فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / الحكم والسياسة / قضايا الإلحاد تُبرز الطبيعة الإسلامية في مصر

قضايا الإلحاد تُبرز الطبيعة الإسلامية في مصر

Egypt's blasphemy-cases
أمهات اثنين من أربعة مراهقين مسيحيين قبطيين أدينوا بإزدراء الإسلام، في بني مزار، مصر. Photo Thomas Hartwell ©Hollandse Hoogte

خشيّ العديد في مصر، في ظل حُكم محمد مرسي من جماعة الإخوان المسلمين (2012-2013)، أن تصبح الدولة أكثر إسلامية، بل وربما تتحول إلى جمهوريةٍ إسلامية على غرار إيران.

بدايةً، أزالت الإطاحة بمرسي بقيادة الجنرال الذي أصبح فيما بعد رئيساً للجمهورية، عبد الفتاح السيسي، هذه المخاوف. فقد واصل السيسي تيار القادة العسكريين التقليدي الذي بدأه جمال عبد الناصر في خمسينيات وستينيات القرن الماضي، حيث إتبّع أجندةً قومية علمانية، وغالباً ما سحق أي معارضةٍ إسلامية بعنف.

كما إتبّع السيسي أيضاً تقليد عبد الناصر بتضييق الخناق على جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، ووضع معظم قادتها والعديد من أعضاء الجماعة خلف القضبان. فقد انتقل الحزب من كونه الأكبر في برلمان عام 2012 إلى تصنيفه كمنظمةٍ إرهابية مع نهاية عام 2013، ومع ذلك، وفي ظل حكم السيسي، تبدو مصر بعيدة كل البعد عن الدولة العلمانية، بل يبدو أنها باتت اليوم أقل علمانية.

فعلى الرغم من أن دستور عام 2014 أقل تديناً من الدستور السابق الذي أدخله الإخوان المسلمون، إلا أنه يؤكد على أن الإسلام دين الدولة والشريعة الإسلامية ي التوجيهات الرئيسية للتشريع. فالدولة تعترف بالديانات الثلاث– الإسلام والمسيحية واليهودية- والتي تُذكر في الأوراق الثبوتية للمواطنين. أي دينٍ آخر، ناهيك عن الإلحاد، لا يتم الإعتراف به. فلا يمكن لرجلٍ مسيحي الزواج من إمرأةٍ مسلمة، بالرغم من أنّ العكس مسموح.

كما تتبع أيضاً قوانين الزواج والطلاق الشريعة الإسلامية، مما يسمح، على سبيل المثال، بزواج الرجال من أربع زوجات. في حين يخضع المسيحيون للقوانين الدينية الخاصة بهم في قضايا الأحوال الشخصية مثل الزواج والطلاق. ووفقاً للكنيسة القبطية الأرثوذكسية، المؤسسة المسيحية السائدة في البلاد، يعتبر الزنا السبب الوحيد المعترف به من قبل الدولة للطلاق، مما يجعل من المستحيل تقريباً الحصول على الطلاق والزواج مرةً أخرى كمسيحي في مصر.

وبصرف النظر عن هذه التشريعات، فقد شهدت مصر عدداً من قضايا الإلحاد سيئة السمعة على مدى السنوات الماضية بموجب المادة (98) من قانون العقوبات، المعروف باسم قانون ازدراء الأديان.

فقد تخلى الصحفي المصري بيشوي أرميا، الذي كان يُعرف فيما قبل بمحمد حجازي، عن الإسلام واعتنق المسيحية في عام 2007. وبعد تغطيته لإحتجاجات الإخوان المسلمين التي جرت في أعقاب الاطاحة بمرسي في عام 2013، حُكم عليه بالسجن لمدة سنة واحدة بتهمة “نشر أنباء كاذبة” و”التحريض على الفتنة الطائفية.” وفي أوائل عام 2015، واجه اتهاماتٍ جديدة تتعلق بطريقة تحوله، التي اعتبرت إلحاداً و”إهانةً للدين.” وبعد عودته إلى الإسلام فحسب، في يوليو 2016، أفرج عنه.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، في ديسمبر 2016، حصلت الكاتبة المصرية فاطمة ناعوت، على حُكم مخفف بالسجن لستة أشهر بتهمة “إزدراء الإسلام،” بسبب منشورٍ لها على موقع فيسبوك تنتقد فيه الأضاحي في عيد الأضحى.

ومنذ إنتخابه عام 2014، قدّم السيسي حجةً قوية لـ” إصلاح الخطاب الديني،” من أجل مكافحة الأيديولوجيات المتطرفة لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش.” فمصر تعاني من الجماعات المتمردة التابعة لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” في شمال سيناء، كما شهدت العديد من هجمات التنظيم على أراضيها؛ كان أبرزها إسقاط طائرة تُقل سياحاً روس في سيناء في أكتوبر 2015 والهجوم الإنتحاري على الكنيسة القبطية في العاصمة القاهرة في ديسمبر الماضي.

فقد وصلت السياسة المتعلقة بـ”إصلاح الخطاب الديني،” في المقام الأول، إلى السيطرة على الخطب في المساجد، إذ تراقب وزارة الأوقاف خطب الجمعة وتنشر الشيوخ الموالين للحكومة في أرجاء البلاد، حيث تم إيقاف العديد من الشيوخ الذين خالفوا موضوع الخطبة الموحدة.

ولكن، عندما يتعلق الأمر بمكافحة أيديولوجية تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” تُرسل الدولة رسالةً غامضة. فقد اتهم أيضاً العديد من الأشخاص الذين انتقدوا الجماعة المتطرفة علناً، بطريقةً أو بأخرى، بالإلحاد.

ففي وقتٍ سابقٍ هذا العام، تم إيقاف البرنامج الحواري للمذيع إبراهيم عيسي مُشيراً إلى تعرضه لـ”ضغوطات.” وقد اشتهر عيسى بتعليقاته الإنتقادية لقانون الإلحاد والدين بشكلٍ عام. وفي فبراير 2015، قال أنّ “جرائم داعش تقوم على مصادر إسلامية.” وفي الآونة الأخيرة، تعرض لهجومٍ من قِبل أعضاء البرلمان لإنتقاده قانون بناء الكنائس الجديد.

وفي ديسمبر 2015، حصل المذيع التلفزيوني إسلام البحيري على حُكمٍ مخفف بالسجن لمدةٍ عام بتهمة “الإساءة إلى الإسلام،” بعد أن طعن بالتعاليم الدينية للعالم السُنيّ من القرن التاسع، صحيح البخاري، في برنامجه. كما يواجه حالياً دعوى قضائية جديدة، أقامتها ضده مشيخة الأزهر، أهم مدرسة للتعاليم السُنية في البلاد، لإيقاف برنامجه بتهمة “تشكيك الناس متعمداً فيما هو معلوم من الدين بالضرورة.”

كما أن تعاليم البخاري قد أثارت المزيد من الجدل في البلاد. فقد حُكم على المواطن المصري، السيد النجار، بالسجن لمدة عام بتهمة “إزدراء الدين” في مايو 2016، إذ قام بإحراق كتاب البخاري أمام مشيخة الأزهر في القاهرة ودعا لـ”ثورةٍ إسلامية،” على موقع فيسبوك، بحجة أن تعاليم العلاّمة الإسلامي تروّج للتطرف وتدعم أفكار داعش.

وفي أبريل 2015، ألقي القبض على أربعة طلاب من المسيحيين الأقباط ومعلمهم بسبب شريط فيديو نشر على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي يسخر من داعش. أثار الفيديو توتراتٍ طائفية في قرية في صعيد مصر، حيث أعتبر السكان المحليون ذلك إهانةً للإسلام. وفي فبراير 2016، حُكم على الطلاب بالسجن لمدة خمس سنوات بتهمة “السخرية من طقوس الصلاة الإسلامية.” وبعد إطلاق سراحهم بكفالة، غادروا مصر وطلبوا اللجوء في سويسرا.

وقالت المبادرة المصرية للحقوق الشخصية (المبادرة المصرية) في رد فعلها على الحكم، أنه في الفترة ما بين يناير 2015 إلى فبراير 2016، أدين 12 شخصاً على الاقل بتهم الإلحاد.

كما لم يسلم المسؤولون بأعلى الرتب من مثل هذه التهم، فقد تعرّض وزير العدل السابق، أحمد الزند، لهجومٍ عنيف بعد تعليقِ صدر عنه على التلفزيون في مارس 2016 قال فيه أنه سيسجن أي صحفي “حتى وإن كان النبي، عليه الصلاة والسلام.”

فُسر تعليقه على نطاقٍ واسع باعتباره إهانةً للنبي محمد. وعلى الرغم من أنّ الزند قال فيما بعد أنها مجرد “زلة لسان،” وطلب المغفرة، إلا أنه تمت إقالته من منصبه بعد بضعة أيام. كما أصدر الأزهر الشريف بياناً في اليوم نفسه محذراً من التصريحات التي تُسيء للنبي، حتى وإن كانت دون قصد.

فالطابع الإسلامي للدولة والمجتمع المصري يُصبح جلياً على وجه الخصوص خلال شهر رمضان المبارك. فالأكل أو الشرب في الأماكن العامة خلال ساعات الصيام أمرٌ غير مقبول بشكلٍ عام. ففي عام 2016، إقترح المفتي العام لدار الإفتاء السُنيّة بأنّ الإفطار علناً في شهر رمضان لا علاقة له بحرية الإختيار، بل يعتبر “هجوماً على قُدسية الإسلام.”

وعلاوة على ذلك، تُغلق العديد من الأماكن التي تُقدم الكحول أبوابها في شهر رمضان، وتُمنع الأماكن التي يُسمح لها باستقبال الزبائن من تقديم المشروبات للمصريين حتى بعد إنتهاء ساعات الصيام. وخلال رمضان الماضي، بدا أن تنفيذ الشرطة لهذا الحظر أكثر صرامةً من الأعوام السابقة. فقد تمت مداهمة العديد من المقاهي المحلية التي فتحت أبوابها خلال ساعات الصيام، وتم التحقق من هويات الزبائن وطرد المسلمين منهم.

كان فريق Fanack حاضراً أثناء إحدى هذه المداهمات، وسمعنا الزبائن يشكون من أنّ الأوضاع باتت أسوء مما كانت عليه في ظل حكم جماعة الإخوان المسلمين.
كما انتقدت جماعات حقوق الإنسان قوانين الإلحاد. ودعت هيومن رايتس ووتش السلطات المصرية إلى إلغاء الأحكام بالإلحاد التي اتهم بها الطلبة المسيحيون ومعلمهم وإلغاء المادة (98).

كما ذكرت المبادرة المصرية في تقريرٍ صادرٍ عنها في يونيو 2016 حول التنوع الديني أنّ “السياسات الدينية الحالية تمنح في الواقع الدولة احتكاراً حصرياً لممارسة الإسلام،” وأن المادة (98) تستخدم لـ”محاكمة الشيعة وغيرهم من أصحاب التعبير الديني المختلف.” كما حثت المبادرة المصرية على “إجراء الإصلاح الجذري المطلوب من أجل تأسيس حقيقي لحرية الدين والمعتقد.”

وبالنظر إلى آخر القضايا المتعلقة بالإلحاد وأولئك الذين ينتظرون المحاكمات، يبدو أن مثل هذه الدعوات لا جدوى لها، فالدولة مستمرة في تعنتها تجاه ممارسة الشعائر الدينية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Governance & Politics / Blasphemy Cases Highlights Islamic Nature of Egypt

Blasphemy Cases Highlights Islamic Nature of Egypt

Egypt's blasphemy-cases
The mothers of two of four Coptic Christian teens convicted for contempt of Islam, in Bani Mazar, Egypt. Photo Thomas Hartwell ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Thomas Hartwell

Under Muslim Brotherhood President Mohamed Morsi (2012-2013), many in Egypt feared the state would become more Islamic, perhaps even turning into an Islamic republic similar to Iran.

The ouster of Morsi led by general-turned-president Abdel Fattah al-Sisi initially took away those fears. Al-Sisi continued the tradition of military leaders started by Gamal Abdel Nasser in the 1950s and ’60s, who have pursued a secular nationalist agenda, and, often violently, crushed any Islamist opposition.

Al-Sisi also followed Nasser’s tradition of cracking down on the Muslim Brotherhood, putting most of its leaders and many of its members in prison. The party went from being the largest in parliament in 2012 to being designated a terrorist organization by the end of 2013. However, under al-Sisi, Egypt is far from a secular state and appears to be becoming less so.

The 2014 constitution, although less religious than the previous one introduced by the Muslim Brotherhood, declares Islam the religion of the state and Sharia law the prime guidance for legislation. The state recognizes three religions – Islam, Christianity and Judaism – which is noted in citizens’ identification papers. Any other religion, let alone atheism, is not recognized. A Christian man cannot marry a Muslim woman, although the other way around is permitted.

Legislation on marriage and divorce follows Sharia, allowing, for instance, men to have up to four wives. Christians are governed by their own religious laws on personal status issues, such as marriage and divorce. According to the Coptic Orthodox church, the country’s dominant Christian institution, adultery is the only grounds for divorce recognized by the state, making it almost impossible to divorce and remarry as a Christian in Egypt.

Aside from such legislation, Egypt has seen a number of notorious blasphemy cases over the past years under Article 98 of the Penal Code, known as the religious contempt law.

Egyptian journalist Beshoy Armia, previously Mohamed Hegazy, converted from Islam to Christianity in 2007. After covering the Muslim Brotherhood protests that took place following the ouster of Morsi in 2013, he was sentenced to one year in prison for ‘spreading false news’ and ‘inciting sectarian strife’. In early 2015, he faced new charges related to the manner of his conversion, which was deemed to be blasphemous and ‘insulting to religion’. Only after converting back to Islam in July 2016 was he released.

More recently, in December 2016, writer Fatima Naoot received a reduced six-month sentence for ‘contempt of Islam’ for a critical Facebook post on the sacrifice of animals during Eid al-Adha (Sacrifice Feast).

Since his election in 2014, al-Sisi has made a strong case for ‘reforming religious speech’, in order to combat the extremist ideologies of the self-proclaimed Islamic State (ISIS). Egypt has been plagued by an ISIS-affiliated insurgency in North Sinai, and has witnessed numerous ISIS attacks on its territory. The most dramatic were the downing of a plane carrying Russian tourists in Sinai in October 2015 and a suicide attack in the main Coptic church in the capital Cairo last December 2016.

Policy related to ‘reforming religious speech’ has primarily come down to controlling sermons in mosques. The Ministry of Religious Endowments censors Friday sermons and dispatches loyal sheikhs across the country. Various sheikhs have been suspended after their sermons differed from prescribed subjects.

Yet when it comes to combatting ISIS ideology, the state sends an ambiguous message. Several individuals who publicly criticized the extremist group in one way or another were also accused of blasphemy.

Earlier this year, television anchor Ibrahim Eissa suspended his talk show citing ‘pressures’. He was known for critical comments regarding the blasphemy law and religion in general. In February 2015, he argued that the “crimes of ISIS are based on Islamic sources”. More recently, he came under attack from parliament members for criticizing the new church building law.

In December 2015, television presenter Islam al-Beheiry received a reduced one-year prison sentence for ‘insulting Islam’, after he challenged the religious teachings of the 9th-century Sunni scholar Sahih al-Bukhary on his show. He currently faces a new lawsuit, filed by the highest seat of Sunni teaching, al-Azhar, to shut down his show, on charges of ‘deliberately aiming to make people question their beliefs’.

Al-Bukhary’s teachings have stirred more controversy. Egyptian citizen al-Sayed al-Naggar was given a one-year jail term in May 2016 for contempt of religion. He burned al-Bukhary’s teachings in front of al-Azhar’s headquarters in Cairo and called for an ‘Islamic revolution’ on Facebook, arguing that the scholar’s teachings promote extremism and support ISIS’s ideology.

In April 2015, four Coptic Christian students and their teacher were arrested over a video posted on social media in which they make fun of ISIS. The video stirred sectarian tensions in their village in Upper Egypt, with local residents viewing it as an insult to Islam. In February 2016, the students were sentenced to five years in prison for ‘mocking Islamic prayer ritual’. After being released on bail, they left Egypt and sought asylum in Switzerland.

The Egyptian Initiative for Personal Rights (EIPR) said in a reaction to the verdict that in the period from January 2015 to February 2016, at least 12 people had been convicted on blasphemy charges.

Even the highest ranked officials are not immune. Former justice minister Ahmed al-Zend came under fire following comments he made on television in March 2016 that he would jail a journalist “even he was a prophet, peace and blessings be upon him”.

The comments were widely interpreted as being an insult to the Prophet Muhammed. Although al-Zend said it was a “slip of the tongue” and asked for forgiveness, he was fired from his position a few days later. Al-Azhar issued a statement on the same day warning against blasphemous comments about the Prophet, even when made unintentionally.

The Islamic nature of the Egyptian state and society becomes particularly evident during the holy month of Ramadan. Eating and drinking in public during fasting hours is generally not accepted. In 2016, the Grand Mufti of the Sunni Dar al-Ifta institute suggested that breaking fast publically was not a matter of free choice, but “an attack against Islam’s sacredness”.

Many venues that serve alcohol close their doors completely during Ramadan, and those that remain open are banned from serving Egyptians, even after fasting hours. During Ramadan last year, police enforcement of this ban appeared to be stricter than previous years. Several local teahouses that were open during fasting hours were raided, customer IDs were checked and Muslims expelled.

Fanack was present during one of these raids, and overheard costumers complaining that the situation is worse than under the Muslim Brotherhood.

Human rights groups have criticized the blasphemy law. Human Rights Watch has called for Egyptian authorities to reverse the blasphemy sentences handed down to the Christian students and their teacher and to revoke Article 98.

The EIPR stated in a June 2016 report on religious diversity that ‘current religious policies in effect give the state a monopoly on the practice of Islam’, and that Article 98 is used ‘to prosecute Shias and others with variant religious expressions’.

EIPR urged ‘a radical reform of official religious policies to ensure freedom of religion and belief’.

Considering the latest blasphemy cases and pending trials, it appears such calls have been in vain. The state continues to take a hard line on religious practice.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Thomas Hartwell | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Thomas Hartwell

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.