فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / وُجوه / الشيخ القرضاوي: الطيب، الشرس والقبيح

الشيخ القرضاوي: الطيب، الشرس والقبيح

Egypt- Yusuf al-Qardawi
الشيخ يوسف القرضاوي. Photo AFP ©AFP

يعتبر الشيخ يوسف القرضاوي أحد أكثر علماء السُنة احتراماً في العالم العربي. وباعتباره مؤلف أكثر من 100 كتاب، يعتبره أتباعه صوتاً موثوقاً ومعتدلاً في المنطقة لمناصرته الديمقراطية وإدانته الهجمات الإرهابية الكبرى في مختلف أنحاء العالم.

ولكن بنظرة أكثر تعمقاً، تجد أنّ سياساته طائفية إلى حدٍ كبير، مما يجعله شخصية غير مريحة ومثيرة للانقسام لدى الحكومات الغربية والمحللين الإقليميين.

ولد القرضاوي عام 1926 في إحدى محافظات دلتا النيل في مصر، حيث يدعيّ حفظه للقرآن بالكامل في سن التاسعة. وبعد أقل من عقدين من الزمان، حصل على شهادةٍ من جامعة الأزهر الشريف، أقدم وأبرز مؤسسة في الإسلام السُني.

وكحال الإصلاحيين من قبله، أمثال محمد عبده وجمال الدين الأفغاني، اجتذب القرضاوي أعداداً كبيرة من الأتباع من خلال التوفيق بين الممارسات الإسلامية والعالم الحديث. ولكن بدلاً من الوعظ من أجل “الإصلاح الإسلامي،” يُصر القرضاوي على أن القرآن الكريم يحمل جميع الأجوبة لأهم الأسئلة التي تطرح اليوم.

يتماشى موقفه مع الإخوان المسلمين– الحركة التي ألهمها وينتمي إليها- مما يجعله عدواً للدكتاتوريين العرب. فلطالما كانت جماعة الإخوان المسلمين شوكةً في حلق القادة القمعيين، الذين يخشون أن القاعدة الشعبية الكبيرة للجماعة ومواردها الضخمة تشكل تهديداً مباشراً لحكمهم.

وعليه، لم تكن مصر استثناءً قط، فقد اعتقل الملك فاروق القرضاوي بدايةَ عام 1949، ليُعتقل بعدها ثلاث مرات على يد الرئيس المصري الثاني المحبوب، جمال عبد الناصر، الذي سحب أيضاً الجنسية المصرية من القرضاوي.

وبحلول عام 1961، غادر القرضاوي إلى قطر حيث عمل كسفيرٍ، نوعاً ما، للدولة الخليجية الصغيرة. وبعد 6 سنوات، شهدت جماعة الإخوان المسلمين انتعاشاً في مصر في أعقاب إنتصار إسرائيل المدمرفي حرب 1967. ونتيجةً لذلك، حُمل نعش القومية العربية، مما مهد الطريق أمام شخصياتٍ كالقرضاوي لتوجيه الشباب المحرومين في المنطقة. وقال الدكتور عزام سلطان التميمي، وهو مؤيدٌ لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين ومؤسس قناة الحوار الفضائية، أنه تأثر بشكلٍ كبير بتعاليم القرضاوي.

فقد أخبرنا في فَنَك “ما جعل القرضاوي يحظى بشعبيةٍ كبيرة بين أبناء جيلي هو بساطة واعتدال خطابه.” وأضاف “يسعى إلى ربط الإسلام بحياة الناس والإجابة عن الأسئلة الصعبة بشكلٍ مستقل عن أي سلطة سياسية.”

ساعدت قطر القرضاوي على التواصل مع أجيال شباب المسلمين. ولعقدين من الزمان، تألق عبر برنامجه الشريعة والحياة الذي بث على قناة الجزيرة المملوكة للدولة القطرية. يُبث البرنامج ليلة الأحد ويصل عدد مشاهداته إلى حوالي 60 مليون مشاهدة، كما أنه رئيس الاتحاد العالمي لعلماء المسلمين، مما يمنحه الأهلية للوصول إلى ملايين الأشخاص.

ويقول أبو هنية، وهو خبير أردني ألف العديد من الكتب عن الحركات الإسلامية في الشرق الأوسط “يؤيد القرضاوي مزج السياسة مع الدين تماماً كما هو حال قطر. وعموماً، تتداخل وجهات نظره مع السلطات القطرية، مما يُفسر سبب إرساء علاقاتٍ قوية ومفيدة للطرفين بين بعضهم البعض.”

فدعوة القرضاوي إلى الحرية والديمقراطية كان لها صدى كبير لدى الشباب مع بداية الربيع العربي. وبعدها فقط، أي بعد أسابيع من الإطاحة بنظام حسني مبارك في يناير 2011، عاد القرضاوي إلى مصر بعد أن قضى 50 عاماً في المنفى. وفي 18 فبراير 2011، ألقى خطاباً أمام الملايين في ميدان التحرير.

“لا تحاربوا التاريخ،” قال القرضاوي محذراً الدكتاتوريين الذين كانوا يشنون حملةً وحشية على المتظاهرين في جميع أنحاء العالم العربي، “فلا يمكن تأخير اليوم المحتوم، وقد تغير العالم العربي.”

بالفعل، تغيرت المنطقة، ولكن ليس للأفضل. وباستثناء تونس، تحولت الانتفاضات الشعبية إما إلى حربٍ أهلية أو قمعت بوحشية. وسرعان ما ندد الحكام في السعودية والبحرين ومصر والإمارات العربية المتحدة بالقرضاوي مدعين أنه يساهم في التطرف. كان منطقهم بسيطاً: فهم يعتبرونه تهديداً لقوتهم.

وبالفعل أيضاً، لم يكونوا على خطأ. فبعد الإطاحة بالرئيس محمد مرسي في 3 يوليو 2013، عاد القرضاوي إلى قطر، حيث حث أنصاره في مصر على الشهادة لإعادة مرسي إلى الحكم. فشلت الفتوى ولم تلقى صدىً لدى غالبية المصريين، كما أغضبت اللواء عبد الفتاح السيسي، الذي استولى على السلطة بالقوة.

لم يقتصر تدخله السياسي على مصر فحسب، ففي حين ندد القرضاوي بشدة بالمتطرفين الدينيين، مثل الدولة الإسلامية المُعلنة وتنظيم القاعدة، إلا أنه لربما مكنّ هذه الجماعات من خلال التحريض على الانقسامات الطائفية من خلال آرائه وفتاواه. وعلى وجه الخصوص، في عام 2012، عندما أدان الشيعة لنسبهم المكانة الإلهية للأشخاص الذين يعتبرونهم الخلفاء الشرعيين للنبي محمد.

وبعدها دعا المسلمين السنة إلى حمل السلاح في سوريا. فقد صاغت فتواه الأزمة السورية في إطار الحرب الدينية لتحرير البلاد من حكم العلويين، وهي جماعة شيعية وأقلية دينية في سوريا، بدلاً من تحريرها من الرئيس بشار الأسد.

لم تكن هذه أول فتوى مثيرة للجدل له. فقبل 10 سنوات، تغاضى عن الهجمات الانتحارية الفلسطينية في إسرائيل باعتبارها دفاعاً مشروعاً عن النفس. أثار هذا غضب العديد من العلماء المسلمين، بحجة أن الانتحار محظورٌ في الإسلام أياً كان الدافع. كما أغضبت الفتوى حلفاء إسرائيل، سيما الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والمملكة المتحدة وفرنسا، التي منعت القرضاوي من دخول أراضيها.

وانتقد حسن حسن، وهو من كبار الخبراء في مجال التطرف الإسلامي، القرضاوي لموافقته على العمليات الانتحارية الفلسطينية في إسرائيل. ففي مقالٍ له في ذا ناشونال، قال أنه على الرغم من أن الفلسطينيين عاجزون في مواجهة الهجمات الإسرائيلية، إلا أن إجازة التفجيرات الانتحارية يهدد تطبيع النهج في ظروفٍ أخرى، ناهيك عن أن المدنيين غالباً من يقتلون دوماً في مثل هذه الهجمات.

ويرى حسن أن الفتاوى العنيفة والطائفية التي يُصدرها القرضاوي تفوق إنجازاته النبيلة الأخرى. فهي تمنح المتطرفين سلطة قتل المدنيين الأبرياء، بينما تحرض على التوترات الطائفية. لكن أبو هنية، الخبير الأردني، لا يوافقه الرأي. فقد قال لفَنَك إنه لا ينبغي تحميل القرضاوي المسؤولية إذا ما تم تطبيق فتاويه خارج السياق.

فقد شدد أبو هنية على أن القرضاوي “أدان أحداث الحادي عشر من سبتمبر وأدان تفجيرات لندن،” وأضاف “لا يوافق على قتل المدنيين.”

وهذا ليس صحيحاً بالضرورة. ففي عام 2009، وخلال حرب إسرائيل على حماس والتي أسفرت عن خسائر غير متكافئة في حياة المدنيين في غزة، صرح القرضاوي على قناة الجزيرة أن المحرقة (الهولوكوست) كانت عقوبةً إلهية لليهود بسبب فسادهم. ألحق هذا التصريح المعادي للسامية الضرر بسمعة الإمام في نظر الكثيرين ممن يعتبرونه معتدلاً.

ولا تزال الحكومات الغربية تشعر بالقلق من الشيخ الطاعن بالسن. وفي حين يلقي أتباعه باللوم على المملكة العربية السعودية ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لتأطيره كإرهابي، إلا أن بعض وجهات نظر القرضاوي لا تساعد قضيته.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP | ©AFP

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Home / Egypt / Faces / Sheikh al-Qaradawi: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Sheikh al-Qaradawi: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Egypt- Sheikh Yusuf al-Qaradawi
Sheikh Yusuf al-Qaradawi. Photo AFP

Sheikh Yusuf al-Qaradawi is one of the most respected Sunni Muslim scholars in the Arabic-speaking world. As the author of more than 100 books, his followers consider him an authoritative and moderate voice in the region for espousing democracy and condemning major terrorist attacks across the world.

Yet beneath the surface, his politics are considerably sectarian, making him an uncomfortable and divisive figure among Western governments and regional analysts.

He was born in 1926 in Egypt’s Nile Delta, where he claims to have memorized the entire Koran by the age of nine. Less than two decades later, he obtained a degree from al-Azhar University, the oldest and most renowned institution in Sunni Islam.

Like reformists before him – such as Muhammad Abduh and Jamal al-Din al-Afghani – al-Qaradawi has attracted a massive following by reconciling Islamic practices with the modern world. But rather than preaching for an ‘Islamic reformation’, al-Qaradawi insists that the Koran answers all of today’s most important questions.

His position runs parallel to the Muslim Brotherhood (MB) – a movement he inspired and belongs to – making him an enemy of Arab dictators. The MB has long been a thorn in the side of repressive leaders, who fear that the organization’s grassroots popularity and vast resources pose a direct threat to their rule.

Egypt has never been an exception. Al-Qaradawi was first arrested by King Farouq in 1949, then three times by Egypt’s second and most charismatic President Gamal Abdel Nasser, who also stripped al-Qaradawi of his Egyptian citizenship.

By 1961, he had left for Qatar and served as a sort of ambassador for the tiny Gulf country. Six years later, the MB experienced a revival in Egypt following Israel’s devastating victory in the 1967 war. The outcome triggered the demise of Arab nationalism, setting the stage for figures like al-Qaradawi to guide disenfranchised youth in the region.

Dr Azzam Sultan Tamimi, a supporter of the MB and the founder of the satellite channel al-Hiwar, said that he was greatly influenced by al-Qaradawi’s teachings. “What made al-Qaradawi very popular with my generation was the simplicity and moderation of his discourse,” he told Fanack Chronicle. “He seeks to relate Islam to people’s lives and answer tough questions independently from any political authority.”

Qatar has helped al-Qaradawi reach out to generations of young Muslims. For two decades, he has starred in the programme Ash-Sharia wal-Hayat (‘sharia and life’) on Qatar’s state-owned broadcaster al-Jazeera. The show airs on Sunday night and reaches approximately 60 million viewers. He is also the head of the International Union for Muslim Scholars, lending him legitimacy to millions of people.

“Al-Qaradawi advocates the blending of politics with religion and so does Qatar. His views generally overlap with the Qatari authorities, which explains why they have built a strong and mutually beneficial relationship with each other,” said Abu Hanya, a Jordanian expert who has written several books about Islamic movements in the Middle East.

Al-Qaradawi’s call for freedom and democracy strongly resonated with youth at the start of the Arab Spring. It was then, weeks after Hosni Mubarak’s regime was toppled in January 2011, that he returned to Egypt after 50 years in exile. On 18 February 2011, he gave a speech to millions of people in Tahrir Square.

“Don’t fight history,” he said, warning dictators who were brutally cracking down on protestors across the Arab world. “You can’t delay the day that [revolutions] start. The Arab world has changed.”

The region had changed, but not for the better. Except for Tunisia, popular uprisings either descended into civil war or were brutally repressed. Rulers in Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Egypt and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) quickly denounced al-Qaradawi as an aid to extremism. Their reasoning was simple: they perceived him as a threat to their power.

They were not wrong. After the overthrow of President Mohamed Morsi on 3 July 2013, al-Qaradawi returned to Qatar, where he urged his supporters in Egypt to become martyrs for the sake of restoring Morsi. The fatwa failed to resonate with most Egyptians and infuriated General Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, who was violently accruing power.

His political interference was not limited to Egypt. While al-Qaradawi fervently denounced religious extremists, such as the self-declared Islamic State (IS) and al-Qaeda, he may have empowered these groups by inciting sectarian divisions with his views and fatwas. Most notably, in 2012, he condemned Shiites for ascribing divine status to people they perceive as the Prophet Muhammad’s legitimate successors.

He then called for Sunni Muslims to take up arms in Syria. His fatwa framed the Syrian crisis as a religious war to liberate the country from the rule of Alawites, a Shia offshoot and minority sect in Syria, rather than from President Bashar al-Assad.

This was not his first controversial fatwa. Ten years earlier, he condoned Palestinian suicide attacks in Israel as a legitimate act of self-defence. Many Islamic scholars were outraged, arguing that suicide is prohibited in Islam regardless of the situation. The fatwa also angered Israel’s allies, notably the United States, United Kingdom and France, which all banned al-Qaradawi from visiting.

Hassan Hassan, one of the highest profile experts on Islamic extremism, criticized al-Qaradawi for approving Palestinian suicide missions in Israel. In a column for The National, he argued that even though Palestinians are helpless in the face of Israeli attacks, sanctioning suicide bombings risks normalizing the tactic in other circumstances. Not to mention, he added, that civilians are almost always killed in these attacks.

In Hassan’s view, the violent and sectarian fatwas that al-Qaradawi issues outweigh his other noble achievements. They empower radicals to kill innocent civilians, while inciting sectarian tensions. But Abu Hanya, the Jordanian expert, disagrees. He told Fanack Chronicle that al-Qaradawi should not be held responsible if his fatwas are applied out of context. “He condemned 9/11 and he condemned the London bombings,” Abu Hanya stressed. “He doesn’t sanction the killing of civilians.”

That is not necessarily true. In 2009, during Israel’s war with Hamas that resulted in the disproportionate loss of civilian life in Gaza, al-Qaradawi stated on al-Jazeera that the holocaust was a divine punishment of the Jews for their corruption. The anti-Semitic statement damaged the imam’s reputation in the eyes of many who considered him a moderate.

Western governments are still apprehensive of the old sheikh. And while his followers are quick to blame Saudi Arabia and the UAE for framing him as a terrorist, some of al-Qaradawi’s views do not help his case.