا في عام 2011، عندما ساعدت صفحة أنشأتها على موقع فيسبوك دون ذكرٍ لأي أسماء في إشعال شرارة الثورة في مصر.”

وأضاف “كشف الربيع العربي عن الإمكانيات الهائلة لوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، إلا أنه أيضاً عرّى أكبر عيوبها. الأداة ذاتها التي وحدتنا لإسقاط الطغاة، في نهاية المطاف فرقتنا.”

انتقل غنيم تدريجياً من النشاط السياسي إلى تنظيم المشروعات الاجتماعية. فقد ألف كتاباً عن الثورة المصرية- الثورة 2.0- وبالأموال التي اكتسبها أنشأ أكاديمية التحرير، وهي بوابة تعليمية غير ربحية عبر الانترنت للشباب المصري. وفي عام 2014، عاود الانضمام إلى شركة جوجل، ليغادرها مجدداً في نفس العام لإنشاء منصة Parlio.

Parlio، مجتمعٌ على شبكة الانترنت، يهدف إلى تمكين الناس لتبادل الأفكار والتواصل مع المثقفين العالميين، بما في ذلك نعوم تشومسكي، وتوماس فريدمان، ورضا أصلان.

يمكن للمرء أن يجادل بأن غنيم ممثلٌ لسلطة الشعب والإنترنت كأداة للتعبئة، ولكن أيضاً مثالاً يحتذى به لعدم قدرة الثوار تعزيز نجاحاتهم والمشاركة في العملية السياسية.

ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، تبيّن منصة Parlio وأكاديمية التحرير أن غنيم لا يقبل، بصورةٍ عمياء، افتراض أنه بالرغم من مكانة الانترنت الكبيرة في إشعال الاحتجاجات، إلا أن الأمر يتطلب المزيد من الجهد لإحداث تغييرٍ سياسي حقيقي. كما يواصل بحثه في السُبل التي يمكن للانترنت من خلالها تسهيل الخطة التي افتقرت لها مصر بعد الثورة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr | ©Flickr

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Faces / Wael Ghonim: Symbol of Egypt’s Revolution and Emblematic of its Failure

Wael Ghonim: Symbol of Egypt’s Revolution and Emblematic of its Failure

Wael Ghonim Egypt Faces
Wael Ghonim, Photo Flickr

‘To achieve your vision, you need friends and communication channels more than you need plans,’ Egyptian activist and tech entrepreneur Wael Ghonim wrote in his book Revolution 2.0.

Ghonim made his name as one of the administrators of the Facebook page ‘We are all Khaled Said’, which played a major role in sparking the protests that led to the 25 January 2011 revolution. This resulted 18 days later in the resignation of President Hosni Mubarak.

Khaled Said was a 28-year-old who was tortured to death in prison. The Facebook page was set up in solidarity with him and to oppose police brutality.

At the start of the protests, Ghonim was detained for 11 days. After his release, he appeared on television and addressed the protesting crowd on Tahrir Square, quickly making him a symbol of the revolution.

Born in Cairo in 1980, Ghonim has a background in computer science and a master in marketing and finance from the American University of Cairo. After graduating in 2004, he first established financial portal Mubasher, and later joined Google Middle East as a marketing manager. He currently lives in the United States with his wife and children.

He became politically engaged through a Facebook page for the liberal politician Mohamed ElBaradei. ElBaradei himself described Ghonim as an embodiment of “the youth who constitute the majority of Egyptian society”, in a short biography for TIME’s 2011 list of 100 most influential people.

Even more than a symbol of the Egyptian revolution, Ghonim is a symbol of the so-called ‘internet revolution’ or ‘social media revolution’, a reference to the widespread use of Facebook and Twitter to mobilize protests throughout the Arab Spring.

Ghonim approached the revolution strongly from the internet perspective, believing in its power to connect people to challenge the regime. In an interview shortly after the revolution, he said: “Our revolution is like Wikipedia, okay? Everyone is contributing content, [but] you don’t know the names of the people contributing the content. This is exactly what happened [in Egypt]. Everyone contributing small pieces, bits and pieces. We drew this whole picture of a revolution.”

Yet however massive his role before and during the 18 days of the protests, he was unable to sustain his influence.

“His role ended after the revolution,” Egyptian journalist Adham Youssef told Fanack. “Like many ‘social media activists’, he played a crucial role in creating awareness about and mobilizing people against police brutality, but later disappeared from the political process.”

After Mubarak was removed, Ghonim and other activists, such as Israa Abdelfattah, Ahmed Maher and Gigi Ibrahim, did not play a role in decision making at a political level, and their influence on the public declined, Youssef said.

Maher was even arrested in a protest in 2013, and is currently serving a three-year prison sentence. “They received a lot of international attention, from the John Stewart show to the cover of TIME magazine, but did not directly influence the consciousness of the people inside Egypt as they had before.”

After Mubarak’s fall, it turned out that friends and communication channels were not enough to bring political change. A plan was needed, and this was lacking.

One of the main shortcomings of the Egyptian revolution was that it failed to provide an alternative. After years of polarization and social unrest, Egypt is once again headed by a military strongman, President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, human and civil rights are under scrutiny, and there is little, if no, democratic progress.

In the following years, Ghonim occasionally spoke out, for instance against the January 2016 abduction and killing of the Italian student Giulio Regeni, which he linked to the security forces. However, his impact never came close to what he had achieved with the Khaled Said page.

Ghonim himself acknowledges the shortcomings of the once-so-promising revolution. On the website of his startup, Parlio, he states: ‘I once said, if you want to liberate a society, all you need is the internet. I was wrong. I said those words back in 2011, when a Facebook page I anonymously created helped spark the Egyptian revolution.

‘The Arab Spring revealed social media’s greatest potential, but it also exposed its greatest shortcomings. The same tool that united us to topple dictators eventually tore us apart.’

Ghonim gradually moved from political activism to social entrepreneurship. He wrote a book on the Egyptian uprising – Revolution 2.0 – and with the money it generated he set up Tahrir Academy, a non-profit online learning platform for Egyptian youth. In 2014 he joined Google again, only to leave in the same year to start Parlio.

Parlio is an online community that aims to empower people to share thoughts and communicate with global intellectuals, including Noam Chomsky, Thomas Friedman and Reza Aslan.

One could argue that Ghonim is representative of the power of the people and the internet as a tool to assemble, but also exemplary of the inability of revolutionaries to build on their success and participate in the political process.

On the other hand, Parlio and Tahrir Academy show that Ghonim does not blindly accept the presumption that as great as the internet is for sparking protests, it takes more to bring about actual political change. He keeps searching for ways the internet can also facilitate the plan that was missing in Egypt after the revolution.